Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wooded Highland Lake Waterfront Cabin - Great Beach and Dock

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

Relax in our charming 2 bedroom 'Maine Camp' lakefront cottage, which sits on 1 and 1/2 heavily wooded and secluded acres and is only 45 feet from 125 feet of private lakefront. The lakefront and has its own private small sandy beach as well as use of adjacent large sandy beach, which is shared with owners.

Very large private L-shaped dock with boat tie downs suitable for power boat. Use of additional floating swim platform shared with owners. Exclusive use of rowboat, canoe, and two kayaks. Small Sailboat is available and shared with owner. Life jackets, paddles and all watercraft accessories are provided. Sunset view of Mt. Washington from the dock.

Cottage is open plan and has beautiful pine planked interior and vaulted ceilings. Fully equipped kitchen, screened in porch plus open deck. Each bedroom contains a double bed with queen sleeper sofa in the living room. High speed internet with wireless access and cable TV are provided. Comfortable furniture with tables for eating in the cottage, on the screened porch and on the exterior deck.

Firewood is provided for the outdoor fire pit. There are also four wood adirondak chairs around the fire pit and a hammock near the water. A full size washer and dryer are also in the cottage. There is electric baseboard heat that is adjustable by room and the cottage is insulated and has thermopane windows. Ceiling fans are in each room as well.

Cottage is walking distance from Bridgton town center, 30 minutes from N. Conway and shopping outlets, and 1 hour from Portland and the Maine coast.

Nearby second cottage also available for rent (list # 357563).

Keywords: sandy, beach, dock, deck, waterfront, private, secluded, wooded, heat, porch, internet, cable, no pets during peak season, dogs considered in the spring and fall, boats provided. Outdoor fire pit, hammock. Nearby cottage also available (list # 357563)

More Details

Owner
Tom Bush
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2017

About Tom Bush

Owners live in adjacent cottage year round after using the combined properties as summer lake homes while raising our children. We have actively enjoyed both summer and winter activites for many years. As 'water people' we have enjoyed the property for sailing, windsurfing, canoeing, kayaking, water skiing and swimming.

Tom Bush purchased this cottage in 1993

Why Tom Bush chose Bridgton

Fell in love with the Lakes Region in 1983 while vacationing in the area. Have summered or lived here since that first visit.

What makes this cottage unique

Quiet and relaxing atmosphere with privacy where we can enjoy the water and be able to be in the sun or in the shade while at the waters edge.

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Portland, ME (PWM)
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Highland Country Club
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Amtrak Portland, ME
Nearest Motorway
0.4 Miles
Rt 302
Car: necessary

A second cottage, 2 properties away is also available for rent. Please see VRBO #357563.

Amenities

Bridgton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Small three quarter bath with stall shower, toilet and vanity sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Double Beds (2). There is one double bed in each of 2 bedrooms, Sleep Sofa (1). There is a queen size sofa bed in living room. Cottage is small so use is most comfortable for two couples or a family of four. Five person maximum with no more than four adults.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Canoe, row boat and two kayaks complete with paddles, ores and life jackets are included. There is also a 14' sailboat available to renters that is shared with the owners. Picnic table, adirondak chairs, ceiling fans, baseboard heat, coffee maker, toaster, toaster oven, waffle maker, crock pot, blender, popcorn popper, lobster pot and full compliment of kitchen equipment. Nearby second cottage available (list # 357563).

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Wooded Highland Lake Waterfront Cabin - Great Beach and Dock
average rating of 4.9428573 based on 35 reviews
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5

We are return renters who do not want to be at any other cottage! Great for small family or a romantic getaway! The cottage is clean beyond your imagination, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen has everything you need to cook or bake! Tom and Rita are right there if you need them and are fun and friendly to chat with. The outside is heaven, from the screened in porch, the fire pit, the boats, the hammock, and the view. The cottage has WiFi, Cable, and plenty of games to keep you busy on a rainy day! They don't forget anything you might need!

We will continue to rent here for as long as we can!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for suck a prompt and thorough review. We have enjoyed having you as our guests and are delighted that the additions that we make each year continue to make your visits memorable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing and amazing spot

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough about the property, it is everything you would want for a relaxing vacation. This spot is right on the water and has great views of the lakes and mountains. The cabin is spotless and the owners are some of the nicest and helpful people I have ever met. I wouldn't hesitate to come back here and I will. Thanks again for the use of your property it was truly a pleasure.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate your kind comments and thorough review of your stay at our cottage. It is especially nice to have you comment on the cleanliness. We work hard to make sure that our guests do not have to deal with the dirt of prior guests and we are heartened to hear that it is noticed. We too enjoyed having you and your father with us and would of course welcome you back at any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage on lake

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent another week long vacation in Tom and Rita's cottage on Highland Lake in Bridgton, Maine and are just as pleased as we were last year.

Tom and Rita have everything anyone would need to have a great vacation whether it be for a family with small children, or a family with teenagers, or new "empty nesters" like us. The only thing missing was our kids; both 20 somethings and in new jobs so unable to get vacation time.

I had a goal to read at least 3 books in the week we were there. I did accomplish that goal, however, I did not read the books I brought with me....I read books from the many that are in the cottage. There are plenty of books and games and TV stations for rainy days and plenty of boats, kyack and lake for out-of-doors days. Everything was very clean and comfortable.

There are great restaurants, food markets, antique shops, a library, all kinds of shops and a cinema all close by. This cottage is just the place for a carefree vacation.

Malcolm and Christine Doble

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely, relaxing, clean, well-equipped

  • 5 of 5

Hard to imagine anything more delightful than waking up in this beautiful lakeside cottage on a summer morning to the sound of calling loons. This was our 3rd year, and our stay was as wonderful as always. The cottage is comfortable, spotless, and very well-equipped. Because we like to cook all our own meals, we especially appreciate the many implements and conveniences the kitchen offers and the dining table and votive candles on the screened-in porch . Cooking can be a little challenging because the smoke alarm tends to go off whenever steam rises from the stove, and we'd have enjoyed a pancake griddle, but these are relatively small things. Overall, the kitchen is superb (great coffee maker! Great waffle iron!!), very thoughtfully furnished just like the rest of the place. The beds are comfy and there are plenty of towels as well as a washer and dryer. There are baseboard heaters, but we've never used them. The stars at night refresh our spirits.

We appreciate being able to walk into Bridgton, a lovely little place with everything we need and lots of good places to walk, eat, and drink beer and coffee. The bookstore is excellent, and the Hannaford grocery is great even for us fussy cityfolk (including one vegan).

The lake is the centerpiece for us, though, and never disappoints. It changes from hour to hour, and both sunrises and sunsets are spectacular over the water. The swimming is great, the lake crystal clear. We sit for hours on the dock, listening to the waterbirds and watching for fish and eagles, reading, doing nothing. It's a perfect place to wind down, remember what's important to you, and enjoy peace and quiet. Next year I plan to get a fishing license and see how I do! We look forward all year to our time on the lake. Thank you, Rita and Tom.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the extensive and very complete and positive review of our property and your experiences here. We very much appreciate the time and thought that you put into your review. I don't know if these review help future renters, but I'm sure they at least provide comfort to those considering future rentals. I also appreciate the comment on the smoke alarm. While all of the smoke alarms were replaced this summer, we will have a professional check to see if there is an issue with over-sensitivity. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Two More Great Weeks!!!

  • 5 of 5

We have been renting this cottage since 2013. Some things get old and worn with time. Not this cottage!

The cottage was perfect for our vacation. In fact, this year we rented for the week of June 17 AND the week of July 22. As always, the cottage was immaculately clean, the beds were very comfortable and the location was perfect. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment, there is a charcoal grill, a picnic table with umbrella, a lakeside hammock and a fire pit with LOTS of wood. There is even a washer and dryer! This year the owners put in a new road to the compound that is a huge improvement over the shared road that we used to drive down.

We felt like we were a million miles from anywhere, but it was only a 10 minute drive to the supermarket. If you like to walk, downtown is about a mile away, so there is no need to take a car.

The waterfront is a sandy bottom with a mini-beach that allows easy access. It is perfect for young children or people like me that don't like to jump into the water. The dock was large and has a swim ladder, chairs and a bench. Rich caught a few small bass from the dock. There was a rowboat, canoe, sailboat and kayak for our use. Everything was very well maintained. Every year the owners have made improvements to the property. It's obvious that Tom and Rita really think about what will make their guests comfortable.

When we are on vacation we like to relax and not sight see, so I can't offer any insight into activities in the area. However, the owners provided a binder of brochures and restaurant info. We were happy to sit and watch the loons.

The owners are delightful, the perfect balance of attentive without being intrusive. They truly treated us as guests, not as "renters".

Thanks so much, Tom & Rita. We will see you next year!!!

Rich and Terri

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, I don't think I could hire anyone to write a comprehensive review like you just did. Thank you very much for the time and effort that it took to write such a complete description of your experience with us. We have enjoyed meeting you both and are very grateful for the care that you give our cottage. Your efforts to leave it as you have found it are very much appreciated. Of course we are delighted to have you back at any time. Tom
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful spot to relax and unwind.

  • 5 of 5

Amazing views. Right on the water.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you found our cottage relaxing and enjoyable. We appreciate the care that you gave to our property and would welcome you back at any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 7.0%

For 2016 the off season rate is $1075.00 per week or a nightly rate of $175.00 with a two night minimum. The summer season rate is $1275.00 per week with a 7 night minimum. All weekly rentals are Saturday check in at 3 PM or later and departures on are Saturdays by 10 AM.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties