Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Superb Ile St. Louis Apartment 600€ per week

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 300 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

This superb studio apartment is on the main street of the Ile St. Louis, on the ground floor looking onto a small courtyard. The apartment is located in a 1750s building and has been freshly renovated with beautiful stone floors throughout. The queen sized bed sleeps two very comfortably and is fitted with Ralph Lauren sheets. From there, you can watch a little late night TV on cable with top quality LCD. WI-FI is also available.

The kitchen and counter space are done in black granite and offers two bar chairs for light dinners and a pleasant area to relax with a glass of wine. Nescafe expresso machine makes excellent expresso and is super easy to use. There is an excellent stove and microwave for cooking. The bathroom features stone tiles from Burgundy, and oversized designer bath towels and bathrobes. The glass bottom sink from Villeroy & Boch is a marvel of design. The shower is like standing in warm summer rain.

This apartment is located on the ground floor with big windows offering a lot of daylight facing the courtyard. As you exit the building, there is a grocery store just in front, a bakery on the right, and a cheese shop on the left. Charming restaurants line the street in either direction, but my favorite is the Alsation bar, which has a magnificent bistro area at the entrance for an aperitif!

Main advantages:

-no walking up stairs (historical monuments = no elevators)

-freshly renovated

-kept super clean

-local owner (Paris-based American)

-payment is made upon arrival

Keywords: ground floor, stone floors, big windows, beautiful bathroom, excellent shower, comfortable bed

More Details

Owner
Jeffrey Klein
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 12, 2017

About Jeffrey Klein

I'm the Academic Director at a university here in Paris and have been actively engaged in teaching in a variety of other settings in Europe. I'm from the US and have lived in Rome, Lugano, and Paris. I feel drawn to Paris because it has everything that you could ever want. This is a city that finds a way to satisfy so many different needs with (mostly) good common sense.

Jeffrey Klein purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Jeffrey Klein chose Paris Arr. 4 (Marais, Hotel de Ville)

Being on the Rue St. Louis en l'Ile is the prefect spot in Paris, with everything you could want just at your fingertips! You can find music in the streets at any time of year, and in the summer there's no better place for an evening picnic on the cobblestone riverbanks of the Seine. And a stroll after dinner along the tree-lined quai, with the city lights sparkling all around you, is extraordinarily romantic.

It's probably worth mentioning that only on the Ile St. Louis can you see Paris most famous monuments in one gaze...the Notre Dame church, the Pantheon, the Eiffel Tower, and the Hotel de Ville.

What makes this apartment unique

It's a very relaxing ambience, from the ancient stone walls to the old wooden beams, it induces a sense of calm and well-being. The delicious smell of croissants in the morning is unique to Paris and with the baker's atelier in the little courtyard, the aroma of croissants is a seductive one. It's very important to be on the ground floor because most buildings on the Ile St. Louis don't have elevators. And, I like the fact that the big windows enables lots of light to enter. Guests will also feel pampered by the the contemporary kitchen and bathroom, featuring designer bathrobes and towels.

Amenities

Notre Dame Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Studio Bedroom - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Notes:
Granite counter top in kitchen, stone floors throughout the apartment, designer bathrobes and linens.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

Superb Ile St. Louis Apartment 600€ per week
average rating of 4.48 based on 50 reviews
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Bakery, chocolatery and cheesery just next door.

Only negative, there are not amenities, shampoo, Nespresso caps...

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at my apartment. The Ile St. Louis is truly a special neighborhood in Paris, like a little village in the heart of the historical center. For the amenities, basic staples such as coffee or shampoo that are consumed by the guest are not part of the stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Near all central transportation stops, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Check in very easy and helpful. Grocery, bakery, and restaurants right next door. Easy walk to fabulous sites and restaurants. Recommend supplying soap, shampoo, and extra garbage bags upon arrival. (Minor point.) Small, best for couple.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love It!!

  • 5 of 5

I've visited Paris several times in the last 3 years and, like most people, prefer to stay in an apartment that I know is going to be a good experience. This was my third time staying in this beautiful little cocoon and I feel like it just gets better every time. I love the apartment, the location, and the decor. It has everything you need for a nice stay and when you leave the apartment there is a bakery next door, a cheese shop, and a little grocery store across the street. Once you are on your way, the Notre Dame church is 5 minutes walk and all the famous neighborhoods. Very romantic- love this place!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

cozy but not that comfortable

  • 3 of 5

I have stayed at the studio many times and find the location unbeatable. Jeff is generally cooperative with scheduling changes. However, the last time I stayed with my grandson, and we were not comfortable. The mattress and duvet are quite old and quite thin and there are no top sheets provided, only a duvet. Maybe I'm spoiled, but I like a top sheet, especially on warm nights.It makes a big difference when the bed is not very comfortable. Also, we missed having a chair of some sort; counter stools don't provide the same comfort as a chair after a day of sightseeing. The space is small but very adequate for two people. I would rate the studio as about average; there is now a lot of competition on the Island. There was construction (noise and dust) for the earlier part of my stay, but Jeff refunded the advance rent since I found alternative accommodation and was reluctant to stay with my grandson, who has asthma.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have hosted the guest many times and over the years accommodated many requests, so it's a bit frustrating to read comments that are just not true. The bar chairs, as seen in the photos, are not stools. The duvet is 2 years old and the bed is fitted with top sheets according to your preference. The construction (now finished) was in the building adjacent to mine, there was no noise or dust, but I still offered a full refund. My apartment, though small, is priced lower than other owners in the neighborhood, especially for a top location.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

As good as advertised

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here as part of a 10-year anniversary trip. In short, it was absolutely wonderful. Jeff was a big help in setting things up, and always incredibly responsive, which certainly helped to put me at ease while planning things from five timezones away. Everything was clean and tidy, and the location is unbeatable -- without question. We plan to go back to Paris and can only hope that this place will be available when we do.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Long Beach California
5

Excellent location and perfect for an "on the go" couple

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this apartment for the first three days of our ten day vacation to France. This apartment is in an ideal location because it's right in the center of Paris. We didn;t rent a car and we were able to walk to most places of interest. The apartment is small and cozy yet if offers essentials such as a comfy queen size bed, Wifi, CNN and other English channels, a great shower with lots of water pressure, a fully stocked kitchen including an espresso maker, refrigerator and microwave. There is a supermarket accross the street for essentials and a very busy bakery right next door. There are lots of restuarants, shopping, ice-cream shop, cheese store and other stores along the street. Notre Dame is just a few yards away so you can hear the bells throughout the day. I would highly recommend this apartment and working with Jeff. He's quick to answer emails and the rental process was easy and efficient!!! ps...for travelers going alone (especially women) this place is extremely safe and the building is very secure.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing to stay at my apartment. I think you discovered all the points that everyone loves...it's cozy, clean, and close to everything in the historical center of Paris. I look forward to hosting you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notre Dame Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$131
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties