Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront White Stone Cottage w/Private Beach!

Bedrooms 2
Space 940 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Retreat to the gorgeous Virginia coast by staying in ‘My Sweet Escape,' a 2-bedroom, 1-bath vacation rental cottage in White Stone! This vibrant property with a private beach steps away has comfortable accommodations to host 6 people and boasts amazing outdoor accommodations, including a private gazebo and fire pit. Relish in the property's seclusion, sip a cocktail on the porch or gazebo, or wade through the Chesapeake Bay which you'll find just steps from this White Stone cottage's back door!


Master Bedroom: Queen Bed | Bedroom 2: 2 Twin-over-Twin Bunk Beds

The sounds of waves crashing against the shore serenade you as you pull up to ‘My Sweet Escape’, a charming, French-Caribbean-Italian cottage, ideal for private vacation getaways.

The vibrantly decorated living room offers a plush couch and flat-screen TV and opens freely to the kitchen and dining area. Enjoy a drink in the sitting room while the group's cook prepares your favorite recipes!

Most of your time will surely be spent exploring the home's wonderful accommodations. Take your meals outside to the screened in porch and then head to the multiple sitting areas that overlook the water. Listen to the crashing waves from the gazebo as you sip on your cocktail before you start a fire in the stone firepit.

When you're tired after a long day, ‘My Sweet Escape’ has 2 bedrooms for you to choose from. You'll love the home's beautiful master bedroom, which boasts a plush queen bed and plentiful natural light. Those staying in the second bedroom will enjoy 2 twin-over-twin bunk beds.


This wonderful White Stone property boasts the utmost peace and tranquility, while located near many lively attractions! Spend your days lounging on the beach just down the road, swimming in the bay, or heading to White Stone, Irvington, and Kilmarnock!

When you tire of cooking, there are plenty of delicious restaurants for you to choose from. Check out Sandpiper Restaurant for some great seafood or head to River Market for some great craft beer and wine selections.

No matter how you choose to spend your time while staying here, you're sure to have an unforgettable Chesapeake Bay vacation!


Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for guests. Every property in our network has been vetted and verified so you can book with confidence. If you have questions prior to your trip, we are happy to assist you 7 days a week. During your stay, your designated Guest Contact will be available 24/7 to help with any issues that may arise.


Key Residence Features:

-Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioning, ceiling fans, free WiFi, 2 flat-screen cable TVs, DVD player, wood-burning stove, portable heater, firepit, gazebo, patio with furniture, charcoal grill, and more

-Beautiful White Stone area - Bayfront property with easy access to restaurants, shopping, nightlife, swimming, fishing, boating, golfing, and much more! Short stroll from beach access


- No smoking

- Pet-friendly with $45 per stay fee

- Events, parties and large gatherings considered with prior homeowner approval (please contact Evolve for additional information)

- Must be at least 25 years old to book

- Additional fees and taxes may apply

- Photo ID may be required upon check-in

More Details

Property Manager
Evolve Vacation Rental Network
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018


White Stone Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 940 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 4 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • bay/sound
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing


2.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

14% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
57% Complete
Oceanfront White Stone Cottage w/Private Beach!
average rating of 2.2857144 based on 7 reviews

Relaxation at it's finest. Our Sweet Escape

  • 5 of 5

Pretty sure staying here convinced us it is time to get away more often. The peacefulness of the Bay must be experienced in person.

It has enough amenities to be more than camping, and convince you that you are away from home. The eclectic collection of furnishings make it likely the most unique place you will stay.

It has WiFi, so set up your WiFi cell service before visiting because the Bay signals strengths are spotty at best. The restaurants within driving distance come highly recommended by the Locals. We enjoyed the Sandpiper in White Stone for the fresh seafood.

It is possible a weekend isn't enough time to actually relax, but recharging here for a couple of days we endorse and highly recommend as a get away from the Northern Virginia rat race and over (depending on your true get away purpose) the commercial touristy destinations like OBX, Colonial and Delaware beaches.

Try it. You'll like it.

~ M & D

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

Not a good memory. Trying to get a refund.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Eric, We were very sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your stay at this property despite the homeowner's multiple attempts at a resolution. We do appreciate you working with us throughout the check-out process and we wish you all the best in your future travels. Best, the Evolve Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unsanitary & Not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

The property is overgrown, grass over our ankles. The toilet mostly didn't flush... The manager knew prior to our arrival that it wasn't working and never told us until we'd driven over ten hours. Manager screamed at me on the phone to get out and that she wasn't helping me, then refused to take my calls and requested I not contact her again (on first full day). What followed was unpleasant to say the least. Evolve has great customer service and did what they could for me. The front area looks like a dump site. The dishes had to be washed prior to use. The painted concrete floor bubbled in the humidity and flaked off on our feet and shoes. The tile in the shower is broken on the ground and is sharp on your feet. There are ZERO areas for any belongings or supplies including food... All dressers, drawers and cabinets are stuffed to capacity. Overall this is not a place I would return to or recommend for anyone. It isn't "rustic" it is run-down.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christina, we are very sorry for the issues you encountered. Here at Evolve, it's our goal for all guests to have comfortable stays, and we regret that your stay did not live up to that standard. The homeowner did everything they could to ensure the toilet was functioning properly. As there was massive rainfall when you stayed, the homeowner drove down to fix this and confirmed that the toilet was flushing fine upon arrival. We understand aside from this issue you loved this cottage and were satisfied with your stay. The homeowners are doing all they can to ensure guests have an enjoyable experience here, and we are confident future guests will have pleasant stays! Best, the Evolve Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cozy adventure

  • 3 of 5

This place was clean and bright and the host left some nice touches for us, but as noted on another review, not quite up to the description. With that in mind, we came prepared. There only a small heater in the bedroom and a wood stove in the main room. Keeping this going was a chore, but a great way to spend the Thanksgiving holiday. It will be a great memory for years to come.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review, Katherine! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday here. It was a pleasure hosting you, come back soon! Best, The Evolve Team
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Well maintained and clean, but cramped.

  • 1 of 5

We stayed for a November fishing trip. Unfortunately, we did not realize the house was a) made of cinderblock, and b) relied on a wood stove for heat. If that information is available in the web description it is not apparent. I called the cottage contact when we found out, asking for some wood or a space heater, and was told it was our responsibility to get wood. The contact suggested the Wal-Mart in Kilmarnock. We had to leave after 2 nights due to the cold. Other than that, it was very full of decorative items, and difficult to find space to put things down, especially in the kitchen. I would only recommend it for a summer trip. As the house shoreline is armored with boulders, the only beach appears to be on neighbors property.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bob, thanks for taking the time to leave this review. We are very sorry to hear that this home did not meet your expectations. We have passed your feedback along to the property manager, who has assured us that the description and the photographs accurately portray the home. While the beach is not directly in front of the property, it takes only a minute or two to walk to the beach. We apologize that the temperature was uncomfortable, and the homeowner has let us know that the right type of firewood is entirely able to keep the home nice and warm. Thanks again for the feedback! Best, The Evolve Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Cute eclectic cottage

  • 4 of 5

This is a really cute dog friendly cottage. The decorations are very eclectic. There is a nice screened porch and seating areas facing the bay. The only downside, you have to walk down the street to access the beach. We would have loved to be able just to step onto the beach from the cabin. Maybe a private property issue? Owner very easy to deal with and unit was clean.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Additional fees and taxes may apply

You might like these similar properties