Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

GULF FRONT CONDO-JUNE 9 & 10 OPEN - $400.00 TOTAL CHARGES ! NO OTHER FEES ADDED

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 1-6)

THREE NIGHT MINIMUM MOST DATES.

JUNE 9 & 10 OPEN - $400.00 TOTAL CHARGES. NO OTHER FEES ADDED!

PLEASE CHECK THE CALENDAR FOR AVAILABLE DATES THROUGHOUT THE YEAR.

WE NOW HAVE WIRELESS INTERNET SERVICE AT NO EXTRA

ISLAND SANDS IS LOCATED ON ONE OF FLORIDA'S MOST BEAUTIFUL BEACHES. THE SAND IS SNOW WHITE (SEE PHOTOS) AND READY FOR GUESTS TO ENJOY.

THIS UNIT IS GULF FRONT WITH A PRIVATE BALCONY - THE VIEW IS AMAZING WITH NO OBSTRUCTIONS BETWEEN YOU AND THE WATER. IT WAS BUILT PARALLEL TO THE EMERALD GREEN WATER AND LOCATED AS CLOSE TO THE WATER LINE AS ALLOWED BY LAW IN OKALOOSA COUNTY!! THE BEACH IS LESS THAN 30 FEET FROM THIS UNIT!!

It was decorated with comfort and tranquility in mind. The colors are subtle and relaxing. It is both FUN and FANCY with palms, seashells, stripes and polka dots.

This unit has a queen-size bedroom with private bath. The living room has two queen-size sleeper sofas so there is plenty of sleeping room. The living room opens with 6' patio doors to a private balcony that overlooks the beach and out to sea. There are tables & chairs for your comfort while on the balcony.

It has a large equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room that was designed to take full advantage of the beautiful beach and ocean view. This unit has all the customary appliances that make packing easier, including microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer and dryer, toaster, blender, coffee maker, cooking utensils, 36' Wide Flat Screen HD, TV,DVD,VCR, CD player, and iron. Linens, soaps, and paper products are also provided. We now have free wireless internet service.

This complex of 27 units has a private boardwalk to the beach, well kept grounds, reserved parking, picnic and grilling area and a freshwater swimming pool with lounge chairs and bathrooms. This condo has all the extras that make vacationing more enjoyable. It is beautiful, comfortable, convenient, and economical... the ideal place to spend your holiday or vacation!

Keywords: Gulf Front

6 Miles to Destin

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2017

About The Owner

By way of introduction I am a recently retired bookkeeper. Until now I worked for the City School System in my hometown, Tuscaloosa, Al.. Being retired gives me the time to put all of my energy into rental the rental business. I rent daily & weekly accommodations in Florida, Gatlinburg, Tennessee and guest quarters for Special Events in Tuscaloosa, Al. I have always wanted a restaurant or hotel so this type of business is satisfying and gives me the chance to provide a service that is needed and appreciated. The extra bonus Is I meet people from all over the United States. I started this rental business in 1988. It is hard work but worth it. My goal is to give every guest the best accommodations at the best rate. When my guests are happy, I'm happy!

The Owner purchased this condo in 1996

Why The Owner chose Fort Walton Beach

I fell in love with Okaloosa Island when I watched an engineer build a huge sandcastle on the beach one afternoon. The castle had candles inside the tunnels and a moat surrounding. It was quite a work of art. I watched until the emerald green waves washed it away at dusk. I was hooked, no pun intended! The sand on the beach was so white, the sunsets amazing and the town was perfect. It had everything to offer within 3 miles. It was 6 miles from Destin Harbor so had the same emerald green water as Destin without the traffic. The unit itself was large and had a huge balcony overlooking the Gulf. One of my loyal snowbirds described it as a 'Million Dollar View'.

What makes this condo unique

This unit is decorated with comfort and relaxation in mind. It is tasteful but fun. It is larger than most one bedroom units because it was built before they began to run out of beach so is roomy and has all the amenities needed. The amazing ocean view can be seen from the kitchen, eating area, living room and private balcony that overlooks the Gulf.

Amenities

Okaloosa Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Queen sleeper sofas (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

GULF FRONT CONDO-JUNE 9 & 10 OPEN - $400.00 TOTAL CHARGES ! NO OTHER FEES ADDED
average rating of 4.631579 based on 38 reviews
Central Florida
5

Great little vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of six had a great stay at this vacation spot! The condo was beautifully decorated, clean, and provided all we needed (we brought extra pillows), and the view was beautiful!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am especially proud when a family stays here and enjoys the condo and area and have fun together. I noticed that there were six guests staying and am pleased that the condo had plenty of room for you all. I'd love to have you stay with us again. Thank you again for the review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Only Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5

We have found this to be our home away from home.. We continue to to come back to Island Sands & rent from Gloria. She is a wonderful person to rent from & the condo is perfect!!! We just left & already planning our next trip back.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

This home is beautiful!!! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and his birthday here. The VIEWS WOW!!!! The pictures really don't do it justice. Thanks Gloria for sharing your blessing with us!!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Island Sands. I'm very proud of the re-decorating and re-modeling we did in February 2016 so was excited that you were able to stay here and enjoy the Gulf, condo and area. I truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Birmingham, Alabama
5

Great View!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed three nights at Island Sands. View from unit was great, nothing but sand and Gulf. I really enjoyed directors height chairs on balcony. Sand was so white, it looked like snow. The unit had new cabinets and granite counter tops. The rest of the unit appeared to have been updated since we were there in 2015. The condo was clean and well stocked, perfect a small family. Even with the updates since 2015 the rates were the same as before and booking was especially easy without fees like tax and cleaning fees. The owner was very helpful and even recommended a couple of restaurants on the Island. Overall a great stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the condo, Gulf and area. We worked hard this past year to make the unit comfortable and relaxing. I'm especially proud of the new kitchen cabinets and counter tops. The Gulf and beach was done by Mother Nature, it never requires an update just white sand and waves. Thank you for writing!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
2

somewhat dirty

  • 2 of 5

We stayed three nights at Island Sands. First off let me say that I have stayed in ALOT of different places and not only in Fla. While the view was great and proximity to the beach very good I couldnt help but notice the dirty condition of the inside of the Condo. Found hair in our bed and you can literally see through the sheets. Lots of stains on the comforter. Some hair in baths as well. Plus a foul musty smell in main bath. Plumbing slow also. I think it needs a good deep cleaning and some maint. Just a kinda grungy feel to it. On a lighter note the view is good and booking was easy, but we werent comfortable climbing into that bed.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate you letting me know about the cleanliness of the condo, however, I'm sorry you didn't let me know so I could send someone over to clean it better for you and bring new sheets. I will let the housekeeping Service know that whoever cleaned before your stay did not do a thorough job. Again thank you for writing, I will adress the problem so that the unit will be as clean as it should be.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3
5

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Island sands for our first visit to Florida. It was clean and comfortable. The pictures don't do it justice. The view is beautiful, Even on the wknd the beach wasn't crowded. It was very clean and quiet. When we arrived we noticed that the tv power cord was missing in the Living room. We reached the owner by email, it was better than calling and leaving a message. She was very sweet about it and made the situation right. We were 20 steps from the beach and 6 miles from Destin when we wanted touristy stuff. There was a fishing dock right down the beach also. We would absolutely stay there again. This rental is on the 2nd floor with no elevator and there are deck steps over the dunes that lead to the beach. So be aware of the steps. Other than the t.v issue we were very impressed and can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the condo & area. It is a quiet and relaxing place to be and still close to the normal beach activity. I also appreciate you letting me know about the T.V. power cord. I need to know when the condo is in great shape or when it needs repairs. Hopefully if you come again there will be a new adult theme park about 6 miles away. It has a 4-D movie theatre which I'm excited about. It will be across from the Gulfarium on 98. Have a great week and thank you for writing!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Norhwest Florida Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Helen Back Sports Bar - Pizza & Sandwiches
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 98
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Old Bay Steamer/High Tide/Pandora's
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
GULF OF MEXICO/OKALOOSA ISLAND
Car: recommended

Okaloosa Island Pier - 2.2 miles away

Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park - 2.2 miles away

Indian Temple Mound Museum - 3 miles away

Photos

Rates & Availability

Okaloosa Island Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
SUMMER
May 20 2017 - Aug 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,420
 
 
LATE SUMMER
Aug 8 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
$960
 
 
FALL
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$900
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$130
$900
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Tax Rate 11.0%

Traveler's make a deposit at time of booking a reservation. The rent is due one month prior to check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties