Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SPRING SPECIAL**10% OFF**Your Dreamy Private House + Hot Tub,Legal Rental

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Entire Private Cottage 2br/1 bath with Hot Tub & Shared Pool

Aloha, You have arrived at your own private paradise...

Which we've been told is the 'closest to heaven you can get'.

Imagine yourself relaxing on your lanai in a hot tub under the Hawaiian moon amidst lush tropical gardens. Doesn't that sound just like what you have been waiting for?

Permitted Maui fully legal rental #BBPH2012-0004

'In our 50 years together, my husband (retired pilot) and I have traveled the world...but THIS place...OMG THIS place is 'it'. It was all divine, magical.' - Mike & Lilian, Georgia

We offer you our very special tropical Eco-Bamboo cottage, a stunning pool (shared with one house on property), and it's all just a quick 15 minute drive to the turquoise waters at Ho'okipa beach and Hawaii's top rated "Mama's Fish House Restaurant".

Perfectly Romantic and private for Honeymooners!

Away from the commercial and 'touristy' areas, our private and uniquely beautiful bamboo cottage features two large bedrooms complete with their own private lanais (hawaiian for covered decks). There is one bathroom with a deep jacuzzi tub with room for two and a fully appointed kitchen.

Our Hawaiian Dream Temple is your best choice for taking your vacation to the next level of serenity.

'What an amazing gift this place is. It topped every place we have ever stayed. It provided the quiet seclusion that we always crave but rarely get. This little bamboo bungalow is the closest to heaven you can get'- Brad & Debra, California

Our cottage is located in tropical 'Upcountry' in a quaint town called Haiku, which means you are close to waterfalls, hiking, zip line adventures, horseback riding, cycling routes and Haleakala crater. Our property receives plenty of sun and just enough rain to keep the tropical flowers and fauna lush and vibrant.

The cottage is 15 minutes from beaches, the quaint surf town of Paia and 10 minutes from the upcountry town of Makawao . Even closer is the world famous Ho'okipa beach with its legendary surf break and some of the best windsurfing, kite boarding, & surfing in Hawaii. We are a quick 30 minute drive from the airport in Kahului.

The cottage has as much outdoor space as inside. It is 1800 sq ft with 800 sq ft in outdoor living space alone. The interior is constructed of all hand woven bamboo, and with an open air plan the ceilings and walls allow for tropical breezes to flow throughout the home.

'This way the perfect place to stay for our honeymoon. It was quiet, peaceful, relaxing and not too far from most destinations. We really enjoyed our stay!'- Ashley & Kevin, Michigan

Each bedroom has it's own private lanai (hawaiian for covered deck) with beautiful seating areas for morning relaxation or reading. The bathroom has an oversized deep Jacuzzi tub plus shower. Our living room offers a fold out futon for additional sleeping for two. Our kitchen is fully appointed with appliances, cooking necessities and is ready for your arrival stocked with tea, fruit, croissants and coffee upon your arrival.

Relax on the large wrap around deck where you have amazing views of the lush tropical grounds. Enjoy your mornings and evenings listening to the birds at the wishing well with a bubbling brook that streams down and around the front of the cottage which ends in a lovely pond.

As a guest at the cottage, you have shared access to the amazing fresh water swimming pool. It is a quick 1-2 minute walk down the drive and is located aside the main house. Designed with an Asian theme in mind, you will find a tropical pool oasis complete with: waterfalls over a shaded bench that sits behind a lava rock wall with ferns, a bridge that spans the deep end, 1 foot deep swimming moats for small kids.

This oasis is also relaxing with its meditation platform structure and plenty of tropical fauna surrounding you so you can simply let the stresses melt away. This freshwater swimming pool, at 40 feet long, is even big enough for enjoying your laps.

The shared pool is just a short walk through the grounds as it is located down and aside from the main house.

The cottage is completely private and very much separate from the main house. You have your own large yard, private gated driveway and parking area.

The Hawaiian Dream Temple is a very special, unique, and inspiring home that is the perfect place to immerse yourself in the raw and natural beauty that Maui offers while still being close to the adventure activities and beaches that everyone comes to experience.

We welcome you with Aloha and are passionate about creating a special space for your precious time away from it all!

WE ACCEPT CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS

with a $35 Standard Rate Credit processing charge.

WE ALSO ACCEPT E-CHECKS.

(Note: E-Check users will have the $35 Credit Processing Fee refunded)

More Details

Property Manager
Jessica Yeoman
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2017

About Jessica Yeoman

Paul G.: I moved here from England because I fell in love with the aloha of the Hawaiian islands and 'Maui Magic'. As soon as I got off the plane and I felt the warm tropical air, salty ocean breezes and sunlight on my face I knew I wanted to feel this way for the rest of my life.

Jessica Y: (Property Manager) I love Maui and its ability to keep me in constant gratitude. I enjoy bringing guests to the cottage because I know how it can truly heal people from the stresses of everyday life. I want our guests to remember that life is a gift and its easy to sink into that peaceful feeling when you are surrounded by Hawaiian beauty, I love bringing this to all.

Jessica Yeoman purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Jessica Yeoman chose East Maui

This property is pure Maui magic. I have lovingly landscaped and worked this land for over 6 years, planting many varieties of tropical flowers and palm trees. We have left the old growth Eucalyptus trees to provide lovely shade against the sun, and we receive the north shore's famous trade winds that blow the flowers' scents through the air.

What makes this cottage unique

We have an amazing pool with an ocean view, it has a lava rock wall lush with ferns growing over a in-pool bench. It is spectacular! We have an asian theme at our pool with our yoga/meditation platform and a fun bridge spans across the pool. There are two circulating water features on the sides of the pool that allow for shallow water sun bathing as well.

The Asian Dream Temple has a waterfall feature that starts from a wishing well and trickles down a rocky, fern laden stream bed into a pond surrounded by iris, birds of paradise and other native plants. This flows right under the lanai and front doors to your house and is a great place to enjoy your coffee and tea in the morning or a pina colada after a long day at the beach.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you so very much for your kind heart- respectfully. We had a fantastic time, beautiful scenery. We will for sure be seeing you again in the upcoming year or years.
Apr 2007
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Haiku Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub , Jacuzzi tub seats two comfortably
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Private lanai, wild ginger, & table and chairs for two
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Private deck with bench looking onto gardens, yoga rug too
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

SPRING SPECIAL**10% OFF**Your Dreamy Private House + Hot Tub,Legal Rental
average rating of 4.7 based on 50 reviews
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four had a most wonderful time!

We were welcomed by a beautiful filled basket of fruits and local delicacies.

The hot tub and pool was an added bonus. Slept like a baby under the tree canopies.

Highly recommend.

Centrally located to all Maui attractions.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, unique cottage and lovely setting

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here and would definitely make this our temporary home again if given the chance for another trip to Maui! We initially debated staying here or closer to the ocean and found the uniqueness, quality, and thoughtful touches of our hosts a strong draw that made this one of the best places we could have stayed at in Maui, even though it is inland and on the rainier side. Our kids loved this place, too! We had planned to do quite a bit of travelling throughout the island, and I did find previous reviews indicating this as a good central location a little misleading. We were still quite a drive from Lahaina and Wailea, exacerbated by holidaying during a busy time (spring break for us). Trips to other parts of the island certainly are better as full day trips from this cottage. We spent part of our holiday in Hana, so we did not travel to Hana as a day trip from this location. It is quite close to Hana, so many stops on the road to Hana are reasonably accessible as day trips. As with other reviewers, I recommend keeping in mind that if the weather is on the colder, wetter or cloudier side here, remember there is a good chance it's sunnier and warmer down by the ocean -- don't be fooled into thinking it's not the best day for beach time. The pool is exquisite, and the kids loved it, especially the small waterslide. Apparently, the mechanism to turn the water slide on/off is complex and managed by people living in the main home, who were happy to turn it on for us if they were home while we were at the pool. The pool is close to the main home with hours of about 9am to 7pm. There's still a sense of some privacy while at the pool as it's more beside the house rather than immediately behind the house. It truly is a lovely spot! We were very appreciative of the special touches inside, including welcoming treats, games, travel guides of the area, books, access to beach toys, ample beach and regular towels, lovely furniture on the porch to enjoy the setting and provide space for both family time and quiet time, and a well-stocked kitchen and bathroom with some first aid supplies. I know I am missing items in my list, as well. The netting above the beds is lovely and romantic but ours did fall down a couple of times, so I recommend this being fixed to be more stable. We appreciated all the hooks available for hanging jackets, regular towels and beach towels, and the ample drawer space. Incredible place to stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very peaceful. A great hub to explore the island from.

  • 5 of 5

Great space. Very peaceful. A trip to Hanzawa's gas and convenience store is a must. A hidden gem of a lunch counter with the best poke around!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Absolutely terrible!

  • 1 of 5

We arrived and the cottage was hot and musty and absolutely unbearable to be in considering there is no air conditioning. We had prepaid for our stay and immediately upon arrival contacted the property manager to let them know we could not stay in these conditions and asked if any portion of our money could be refunded to allow us to find more livable accommodations. They did absolutely nothing for us, we did not stay here, and lost all of our money while having to spend additional money for a different place elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jessica, I am sorry you felt the temps were uncomfortable. It was 80 degrees that day and without the tradewinds and it was warmer than normal. I did make every attempt to cool the cottage down with all 6 fans running and windows open. Unfortunately I could not refund you, and about that I am sorry you felt you had to vacate. The next day weather was much cooler and breezy. I always make every attempt to care for our guests and sometimes things just don't work out. But please know I did care about your experience and offered many options, like that lovely cool pool.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Mind-blowing

  • 5 of 5

On our third annual trip to Maui, we were looking for a new experience, and the Dream Temple more than delivered. Incredibly private, with lush greenery and gardens, a spectacular view from the lanai, and everything necessary for a romantic and beautiful stay provided. It rains a lot in January, so we never really got to the pool, but we spent lots of time in the hot tub. Listening to the rain and wind in the trees at night was deeply soothing. The location provides a good home base for exploring upcountry, and would be a good launching point for a Hana Highway trip (which we didn't do on this trip). Kitchen is nicely stocked and easy to get around in, although the cooktop is slightly warped. Washer/dryer are also provided but are the small stacked unit, so if you're washing a bunch of beach towels it may take a while. We can't wait to come back, and several of our friends are now interested in planning trips to the Dream Temple based on our experience. Highest recommendation.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. Regarding laundry, please next time don't feel you need to wash towels. There are always extras under beds. Let us do your laundry so you can focus on playing and relaxing more :) Kindly, Jess
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very beautiful and quiet

  • 4 of 5

Great property!!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13.8 Miles
Kahului
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Colleens in Haiku or Cassanova's in Makawao
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Maui Country Club- Spreckelsville
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Colleens, Cassanovas, Nuka sushi, TUkTuk Thai,
Nearest Beach
5.9 Miles
Hookipa Beach
Car: recommended

Haiku is a magical, peaceful, lush and tropical area on Maui's north shore. Visit Hookipa famous for professional wind surfing and kite boarding. Cycle up to Haleakala summit for a true aerobic workout with amazing views to keep you inspired- our house is right on the path up-country! Magical waterfalls and bamboo forest hikes are located within 15 minutes from our place as well.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Haiku Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SPRING SPECIAL
Apr 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$298
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$398
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$398
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$333
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Credit Fee $35 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

A 50% deposit is due upon booking this reservation. If you are making reservations within this 60 day window, full payment is due and payable now. Reservations not paid in full 60 days prior to arrival will be canceled. Please note you are considered PAID IN FULL when both DEPOSIT and FINAL PAYMENT (Rent, Hawaii Tax, Exit Cleaning and Security Deposit have been received.)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties