Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

National Scenic River Swim, Canoe Tubeing Fishing all in your front yard

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Envision the thrill of having the river flow thought your front yard!

Fish and swim with out ever leaving your vacation paradise. Imagine long walks along the winding country roads, enjoying the spectacular views. Or, contemplate just falling asleep to the music of the river.

This charming A-frame could easily adorn an impressionist painting. With beautiful woodwork, a stunning fireplace, skylights and all the amenities, what more could you ask for? Decorated in simple country elegance with soft earth tones that accentuate the richness of the wood and complement the pastoral setting.

The centerpiece of the home is the large great room with comfortable seating and sliding patio doors that afford a breath-taking view of the river. Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the New River is designated a national scenic river and flows just a few steps away.

This property creates vacation memories you will re live for years to come Idyllic seclusion with picturesque scenery, and where three cars in an hour is considered a traffic jam. Secluded, yes, but only 15 miles from the towns of Jefferson and West Jefferson.

Summer price reduction just $ 150.00 per night plus cleaning and taxes. Weekly ^& discounted monthly rates

No Smoking,or pets Please.

Keywords: Vacation Home, Mountain Cabin ,A frame

More Details

Property Manager
Tony Bellefond
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, Southern
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 17, 2017

About Tony Bellefond

This home was built by our family members. We completed 90% of all the work. The stone mason estimated we picked up, by hand, over 24 tons of rock for the impressive fire place. The home is not just a rental we actually live here with our children going to the Ashe County schools. We have roots in the community.

Why Tony Bellefond chose Blue Ridge Mountains

We purchased the property in the late 70's. The area was growing yet it still had, and has its rural charm. As in most farming communities the people were friendly and hard working. When we first got here cows and tobacco were still on the property. There was no better place to raise young children.

What makes this cabin unique

This area is rural and is exactly what the Doctor ordered if you really need to get away. No big cities just the charm of small town, with great restaurants and many things you will not find elsewhere. The church's with the fresco's are world famous. See how cheese is made in the famous Ashe County Cheese factory. Many "real olde timey General Stores" abound and the "Scenic" New River gives you endless possibilities.


Grassy Creek Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2) A queen size airbed is in the home, Twin or Single Beds (2) 2 foam mattress and 2 twin airbeds are also available, Child Beds (1), Murphy Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water tubing


Very Good! 4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
National Scenic River Swim, Canoe Tubeing Fishing all in your front yard
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews


  • 5 of 5

I couldn't help but share after reading reviews. Our date is incorrect but I had to put one to do review. We stayed here 3 different times and loved it. The only reason we went to other cabins is our family got too big for this cabin. Yes there is no AC but we knew that going in. The steps are steep but we did not rent a $5000.00 dollar a week cabin. All the "people" were nice and we got to know quite well. We enjoyed them. We loved it and thinking of renting this summer for a month.


  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The uncomfortable house

  • 1 of 5

If you want to rent the most uncomfortable house rent this one. It's very dirty, it's very dangerous for children. The stairs are the most uncomfortable to go to the second floor. The kitchen utensils are rusty and bad quality. The coffee maker was with mold. The plates that were in the dish washer were dirty. Are you decorating for Halloween a haunting house because there were tons of spider webs. If you were gonna take a shower on the second floor you would have to close all the tops down stairs cause you wouldn't have been able to take a shower. Was impossible to make barbeque because it didn't have the barbeque grill. The mini stereo to listening to music didn't work. The only reason we didn't go somewhere else was because we had kids and because it wasn't easy looking for somewhere else. The only thing good about it was the river outside otherwise everything was terrible

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you did not like our home. I have noted your concerns and was wondering why you did not contact our property manager immediately. Had we known there was a problem we would have made every attempt to fix it immediately, or could have made arrangements to refund your money. Your concern about the stairs is a little off base. There is a picture showing them on the website . The stereo we had no idea was not working and the grill on the patio was placed there last year. If one our guests has damaged it you can not hold us responsible. In light of you not contacting us immediately and give us a chance to rectify this situation makes your review very unfair to us. We tried to contact you several times and you never answered. We also called you leaving messages to go over all your concerns. and you did not even return the call. Our neighbors complained about tents and a motor home on our property, which is not allowed during your stay. Thank you Tony
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

river wonder

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a few nights the house was very clean no ac but with the doors open and the fans on it cooled off. The river was beautiful had a great time tubing. Would recommend staying there if you like the river. Can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Allergies?Asthma?Agility problems? Do not stay here!

  • 2 of 5

We stayed for one night and had planned to stay for three additional nights later with our children.It is not near the area shown on the map. It is about 20 miles from there.The cabin had no central AC so for a hot NC day it was pretty unbearable.The house smelled like no one had stayed in it for quite a while.The mold/mildew smell was awful even though the windows were open when we arrived.I may be super sensitive due to asthma.If you have allergies, asthma, etc I would not stay here.We were sniffling and sneezing whenever we were in the house.The stairs to the bedrooms are VERY steep.You can't stand up straight because the ceiling is so low.Each step is about 5" wide so you have to walk sideways and hunched over.This would be very dangerous for children.There is satellite but when it rained there was no reception.The "stairs" to get into the cabin were broken cinder blocks; not safe at all.The couch was broken in the middle.We didn't use any of the bedding bc they felt damp from humidity and no central air.There is about a 4-5 foot drop to get down to the river.Not kid friendly.There were signs on either side of the house that said private property so we were unable to try and find a better place to get in our tubes.The current is swift and is not safe for children to wade in.Any agility issues will not allow you to access the upstairs at all.If it hadn't been so close to dark after we finished fishing we would have left.There is a large yard but there is nothing in it like horseshoes, etc like other houses there.Another review below is correct.There are campers and other houses on each side and behind the house.I have been trying to contact the owner since 7/12 (the day of our stay) to request a refund for our reservation that was prepaid for 7/17-20.I have had no response and it is the 15th.Our reservation wasn't made until the 7th so it's not as if we are waiting until the last minute to cancel.We signed no agreement about policies, etc.I would love for the owner to refund my money.UPdate 8/2: The owner never responded to me.My husband called on the 15th and owner said he would send refund for 2 of 3 nights.A week later we still didn't have it.He blocked my # and sent an email that I was harassing him.Really?We got our refund 7/22.He took one nights stay from our refund and I assume tax and a cleaning fee or something because it wasn't a full refund for even two nights.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Winston-Salem, NC

Tubing Crew!

  • 5 of 5

Tony and Ellen's cabin provides the most ideal spot for a relaxing vacation! Every year, a large group of us meet there for a weekend of campfires, grilling, and tubing on the river. Each time we go, we feel more at home and fall more in love with this place! Our group will be a fixture in this cabin and on that river for many more years to come! Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!

- The Tubing Crew

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Fishing

  • 4 of 5

Our family recently stayed for Easter weekend. The house was clean and had all the essentials needed for cooking. My only quam would be, the picture that is shown on the main profile is very out of date. We would have liked to have had a little more seclusion and privacy as there are people / houses and campers surrounding the area. This would be a great place to go in the summer for tubing and canoeing

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Golfing, Fine dining, State parks, Private aviation airport,Hospital & Health care facilities, Wal mart Super center Scenic Area's, Canoeing Kayacking swimming in your front yard Fresco's


Rates & Availability

Grassy Creek Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.75%

No pets allowed because of the rural nature of the property. No RV's

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties