Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Historic Craftsman Style 3 BR Home Near Culture & Downtown Livingston

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8-10.)

A well kept historic home with a location that is unbeatable! Guests RAVE about our location, with walking distance to great restaurants, evening social life, and breakfast bakeries! The Elliott Guest House is a completely restored home built in 1916. Fine linens (Italian sheets), regional art, and a fully furnished kitchen grace the home. The Elliott Guest House is distinguished as one of the area's first vacation homes. It is a premiere place for flyfishers to stay. We love to host our guests. This is our only home that we manage, so your stay will not feel like a corporate booking or distant management company experience.

We are your premiere weekend getaway in fall and winter.

Our home is ideally suited within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and live theater. Fish or sightsee during the day (within a 15 minute drive) and come home to a charming home near restaurants and live theater at the end of the day.

For 100 years, we have had the pleasure of hosting expectant mothers, vacationers, extended families from the Livingston-Gardiner-Bozeman area, and yes, even actors from 'A River Runs Through It' and the 'Horse Whisperer'. If only our walls could talk and share with you all of the comings and goings at The Elliott House!

The home is very clean, and the owner pays close attention to details. There are three bedrooms and one bathroom that features an antique claw foot bathtub with shower. A generous supply of books, magazines, and games abounds. Call ahead with your grocery list, and the owner will stock the home for you, book you for massage therapy at the nearby Firehall Fitness Center, or send you a list of yoga classes just one block from the home.

Enjoy the sunny front porch and walk to breakfast just two blocks downtown. Relax in our air conditioning and well kept furnishings.

Keywords: bungalow style home, close to downtown, affordable, historic, flyfishing, Yellowstone National Park, Bozeman, airport accessable, hiking, biking, backpacking, couples, clean, three-bedroom, recreation, retreat, Montana, cowboy, western, Paradise Valley, culture, art, theater, Gallatin, Yellowstone River, Depot Center, convenient, antiques, Victorian style,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About The Owner

Kara Stermitz is a fifth generation owner of the Elliott Guest House. Originally built by Kara's great-great grandmother, Sarah Schultz, the home was an early day boarding home for expectant mothers. Kara's great-great grandmother Sarah, a mid-wife, journeyed in her horse and buggy to outlying ranches to pick up expectant mothers. She pampered Mom and Baby, giving them respite they likely would not have again soon. Nowadays, Kara takes great enjoyment in offering the home to her guests as she raises her four children and works as a Marketing Administrator/Operations Manager for Confluence Consulting, a stream restoration and environmental consulting firm in Bozeman, MT. Kara has strong ties to Park County, as her family still ranches near Yellowstone Park. Kara is an avid flyfisher and can talk with you about many excursions and choices in the area. When she is not busy in Livingston, Kara chooses to travel elsewhere to flyfishing adventures!

The Owner purchased this house in 1992

Why The Owner chose Yellowstone Country

This property has always been in the ownership of a Stermitz or Elliott. Kara is an authentic Montana girl! Our location is within walking distance to downtown Livingston and also Montana's Rib and Chop House. Enjoy your day our sightseeing, fishing, or hiking, and return at the end of the day to a pleasant walk downtown.

What makes this house unique

The Elliott Guest House is uniquely located in close proximity (within a short walking distance) to shopping, art galleries, a fitness center, the Firehouse 5 Playhouse, Blue Slipper Theater, Montana's Rib and Chop House, and other amenities. Within a 5 minute drive lies the Yellowstone River, and within 15-20 minutes' drive are the Spring Creeks. The Elliott House is meticulously cared for.

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Bozeman, MT
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Murray Bar
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Livingston Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
I-90
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Montana's Rib and Chop House
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Bridger Bowl Ski Area

Our home is uniquely close to theaters, art galleries, dining, the Yellowstone River, and other fine amenities.

Amenities

Livingston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Our bathroom has an antique clawfoot bathtub with shower. We furnish a blow dryer, makeup mirror, towels and washcloths, shampoo, soap, bath salts, and other amenities. Forget your shaving cream? We will help you out!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • The Gallatin Room - 1 queen , This is our most spacious room. Beautifully appointed.
    The Spring Creek Room - 1 queen , Centrally located off the dining area. Quiet and comfy.
    The Yellowstone Room - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Double bed bunk with twin on top. Also extra long twin.
    Convertible sofa couch - 1 queen , Fold out couch in livingston room. Minimal mattress use.
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1). Our beds are furnished in Italian sheets, with plenty of pillows. Quilts, alternative down comforters, and extra throws grace the rooms for cool evenings.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Forget an item during your stay at The Elliott Guest House? While we appreciate that you may have forgotten something during your stay, we seem to be returning items often! We charge a $30 minimum fee to return your item to you via USPS. This fee includes postage to anywhere in the U.S. Additional fees will apply if requesting UPS , FedEx, or additional insurance coverage.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
12% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Historic Craftsman Style 3 BR Home Near Culture & Downtown Livingston
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
York, UK
3

Livingston Historic House

  • 3 of 5

We may have been unfortunate arriving in Livingston in really hot weather. However, the house was very warm and the small window air conditioner was simply unable to cope. Fortunately there was just 2 of us and by closing off two of the bedrooms and using the bedroom closest to the air conditioner nights were tolerable. This is a old house with traditional features including a claw foot bath with a great shower but definitely not easy for this older couple to use. Excellent cable TV but very slow WiFi around 1Mb download so no streaming or big files.

Livingston is a fun town close to Yellowstone with some good dining places including the Rib and Chop House just 2 minutes walk from the the front door.

We have stayed in over 50 VRBO/Homeaway homes in the US, Europe and Australia this is the first time I have written a 3 star review. Unfortunately when I look back at the owner's description and compare it to our experience I think it's fair to say this historic house did not live up to our expectations.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Livingston experienced an UNUSUALLY warm July 2017. We had not seen temperatures exceeding 90 degrees for so many days on end for decades. We were all melting! Most rental properties in our area have no air conditioning, due to the fact that it is rarely needed (with the exception of possibly 2 to 3 weeks). We are one of the few homes to have an air conditioner, which is located in our dining/living room area. Additionally, many homes do not have WIFI. Some areas in Paradise Valley and near Yellowstone Park are inaccessible to service altogether, while others choose not to offer service as there are many internet cafes close by. (Within two blocks of the Elliott House are several internet cafes and a public library with internet access.) I work for a global software firm and have worked out of The Elliott House for extended periods. I have not found the speed of the WIFI to be an issue. This is a high outdoor enthusiast area, with our guests out and about and not predominately tuned in to media. We encourage you to visit our museums, sight-see, rent a bike, or visit a live theater in the evenings. We have two wonderful live theaters, both within walking distance to The Elliott House. We host dozens of guests each year and those happy and satisfied rarely post and contact us personally with gracious comments about how our pricing, location, and amenities are an excellent value. We enjoy hosting!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellevue, NE
4

Pleasant stay

  • 4 of 5

Owner was easy to work with. Even with 5 adults the single bathroom worked out although getting in and out if the tub/shower can be difficult. Stocked with everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed hosting Rhonda's group. As a host, I am attentive to our guests' needs, including answering questions prior to guests' stay and working with them on booking and changes that occur. I worked closely with Rhonda to ensure that her reservation was as seamless as possible, with no surprises. The antique clawfoot bathtub is the original bathtub that was in the Elliott Guest House, lovingly restored. It is large and designed for full body soaking. We encourage our guests to review our website photographs in advance to discover if all of the amenities are the right fit for them. I am happy to hear Rhonda's stay was pleasant.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The house was quaint and has a bit of history to it.

  • 3 of 5

There was three people in our group. My wife, my sister-in-law and me. We found the house quaint and enjoyed the fact that it had a bit of local history attached. The bed was a bit cramped for my wife and I, but we managed. The only knock I had was the bathroom. There is a shelf above the lavatory that I nearly banged my head on every time I went to rinse my mouth or splash my face. I couldn't lean forward without nearly hitting the shelf. The tub is an old claw foot style, which I'm not new to, we had that same type of tub in one of our early homes for years. The problem is, this one is set up with a shower and between no room to maneuver without nearly pulling the shower curtain down or tripping over it.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As our website shows, there are two queen sized beds in two rooms. They are standard sized queen beds. The clawfoot bathtub in our bathroom does have a shower. Nearly all of our guests prefer a shower. It is set up to shower in, with a shower curtain that pulls around the bathtub. There is nothing unusual about this set up, and the bathroom was configured by a plumber with years of experience. So, nothing with a band-aid or patched together, here! The shelf is configured to set your shaving items, cosmetics, or nighttime skin regiment above the sink and placed well above the sink as our website photos display.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fishing Family

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the charming Elliott House. We appreciated the personal touches and the homey feel.

I did discover, though, that I am a fan of modern conveniences. Showering proved to be a bit of a challenge in the period-correct tub (although I admit the bathroom decor was very cute!); wrestling with the curtain was comical.

For couples traveling together, the second bedroom didn't bode well for husband and wife to sleep together: no big deal--I baled and slept in "the kids' room" on the bottom bunk, and slept just fine!

It was great to have everything within walking distance. However, living in Michigan as I do, it was a bummer that all the shops closed up at 5 as we never got off from any rivers we fished until later. (Which has NOTHING to do with the quality of the Elliott house, but something to keep in mind as a traveler).

All things considered, I would certainly recommend staying at the Elliott House if the Livingston/Gardner/Bozeman area is your destination. No farther than 45 mins from ANYTHING you'd care to experience in Momtana's fishing Mecca.

Oh! And nice fish on your fb page! Congratulations!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always enjoy hosting our guests and are glad to receive feedback. The second bedroom discussed below has been shared by couples previously, and the third bedroom mentioned has three extra beds, and certainly not set up as a "kids room". The antique clawfoot bathtub contains a shower with both an exterior and interior shower curtain that fully wraps around the bathtub, a very standardized set up for this style of bathtub. We chose to retain this bathtub in the Elliott Guest House as it was the original bathtub in the home, and as such is very large for bathing and soaking. Antique clawfoot bathtubs such as this are a rare find. We accomodated this guest's need to arrive early, as they called four hours in advance of arrival time and wanted to get into the house early. We were able to do so. They had also forgotten their access code to the home, so that was sent again after the party was in route on the airplane. We look forward to continue sharing our home with our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding Property and Unbeatable Value

  • 5 of 5

Of the many VRBO properties I've rented, this place ranks at the very top. It's meticulously clean, well furnished with many antiques, quiet, and with bookshelves filled with Montana books. The charming bungalow is two-blocks from Livingston's vibrant Main Street and its bookstores, coffee houses, public library, museums, and restaurants. The owner runs a tight ship which means that when you arrive, the place will be in A+ condition. I thoroughly enjoyed my 2-week holiday here and will definitely book another visit. Incidentally, Yellowstone NP is less than an hour drive from Livingston. Historic Virginia City and Nevada City are about 90 minutes from the rental property. In short, this property is a great rental for the price. You won't find a better value.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Saint Paul, MN
5

Wonderful Historic Home close to all Livingston has to Offer

  • 5 of 5

This vacaction home, The Elliott House, was a pleasant surprise. Situated in downtown Livingston, MT it was incredibly close (i.e.walking distance) to many fine restaurants, shops , museums and galleries. The restaurant quisines included Italian, Mexican, American (upper end steak and chop house) and Oriental. The house was in great shape, cozy and could easily accomodate six people. We especially enjoyed the location and the ambiance - we would sit on the small front porch in the evenings to enjoy the weather and sounds of the trains- Livingston was a major railroad hub in the early 20th century and still has many trains passing through on their way West or East.

The kitchen was fully functional and we did cook a few evening meals to balance eating out at one of the local restaurants. The home is very close to the Yellowstone River and only 55 minutes or so from Yellowstone National Park, which we did visit. We also played golf at the local course which bordered the river and which had very well maintained greens.

The owner/hostess of this establishment is a first class lady and was very flexible to make our stay enjoyable. I would and will stay at The Elliot House again. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $165
Tax Rate 7.0%

Our standard rates are $145 per night for two; $20 each additional person per night. We require 3 nights minimum stay. Children ages 6 and under stay free. During the winter months, we offer a monthly rate for parties interested in renting the home for 30 days or longer. For shorter stays during the winter months, our standard rates apply at $145 per night for two.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties