Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

GULF FRONT CONDO- 10% DISCOUNT OPEN DATES NOV. AND DEC. 2017 !!!!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 1-6)

10% DISCOUNT FOR OPEN DATES IN NOVEMBER AND DECEMBER 2017

THREE NIGHT MINIMUM MOST DATES.

PLEASE CHECK THE CALENDAR FOR AVAILABLE DATES THROUGHOUT THE YEAR.

WE NOW HAVE WIRELESS INTERNET SERVICE AT NO EXTRA

ISLAND SANDS IS LOCATED ON ONE OF FLORIDA'S MOST BEAUTIFUL BEACHES. THE SAND IS SNOW WHITE (SEE PHOTOS) AND READY FOR GUESTS TO ENJOY.

THIS UNIT IS GULF FRONT WITH A PRIVATE BALCONY - THE VIEW IS AMAZING WITH NO OBSTRUCTIONS BETWEEN YOU AND THE WATER. IT WAS BUILT PARALLEL TO THE EMERALD GREEN WATER AND LOCATED AS CLOSE TO THE WATER LINE AS ALLOWED BY LAW IN OKALOOSA COUNTY!! THE BEACH IS LESS THAN 30 FEET FROM THIS UNIT!!

It was decorated with comfort and tranquility in mind. The colors are subtle and relaxing. It is both FUN and FANCY with palms, seashells, stripes and polka dots.

This unit has a queen-size bedroom with private bath. The living room has two queen-size sleeper sofas so there is plenty of sleeping room. The living room opens with 6' patio doors to a private balcony that overlooks the beach and out to sea. There are tables & chairs for your comfort while on the balcony.

It has a large equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room that was designed to take full advantage of the beautiful beach and ocean view. This unit has all the customary appliances that make packing easier, including microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer and dryer, toaster, blender, coffee maker, cooking utensils, 36' Wide Flat Screen HD, TV,DVD,VCR, CD player, and iron. Linens, soaps, and paper products are also provided. We now have free wireless internet service.

This complex of 27 units has a private boardwalk to the beach, well kept grounds, reserved parking, picnic and grilling area and a freshwater swimming pool with lounge chairs and bathrooms. This condo has all the extras that make vacationing more enjoyable. It is beautiful, comfortable, convenient, and economical... the ideal place to spend your holiday or vacation!

Keywords: Gulf Front

6 Miles to Destin

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
November 3, 2017

About The Owner

By way of introduction I am a recently retired bookkeeper. Until now I worked for the City School System in my hometown, Tuscaloosa, Al.. Being retired gives me the time to put all of my energy into rental the rental business. I rent daily & weekly accommodations in Florida, Gatlinburg, Tennessee and guest quarters for Special Events in Tuscaloosa, Al. I have always wanted a restaurant or hotel so this type of business is satisfying and gives me the chance to provide a service that is needed and appreciated. The extra bonus Is I meet people from all over the United States. I started this rental business in 1988. It is hard work but worth it. My goal is to give every guest the best accommodations at the best rate. When my guests are happy, I'm happy!

The Owner purchased this condo in 1996

Why The Owner chose Fort Walton Beach

I fell in love with Okaloosa Island when I watched an engineer build a huge sandcastle on the beach one afternoon. The castle had candles inside the tunnels and a moat surrounding. It was quite a work of art. I watched until the emerald green waves washed it away at dusk. I was hooked, no pun intended! The sand on the beach was so white, the sunsets amazing and the town was perfect. It had everything to offer within 3 miles. It was 6 miles from Destin Harbor so had the same emerald green water as Destin without the traffic. The unit itself was large and had a huge balcony overlooking the Gulf. One of my loyal snowbirds described it as a 'Million Dollar View'.

What makes this condo unique

This unit is decorated with comfort and relaxation in mind. It is tasteful but fun. It is larger than most one bedroom units because it was built before they began to run out of beach so is roomy and has all the amenities needed. The amazing ocean view can be seen from the kitchen, eating area, living room and private balcony that overlooks the Gulf.

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Norhwest Florida Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Helen Back Sports Bar - Pizza & Sandwiches
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 98
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Old Bay Steamer/High Tide/Pandora's
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
GULF OF MEXICO/OKALOOSA ISLAND
Car: recommended

Okaloosa Island Pier - 2.2 miles away

Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park - 2.2 miles away

Indian Temple Mound Museum - 3 miles away

Amenities

Fort Walton Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Queen sleeper sofas (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
9% Complete
2% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
GULF FRONT CONDO- 10% DISCOUNT OPEN DATES NOV. AND DEC. 2017 !!!!
average rating of 4.571429 based on 42 reviews
5

Just perfect!!!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and will be booking again. Condo is beautiful, a/c is ice cold, and the view from the balcony is perfect. We had a great time and can not wait to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the condo, Gulf of Mexico and your vacation. There's no better place to be than relaxing on the balcony or sitting beside the Gulf under an umbrella with your feet in the sand. Thank you for taking the time to write and we'd love to have you stay again sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Memphis, Tennessee
2

Dirty condo, unresponsive owner

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I stayed in Gloria's condo for a long Labor Day weekend trip. When we arrived at the unit, the unit appeared to have been only partially cleaned if cleaned at all. There were several hairs on the sheets on the bed. There was food stuck to the floors in the kitchen as well as pieces of food, dirt, and wads of hair on the floor in the living room. There was hair in the bathtub and toothpaste splatters on the mirror in the bathroom.

I contacted Gloria immediately by phone and left a voicemail. She returned my call within an hour. She apologized and said she could either refund our cleaning fee or send the cleaners back to the condo. My husband and I had already begun cleaning the condo as well as washing the sheets so I told her we would prefer to have our cleaning fee refunded. Gloria asked that I email her pictures of the condo because she wanted proof. I sent 10+ pictures of the condition of the condo via e-mail.

I sent both follow-up texts and e-mails during our stay as well as after we returned home. Gloria never responded. She returned our deposit check a few weeks after our stay but there was no mention of the cleaning fee.

We were not expecting resort quality accommodations but we expected it to at least be clean. The condo needs some routine maintenance. Paint was peeling off the wall, there was a water stain on the ceiling, the shower curtain liner was disgusting, the vents were filthy, and the towels were stained.

Given the state of the condo and the poor customer service of the owner, we would not recommend this condo and definitely would not return. Fortunately, the gorgeous view of the beach from the balcony saved the condo from being a total disaster.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Getting a bad review is not a good thing. To make something good out of it is. I agree with you this problem was not taken care of as it should have been. I do have reasons for not getting back with you and for not sending your cleaning fee back but will not get into that. I will refund your cleaning fee today. From this I hope you do not stop using vrbo and continue getting a great deal when you rent from them. If you look at my reviews you can see this is not the way I run my rentals. I take each guest seriously and feel privileged to get to accommodate them. This is a beautiful condo and beautiful view as you mentioned. It will get a deep clean and again talk with the housekeeper. Thank you for the review. I can learn from this and move forward. Gloria.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

Fun in Florida

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was very nice. The condo was very nice and clean. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Brussard, LA
4

Great!

  • 4 of 5

My first cousins and I rented this unit from the owner who was very pleasant to work it. She was very responsive to my messages prior to and during our rental. It is perfect for a ladies getaway. This condo is right on the beach which makes it easy to access the beautiful Emerald Coast. The kitchen is beautiful but is a little small. However, we knew the rental was small when we rented it. IT is decorated perfect. I love that it has a half bath in addition to a full bath. However, more bath towels are needed. The a/c worked well which is important! The sleeper sofas could use an update and the balcony could use more chairs as it only had two. It sleeps 4-6 , therefore, I think the patio furniture should reflect that. The cleaning crew was not too efficient and we had to sweep the floors upon arrival.

I would rent this unit again!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Central Florida
5

Great little vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of six had a great stay at this vacation spot! The condo was beautifully decorated, clean, and provided all we needed (we brought extra pillows), and the view was beautiful!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am especially proud when a family stays here and enjoys the condo and area and have fun together. I noticed that there were six guests staying and am pleased that the condo had plenty of room for you all. I'd love to have you stay with us again. Thank you again for the review!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

The Only Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5

We have found this to be our home away from home.. We continue to to come back to Island Sands & rent from Gloria. She is a wonderful person to rent from & the condo is perfect!!! We just left & already planning our next trip back.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties