check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

French Quarter Condo

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 5 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom suitable for up to two adults.

Three night minimum rental for weekends.

Want to live like a local and experience New Orleans in the French Quarter?

Tired of hotels and want a unique and exciting experience here in the French Quarter? This is your place!

This can be your home away from home! This condo has a kitchen...with washer/dryer access in the building!

The starting nightly rate for this rental is $144 - $344 but will vary depending on demand and French Quarter activities.

Walk a few block's and hop on a romantic carriage ride, or venture just a few blocks more and take an evening riverboat jazz/dinner cruise.

The condo is located on the 3rd floor of a safe and secure courtyard, in a peaceful atmosphere, yet only a few steps from all the action and excitement! A grocery store with a deli is just across the street.

Many, many wonderful restaurants, bars, gallery's and shopping are just steps away from your doorway.

Location, Location, Location! Location is everything in the French Quarter...both for convenience and safety!

Cox High Speed Internet Service Wi-Fi!

Old world charm with modern conveniences.

Step out of a secure courtyard onto Dumaine Street and you are only one and a half blocks from the 'world famous' Bourbon Street. The condo offers a quiet atmosphere but you are only steps away from all the nightlife with fun and excitement.

Easy walking distance to all the famous New Orleans attractions!

Bourbon Street (1 1/2 blocks) & French Market is (3 1/2 blocks) Fine dining throughout the French Quarter.

Damage Deposit and 'Vacation Rental Agreement' required.

Washer and Dryer access in the building, Flat screen TV with Cable, Queen size bed. Kitchen and Bathroom.

.

Keywords: Condo, Apartment, Rental Unit, Dumaine Street, Vacation Rental, Courtyard, Bourbon St., French Quarter location.

More Details

Owner
Cathy Davis
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

About Cathy Davis

I live in Las Vegas with my wife, Cathy, and have owned this particular French Quarter condo since 2012. I have always loved the French Quarter! There is really no other place like it in the United States that equals the food, the entertainment, and of course, the history. I have been vacationing in the French Quarter for over 40 years and can't seen to get enough of it.

Cathy Davis purchased this condo in 2011

Why Cathy Davis chose New Orleans

It's a great location with a peaceful atmosphere and an easy walk to all the hot spots in the French Quarter.

What makes this condo unique

The condo is in a quiet and secure courtyard

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

French Quarter Condo
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 30 reviews
Helena, Alabama
3

Writing this review as we sit outside the unit and would actually like a discount due to achieve iss

  • 3 of 5

We're actually in this unit as I type this review. We come to NOLA every year for our anniversary. A couple of years ago, we realized that we love the VRBO option better than staying in a hotel. We enjoy cooking our own meals & feeling as if we are locals. This year just so happens that I was in the hospital with viral menigitis from Saturday to Tuesday & we checked in here Thursday. When my husband called the morning after I was hospitalized in isolation to tell the owners that we would not be able to make it, owner was compassionate. However, my husband was informed that should we not make it & the unit wasnt rented by someone else in those 3 days, we would get our deposit back but not the remaining balance of the room rate. So, we basically, we couldnt afford not to come. I was out of the hospital only for 2 days & we made the trip.

I will start with the pros first. Ease of reservation, location is fairly convenient to most things, clean unit, we felt the bed and pillow were comfortable, very quiet unit and property.

Pros:

We were absolutely suffocating from how hot this unit is from the moment we walked in until after lunch on Friday. The air is turned completely off when a tenant leaves. That means the next tenant has to wait it out while the small single room air conditioner tried to cool everything off. We took literal cold showers for the first 24 hours. Eventually the bed area became pleasant and comfortable but as soon as you stepped out of it, there was most definitely a 20 degree difference. Today, the air stopped working. Called owner about it & they are sending over air guy. There are ceiling fans, btw.

This unit is 3 sets of steps up. This may not have been an issue for most but for me, it was a nightmare. This unit is small. I mean tiny house small. Its fine for a couple but even in the shower neither of us could really move. The kitchen is a tiny thing with a compact stove and a mini fridge, (so bring a cooler if you have a lot of food). We still made all of our meals. A HUGE disappointment and surprise was that the kitchen is bare minimum of stuff. This is the first unit we have ever been in that wasn't stocked with the obvious things needed to cook, ie, mixing bowls, measuring cups/spoons, spices (not even salt and pepper). There were pots, pans, dishes, cups, toaster & coffee maker.

In conclusion, it is clean & convenient unit. We will probably not stay here again because of the stairs, size of the unit & we should have air.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is actually mind boggling to me. This couple wanted to cancel their reservation four days before their scheduled arrival date. I told them to send the keys back and that I would refund their deposit right away. I also told them that I would try my best to rent the condo out to someone else so I could refund their rental payment and I figured it wouldn't be too difficult since it was a Saints game weekend. I had someone else requesting to rent for the same dates, but unfortunately for us, and our A/C unit... the initial interested party decided they really wanted to take it after all. So, I said...of course!! What I find very interesting is...that the guest writing this review, wrote it before we were ever even notified of an air conditioning problem. The people in the condo prior to these guests had no problem at all. Regardless...once we were notified, we had an A/C tech at the property within an hour. The A/C tech told us that a board in the a/c unit was blown and that the part could not be obtained right away. We found other accommodations for the guests immediately (at our expense and at a premium for this high demand weekend). We typically have amazing, kind, and trustworthy guests, but the bottom line is... you just can't make some people happy...and some people just aren't very nice.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Perfect location, quiet, safe, and close to it all

  • 5 of 5

This condo was perfect for our trip to New Orleans. The condo is within walking distance to everything, we only ubered once to the Whole Foods that was 5 minutes away. We walked to the parades, the art district, Uptown, Bourbon street, cafe du monde, the river, and all the things you might want to do in New Orleans. It was great to be able to eat breakfast and some other meals at the condo. It felt very safe to us and even when we were walking home very late at night after the Muses Crew parade, we felt safe. It was also a few blocks away from all the action so it was quiet. It is small, probably about 300 square feet, but it was exactly what we needed. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

This past weekend was our 2nd stay in Cathy and Lewin's condo. We love staying in the French Quarter. You are right where all the action is but far enough to still sleep good. The bed is really comfortable. Many cute places to eat all around. We will stay again in the future!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Bronx, New York, United States
5

Perfect for a couple visiting the French Quarter

  • 5 of 5

My partner and I visited New Orleans for the first time back in March, and this was where we stayed. It was less expensive than any hotel remotely close to the French Quarter by a mile, and we'd definitely stay again.

PROS: perfect location - short walk to the nightlife of the French Quarter but just far enough that it's quiet enough at night to sleep (super comfy bed, too); very close to Louis Armstrong Park and a touring company that's based out of the Voodoo Lounge nearby that runs a variety of interesting, inexpensive tours; tons of bus lines nearby that can take you to other parts of the city, plus not a far walk from the Treme neighborhood; very cozy and tastefully decorated, plus it has a beautiful courtyard

CONS: If you can call these cons - wouldn't recommend for people who aren't ready to be cozied up pretty close. It's a small space, but hey, I'm a New Yorker, so it's fine by me. It's also up some stairs that might be challenging for older folks or people with disabilities, but we didn't mind so much.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
2

Great location but needs to be better maintained

  • 2 of 5

While very centrally located to the action we found the unit in great need of a deep cleaning. There were thick dust balls under the bed, yellow stains on the bed skirt and the fan over the bed was also caked with dust that seemed to be building up for quite some time. The unit is pretty tight which was ok with me but almost every single drawer was full making it impossible to unpack at all. Fortunately the unit included 2 luggage racks which was convenient. There are 3 flights of steps to climb and the outdoor ones are also in need of repair. This is the first time I have ever had such a disappointing experience with a vacation rental. I know the owner does not live in the area and perhaps a new cleaning company could make all the difference.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate feedback from our guests and want them to have a wonderful stay at our condo. We send a condo booklet for each of our guests before their arrival...and in it, we request that we be contacted immediately if there is anything that needs our attention. Had these guests let us know that the condo was in need of a more thorough cleaning...we would have handled the situation for them immediately. Unfortunately, we were not even made aware of this until we read the review in VRBO ourselves (they didn't include any comments regarding their complaint on the condo check out sheet that we request be sent back with the keys). It's extremely difficult to correct something if one is not made aware of it. We don't live in New Orleans...so our hope is that if there is ever a situation that concerns our guests, that they feel encouraged to let us know about it right away so we have the opportunity to make their stay as positive and comfortable as possible. Overall, we have fantastic reviews with positive feedback. We want happy guests...which is what we strive for!!
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
4

Nice little condo

  • 4 of 5

This condo worked out just fine for my wife and I. We are in our sixties and brought a bit too much luggage to carry up 3 flights, but once up it was very fine. Good location in the north east section of French Quarter. This was our 8th trip to the French Quarter Fest and we were close to some of our favorite places, found lots of small stores to buy groceries and other food. Also, very close to the French pastry shop! Just love that place. The condo was large enough for the 2 of us. Kitchen worked out just fine, made breakfast most days and brought back pastry also. It is an older building, if you ever lived in an 1850's home that has been maintained but not totally restored... Very pretty and charming. Except for the weekend, I don't think anyone else was in the other 8 units. It was always pretty quite, the bed was fine, the A/C worked well, but read the remote to turn off it's light. We were happy and enjoyed the trip even with all the rain. Loved the decor and the courtyard! It is so french quarter!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: not necessary

This condo is located 1 1/2 blocks from Bourbon St. and 3 1/2 blocks from Jackson Square. The French Quarter is very bike friendly!

Photos

Rates & Availability

French Quarter Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Dec 5 2016 - Jan 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$114
$700
$2,400
 
 
Mardi Gras Parades
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$834
Flat fee
 
 
Mardi Gras
Feb 24 2017 - Feb 28 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,445
Flat fee
 
 
St. Pat's week
Mar 10 2017 - Mar 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$549
Flat fee
 
 
St. Patrick's weekend
Mar 17 2017 - Mar 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$549
Flat fee
 
 
French Quarter Fest
Apr 6 2017 - Apr 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$657
Flat fee
 
 
French Quarter Fest
Apr 9 2017 - Apr 9 2017
1 night minimum stay
$219
Flat fee
 
 
Jazz Fest
Apr 28 2017 - May 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$896
Flat fee
 
 
Jazz Fest
May 2 2017 - May 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$896
Flat fee
 
 
Jazz Fest
May 6 2017 - May 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$896
Flat fee
 
 
Essence Festival
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$615
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$144
$1,000
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $70 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $275
Tax Rate 4.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed. Rates may vary from the standard listed rate for special events in and around the French Quarter and high demand dates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

French Quarter Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • shower...no tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hot air ballooning
  • roller blading

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties