Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

On the Ocean, Amelia Island, Florida

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Delightful second floor 1 BR Amelia Surf & Racquet Club condo. Two pools or a short walk to the ocean out the front door. Miles of beautiful soft sand beach. 4 artificial clay tennis courts on the property. Public golf course 5 minutes away. The Ritz-Carlton is 1/4 mi up the road. The Amelia Island Plantation with shopping, restaurants and Spa is 2 mi south. The town of Fernandina Beach is 5 miles north with it's quaint Victorian homes, cobblestone streets, and delightful restaurants. You will fall in love with this place just like we did.

Keywords: Condominium

Free Wi-Fi

More Details

Owner
Lou Wagner & Sandy Mortensen
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About Lou Wagner & Sandy Mortensen

Lou and I love to travel, play tennis, golf, snow ski,hike, bike, play cards and board games. We love to visit our Amelia Surf and Racquet Club condo. Walk on the beach. Read. Golf. Looking out our window we don't see another building, just the ocean and the beach. We feel like we are on our own private island. It's our little home away from home.

Lou Wagner & Sandy Mortensen purchased this condo in 2007

Why Lou Wagner & Sandy Mortensen chose Amelia Island

Amelia is an undiscovered Island on the Northeast coast of Florida. Very little traffic. Wonderful restaurants. Great beach. Quiet and peaceful. Only 30 min from the Jacksonville airport, so it is easy to get to. It's a nice change of pace.

What makes this condo unique

We love having a great grocery store less than 5 min away. The town of Fernandina Beach has wonderful restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Our favorite is the Surf, about 5 min down the ocean road.

Amenities

Amelia Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Living room sofa converts to queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hot air ballooning
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Check our reviews. This is a fantastic condo in a fantastic place.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
On the Ocean, Amelia Island, Florida
average rating of 4.647059 based on 34 reviews
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5

Well maintained and very nice! Beautiful view and great walking beach.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Regina We love that view and beach walk too. Lou & Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice condo

  • 5 of 5

Overall we totally enjoyed our stay in the condo on Amelia Island. Accomodations are very nice, neat and clean. Generally it is very well equipped. One small glich with the water that the owner had no control over but he kept us fully informed. Will recommend this condo to others.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyed my stay

  • 5 of 5

I enjoyed my stay very much. Place was clean and comfortable, just like the advertising, with no surprises. So I had a very nice vacation. The view was great of the ocean front.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very clean, well supplied and beautiful views.

  • 4 of 5

The only issue we had with the condo is that the screens didn’t slide in the doors. The weather was in the 70s when we got there and we wanted to sleep with the doors open. When we tried to slide the screens they both fell out of the runners. They were all rusted. We couldn’t just leave the doors open because the mosquitoes were too bad. Other than that it was a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We too like sleeping with the sliding DOORS open which doesn’t require the screens to be moved so we are confused as to why you would move the screens in the first place. They operated just fine when treated gently when we were there in November????
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

needs a thorough cleaning

  • 1 of 5

I have been staying at the Surf and Racquet Club since the mid 80's and this is the first time I have ever left a bad review. There were many things unenjoyable about this stay but I would consider most things beyond owner or management control (such as external noise from public beach access). What has prompted me to write a review was the overall cleanliness of the room. I spoke with the front desk about this but was offered no more than a *we will look into it* dismissive answer. Which was quite disappointing because I have never had such a terrible stay and this was my honeymoon to make it worse. The floors were sticky. There was dust everywhere. There was mold in the air vents (we tried wiping them out but it did not help). The furniture smelled so bad that I had to spray everything down with febreeze just to able to stand it enough to stay in the room. Every single time we would walk into the room our sinuses would completely stop up and we would start sneezing. My husband had it the worst and could barely breathe anytime we were in the room due to allergic reactions to something. We took turns sleeping on the sofa because the bed was the most uncomfortable thing we have ever slept on and the allergic reaction was the worst in the bedroom. Also, there were just strange repairs throughout that need to be made (such as the screens being duct taped to the frames) that I feel made it very much so not worth the money paid for the stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have NO idea what happened to you. Check out all the other reviews. We have had 2 renters since who experienced none of the things you mentioned. The AC ducts were cleaned this summer. The duck tape (about 8” on one corner is real because we have found NO ONE who will come out and re-screen it). We have contacted our management company who is “on the property” to follow up. Sincerely yours, Lou Wagner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Honeymoon couldn't have been better!

  • 5 of 5

View was breath-taking! Condo and facility was very clean and staff was great!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Fernandina Beach Municipal
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Baxter's
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Fernandina Beach Municipal Golf
Nearest Motorway
Florida A1A
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Baxter's
Nearest Beach
Atlantic Ocean
Car: recommended

Historic Downtown Fernandina Beach is worth the trip. Great shops and buildings. Good Restaurants. Easy walking. Access to scenic ferry rides. Historic Fort Clinch on north end of island. Only 40 minutes from downtown Jacksonville.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75

Days in addition to weekly stays are billed at the daily rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties