Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Mountain Views Home Convenient To Nearby Attractions And Shopping.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Custom 5 BR Home loaded w/ upgrades, Beautiful Mtn. Views, Easy Access, Relaxing

This custom mountain home has 5 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, and many upgrades.

Easy access with paved driveway, with beautiful mountain views and close to the scenoc town of West Jefferson which is less than 5 minutes away with dining, shopping, and historic sites.

Our home has granite counter tops, stainless appliances, gas fireplace, beautiful wood throughout home, large deck and also a lower patio over looking mountains, a stone and wood covered entrance way. Satellite, internet, free wi-fi, home phone, and 6 HDTV's.

Full size washer/dryer in laundry room.

Recreation room with pool table, board games, and books.

A great place to relax with plenty of things to do within a short drive. 5 minutes from downtown West Jefferson shopping. Many other attractions close by including the

New River, Churches of the Frescoes, Blowing Rock, Boone, Blue Ridge Parkway and the list goes on :)

9/1/2015 Newly added entirely paved driveway and parking areas. Never have to touch gravel getting to our home!

Unlike some other listings we do not charge extra per guest which can often be $20 per guest/day for over 6 people (we still do limit guests to a total of 10 people) and we also do not charge an admin fee for booking.

**Please contact us by pressing blue SEND EMAIL button (middle right side) after looking at posted information, and calendar and rates which are kept up to date and after reviewing house rules and rental agreement which can be downloaded after pressing BOOK IT button, (this will not take funds at this time). We will then answer any questions you may have and also ask you some questions before accepting your reservation.** Otherwise your booking may get automatically declined within 24 hours

We rent to families only with primary renters at least 30 years of age.

More Details

Owner
Kathy& Steve
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 30, 2017

About Kathy& Steve

Family of 5. Husband, wife, and 3 girls ranging in age from 15 to 22 years of age living near Charlotte, NC.

We enjoy the North Carolina Mountains and the South Carolina Beaches and are fortunate enough to have properties in both locations (all listed on VRBO #'s 335239, 412912, 866526 ,and now this one 503406 ).

We try to spend our travel time relaxing at the different locations when not having to do the less fun things like working to pay for the homes and going to school :)

Kathy& Steve purchased this house in 2013

Why Kathy& Steve chose West Jefferson

In 'Our Point of View' this home is the place to be when wanting to enjoy the Blue Ridge Mountains. Home is custom built, full of everything you could need on vacation, on a beautiful private mountainside lot where feel away from it all and yet be able to be back into civilization within minutes.

We hope you choose to stay with us as our guests for your next family vacation.

What makes this house unique

We have listed quite a few things our home has in this listing, and it has many beautiful features. Best thing is to look at our attached photos because seeing is believing.

We have been dealing with renting our homes on VRBO for several years now and we know how to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

You can look at our other listings and read the feedback on how we care for our homes and our guests (VRBO #'s 503406, 335239, 866526, and 412912).

Amenities

Buck Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Rentals to families only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , master bathroom main level, twin sinks
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , upper level full bathroom with sink
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , main level half bathroom with sink
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , lower level full bathroom with sink
  • Upper end features
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Lowel Level right side bedroom
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom on main level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Lower level left side bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upper level left side bedroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 bunk bed , Upper level RS BR Bunkbed with twin on upper & full on lower
  • See photos for pictures of bedrooms. Rustic look, nicely appointed, and comfortable.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Mountain Views Home Convenient To Nearby Attractions And Shopping.
average rating of 4.875 based on 24 reviews
5

Delightful Mountain Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

A lovely home with all the amenities sitting atop a mountain looking down over a peaceful valley. It just does not get much better!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you John. Hope you visit us again in the mountains or at the beach :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

facility was clean, well stocked

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the visit very much. The pool table was a hit for everyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Well designed and comfortable mountain house close to West Jefferson

  • 4 of 5

The house comfortably accommodated our 10 person/two family trip with large kitchen/eating areas and bedrooms spread across 3 floors. The large deck had nice views of the mountains. Pool table was also popular entertainment. Location was close to West Jefferson restaurants/retail and good base camp for trips to Boone, Grayson Highlands and the Creeper trail. Only recommendation for improvements are having a hot tub (not working at our visit) and an outdoor fire pit area.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the house. We were happy to work with you on your last minute reservation due to weather conditions at your home. On items recommended- the house is not advertised as having a hot tub and was never represented that way. The one that is there is not for guest use, due to us not visiting frequently enough to keep chemicals and water levels in check.The other is the fire pit, which we will not have due to fire risk being in a rustic setting and having an issue with one a couple years ago,. Neither of these items did we claim to offer on discussing the reservation- actually we stated at time of booking request we did not have a hut tub available. Glad you had a great time at our home and look forward to you visiting again. Kathy& Steve.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Driving up to the house let's you know you're going to have a great time even before you step inside

  • 5 of 5

I've never stasstasyed in a rental house that truly felt like you'd just walked into someones home. It is very warm & inviting but also very beautiful. Kathy & Steve paid great attention to the details, everything from the linens & kitchen items tyo the beautiful wall hangings. My entire family was impressed from the minute we arrived & we're still talking about how wonderful our time was. Even if you never leave the house, your vacation would still be great! West Jefferson is one of those small towns who somehow make it work. The shops & the people we met were simply the best! Go to the cheese factory & purchase some of the best cheeses you'll ever find!! Steve & Kathy were most helpful& kind. Thank you for sharing your warm, welcoming & simply fabulous home.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Teresa. We try our best. Hopefully see you again soon. Kathy& Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Attractive house, well-equipped, well planned for multi-generational families

  • 5 of 5

The house is really attractive. It was wonderful to sit on the deck with children and grandchildren, with mountains all around. The house is private, in the woods, with not many others around, a beautiful change from day to day life at home. Everything worked. The kitchen is very well equipped. We liked having bedrooms on three floors so that children and adults could both be together and have space. We stayed for a week and enjoyed a different park, or fishing river, or event on each day--lots to do without feeling as though you're in the middle of intense tourist country. A great vacation overall.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words and staying with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks, Kathy& Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bolivia, NC
5

Good Time Had By All

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have been to W Jefferson and other destinations in the western part of our state many times and have rented various properties from 2 to 6 bedrooms. This was the first trip for the three couples we brought along this time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house was very convenient to town, golf courses and Boone. We spent the evenings on the rear deck enjoying the view. The kitchen was well stocked and the beds very comfortable. The only suggestion I would offer is to add some additional seating in the living room. I'm sure we will be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words. We do have some extra fold out teak seating that we can provide for your next stay. Looking forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
125 Miles
Charlotte Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Town of West Jefferson
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Highway 221
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Town of West Jefferson
Nearest Ski
29 Miles
Appalachian Ski
Car: necessary

Located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and close to Boone, NC. Also near Churches of the Frescos and West Jefferson's Cheese Factory :) 5 Minutes from Town of West Jefferson with shopping, restaurants, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $300

Towels and linens are provided along with light home departure cleaning and washing of towels and linens for only $100 and is not optional. This ensures all our guests have a great stay in a clean home that meets high standards.

Our home is a non smoking property with maximum occupancy of 11 people total.

In winter months a 4 wheel drive vehicle is recommended.

Rental terms need to be read, signed and emailed back to us with copy of drivers license before your reservation is accepted and before we approve stay. This paperwork can be viewed by pressing the yellow BOOK NOW button then pressing the BOOK IT button in yellow. When on that page click on the rental agreement and house rules (located above the BOOK WITH CONFIDENCE paragraph). Please let us know if have any questions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund