Villa, 1 + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4), futon in living room
Pool / Spa
- 100% refund if you cancel at least 30 days before check-in.
- 50% refund (minus the service fee) if you cancel at least 14 days before check-in.
- No refund if you cancel less than 14 days before check-in.
Damage and incidentals
You will be responsible for any damage to the rental property caused by you or your party during your stay.
Max guests: 4
Our Villa was right at the waters edge like the web site states. The best surprise was how great the snorkeling was just outside our door. From Turtles to giant puffer fish, we saw it all. The unit itself was clean and had what we needed for our stay. Stocking Island is a short boat trip to experience Sting Rays and we recommend Coastline for the all day boat trip if you want to swim with sharks, pigs, see Iguanas, snorkel in a Grotto, walk an enormous sand bar and experience some really good local food. We are going back ASAP.
Great place but George needs to shape up
Not up to the standards of Europe and uk mainly cooking in constructive area and also very dark
3 Star MAYBE, but this one needs work.
While George is a very nice guy, I selected this property due to the glowing reviews. WHOOPS. I'm not going to bore you with stories of beaches and pigs. Instead let's discuss this unit at Hideways. You'll notice there is only ONE photo of the interior of this place. We found out why entering it. I asked a couple of times for additional photos and George didn't know how to attach them. :-/ It all started when my wife opened a kitchen drawer and was greeted by the biggest palmetto bug we've seen in years! We are from Florida, so we know all about these creatures. The INSIDE of the freezer was RUSTY and the outside of the fridge wasn't much better. In the living room is a very tired and hard futon while the couch next to it was just as gross. Fabric is a poor choice for a beach rental. At a minimum, some washable throw covers would be a better option. The front desk gave us large sheets to cover the couches. Later that night, upon crawling in bed, we found a soaking wet pillow. It didn't take much investigating to discover the air conditioner above the bed was leaking condensate onto the pillows. Legionnaires disease anyone? We ran the front unit and left the bedroom unit off for the entire stay. I believe the resort is responsible for the poor threadbare bedding linens and odd brown stains on the sheets. EWWW! The pillows are only about 2inches thick and hard as rocks. The king size bed is pretty hard, but if you've had a few drinks, it's passable. Again, I would guess the resort is responsible for cleaning this place and changing the linens so that is probably something George might want to talk to hideways about. The towels were fluffy and soft. The lack of a dishwasher is not a big deal, as the hot water is nice and hot, just rusty looking..... :-/ I couldn't get confirmation from George if there was a blender here so I brought my own. Glad I did, there is one, but I wasn't using it. The resort is what it is, we didn't use it. There was a concert there one night and it went until 4am! Even the neighbors were complaining about the noise. Speaking of noise, there is some place down the beach that cranks base every night until midnight. Quiet place? NOPE. This one needs some work, I don't expect sandals at this price, but I've stayed on Grand Cayman for less money in nicer and cleaner places. Thanks George, we have fun where ever we go, but we won't be back. BTW, you can hear the bedroom toilet leaking water once the music stops.
Thanks for the review. Sorry it didn't meet your expectations. Most people like it there.
We will talk to the resort management and ask them to address your suggestions.
We were there in November and I didn't notice the issues you mentioned. We pay to have pest control several times per year.
You are the first to complain about the furniture. It was fine in November. I'll check it out next trip.
Was the view ok for you? How about the fact that you were only 15 steps from the beach?
We try to make our rates affordable. You would not believe how much it costs to own there!
I appreciate your comments and hope you will return to Exuma.
Oasis Beachfront Villa
A hidden gem! Wonderful spacious 1 bedroom villa that opens up to the beach. The property part of Hideaways Resort with 20 or so units, so the resort and beach feels very private. There are mostly older couples and families, you won’t find any drunk millennials here!
The turquoise beach is shallow and ultra private. You can go half a mile out into the ocean with the water up to your knees. Best of all, there were a total of 5 people sharing the beach with us! For even a more pristine beach with crystal clear water, Jolla Cove is a 10 minute walk around the corner, there were just a handful of people there as well as stingrays.
The 1 bedroom villa isn't quite what you would expect as a "villa", it's part of row of units. It's spacious and clean with 2 bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen with pots/pans/culinary, microwave, stove, oven, and regular full size refrigerator. Sadly there's no dish washer or washer and dryer. There’s an option for same day dry cleaning.
The resort is bare bones with limited amenities - a fitness center without treadmills and limited shuttle services. Definitely not Sandals! There are no beach umbrellas and the resort offers for rent poor quality snorkeling gear, so bring your own snorkeling/scuba diving gear. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and nice, she even gave us a hug at the end of our stay. Definitely made up for the lack of amenities. Given the size of the room and privacy and low price point, the VRBO is a steal!
The location was great conveniently in the heart of Exuma. It’s a 5 minute drive to the downtown area Georgetown and a 5 minute walk to Fish Fry, the casual local hot spot. Although it's conveniently located on the resort, Splash has expensive bar food and sugary cocktails. You can get much better food off the resort in Georgetown at Driftwood Cafe or cook your own meals from the grocery store, Exuma Market.
We highly recommend renting a car! We rented a car right across the street at the agency Thompson's Car Rental (which is closed on Sundays). We explored the Southern part of the island and idyllic Tropic of Cancer beach as well as the Northern side.
Note that room cleaning and breakfast aren't included and there’s airport pick-up, you can request by calling. We were able to find a cab easily from the airport. The host was responsive and got back to us promptly or so regarding the address and check-in process.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back!
Great place Perfect location
The condo was clean, comfortable and right on the beach. The personnel running the resort are helpful and friendly. Other international guests made stay interesting as well. A 5 minute walk to the North is Jolly Hall beach which is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. This place has everything that makes the Bahamas a great place to spend a relaxing vacation.
Water taxi to Stocking Island to Chat-N-Chill beach bar (1 mile) and nature trails.-- guided kayak, fishing, and snorkel
About George Needham
I love to travel to islands and beaches with my wife and two daughters. We enjoy a safe and secluded environment for our vacations. Exuma met all of our requirements and absolutely blew us away.
George Needham purchased this Villa in 2007
Why George Needham chose George Town
My wife and I took our girls to Exuma for the first time when they were around the ages of 9 and 12. We have been in love with it ever since and we would like to share its beauty. It is safe and small, like a secret, secluded island.
What makes this Villa unique
Guests are entitled to use all resort amenities.