Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Executive Retreat

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Come and live on the beach - expansive views from all rooms - three stories of glass overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Glass elevator. Beautifully furnished (contemporary) with original artwork on 6 levels - Master level with Jacuzzi in Bedroom - 2 Queen rooms each with their own Jacuzzi's's. Great dormitory room on 1st level with walk out to the beach. We have a sun deck at the ocean (the gazebo left us last year in a storm)

Large dormitory style room with bunk bed, twin and trundle opens directly to covered patio, elevated beach walk and outdoor hot and cold shower. Beach chairs and umbrellas with lots of outdoor furniture.

Telephone/long distance/wifi/fax (if you must) are all included.

Keywords: Single Family

More Details

Lori Vernosky
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 1, 2018

About Lori Vernosky

We have been renting our home now for over 20 years. We love tenants and will do whatever is necessary to be sure they have a great place to stay. Come and experience our lovely vacation resort homes

Lori Vernosky purchased this house in 2000

Why Lori Vernosky chose Croatan Beach

We love Virginia Beach- centrally located in the mid-atlantic

What makes this house unique

Expansive ocean views from almost all rooms


Croatan Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Leave in a neat and orderly condition Dishes clean and away; fridge cleared; trash out
  • Bring your own sheets and towels - we supply mattress pads, pillows and comforters
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , master bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , 2nd level
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master bedroom - private level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , private bath with jacuzzi
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , with private bath and jacuzzi
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , dormitory oceanfront room with bathroom
    Loft - 1 twin/ single , roll away for loft off master bedroom
  • all bedrooms have own climate control
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Oceanfront Executive Retreat
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
Schnecksville, PA

Lucky me!

  • 5 of 5

How lucky am I? I got to spend a week in this beautiful home in this beautiful location. The water is warm and the beach is clean! Bird-watching! Dolphin-watching! Cruise ships in the distance! A lifeguard right in front of the house! I'd say I'm pretty darn lucky! Your family is worth it.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed yourself - we were luck to have you as our guest. This place is hard to leave at the end - the views are to die for - come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Can't wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

This property is indescribably wonderful. Location, location, location. Why does anyone go to the beach? For the beach! It's a short walk to the beach with a lifeguard posted directly in the front of the house, can't get better than that!

Home has everything needed. Pillows were all new. Beds comfy. There are even spices in the kitchen in case someone would want to cook. Appliances galore in the kitchen: slow cooker, pots and pans, tea kettle.

Easily accessible. Clean. Great neighborhood for walking. Beach chairs, sand toys, boogie boards, outside shower to clean up before heading back inside. Outdoor gas grill. Owners really want you to enjoy your stay and will respond to any questions about VA Beach.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Best Girls Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We have had the pleasure of staying in this awesome home for 4 years in a row. Every September our book club gets together to relax and to enjoy this oceanfront retreat. With two large dining tables we are all able to eat together and keep the other for doing puzzles and crafts. The beach is not crowded so you feel like its a secret that not many people know about. The house is large enough that all 9 of us fit comfortably and don't feel like we are on top of each other. We love the elevator because we load all of our stuff in and it takes it right to our floor. No lugging bags and groceries in this house. The best part? The views of course! I think the owner must hire dolphins to swim by every hour because it is amazing how many we get to see. Already looking forward to September 2016.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the book club i want to join - you ladies are always welcome at this place - we look forward to next year too!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Stroudsburg, Pa.

Great Views-House is in need of repairs

  • 1 of 5

When we saw pictures online, we thought WOW. However when we got there, we were very disappointed with the house. The views are great and so is the beach. This house is not kid friendly. The owners had very offensive framed notes from prior renters that were visible to my kids. When I reached out to the owners about these letters their response was,"its advertised as a executive retreat... not necessarily child friendly" They did apologize for the letters, but a decent person wouldn't have them framed and put where future renters could see. There was no air in the one bedroom, my kids had to use fans and keep the door open to keep cool. I did contact owners and they knew about the issue and they were aware of it, but failed to inform me. The owners clearly do NOT take pride in their home. Here are a list of issues: No air in one bedroom, tiles lifting in many parts of the house, paint chipped in several parts of home, broken window held up by tape, one window air conditioner had dust and dirt hanging out of front of it, air conditioner not professionally installed(you could see the outside around air conditioner) broken kitchen cabinet, holes in ceiling, ceiling lights hanging, dead bird in elevator shaft,

The garage cannot be used, because they have nasty moldy carpeting, oh and that's is where the washing machine and dryer are. The one jetted tub doesn't work, when we advised owners their response was use the outside hot tub.. the upstairs master bedroom wasn't very private at all.. their wet bar consist of a sink with cabinets in the corner of the room.. at one point they must have had a major water leak on roof. ceiling in many areas still shows signs of this. Windows too had signs of leakage, but were never fixed. The area leading up to the roof was very dirty, even though we were not allowed to go up to roof we could see the mud and webs through the glass doors. House is very open and we had to use the large fans to move air around to keep cool, fans were very loud and hard to hear each other speak at times. The Lights in dining room off of kitchen, looks like dried nicotine on them. Decking is in desperate need of repair. some outside furniture was broken and left there for someone to use. This house needs to be fixed up.....

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh Felicia - I knew this was coming. I apologized numerous times about the "wall of shame" we leave in the laundry area - from long ago tenants at other rentals- most everyone wants to know how to get on it - sorry your 10 year daughters were doing laundry the second day and saw it. The air conditioning system went down this summer and we had to make emergency repairs - the house temperature was at 69 degree's so not sure how much coolder you needed it. The broken window was hit by a pelican - we called the glass company and they taped it so there would be no danger - we ordered but they have to install scaffolding as its 25 feet in the air - they cannot do it in the 4 hour time frame we have avaiable on Saturdays. The roof was leaking - we had it repaired but again no time for painting - this will all be done over the winter months - The outside takes a real beating from the salt air - did you like the new outdoor furniture? new gas grill? new carpet throughout? nice furnishings? big screen TV's - bose radio? As you said the views and the beach are the best - we are a beach house and hate to say not as perfect as your own home. Not sure what else you need in a wet bar - looked like it was well used...You did not tell me about the other items - I would have gladly sent the maids back - but I did not know. There is no smoking in the house so not sure what you mean about the lights. You called me 10 minutes after check in and I offered to refund your money but you said no. Not sure what else I could have done to make you happy . Sorry you are so unhappy. We want to make everyone's vacation enjoyable and we try very hard at it. The tenants before and after you gave it rave reviews. Sorry you are unhappy..
Did you find this review helpful?
13 2
Dallas TX

A solid rental, but probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • 4 of 5

The positives of this house: It's a fun and interesting house, with an elevator, winding staircases, and unique layout. It's right on the beach and there is a lifeguard stand right in front of the house. It's very easy to get to all the restaurants and shops of VA Beach. The beds were comfortable and the neighborhood is quiet. The owner/rental agent is very friendly and easy to work with. The place comes w/two boogie boards and a beach wagon (no beach chairs or toys though.) This is one of the few places in VA Beach that let's you rent outside of the typical Sat to Sat schedule.

The negatives: The place could use a thorough deep cleaning. There was an underlining "ick" factor to certain areas. The 2nd floor w/two of the bedrooms was so dusty. There were huge cobwebs hanging off the ceiling fan in one of the bedrooms, and it seems like none of the statues or tables in that hallway had been dusted in awhile. You have to provide your own bedding and towels. (Easily done through a local rental agent though). However, this gives you the opportunity to see how yellow and stained the pillows are as you're putting the pillowcases on, and that is a nasty thought as you lay your head down to sleep. The white carpet in the master bedroom is heavily stained in one area. The place has a bit of a neglected, rental feel- although you can still see how grand it was in it's prime. The kitchen really needs more bowls (I think there were only 2.)

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and just want to respond to all of your comments - the house is a beauty - your stay was the last one of the busiest season and a thorough cleaning has been done-we surely would have sent the maids back had we known your concerns - the carpet stain in the master BR was from a storm 2 weeks earlier - we have since put new carpet and pillows in. I wish you would have called about the beach chairs, umbrella's and toys - they are all in the closet off the oceanside deck - Also found all the bowls in the wrong kitchen cabinet - I have since labeled all cabinets so that everything can be found more easily. I will always respond to what is needed right away as long as I know about it - we are local and want you to have everything you need to make sure your vacation is the best it can be - please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
Richmond, VA

A vacation house to remember...

  • 5 of 5

Our whole family, including all four kids, was really excited about this vacation because of the pictures and video for this property. We were not disappointed. The pictures don't do it justice because of the modern architecture -- there are so many curves and twists and surprises -- it was one of the most visually interesting homes I've ever visited. And, as you can tell from the pictures, the view is amazing -- you can even see the ocean from the master bathroom -- its nuts! Every need was attended to -- beach chairs, umbrella, dishes, blankets. They even had spices in the kitchen -- nothing makes me crazier than trying to cook and having to go buy salt and pepper for three days. Additionally, every light switch and thermostat was labelled, which made a huge difference because this property is huge -- figuring out the lighting would require a PhD without the labels. Two employees of the owner stopped by on our first day to check on us and make sure everything was in working order -- we noticed a ceiling fan that wasn't responding to the remote control and he promptly fixed it and took out our trash to boot. When I had questions during our stay, the owner texted me back within minutes. We used all the bedrooms on every level which would have meant lots of stairs, but the elevator never failed us and got lots of use (it even has a light so it's friendly at night!). The lifeguard chair is almost directly in front of this house, which gave us great piece of mind while the kids played in the water. And the beach had a few families, but was nice and peaceful and not filled with giant groups of teenagers. And it was a quick drive to all sorts of attractions and restaurants, which was a big improvement over where we stayed in Sandbridge last year (Sorry, Sandbridge!). Property was clean and well-maintained and I would definitely recommend. Don't let all the white furniture scare you off if you have kids -- it's leather and wipes up easily and there is an outdoor shower and plenty of doormats to get those sandy feet clean before you come in. One word of caution for the mobility-impaired -- the main living room, which leads to the fabulous deck, is down four stairs, so it is not wheelchair accessible. Because of the elevator, all of the other rooms are wheelchair accessible, however. Can you tell we loved it?

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed this house - it is the perfect location - and the ocean views cannot be beat - come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary

Croatan Beach is just south of the boardwalk and resort - It's a quiet neighborhood - so over the bridge when you want to get in the mix - or stay on the quiet beach - no parking on street at night -


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 8.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties