Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Swim Boat Fish Fun~ Lakefront FALL RIDE 9/14-16 $150 nt ~LkThompson Rhinelander

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

**START MAKING YOUR FAMILY MEMORIES UP NORTH

AT THE CUTEST CABIN ON LAKE THOMPSON***

BOOKING FOR SUMMER & FALL 2018!! FALL COLORS ARE COMING $150 /nt

Relive the Summers of your youth on Lake Thompson at our cabin at Norwood in Rhinelander.

Swim, Boat, Fish and have Fun at our Lakefront Cabin.

Nestled in the Northwoods and only steps to the water, this classic LAKEFRONT CABIN offers something for everyone, this is 'Vintage at it's Best'. Our beautiful property was once a"Norwood Resort" cabin.

With its 3 bedrooms, beautiful knotty pine interior, Northwoods décor, SCREENED IN PORCH, and wrap around deck w/ Weber BBQ overlooking the lake, this nicely furnished 'Designer Owned' cabin will surely not disappoint.

*** Beautifully Themed Living Areas & Bedrooms include:

Sleeps 6-8

Master Bedroom w/1 Queen Bed

Bedroom #2 w/1 Queen Bed

Bedroom #3 w/2 sets of Bunk Beds

Living Room w/ Pull Out Sofa Sleeper

***New 42" Flat screen TV with Extended Cable***

***Full Bath with Standard size Tub & Shower***

*** Hardwood Laminate in 3 bedrooms***

Lake Thompson is a beautiful, clean 500 acre lake absolutely perfect for fishing, water-skiing, jet-skiing, pontooning and swimming. The swimming areas are safe, sandy and shallow. 900' of shoreline and five piers allow plenty of room for boats and fishing, so bring your boat!

Mother nature smiles on our 14 acres of woods and beach. Enjoy horseshoes, volleyball, bags, a playground and smores by the campfire in a family friendly - resort style setting.

*** (Previously owned as Norwood Resort & we share all our amenities)

We invite you to take time out for relaxation and recreation and enjoy the fresh air, a spring fed lake with outstanding fishing and nature's wildlife at your front door. Quiet and secluded, yet close to town.

You will find great golf courses, wagon rides, horse back riding, petting farm, mini golf, movie theaters, great restaurants and other activities to make this the ideal family getaway.

Bring your Own Boat or Use Ours!!

***Cabin comes with its own Rowboat & Dock for Your Boat***

$40 ADDITIONAL CLEANING FEE~ FOR NIGHTLY RENTALS LESS THAN ONE WEEK

Keywords: Cabin/Cottage/Lakefront

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About The Owner

We live in the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago in a Lake community with our 3 children. We love warm weather, the water, and boating!!

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2001

Why The Owner chose Rhinelander

We decided to buy our cabin after visiting Norwood Resort. My husband vacationed here

as a child with his family many years ago. They were selling Cabins, and we decided this

was a great place for the family to come back to year after year to make great memories!

What makes this cabin unique

What makes this so great, is that Lake Thompson is an excellent Water Skiing lake!!

The whole family loves to Ski and Wake Board, so this lake has exactly what we love, smooth, calm water. It's great for fishing, too. There is always something fun to do & friendly people !!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had an absolutely fabulous time. The cabin was darling, kids fished off the dock, we had dinner on the porch, we made s'mores at the fire pit and my kids could not believe how many stars there were! Neighbors were kind. We truly had a wonderful time and plan on it being our place to stay when we visit our family up there!!

Thank you very much for sharing your lake house with us!!!

Many thanks!!
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Rhinelander Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Heating
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) 2- Queen sized beds Guests must provide own Linens and Towels, Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (2) 2- sets of bunk beds Guests must provide own Linens and Towels
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Screened-in porch, Classic Knotty pine interior, Sandy beach with level swimming area and raft, Fire pit with wood, playground areas, 2 Queen beds, 2 Sets of bunk-beds & 1 Twin bed. Pier with boat dock (Public Boat launch nearby) 15' Aluminum Rowboat, Forced Gas Heat, Extended Cable T.V.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Swim Boat Fish Fun~ Lakefront FALL RIDE 9/14-16 $150 nt ~LkThompson Rhinelander
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 11 reviews
4

Week of relaxation in Rhinelander

  • 4 of 5

We had a good time at the cottage. It was clean and well-maintained. Air conditioning and updating the electrical inside would be nice additions. Circumstances beyond owner's control: mosquitos, poor fishing and ants were the only down-side to the week.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Well maintained cabin in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

Nice and clean cabin on a beautiful lake. Great for kids and adults!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
IL
5

Wonderful cabin and grounds

  • 5 of 5

What a perfect place to spend a vacation.!! We have rented this cabin from the Wyldes for 15 years. Every year we enjoy it more. It's a perfect place for all ages. I love sitting on the wonderful screened porch in the morning and then later watching my grandkids enjoy swimming, fishing, and boating. The lake is a perfect size. It's never crowded and never gets too rough. None of us ever want to leave and we always make sure we are booked for the next year. The Wyldes have been wonderful hosts and provide everything we need. We are so grateful we are able to rent year after year.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
IL
1

No what we hoped

  • 1 of 5

Took a vacation to this less than clean vacation property with my two small children, my husband and my parents. I would first like to say this is not small child friendly as the owner informed me it was. Doors not shutting at all due to the door being way to big for the door frame, the door knob in pieces upon our arrival. (This was our children's room so that was an issue to have an unusable door.)

Used popsicle sticks, dental pics laying around on countertops and tables, a refrigerator full of food as well as the cupboards. Our stay was for 7 days and we had no where to put our kitchen items & food. The outlets would spark or the appliance wouldn't even stay plugged in as u were using it. This rental needs work. I spent a lot of my vacation cleaning a property that was listed as professionally cleaned after every rental. I can safely say that does not happen! My mothers bedspread had a disgusting stain on it upon our arrival.

Very disappointed in this rental, we were looking toward to our stay! It looks so cute in the pics. I did speak to the owner after we returned home and I expressed these concerns w her and was told they were the last to stay in the cabin before us and saw nothing wrong with the condition.

Save your money, there are better rentals out there.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback Kellie- We are sorry to hear that our cabin was not what you had hoped. As this is also our personal vacation property, we take great pride in cleaning and maintaining it well so our Guests will continue to return year after year. We care very much about cleaning in a professional manner and our standards of cleanliness. Thanks to your feedback from your stay last summer, we have corrected the items you mentioned in your review and apologize again for those overlooked issues. Our goal is to provide each one of our Guests with a wonderful environment to relax and make themselves at home and appreciate any feedback on improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Des Moines, IA
5

Cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

We rent a cabin on a lake in either Minnesota or Wisconsin every summer, and this was the nicest cabin we've stayed at. The cabin is nicely decorated, and feels very homey. We have young children (7 and 4), and felt perfectly comfortable letting them roam the grounds without keeping an eye on them every second. They loved the swingsets, the beach and fishing off the docks. The cabin is well stocked, and my kids loved watching Disney movies on VHS. (They'd never even seen a tape, lol.) They loved their bunk beds as well. I enjoyed the hiking trails near the property, and my husband caught a 2-foot northern off the dock. We met Gayl and her husband, and they were very friendly and accommodating. Rhinelander was only a five minute drive from the cabin, which was nice in case you needed to run into town for supplies. No one wanted to go home at the end of the week!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful find

  • 5 of 5

We have been to Rhinelander many times but were looking for a new place to stay this year and are so happy we found this cabin. My 10 year old son loved the bunk beds, the dart board, and fishing from the dock - he caught dozens of sunfish and was thrilled as he had never fished before. I loved drinking my morning coffee on the deck while watching the loons, a great blue heron, a mama mallard and her ducklings, and all the other birds in the yard. I also liked that it was a quick drive into town but still felt like a get-away. We had a very relaxing vacation and will be back. My son says he wants to move in so we'll have to go back! And the owner was wonderful and quite helpful as we booked the cabin.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties