Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Puget Sound Waterfront Beach House ~ Easy Beach Access, Neighborhood Pool!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, covered deck, fire pit (Sleeps 9)

Welcome to Shore Lane Beach House - your water front retreat!

Less than 2 hours from Seattle right on Puget Sound's Oakland Bay near Shelton, Washington. Experience waterfront living at its best. Enjoy the WHOLE HOUSE RENOVATION.

ABOUT SHORE LANE BEACH HOUSE ~~

Escape to the beautifully decorated water front retreat. Shore Lane Beach House offers three bedrooms, one and 3/4 bathrooms on three levels totaling 1400 square feet. All rooms (except for one bedroom) have superb views of the water. Stay in touch if needed utilizing our high speed WiFi connection.

It is a great set up for adults and kids. Send the kids to the downstairs living area to play games or watch TV in the evenings while you enjoy the view and conversation on the main floor. Kids can sleep in the bunk room with their choice of upper bunk, lower bunk, or trundle.

On the main floor, step outside the French doors onto the covered deck right off the dining and living areas. Enjoy the water view while you prepare meals in the fully equipped kitchen featuring maple cabinets, oil rubbed bronze hardware, and granite countertops with slate backsplash.

Laundry area and brand new 3/4 bath with shower and 4 ft granite top vanity are on the main floor as well.

Later retreat to either of two upstairs bedrooms. Pick the waterside room with the king bed, cable TV and balcony overlooking the bay, or relax on the queen size bed in the tastefully appointed blue room.

You'll find a full bath with a bathtub/shower, tile tub surround and granite counter vanity on the third floor as well.

ABOUT THE WATER ~~

Shore Lane Beach House is located on the east side of Oakland Bay (which is just south of Hood Canal). Look across the water and see the city of Shelton - the lights are beautiful at night. Saunter down a few stairs to the beach which is great fun to beach comb any time of year. You'll see playful seals frolicking and salmon jumping in the water. At high tide, you can catch fish off the lower deck or simply cast from shore and reel them in! The water is surprisingly warm in summer. You can swim, or just sit with feet in the water, face in the sun for a truly Northwest Puget Sound experience. In winter it is just beautiful. You can even kayak on the calm waters of Oakland Bay. North Bay Kayak in Allyn will deliver!

THINGS TO DO ~~

Shelton and the surrounding areas offer plenty to do for everyone. The covered deck is the perfect spot to enjoy the winter waters - just bundle up if it's chilly. Or build a campfire right in the back yard and take in the view. Take a walk up the beach for an hour and you won't see any houses, just the wonders of nature. Experience fishing, wildlife viewing, or visit the Olympic National Rainforest Park.

Perhaps you'd like to catch a flick at the drive-in movie theater, try your luck at the Little Creek Casino, take the family out to eat, or enjoy Kneeland Park with its gigantic playground, grassy areas and beautiful picnic shelter.

Now, if GOLF is your game, you will not be disappointed. Truly test your skill at the prestigious Alderbrook, Gold Mountain, or Trophy Lake golf courses, all 20 to 35 miles from Shore Lane Beach House.

Don't miss the beautiful heated private community pool. It is open all summer and is free for guests of Shore Lane Beach House to use. It's just 2/3 mile away!

We are certain you will have a relaxing vacation and will want to return soon to Shore Lane Beach House!

Managed and owned by Picture Properties Vacation Rental Management, where prompt and courteous guest service is our priority.

Keywords: Waterfront Beach House Cabin, Hood Canal

More Details

Owner
Picture Properties
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2018

About Picture Properties

Two sisters and their families purchased Shore Lane Beach House as a getaway and planned from the beginning to share it with vacationers like you. The experienced husbands remodeled it from top to bottom and the wives had a great time with the decorating. Everything is there for a memorable vacation - we invite you to enjoy it as we have.

Picture Properties purchased this house in 2007

What makes this house unique

What we enjoy most is the view from almost every place in the house and the beach. Between our two families, our kids range in age from 7 to adult and everyone has something fun to do there. Cable TV and WiFi keeps you connected, while the beach provides hours of fun exploring, wading, gathering clams and oysters, or our kids' favorite activity - throwing rocks in the Sound. Of course, the nearby heated swimming pool is a HUGE hit in the summer. We love that the house is remodeled completely and decorated nicely too - you really feel like you're on vacation, with all the amenities of home. Come experience the peacefulness of Shore Lane Beach House - you'll love it!

Amenities

Shelton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Top floor bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , On top floor w/ 2 bedrooms
    Main floor bath - toilet , shower , 3' x 4' shower, 4 ft granite top vanity (on main floor)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Convertible bed(s) - 2 twin/ single , Downstairs living area has day bed with trundle, so 2 twins
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , This room has a balcony, great views, & a TV (top floor)
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , On top floor - pack n play can be used in any bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed with pull-out trundle, sleeping 3 (on bottom floor)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A booster seat with tray for kids, full range of board and card games, reading library, coffee maker (coffee provided). We have a coffee grinder (electric) if you bring beans.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(79 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Puget Sound Waterfront Beach House ~ Easy Beach Access, Neighborhood Pool!
average rating of 4.835443 based on 79 reviews
2

Great house - Not the best location

  • 2 of 5

The house was as advertised. Plenty of space.

Our family (4 kids between 3-11) had some bad timing. A burn ban kept us from using the fire pit. Poor air quality kept us from using the pool. The pool closed for our entire trip and my kids were in tears. We picked this house due to the pool. Of note, the pool is more like a public pool. The VRBO doesn't mention the dollar per person charge - but the rental contract did. The Rental contract didn't mention the ant problem in the house. But after we paid, the welcome message instructed us to clean up after ourselves to help with the ants. Most of the ones we saw were in the bathrooms. Speaking of bugs, my kids counted 12 large brown spiders (with webs) on the porch by the front door. My wife and I both got spider bites - the kids did not. You'd think the cleaning charge would include a quick web sweep... The back yard was dead grass and weeds (pretty standard for the PNW), but the picture shows green grass. My littlest kids got multiple splinters from the railing on the stairs that led to the beach. They also could not get up or down the last few rock steps that lead to the beach - as I'm sure any person with mobility concerns would. We walked the beach during low tide but didn't make it far. The beach at low tide has thick mud that would overflow into your sandals, and it smelt like low tide. We did take to the water (because the pool was closed). It was pretty gross, but we put on our best smile to help the kids have fun. We paddled our surfboards from the shoreline, hoping to find some clean water further out. Never happened. Dead bugs, bird droppings, and overall yuck went on as far as we could paddle - I guess I should have researched better. It makes sense based on where the house is located. Others: I asked to check in one hour early but was denied due to maid service. On the day of checkout, the maids were parked outside the house at 1030 as we were departing. I called to check out a day early due to the pool closure - no refund offered. It did smell like kitty litter on the bottom floor - I think a separate post observed a similar odor. We use VRBO often. I think families with kids can do better for the $.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, we expected a review such as this from this guest. He was very upset because of the pool being closed. To fully explain, this was late Aug and the forest fire smoke coming down from Canada (all over the Pac NW) was bad. The county said there should be no outdoor activities for people's safety, so the pool complied, of course (first time in 11 years since we have been there the pool has been closed due to smoke). Our kids' soccer practices were cancelled that week too. Obviously, this was completely beyond our control so when he wanted his money back, this just wasn't something we thought was fair, and he was very mad about that. The pool is not public, it's a private neighborhood pool and is very nice. The rest of his review is quite offensive, and none of it was mentioned directly to us during or after his stay. Of course, we'd like to address each concern. We have a contract with a local extermination co, and the tiny sugar ants can show up in the kitchen or baths. A treatment does wonders and this is just something that is common in this area. We do not have a spider issue there. If there were a few spiders outside the house, it must have been the time of year. We have been going to the house with our three kids for 11 years and it has never been an issue. I would think people would be more likely to get a mosquito bite than a spider bite. We have never had spider bites, and this is the very first time any of our 1000's of guests have even mentioned spiders. By late Aug after a hot summer, the grass is usually not as green as spring and early summer. The railing is pressure treated wood (typical for beach stairs). Use caution, of course. First time we have heard of any splinters. The very last rock stair to the beach is 12" to 15". Yes, please do assist little kids. As with any Puget Sound beach, there is mud at low tide. You don't walk along the water's edge at low tide (higher up is fine). I specifically told him the water is wonderful for swimming (quite warm) at mid to high tide. It's clean and our kids do it all the time. He chose not to take my advice. Guests checked out the same day as him, so we couldn't offer early check-in this time. If there was a smell downstairs, it is gone now. We think it was a small rodent in the water heater room and that room has been cleaned out and even re-drywalled. Please read all our reviews. This person didn't get what he wanted, so chose to retaliate in a review, sad to say.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beautiful view

  • 2 of 5

While the view was beautiful, we were very disappointed with the bunk bed location in the basement. The basement had a very funny/musty smell so the kids did not sleep there. In fact, we never went in the basement after the initial walk through due to the smell.

In addition, the pots and pans need to be replaced. They are in really bad shape. And there were ants on the kitchen counter, which is not ideal for wanting to prepare meals.

When we opened the dishwasher there was, again, a very bad/musty smell. I ran the dishwasher without dishes and that seemed to alleviate the odor.

Overall, we would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So disappointing to get our first ever review below 4 stars! Our average rating is 4.9 out of 5, so most guests do not at all agree with this guest. We will definitely check out the pots and pans - we update as needed. There are tiny sugar ants in the area, and once in a while we see them inside (not many or often). We have a contract with a great local extermination company and they can treat as needed. Haven't heard from other guests or housekeeping lately, and our company just treated as well. As far as a smell downstairs, that is NOT the norm, and we have been there since this guest stayed and it isn't an issue. Our own kids sleep in that downstairs room every time we go. Please check out other reviews to get an overall idea of our guests' satisfaction. The guest who checked in the same day this guest checked out gave us 5 stars. We have been in business at Shore Lane Beach House a long time (over 10 years!). We're always updating furnishings and decor, we just painted the exterior, and we always make sure the maintenance on the home is taken care of. I'm sure you'll find the house to be in good condition and well appointed. Let us know if you have any questions please. Thanks! Debra, Picture Properties (owner)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great girls getaway

  • 5 of 5

quick getaway for our girls. loved the house, just what we needed. Quiet, secluded but close enough to everything.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful location with spectacular views. Very peaceful, and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place to vacation. It was away from the big city which is one thing we loved. It was close to a lot of trails, sea exploration options, and some very quaint little towns. The owners where very friendly and easy to work with. They answered any questions we had promptly. The house is well kept, clean, decorated nicely, and pretty well stocked with things you might need like kitchen tools, laundry soap, etc.

One thing that was lacking was nearby seafood restaurants (something us inlanders where looking forward to) but I suppose that's what happens when you vacation away from the city.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house, even in 97 degree heat!

  • 5 of 5

We spent four nights at the Shore Lane house this July. We LOVED the views - we spent our evenings sitting on the deck, looking out over the bay. Our kids LOVED the community pool (we did, too), and all in all it was perfect for us. We had another family of four with us for two of the four nights and it was still plenty of space to suit our needs.

We plan to return next summer!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing!!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful location, right on the sound. Home is very clean and spacious. It was very hot in Shelton so no AC made the home very hot, however there is fans to help relieve the heat. The evenings cooled down, and it was perfect. We will definitely come back again, maybe in fall or spring.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Seatac Airport
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Bremerton Ferry
Nearest Motorway
35 Miles
I-5
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
right in front of house!
Car: necessary

Three prestigious golf courses 20 to 35 miles away, community boat launch 1/4 mile, Little Creek Casino 30 minute drive, drive-in movie theater 30 minute drive, Walter Dacon Winery 30 minute drive, Kneeland Park (huge playground and beautiful covered picnic area) 15 minute drive, community heated swimming pool, playground, and basketball court 2/3 mile. Locals have told us the water out front is the best jet skiing on any body of water in the area.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120
Additional Guest Fee $10 per person per night

Check-in 4pm, check-out 11am
Base rates for up to 6 guests, additional guests $10/person/nt (9 max)
Neighborhood pool open during summer!
$400 refundable deposit holds dates with balance due 30 days before stay
If interested in dates more than 6 months out, please contact us before booking online.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties