check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Swim Boat Fish & Fun $800 Aug20-27 Cutest Little Lakefront Cabin~Lake Thompson

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
nights

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

***$ 800 WEEK ~~AUGUST 20-27 ***

**START MAKING YOUR FAMILY MEMORIES UP NORTH

AT THE CUTEST CABIN ON LAKE THOMPSON***

BOOKING FOR SUMMER 2017!!

EARLY JUNE/SUMMER DISCOUNT!!

Relive the Summers of your youth on Lake Thompson at our cabin at Norwood.

Swim, Boat, Fish and have Fun at our Lakefront Cabin.

Nestled in the Northwoods and only steps to the water, this classic LAKEFRONT CABIN offers something for everyone, this is 'Vintage at it's Best'. Our beautiful property was once a"Norwood Resort" cabin.

With its 3 bedrooms, beautiful knotty pine interior, Northwoods décor, SCREENED IN PORCH, and wrap around deck w/ Weber BBQ overlooking the lake, this nicely furnished 'Designer Owned' cabin will surely not disappoint.

*** Beautifully Themed Living Areas & Bedrooms include:

Master Bedroom w/1 Queen Bed

Bedroom #2 w/1 Queen Bed

Bedroom #3 w/2 sets of Bunk Beds

Living Room w/ Pull Out Sofa Sleeper

***New 42" Flat screen TV with Extended Cable***

***Full Bath with Standard size Tub & Shower***

*** Hardwood Laminate in 3 bedrooms***

Lake Thompson is a beautiful, clean 500 acre lake absolutely perfect for fishing, water-skiing, jet-skiing, pontooning and swimming. The swimming areas are safe, sandy and shallow. 900' of shoreline and five piers allow plenty of room for boats and fishing, so bring your boat!

Mother nature smiles on our 14 acres of woods and beach. Enjoy horseshoes, volleyball, bags, a playground and smores by the campfire in a family friendly - resort style setting. (Previously owned as Norwood Resort)

We invite you to take time out for relaxation and recreation and enjoy the fresh air, a spring fed lake with outstanding fishing and nature's wildlife at your front door. Quiet and secluded, yet close to town.

You will find great golf courses, wagon rides, horse back riding, petting farm, mini golf, movie theaters, great restaurants and other activities to make this the ideal family getaway.

Bring your Own Boat or Use Ours!!

***Cabin comes with its own Rowboat & Dock for Your Boat***

$40 ADDITIONAL CLEANING FEE~ FOR NIGHTLY RENTALS LESS THAN ONE WEEK

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

About The Owner

We live in the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago in a Lake community with our 3 children. We love warm weather, the water, and boating!!

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2001

Why The Owner chose Northeast

We decided to buy our cabin after visiting Norwood Resort. My husband vacationed here

as a child with his family many years ago. They were selling Cabins, and we decided this

was a great place for the family to come back to year after year to make great memories!

What makes this cabin unique

What makes this so great, is that Lake Thompson is an excellent Water Skiing lake!!

The whole family loves to Ski and Wake Board, so this lake has exactly what we love, smooth, calm water. It's great for fishing, too. There is always something fun to do & friendly people !!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had an absolutely fabulous time. The cabin was darling, kids fished off the dock, we had dinner on the porch, we made s'mores at the fire pit and my kids could not believe how many stars there were! Neighbors were kind. We truly had a wonderful time and plan on it being our place to stay when we visit our family up there!!

Thank you very much for sharing your lake house with us!!!

Many thanks!!
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Swim Boat Fish & Fun $800 Aug20-27 Cutest Little Lakefront Cabin~Lake Thompson
average rating of 4.428571 based on 9 reviews
5

Wonderful cabin and grounds

  • 5 of 5

What a perfect place to spend a vacation.!! We have rented this cabin from the Wyldes for 15 years. Every year we enjoy it more. It's a perfect place for all ages. I love sitting on the wonderful screened porch in the morning and then later watching my grandkids enjoy swimming, fishing, and boating. The lake is a perfect size. It's never crowded and never gets too rough. None of us ever want to leave and we always make sure we are booked for the next year. The Wyldes have been wonderful hosts and provide everything we need. We are so grateful we are able to rent year after year.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

No what we hoped

  • 1 of 5

Took a vacation to this less than clean vacation property with my two small children, my husband and my parents. I would first like to say this is not small child friendly as the owner informed me it was. Doors not shutting at all due to the door being way to big for the door frame, the door knob in pieces upon our arrival. (This was our children's room so that was an issue to have an unusable door.)

Used popsicle sticks, dental pics laying around on countertops and tables, a refrigerator full of food as well as the cupboards. Our stay was for 7 days and we had no where to put our kitchen items & food. The outlets would spark or the appliance wouldn't even stay plugged in as u were using it. This rental needs work. I spent a lot of my vacation cleaning a property that was listed as professionally cleaned after every rental. I can safely say that does not happen! My mothers bedspread had a disgusting stain on it upon our arrival.

Very disappointed in this rental, we were looking toward to our stay! It looks so cute in the pics. I did speak to the owner after we returned home and I expressed these concerns w her and was told they were the last to stay in the cabin before us and saw nothing wrong with the condition.

Save your money, there are better rentals out there.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback Kellie- We are sorry to hear that our cabin was not what you had hoped. As this is also our personal vacation property, we take great pride in cleaning and maintaining it well so our Guests will continue to return year after year. We care very much about cleaning in a professional manner and our standards of cleanliness. Thanks to your feedback from your stay last summer, we have corrected the items you mentioned in your review and apologize again for those overlooked issues. Our goal is to provide each one of our Guests with a wonderful environment to relax and make themselves at home and appreciate any feedback on improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Des Moines, IA
5

Cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

We rent a cabin on a lake in either Minnesota or Wisconsin every summer, and this was the nicest cabin we've stayed at. The cabin is nicely decorated, and feels very homey. We have young children (7 and 4), and felt perfectly comfortable letting them roam the grounds without keeping an eye on them every second. They loved the swingsets, the beach and fishing off the docks. The cabin is well stocked, and my kids loved watching Disney movies on VHS. (They'd never even seen a tape, lol.) They loved their bunk beds as well. I enjoyed the hiking trails near the property, and my husband caught a 2-foot northern off the dock. We met Gayl and her husband, and they were very friendly and accommodating. Rhinelander was only a five minute drive from the cabin, which was nice in case you needed to run into town for supplies. No one wanted to go home at the end of the week!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful find

  • 5 of 5

We have been to Rhinelander many times but were looking for a new place to stay this year and are so happy we found this cabin. My 10 year old son loved the bunk beds, the dart board, and fishing from the dock - he caught dozens of sunfish and was thrilled as he had never fished before. I loved drinking my morning coffee on the deck while watching the loons, a great blue heron, a mama mallard and her ducklings, and all the other birds in the yard. I also liked that it was a quick drive into town but still felt like a get-away. We had a very relaxing vacation and will be back. My son says he wants to move in so we'll have to go back! And the owner was wonderful and quite helpful as we booked the cabin.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Appleton, WI
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was the fourth year in a row that we have rented this cabin. That should pretty much say it all. It can be a relaxing spot for a couple or just what the kids love. The lake is great for fishing, swimming, water sports or a casual ride around the lake on a boat. For fishing and water sports, you will probably want to bring your own boat. The cabin has a great view of the lake so even if you just want to sit and read, this would work fine. We enjoy eating dinner on the screened in porch. If you need to run into Rhinelander for groceries or gas, it is about three miles. And in the chance of bad weather, the movie theater is close with lots of options. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Mukwonago, WI
5

We had a wonderful Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is exactly like the pictures and is just adorable. Plenty of room and the decor is great - very rustic. There is even a screened-in porch with a view of the lake for when you want to get away from the bugs. You really get the feeling that the owners care about their cabin with all the personal touches.

The fishing was excellent! Our kids caught a ton of pan fish and my husband was successful at catching some good size Bass and Walleye. The neighbors were friendly and it was pretty quiet throughout the week. We even had a family of deer in the yard behind us visiting day and night!

Overall, we had a great experience with both the owners and the cabin!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rhinelander Cabin Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rhinelander Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2) 2- Queen sized beds Guests must provide own Linens and Towels, Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (2) 2- sets of bunk beds Guests must provide own Linens and Towels
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Screened-in porch, Classic Knotty pine interior, Sandy beach with level swimming area and raft, Fire pit with wood, playground areas, 2 Queen beds, 2 Sets of bunk-beds & 1 Twin bed. Pier with boat dock (Public Boat launch nearby) 15' Aluminum Rowboat, Forced Gas Heat, Extended Cable T.V.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties