Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4 Bdrm Home - LOW RATES! - No Crime - Safest Neighborhood in City!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Lovely 4 bedroom, 3 bath home located a couple blocks from New Orleans line in historic old Arabi. The home is on a large corner lot which offers plenty of free parking. Besides being 4 miles from the French Quarter, it's also just as close to a boat launch which offers the best fishing in the country. So stay a few extra days and bring your boat or hire a fishing guide. This is the safest area in the city! Unlike New Orleans, we have plenty of police in Arabi and they do not tolerate any riff-raft coming here to commit crimes. Arabi is in St.Bernard Parish(county). My wife and I love New Orleans. We have our favorite restaurants and places to go in New Orleans, but we love coming to our house in St. Bernard Parish to safely sleep at night with peace of mind.

Also note that for being 3 miles, (10 minutes drive) from the French Quarter, the rates are 1/3 of what the same size house would be near the Quarter.

More Details

Owner
Larry Landry
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Larry Landry

I was born and raised here. I love being being in the safest area of the city.

Larry Landry purchased this house in 2006

Why Larry Landry chose Louisiana

I bought this property because it has a great flood plan, plenty of parking, corner lot, large back yard, a great neighborhood and convenient to everything.

What makes this house unique

I am minutes away from everything in New Orleans that I love. Plus I am close to the best fishing and hunting that anyone could ask for. Inquire about fishing charters. Rates start at $350.

Amenities

Arabi House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
18% Complete
13% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4 Bdrm Home - LOW RATES! - No Crime - Safest Neighborhood in City!
average rating of 4.409091 based on 22 reviews
Dallas, Texas
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for for our family, and still had plenty of room, WAY better than hotel rooms and a lot cheaper as well!!! I thought we were farther away from from everything, but we were very close. Would totally stay there again!!

Larry was super easy to correspond with when I had a question. Thanks again for the nice place to stay while we were there for our cousin's wedding.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house and neighborhood were great. We were all very comfortable and fully satisfied.

  • 5 of 5

Everything was great. Really liked the screen porch and the layout of the house

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice

  • 4 of 5

Pro's: House was roomy and comfy. Loved the screened porch and code for front door instead of having to keep up with keys. Great location. Quiet neighborhood. Will recommend for future guests. Sleeps 10 comfortably.

Cons: Could have more towels and washcloths because there wasn't enough for us 10 to have a shower in the same day without having to wash them. There was no dish washer liquid or dish cloths to be able to wash dishes. There aren't enough cups for us all. Back downstairs bedroom had a terrible urine smell in the closet.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I don't understand about the towels. There were more than 15 that we washed after they left and there were another 4-5 clean that was in the upstairs bath. I never noticed that we were short on cups. I'll get some more. A simple phone call would have solved that.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Benton, AR USa
5

Great property! Excellent location in a safe neighborhood. Very clean remodled home. Loved it.

  • 5 of 5

We were a party of eight returning from a cruise and needed a nice safe location to stay for two nights. I found this house on VRBO and it was just what we were looking for. It is located in a very safe neighborhood. The neighbors are very friendly. Parking is plentiful. We had two vehciles and there would have been room for more. This location is very close the French Quarter. The Arabi Food Market is just around the corner. They have excellent sandwiches. There is a Wal Mart approximately one and a half miles away, also a donut shop and Waffle house within half a mile. The house is only a short distance from where the Battle of New Orleans was fought. Mr. Landry was very reponsive and helpful. He offered suggestions for dining at local restaurants which worked out really well. We had gotten off the cruise ship by 10:00 AM. I called Mr. Landry and asked him if we could drop off one of our vehicles at the property until check in time at 3:00 P.M. He told me that he might be able to get us in the property sooner and said he would call back. He was good to his word and called me back within a few minutes and said we could check in. We were able to unload our considerable luggage, drop off one vehicle, and head down to the French Quarter for the rest of the day. We have been going to New Orleans since 1968. Since it is usually only the two of us we rent a condo in the French Quarter. Having a large party of family and friends on this trip made renting this house very economical. We would rent this house again anytime. It doesn't cost anymore than the condo we previously rented and the neighborhood location is just a lot more quiet and enjoyable. We highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Amazing place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This house was wonderful! It may need a little tlc but it was way more than we expected. The reviews were a little harsh I'm glad we did not let them sway our choice. House had so much space and cozy, we felt safe and at home. We like to stay again but we noticed a for sale sign glad we got the chance to see it.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Its In The Details.

  • 4 of 5

Our stay included 4 couples. The layout listed is accurate. The inside of the home is beautiful. We found the place to be everything that we needed in space and privacy. The neighborhood is very quiet.

Working with the owner was no-stress communication. Every question we had he answered. Although I never met him personally, he was always accessible by phone.

**There were some concerns:

The windows were secured shut so the bedrooms could not get fresh air. Ventilation is needed

We found the cookware to be put in the cabinets dirty. We purchased our own.

There were not enough towels for a party of 8. We purchased our own

There were not enough dishes for a party of 8. We purchased our own glassware

We discovered dust and grime on ledges, walls & ceilings. Also, some cobwebs, etc...We just went over the bathrooms and dishes for our own peace and made it our home for the (5) days that we stayed.

There was cleaning supplies available, including washing detergent for clothes. However, they were generic, which is ok for some.

**Suggestions: Just do a deep cleaning and update the dishes, etc.

----I would stay there again and I would work with the owner again.

NOTE: This property is at least 15-20 minutes from downtown New Orleans (French Quarters, Bourbon Street, Convention Ctr, Harrahs). May be good for some and bad for others. We didn't mind.

There is not much around it except a Dollar General, corner store, Waffle House, Rally's, etc. A Walmart is 10 minutes away. I'm sure there may have been a couple of spots that we missed.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Charming cottage located from the New Orleans and Mississippi River.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties