Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Storybook Beach Cottage at Tamarack Waterworks

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps up to 6)

This cottage has 2 bedrooms. One with a double bed and the other with a queen bed. There is a fantastic all window front porch for watching storms come in over the lake. Original hardwood maple floors throughout. The kitchen has all the necessities, plus extra amenities such as a microwave oven, glass top stove, modern coffeemaker. The bathroom has a shower unit. High speed Wi-Fi and DirectTV are also included. There is a 32' flat screen in the living room. Our location is clean, well maintained and fully equipped for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

On the beach you can enjoy a camp fire under the stars or even catch the northern lights, swim the Great Lake Superior, hunt the perfect rock or agate, fish till the sun goes down, barbecue on the charcoal grill and picnic at the picnic table, or take a nature walk and enjoy the natural beauty of the beach and forest. In the winter, ski, snowmobile, or snow-shoe right out of your front door or travel a short distance to our many local winter attractions.

Open year round, come relax and enjoy the natural beauty and tranquility of the cottage surroundings. You will truly love the beauty of the Copper Country and love staying at North Shore Cottages. For nearly 100 years the Roberts family has welcomed friends and guests to Tamarack Waterworks and we look forward to welcoming you. Just bring your food and a vacation state of mind. Call or email Philip for information and to secure your reservation today!

More Details

Owner
Philip Roberts
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Came up for the Copper Dog sled race (Watch, not participate) and to snow shoe. We had 3 sunny days with great snow. The cottage had everyrthing we needed after full days of outdoor activities. Hiking along the lake was amazing on the snow sculptures.



Thanks Philip for a cozy and comfortable home away from home. We will be back!
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 12

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Houghton County Memorial Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Calumet-Shutes
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Keweenaw Mt. Lodge
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
M-203
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Calumet-Michigan House-6th St. & Oak St.
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Mt. Bohemia
Car: recommended

Come join us at -The Red Cottage- a North Shore Cottages property in the Upper Peninsula's Keweenaw County. - our location is less than 3 miles from downtown historic Calumet - yet still quiet and nestled in the forest lined beach. We are conveniently located near all area attractions; Copper Harbor, Mt. Bohemia, Swedetown, and the Houghton/Hancock area.

Amenities

Calumet Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Rural
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 2 sleeper sofas
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Historic Storybook Beach Cottage at Tamarack Waterworks
average rating of 4.645161 based on 43 reviews
Scottsdale, AZ
5

Fall getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at this adorable cottage in mid October. The property is a short drive into town which was very convenient. Everything you could need in the kitchen is already there, just bring food/drinks and you're all set. Thoughtful touches throughout make you feel welcome and relaxed. Thanks Phil!

Michele G.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Macomb, MI
5

Wonderful and cozy cottage on Lake Superior

  • 5 of 5

We have rented through rental sites in the past and this cottage was by far our favorite! Everything we needed was provided. From a fully stocked kitchen to plenty of linens and towels. The cottage is on the same little dead end street as a few other cottages with shared beach access. It is only a very short walk to the beach with a break wall to the north and miles of walkable beach (lake weather permitting) to the south. We found many great rocks and even a half broken agate in plain sight! The cottage is located about 10-15 minutes away from downtown Calumet (a half hour away from Houghton and about an hour to Copper Harbor) and with wonderful views of Lake Superior as you head down Waterworks Road. The cottage, although probably about a century old, has been wonderfully kept and updated to accommodate modern comforts. We only used the bedroom to the right and the bed was pretty comfortable with great pillows. If you stay in the winter you won’t need to worry about being cold as the house is very well insulated and the bed comforter was quite warm. We arrived on a very windy night and once inside you wouldn’t have guessed there was wind speeds of 35-40 mph. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but still easy enough to do your morning routine in. If you are a larger size person the shower might be a little restrictive for you. Cable and free WiFi are included which was a big help since service was mostly nonexistent. There is a nice front porch to sit in and open the windows and enjoy the view and breeze off the lake. There is a fire pit on site at the cottage and down at the beach where firewood is provided for beach fires. We were able to do some laundry in the basement and there were even some bottles of detergent left over, although we did bring our own as we weren’t sure. We have friends living in Allouez and had them over one night and we were able to cook a full meal with all the kitchen has to offer (electric stove/oven, toaster, microwave, plates, utensils, pots, pans, glasses, cutting board, you name it). The decor of the house shows the history of the area and the family who has lived there, nicely done. We did not talk to Philip during our stay, but I believe he lives nearby. He left recommendations for places to eat and shop at and was always easily reachable. Overall, this is a GREAT place to unwind and explore the Keeweenaw Peninsula from. We highly recommend staying here and we will definitely be back in the future! Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, quaint, fully equipped. A charming set of cabins on the shore of Superior.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Phillip for the hospitality! We enjoyed our time in the Keweenaw and absolutely enjoyed the time while in the cabin! Such a great spot to put our feet up and take in the serenity of the UP.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnetonka, MN
4

Great location just steps from Lake Superior

  • 4 of 5

Had a great 4-day stay at this quiet, clean and well located cabin. A shared beach on lake Superior is just steps away, complete with fire ring, endless stars and northern lights. If you are looking for high-end luxury, this is not the place, but if you want a well located cabin in a quiet and picturesque setting, this is a great base camp for exploring the Keneewah Peninsula.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Very disappointing!! It is NOT on the beach, does not sleep 8. It is not in good condition!

  • 2 of 5

Although the beach nearby is absolutely beautiful, very peaceful, and great for rock hunting... we were very disappointed with our stay in this little red cottage. If you want something directly on the beach, clean, comfortable and suitable to sleep 8 with a working washer and dryer... try another cottage. The owner, Philip was very friendly. He did greet us the day we arrived and said if we needed anything, email is the best way to contact him. Well, I emailed before we even left, (and was more than kind about everything) giving him the opportunity to at least say or do something about the complaints, but I have yet to hear anything back. I didn't plan to leave a review bc he did seem super nice and I thought maybe our visit was just one off time for him, but given the many issues we had and still not getting any response, I'm even more disappointed bc clearly he thinks its ok so now I feel others should know. Unfortunately, we will never return. It's definitely not what it is made out to be!! This place was absolutely not clean, not comfortable, NOT suitable for a family of 7 so idk where an 8th person would sleep. Well, unless you put a twin size air mattress (provided if you bring it) in the kitchen (we actually had to for part of our stay) or out on one of the enclosed porches or in the dirty creepy basement. This place is tiny and says it sleeps 8!! NO WAY could it sleep 8!! There's two VERY HARD beds in 2 tiny bedrooms. ONE twin size pull out sofa bed that is literally nothing more than cloth over springs! Luckily we had packed 2 twin size air mattresses. We had to put a kid on one, on the pull out spring bed, one adult on the other in one of the bedrooms, two kids in one bed, my husband and I in one bed, and our youngest who's a big 10 year old had to sleep on a small love seat. The place was dirty. There was a wad of long hair in the shower, dirty dishes, the enclosed back porch was disgusting. Worn out furniture. Broken cart. Very dusty, which is hard when you have 2 children w asthma, one allergic to dust.After washing 2 loads of laundry, we discovered the dryer didn't work and had to take all the wet clothes to the laundry mat the next day. No plunger and of course one of the kids clogged the toilet so my husband had to drive to town and buy one, which we left there. He didn't even offer to reimburse us for that!! Nearly a month later, still never heard a word back from the guy, which is sad bc this place has a lot of potential.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: First let me preface my response with the fact that this person called me a spoiled little brat, told I caused her to break down in tears because I ruined their family fun vacation, was called a word referring to one's sexual orientation in a very demeaning way. I was also blamed for how "irritable her children became because they were so confined with no space to get away from each other" as if I padlocked them in upon arrival. This person is so out of control with this review and her private emails I refuse to respond to her directly. She used emoji faces in just about every sentence to show her level of dislike. I updated all of my photos to show what she claims and what actually is reality. I am always open to constructive criticism and appreciate it when it is valid. This helps me to continue to improve my guests experience. I am always very open and responsive and this is evident in just about every other review besides her and another lady this summer who also took false issue. I wonder if it is coincidence that it took almost 3 attempts before I was able to collect their balance. Funny it was so upsetting to the children who played on the beach and had beach fires just about every night (wood I provide) or with the hand painted rocks, one reads "Be Happy." Also humorous to think you can get a discount/refund if you make up lies. I assured my housekeeper she was reaching and again read every other review stating how clean the cottage is (except her and the other lady) For someone as clean as she is she left cigarette butts all over the yard and driveway. She also goes on and on about the sleeps 8 number. I have it very detailed how many beds and bedrooms there are so if you don't read the listing, again this is not my fault. In the winter I get cross country skiers who like to pack them in and so they are willing to sleep 2 on the queen air mattress (in listing pictures) provided next to the sleeper sofa. In regards to the sleeper sofa, I've yet to find one that I want as my forever-bed so please share if you know of one that is like a cloud. The dryer did break (as they do eventually) but I was never informed. I purchased one the next day before the next group. I have had appliances break before and have always been great at replacing the same day or the next. Unfortunately there is nothing I can do to remedy the broken appliance if I am not informed. I am so appreciative of all of my wonderful honest guests, I won't pay any notice to this joke!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
2

old and dingy. needs some cleaning and updates

  • 2 of 5

The house is wonderfully located. However....

The house needs major repair and cleaning. The furniture in the house is old and stained. House smells of dog urine. Will not stay again.

And still waiting for our damage deposit refund......

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! This was a surprise as the guest toured this home as well as another brand new property several months before her stay. We spoke upon arrival and no issue was shared. Considering the guest literally never left the property while her husband fished (all day, all week) tells me her frustration lies elsewhere and the smell she is referring to could only be from the pungent smell left by the fisherman... Literally everything including curtains needed deep washing after their departure. If it was so terrible I would have suggested a walk on the beach or even just a sit on the front porch with all of the Keweenaw fresh air. I only have 5 star reviews and rave ones at that. I ask future guests to do the math before believing such a bogus review. This guest was difficult from day one and she would never be invited back as primarily my guests are repeat because they love the property so much. People should really decide what the true reason for being disgruntled is before bashing someone's hard work especially when it was done specially for the guest. Also she is lying about the deposit. I have a picture of the receipt showing it was refunded last week. Shameful or should I say shameless.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties