Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Beachfront Condo

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to Our Home Away from Home!

NEW - all kitchen appliances, new pillow top mattresses in both bedrooms, 46' flat panel TV

Our tropical oasis is waiting for you to kick back and enjoy. Perfect for large families (the master bedroom has 2 full sized beds (that could accommodate 4 people), second bedroom has a queen sized bed, living room has a sleeper sofa.

Fully equipped kitchen makes dining out an option rather than a necessity (gas grill on site for barbeques). Local telephone service, wireless internet (bring your lap top), 3 TV's keep you in touch. You don't have to leave the property to enjoy the heated pool, whirlpool spa, sauna, tennis court, lounges and covered patio. Pool and whirlpool are available to guests 24 hours a day, great to take a midnight swim!

Step across the street and onto famous Smather's Beach (voted #6 of Florida's 10 best beaches by the travel channel)where you can relax in the shade of a palm tree or join in the many activities available. Smather's Beach is the largest in Key West; it boasts chair and raft rentals, food vendors, snorkeling, sailing, parasailing, and kayaking.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Carol Dunnigan
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 15, 2018

About Carol Dunnigan

We visited Key West in 2001 and fell in love with our 'American Carribbean Island'. We are now retired and enjoy vacationing every February. We invite you to La Brisa, our 'home away from home' to experience all that Key West has to offer. We have found that the apartment is great for the two of us and has plenty of room when our family visits. We love the luxury of dining on the terrace-the view is just spectacular!

Carol Dunnigan purchased this condo in 2001

Why Carol Dunnigan chose Key West

We chose Key West as our vacation location because it is not a typical 'retirement' community in Florida. It's motto is 'One Family' and people of all ages, from all ethnicities and all walks of life enjoy all it has to offer. The island is only 2x4 miles; however it offers everything you could want in an island vacation.

What makes this condo unique

LaBrisa is a gated community located across the street from Smather's Beach (voted #6 of Florida's top 10 beaches). You can actually stand on the terrace and see the rest of your family enjoying the beach. Everything is right there; food vendors, chair rentals, parasailing, sailing, kayaking, snorkeling, jet skiing, volleyball. A 4 mile walking and biking path runs along the beach and the ocean shore. The heated pool and hot tub are right there; plenty of lounge chairs both in and out of the sun. It is open 24 hours/day. Nothing beats a swim and jacuzzi on a warm night! A newly refinished tennis court is also on site. Getting down town is easy; a bus stops right outside the gate; it is a 20 minute walk and a 10 minute bike ride.


Key West Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 double , 1 baby crib , Mater bedroom has doors to the terrace, private bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , New sleeper sofa
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Gated community with security, tennis court on property; waterfront sports (kayacking, sailing, parasailing, volleyball, water rafts) as well as food vendors available directly across from the condo.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
31% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Luxury Beachfront Condo
average rating of 4.457143 based on 35 reviews

Smathers Beach

  • 5 of 5

The location at Carol's condo was the best in Key West. We walked to some other beaches but Smathers was ideal; right across the street from the condo. There were beach chairs for us to use. Some days we took a collapsible cooler, some days we purchased lunch from one of several food trucks. We used the community pool mostly in the evening. The temperature of the water was perfect; the grounds are beautiful and neatly kept. There were only 2 of us so we had plenty of room, the condo can accommodate a few more people. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean; the kitchen was also well equipped. Breakfast every morning on the Lanai was a luxury for this northerner. I'm a star gazer so the darkness at the beach made for excellent night views. I recommend this condo community and hope to visit again!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome oceanfront condo with private balcony.

  • 5 of 5

With 3 queen size beds, a sofa sleeper, big kitchen with dishwasher & a washer/dryer combo, this condo gives you room to enjoy a stay. The pool & hot tub are steps away & very nicely maintained. Quiet and beautiful. Owner is very responsive.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

We had an absolutely wonderful time. The condo that we rented couldn't have been more perfect! The view was just like the picture shows! No surprises, all was great. Hope to go again in the future.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Phyllis, We're so happy to hear that we helped to contribute to your wonderful vacation. It is very important for future guests to know that our pictures and descriptions of our condo are accurate. WE hope you return again. Carol and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice little condo by the beach.

  • 4 of 5

Pretty setting across from Smathers beach & an easy drive to all the must see attractions

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not a luxury condo as listed

  • 1 of 5

Lay out of condo is great. Open and airy with plenty of room.

When I arrived to pick up keys (at a different location than the condo) they were not in the lock box like they were supposed to be. Luckily the office was still open and a nice lady found the keys for me. Later, when I spoke with the property manager and mentioned it her words were "I've had a bad day". Okay.

Later that night when locking up before bed I discovered that the sliding patio door would not lock. I also found 4 windows in all that also wouldn't lock. I sent a message through Home Away to the owner and awaited her reply in the morning. In the meantime I could not sleep because of the lock issue. Single woman here traveling with two children. In the morning I proceed to call the property manager and she says that she will call the owner. I hear back from the property manager and am informed that the owner is on a bus trip for the day and will call me later. After not hearing from her I try calling and texting because it's getting later in the day and I still haven't heard from the owner. Finally I contact Home Away/VRBO and they escalate the issue and put us up in a hotel for the night due to safety concerns. Apparently Home Away also agrees that no locks are a safety issue as well. The next morning after things have escalated I hear from the owner, her response " We have never in 15 years that we have owned the condo have any locks on the windows or any trouble with anyone entering the condo, and that I am welcome to wedge something in the windows". Home Away is at this point working on moving us to a new condo when the owner finally offers to send someone out to fix the locks. Home Away won't pay to relocate us if the issue is resolved so we stay after the locks are fixed.

This should have never been an issue. Locks, whether one chooses to use them or not, should still be available. And in my opinion the listing should have stated this so I could have chosen to NOT stay there and the aggravation would have never happened.

The owner mentions that you should look at the photos well in choosing the condo. This is true.

The condo is a basic 70's relic that has no updates except a built in microwave that I can tell. There are no luxurious amenities, not even the linens. Everything is basic with the least amount of money possible spent to maintain. Water damage in a couple places, broken blinds, corrosion on some bathroom fixtures, etc. I have photos. Very disappointed

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: PLEASE READ- OUT OF 37 4 AND 5 STAR REVIEWS- THIS IS THE ONLY POOR REVIEW DURING THE PAST 10 YEARS. The guest's main concern was that doors and windows did not lock; she made a formal complaint to VRBO. Our contractor visited the condo and showed her that actually they WERE all in working order. VRBO contacted me to let me know that the complaint was dismissed. The guest then demanded that I refund some money for her stay in the hotel; when I didn't reply she wrote the above review. WE have owned the condo for 15 years and have dealt with many wonderful guests. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly with any concerns you may have before you decide to book the condo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Luxury Beachfront condo ID# 133090

  • 5 of 5

This is the first time I've written a review on a place I've stayed. The location of this condo was perfect for our family. We have 4 girls and we fit very comfortable. The condo was beyond what we expected and had beautiful view of Smathers Beach. They condo has a good size pool and hot tub that is opened 24 hours a day. We look forward to going back to Key West and staying in this condo.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Key West International
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Key West-Marco Island-Ft. Myers
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Key West Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
U.S. 1- Begins in Key West- ends in Maine!
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Salute on the Beach
Nearest Beach
Smathers Beach-directly across from the condo
Nearest Point of Interest
La Brisa at Smather's Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping centers
Nearest Point of Interest
Southern (Upper) Duval Street
Nearest Point of Interest
Mallory Square- North Duval Street
Nearest Point of Interest
El Siobony Restaurant- Margaret & Catherine St
Nearest Point of Interest
Square One Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Louie's Backyard Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Charterboat Row
Nearest Point of Interest
Hurricane Hole
Car: not necessary

GET MARRIED ON THE BEACH- SMATHER'S BEACH IS THE PRIME KEY WEST LOCATION FOR SUNSET WEDDINGS. Key West's famous 'SUNSET CELEBRATION' happens every night at Mallory Square- Join in the fun- enjoy the sunset with a tropical drink, watch the street performers entertain, plan your evening while strolling along famous Duval Street.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties