Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Caribbean Paradise - Steps to Beach, Exotic Gardens, Wildlife

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

This home is a nature lovers paradise! It is nestled in a beautiful garden full of flowers and fruit trees AND is only 200 yards from the warm waters of the Caribbean. The yard is so full of wildlife that you will see more animals, birds, and reptiles than you will in the Cahuita National Park. On almost any given day, you will see or hear toucans, iguanas, exotic butterflies, sloths, parrots, howler monkeys, agoutis, or tropical frogs. This home is very unique in Cahuita. No other home in our town will allow you such a personal relationship with nature. We are fortunate that a wild sloth that has chosen to live in our Almendra tree only 5 meters from the house!.

This home provides you the opportunity to immerse yourself in the real Costa Rica without sacrificing any modern conveniences. You will have a full sized kitchen with quality brand name appliances, wifi internet, a safe for your laptop and other valuables, an on demand tankless hot water, and an American purification system for drinking water.

If you choose to leave this Garden of Eden, within a 5 minute walk from the house you can – take a surf lesson, go horseback riding, snorkel, savor the delicious local cuisine of the Paradise Restaurant or enjoy the calming vibes at Reggae Bar.

Downtown Cahuita is a mere 15 minute walk away – just far enough to ensure your tranquility yet not so far that you will need a car. There you will find a mix of wonderful restaurants, shops, bars and tour agencies to cater to your individual needs.

And don’t forget the Cahuita National Park. There you can play on the beach, kayak or simply admire the acrobatic skills of monkeys as you walk through the jungle.

If comparing listings, may I suggest a few questions you ask the owners prior to making a decision:

1) Will I have to cross a highway from your home to reach the beach?

2) From your home, is the nearest access to the ocean made of sand or huge old coral formations?

3) Do you have a purification system for drinking water? Don't lose precious vacation time due to stomach illness.

4) Can I flush toilet paper down the toilet or will I have place it in a waste bin next to the toilet?

I am happy to help!!!

Keywords: Estate, Bungalow, Cabina

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 13, 2017

About The Owner

I went to university and spent my adult life in Los Angeles. My traveling outside the U.S. had been pretty limited. In 1996 I decided to visit Costa Rica. The wildlife, friendly people, and warm beautiful waters made me fall in love. From that point forward I decided to save money and move to Costa Rica as soon as possible. That was finally accomplished in 2006. I now allow people to rent my home not only to help provide me with income but more importantly share the true Costa Rica in a true home and community with others. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. PS That is Bruno in the profile picture with me.

PS To learn how to save up to $150 per visit, please contact me prior to reserving my home. Thanks!

The Owner purchased this house in 2006

Why The Owner chose Cahuita

I chose Cahuita after spending a lot of time in other areas of Costa Rica and Central America. I have found it to be what I had always envisioned paradise to be - sunny, warm, green, full of wildlife and culture.

Amenities

Cahuita House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
2% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Caribbean Paradise - Steps to Beach, Exotic Gardens, Wildlife
average rating of 4.711111 based on 45 reviews
Ontario
5

A peaceful paradise

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at Troy's to escape the cold of Canada. It was perfect. We were looking for a place to relax near the beach, with lots of wild life but not too far from town. Troy is a very gracious host- meeting us at the house to explain what to do, where to go and basically just familiarize us with the area. We felt right at home instantly. The house is very well-maintained and provided us with every comfort we could have hoped for. The internet is super fast, filtered water and little things like a coffee grinder were all really appreciated. Cahuita is a very sweet little beach community. The kind of place where everyone says hello. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Thanks again Troy!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0
5

A full immersion experience....

  • 5 of 5

We were greeted by Troy, 2 sloths (one with a baby) and "Charlotte" our own personal Golden Silk Orb weaver who made her web across the walkway. We watched everyday as she hunted, caught, and ate her prey. It was like our own personal National Geographic espisode!

You will never be in a situation where you are better able to feel like you are truly immersed in your surroundings. From the sloths in the front yard to the howler monkey's we woke up to each morning. The Agouti family who ate all of our food scraps and the MANY types of birds and butterflies. We could have stayed in the yard and still felt as though we had seen an amazing array of Costa Rica's beautiful flora and fauna. You can easily walk (literally right down the street) to the beach, 3 restaurants, and a mini mart. We met SO many wonderful locals and never felt unsafe no matter the time of day or night.

We rented bikes to go into town. It is an easy walk, but the bikes are fun! We went to the National Park almost everyday. All they ask is that you make a small donation each time you enter. (You do this to swim or walk the trail.) Again, we saw monkeys, sloths, birds, spiders, a margue, and tons of beautiful fish... the ranger on duty was super excited to show us the eyelash viper sunning on the roof of the check in station.

That leads me to the next topic. Tika's are very proud of their Country and they truly seem to want you to enjoy it as much as they do. They are super happy to help if you ask.

If as a traveler you prefer to be buffered from your surroundings, this may not be the home for you. If you leave crumbs, you will have ants. If you sit outside at night, you will get dive bombed by beetles. However, If you enjoy an authentic experience and want to be immersed in the culture...this is the place for you.

Troy was an amazing host, hands off but right there if needed. We enjoyed every second of this trip. Troy and his beautiful home are the perfect starting point. We are counting the days until we can return.

Thank you Troy. Until next time, Pura Vida!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dawnde! Como estas amiga? Thank you for the review. It was really fun getting to know you and your friends. I am happy that you were able to visit. The sloths and I miss your friendly faces. Sadly "Charlotte" decided to move on after your departure. That web was really special. I hope you will be back again soon. Take care and pura vida!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome Jungle Beach Home!

  • 5 of 5

There were 4 of us (all adults) and we were able to comfortably stay int he home. Has all the necessities - kitchen, fully equipped bathroom, hot water, internet etc.

Troy was a great Host and met us later in the evening (long drive from airport). He got us settled in and answered all the questions we had. House and property is simply amazing and really gets you into the local culture feeling. We saw humming birds, the Sloth and many other animals in the yard during our stay!

Beach is literally a 4 minute walk down the road and there is an amazing breakfast spot only 2 minutes away along the same exact road. Local reggae bar right on the beach as well, so you really get the Caribbean feel!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Diego, CA, USA
5

Great Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 rented Troy's house- 2 adults and two children ages 9 and 12. It was perfect! A big beautiful yard ( we all loved seeing Bruno, the sloth, each day ), comfortable bedrooms and a nice kitchen. The outdoor patio was great for viewing all the wildlife and relaxing- no better place to enjoy a morning coffee! The home was located close enough to downtown Cahuita that we could walk along the road or along the beach to the local shops and restaurants. Prior to arrival I was a bit worried because I noticed that some reviews mentioned mosquitoes. During our vacation, it was very unusual to see mosquitoes during the day or evening. We really loved

our stay. I am sure we will be back. Thanks Troy!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent return stay

  • 5 of 5

We just finished a return visit to Troy's and Cahuita. Another amazing trip!

Cahuita is still the quaint little town we enjoyed last time. There have been a few new restaurants that have popped up. We really liked a place called Facefood for our lunches.

Troy's house and garden were lovely, just like last time. Bruno the sloth ( or should it be Bruna ) had a baby with her the entire time of our stay. We also came right at the beginning of mango season and Troy has a huge mango tree in the yard. It was such a simple pleasure to pick fresh mangoes each morning for breakfast.

Thanks Troy. We are excited for a third visit soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Objective review

  • 3 of 5

First off, this review is not negative. The house is nice.

I'm going to stay as objective as possible. The images show a nice lush lawn, which we thought would be perfect for our toddler to run around. However, there's sharp coral all over the place, intermixed with the sod. Normally this wouldn't be an issue, but toddlers haven't mastered their coordination skills quite yet, so the likelihood of tripping, falling and getting a scrape is pretty high.

The house itself is not very toddler friendly. This is ok. Not everybody has a toddler, however the owner could've told us about it in advance, since I specifically mentioned we'd have one when I made the booking.

I only have two negative things I'd say about the house:

1) The upstairs floor, ( where the master bedroom is ), has a super creaky wooden floor. You will probably wake up the people downstairs unless you're extra careful as you walk.

2) There are no screens / netting, so you'll have to use bug spray inside the house to avoid mosquitoes while you sleep.

Other than than, all the appliances work, the water filter is *really* convenient, the internet is fast, and the house location is pretty nice. You're not in the middle of town, so you get peace and quiet at night.

The owner is attentive (Lives directly next door to the house), and made some pretty good recommendations for local activities.

If we didn't have a toddler, this house would've been ideal.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lenny: Thank you for the review. I always welcome feedback and particularly liked the ending that states "If we didn't have a toddler, this house would've been ideal". I find some of your other comments to be misleading and/or inaccurate. I will address them in order. You warn that "there's sharp coral all over the place". I don't want people to envision my yard as a dangerous obstacle course. Yes, the very small upper portion of the yard is set on a natural coral foundation. This elevates it above the majority of the yard for better viewing of animals and helps promote the breeze. However, the lower part of the lawn, as shown in the photos, is quite lush and DOES NOT have any coral (other than a small amount strategically placed to outline the walkway). If your toddler would have liked to play in the yard, this could have easily been accomplished in the lower part of the yard or at the beach (a two minute walk from the house). My home description clearly states: "Minimum age 10 years old" I did let you know that the upstairs was not safe for toddlers and that the stairs were steep. I hope you don't feel that I intentionally mislead you. I think your sense of hearing was heightened due to the fact that you had a sleeping toddler in the home. The upstairs floor does not squeak so loud it will wake guests downstairs. Guests do not need bug spray to avoid mosquitoes inside while sleeping. Mosquitoes are rarely seen on my property because I, as long as my neighbors, are very diligent about not allowing standing water in our area. I live next door, do not have screens on any of my windows and leave them open all day, every day - without worrying about mosquito bites. By applying bug spray you must have assumed it was defending you from mosquitoes when in fact, there weren't any to defend. For potential guests wondering about screens- every window in the house either has a screen or shutter. Therefore, at night when the shutters are closed, every window does have a screen. So even if there were mosquitoes, they couldn't enter the home. I hope my response helps relieve any concerns that people may have when reading Lenny's review. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you and pura vida! Troy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Limon
Nearest Restaurant
200 Kilometres
Chow's Paradise
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Playa Negra
Car: not necessary

35 Minutes South of Limon, 15 Minutes North of Puerto Viejo

Other Activities: Wildlife Viewing, Shopping, Kayaking, Boating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $600
Cleaning fee $25
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties