check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

5BR/5BA Elegantly Furnished Oceanfront with Private Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Theater Room & Game Room. Beautiful Ocean Views!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
5
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

Cottage, 5 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths

CASA COSTA RICA is now offering a 20% Discount for your winter vacation. Any January 13 - March 15, 2017 vacation! Valid on any vacation arriving January 13, 2017 through March 15, 2017 and booked between 1/13/17 - 3/13/17.

CASA COSTA RICA is the perfect Oceanfront retreat for your family to get away from it all. The panoramic Ocean views from this home cannot be beat! Wake up to beautiful sunrises over the Ocean and enjoy your own private walkway to the beach. The gorgeous wood furniture throughout this luxurious home is indeed from Costa Rica and gives it an elegantly exotic feel. After a day at the beach you'll enjoy swimming in your private heated pool or relaxing under the stars in the hot tub. Private Beach Access.

UPPER LEVEL houses a King Master suite with private oceanfront deck. MAIN LEVEL features Kitchen, Living and Dining areas, an office area and a bath access to Oceanfront and west facing decks. MID-LEVEL is your entry level houses 3 Master Bedrooms each with access to decks that nearly surround the entire house. GROUND LEVEL includes another Master Suite, Gameroom, Laundry, Half Bath, Theater Room and a Kitchenette with bar seating and access to the pool area.

BEDROOMS accomodate 12 in 2 King Masters, 3 Queen Masters (one includes a Queen trundle). Sheets are Provided, with the beds made for your first night (sheets will be provided for the trundle but will not be made). Bath Towels are Provided for 12.

STANDARD FEATURES: Central Heat/AC; Color TV with Cable or Satellite** DVD Player; Radio, Stereo or Docking Station; Cleaning Tools; Baby Gate; High Chair; Portable Crib or Pac-n-Play; Pillows; Blankets; Washer/Dryer; Iron & Board; 5 Beach Chairs; Deck Furniture; Grill; Outside Shower. Kitchen Furnished with Dishwasher; Microwave; Blender; Coffee Maker; Mixer; Icemaker or Trays; Pots, Pans and Ovenware; Dishes; Eating, Preparing and Serving Utensils. CASA COSTA RICA EXTRAS: Private Gated Pool (can be Heated); Hot Tub; Gas Grill; Private Beach Access; Ice Machine; Large Theater TV; TV’s in each Bedroom; Pool Table; Gas Fireplace, NO SMOKING.

**6 TVs with Cable/Satellite connections (In 4 Bedrooms, Living Room and Game Room). Theater Room includes Giant Theater Style Screen.

Your well-behaved adult dog is welcome to vacation with you. The Pet Guest Fee is $125 plus tax.

TURNOVER DAY: SUNDAY

Partial Week Rentals are available between January 1st – May 15th and September 16th – December 29th. Partial night rate is 1/5 of the weekly rate with a minimum per night rate of $300 (plus fees/taxes). Contact Great Escapes reservations desk for more information or to reserve this type of reservation.

CASA COSTA RICA truly is an excellent vacation home and that will keep you coming back every year. Make it your GREAT ESCAPE today.

More Details

Owner
Leslie Gilmore
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

5BR/5BA Elegantly Furnished Oceanfront with Private Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Theater Room & Game Room. Beautiful Ocean Views!
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
4

Our First Outer Banks Vacation, but not our first VRBO house rental

  • 4 of 5

Air conditioning excellent. It was hot outside and the whole house stayed cool.

Plenty of table space, plates and bowls for family meals.

We spent most of our time at the beach. It is quite a walk, on a narrow path with an incline. I didn't realize that it was also the path for public beach access (from the road along side of house), a tall wood fence separates property and path at the side of the house, that path joins the path behind the house. The description of the house states enjoy your own private walkway to the beach, I was only slightly startled the first time a person tried to pass us on the walkway. There is a beach access sign out front, just didn't see it upon arrival.

Coming back from the beach the foot rinse at the gate was great to have, as was the outdoor enclosed shower.

The pool was nice, the kids really enjoyed it.

The family room was comfortable.

The kids enjoyed the pool table

We didn't really use the theater room.

There are lots of stairs. We entered the house from the side door which is the bottom floor. The next floor up is three bedrooms, then the main floor (kitchen, family room) and then up one more for the last bedroom. We didn’t mind, but it was a week of multiple daily stair climbs.

Overall. We would not consider the overall appearance of this house to be luxurious home with an elegantly exotic feel as stated in the description. The house appeared to need some tlc/updating inside and out. The top floor bed was very firm, and the two pillows were flat (old/very used), the door to that bedroom would not close completely. The TV in the bottom floor bedroom was not used, old, had high pitched ringing. The kitchen could use some improvements as far as utensils and cookware. There are no window coverings on the half bathroom windows, could be an issue as there was a man working on the roof of the house right next door (main floor bathroom). Several of the doors and faucets were not in the best working order. We did not have any dish towels. Knew we needed beach towels, but didn't think of dish towels, none were supplied. None of these items kept us from enjoying our first Outer Banks vacation experience, I listed them to support the 4 star rating.

About 2 minutes North (on NC12) of this home there is a Dollar General and Leonardo Pizza (good). The Blue Whale is a few minutes South (on NC12) small store with great service and selection. Food Lion15 miles south on NC12, we grocery shopped there, but Blue Whale was our go to.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happy New Year

  • 5 of 5

We were trying to put together a last minute family New Year's celebration and this was exactly what we thought we couldn't pull off. With 5 families including infants and young children we had the perfect accommodations. Property manager was cooperative and responsive and put together a great weekend package at a good rate. The house...nothing short of outstanding. In location, size, and amenities, this house is a higher scale than we normally rent which made it a real treat. Thanks Leslie and crew...and Happy New Year

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Excellent house

  • 5 of 5

We normally stay in the north area of OBX so this was a bit differnet for us. My wife really liked the house. The town was more quiet as well and she liked that but it was about the house for her. Kids as well. here are some notes:

1. heated pool: my kids love water. they were in the pool before 8:00am. Wouldn't happen w/out a heated pool. Was a really nice surprise as I didn't know it was heated before we got there.

2. kitchen: great kitchen. way better than normal. way, way better.

3. main area: kitchen flowing into the living area and the tables. very nice flow that you never get in vacation houses. they're always cramped and the layout isn't ideal. this was really nice and made everyone more comfortable.

4. Air conditioning: this is a big house. we've stayed in similar where the A/C isn't quite right so if you're in the top floor (the kitchen/living room area where you spend most of the time), it's usually pretty hot. the a/c was on point and kept even the upper areas of the house cool in the heat of july.

5. outdoor shower: another small one that helps: outdoor showers are usually cold water only. everyone freezes (kids complain and don't get the sand off) but they have hot water so makes life a little better. small thing but it's vacation - it's nice when small things are easy.

6. clean: we had stays in OBX where the house wasn't up to standard. as if the outside didn't matter (cigarette butts, beer cans, etc strewn about) or the inside is overdue for a nice cleaning, grill was disgusting. the whole house was clean. hats off to their cleaning crew.

Items to be aware of:

1. This is the OBX so houses are big and have steps. Typical. So if you have problems with steps, this house is not for you. In that vein, the walk to the beach has a little hill and the path is very small. So any family member who struggles in these situations will have problems.

2. Hatteras Island is a little isolated. There are some small stores in town for basic supplies but a real grocery store is 20/25 minutes away. No good restaurants around so if that's your thing, this isn't the location for you.

3. There are outdoor speakers but they didn't work, or we couldn't figure out how to use them. I'm pretty A/V savvy so my guess is they weren't functional but maybe I'm wrong. There wasn't a radio anywhere that we could find that worked. So if you want music for the pool, bring your own speaker.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
4

Wonderful Location

  • 4 of 5

This is a wonderful home. The layout is perfect for family interaction. It comfortably accommodated 10 people. What I appreciated the most is the responsiveness and attentiveness of the Owner (who personally interacted with us throughout the rental process) and the property manager, who was very polite and quickly addressed issues. The house was very well stocked with utensil and cookware. My suggestion for the owner would be that he could easily charge 10K per week if he did the following, 1. hire a better cleaning crew, 2. fix the minor things- i.e. ice maker, table top glass, window etc. 3. Upgrade the internet wifi router, 4. convert at least one or two of the bedrooms to two twin/full beds, 5. upgrade the mattresses in the top loft master, and the room to the right of the main entry. A little TLC goes a long way. The customer service is exceptionally good. Regardless, if you are considering this home, it is a good buy and a wonderful place for your family vacation. We would definitely rent this home again.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

really nice house on northern part of hatteras island

  • 5 of 5

We're used to dumpy old houses on hatteras but this one is like a diamond in the rough. its in the older subdivision of course but this one is quite luxurious and cool inside. beach is nice and clean here, plenty of space here don't have to worry about storms washing this area away like in some other areas. fishing was fantastic here, we definitely recommend doing a charter boat out in the ocean!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Pittsburgh, PA
2

Have had better

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed at this house for a family vacation and didn't have such a great experience. The house itself is very nice. It has great space, and has great potential. However, the cleanliness wasn't great. The first day I stepped on a piece of glass that was on the bedroom floor. There must have been a party there previously and it wasn't cleaned well. There were items all over the floors in all the rooms, under the beds and other furniture. The one shower curtain was completely moldy. The beds, well lets just say it would be more comfortable to stay at a motel 6. There were springs coming through the one matress. I ended up sleeping on the couch, and others on air mattresses. The owner was contacted about these items as well as the fact that there were only three tvs in the house of that size. It took several days to finally get some resolution. We checked in on Sunday and Wednesday someone finally showed up to change the shower curtain. We were told the matress that had springs coming out would be replaced, but we never saw that happen. Friday, they came and added more tvs, but we were at that point leaving in two days. Hardly any of the patio doors locked which was concerning since our cars, and 5 others on that street were broken into Sunday night. The police told us this happens several days a week in that area. There were ants all over the common areas especially in the main living room. (probably due to the lack of cleanliness). The sink in the kitchen leaked all over the counter and floor. We showed this to the maintenance guy when he was there but it never got fixed. This was a large hole in the wall in the dining room, as well as a broken window. Again, this house has great potential, but needs to be taken better care of. Especially when paying so much for it. We have paid the same amount in that area and have had amazing houses. This would not be one we returned to.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: i'm sorry ya'll didn't have a great experience there. our new cleaning crew this year is MUCH better than sun services that we had on it last year. don't know why your week wasn't up to par, i forwarded this to them and they'll be doing better. correct, that we did not have tv's in 3 bedrooms, but we just got two more installed, sorry it did take till friday to get them in as nobody on the island sells them and we had to wait for online shipment to come in. Yes there was a small hole in the wall from a door knob and maintenance hadn't gotten to it yet since it wasn't critical repair. the window you spoke of is not actually broke. it just has a settlement fracture and has been like that since 2007. the windows all have hurricane film on them anyways.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • $1995-$7195/wk
  • US Dollars
  • 2014 = 3/08 to 5/4=$1995 except 4/13 &4/20 =$2195, 5/11=$2495, 5/18=$2995
  • 5/25=$3495, 6/1=$4495, 6/08=$5595, 6/15=$6695, 6/22=$6895
  • 6/29=$6995, 7/6 to 8/3=$7195, 8/10=$5695, 8/24 & 8/31=$3195
  • 9/7=$2345, 9/14=$2195, 9/21=$2095, 9/28 to 10/30=$1995, t-giving $2495
  • $200 discount for two week stays
  • pool heat =$400, $200 june/july/aug
  • $75 pet fee, $75 security deposit waiver fee, $1000 large wedding fee
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Salvo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • smoking allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • surfing
  • swimming

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties