check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit


Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 10 nights

About the property



• Master Bedroom with a Queen bed.

• 3 Smaller Bedrooms with Single beds.

• 2 Full baths with showers

• Living Room has Futon and TV

• Kitchen with Refrigerator, Stove, Microwave & coffee maker.

• Ideal for 5 but will accommodate 7


• Large family room with 50” flat screen; Blue Ray; and Wi-Fi throughout.

• Fully equipped kitchen with microwave and Refrigerator.-Freezer

• Full Bath with tub and overhead shower

• Master Bedroom with a Queen and Single bed with 42” flat screen TV - Sleeps 3

• Second Bedroom has a Double and Single bed with 42' flat screen TV - Sleeps 3

The living room has a Queen Sleeper Sofa - Sleeps 2

The UPPER LEVEL is ideal for up to 6 Guests but will accommodate 8.

UPPER LEVEL also has a large enclosed Porch and Deck - a great place to gather and play games rain or shine.


Laundry Room, Screen Porch, Patio and Enclosed Outdoor Showers (See Pictures): 3 roll-a-way beds are stored and available upon request.




VIEWING THE VIDEO: The Drone was about 100 feet above my house and next to one of our houses: VRBO Listing #580386 - the two story "Green" house. The Drone camera turns 360 degrees to show the area. Our house has an umbrella on the "widow's walk". We were milling around while the video was recording. It doesn't take much to entertain us. Our other house VRBO Listing #580510 appears about 2 minutes into the video. It is the two-story "Green" house on pilings.

More Details

Al Danielsen
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Al Danielsen

Thinking about Renaming this to "The Gallery 212" and adding original work by local artists. Willing to rent monthly to artists. And artisans. We may commission art work in lieu of rental payments and/or buy selected works. Also looking to remodel porch in lieu of rent. Team artist/remodeler preferred. No guarantees. Just having fun.

I am a retired Professor of Economics (University of Georgia) interested in historic preservation. This property is an example. For the another one see VRBO Listing #580510. We bought this house and lot from descendants of the Booth family. Old Mr. Booth built it as a hunting lodge in 1952 but built on the "wrong" lot since it was owned by Colin McLaurin. The Booth lot was adjacent. When Colin McLaurin came to hunt geese and ducks he found the Booth house on his property. (Hunting and fishing were the main attractions of the beach at that time.) Being "Southern Gentlemen" they exchanged title to the properties and remained friends. The McLaurin House was built several years later (on what was the Booth property) and remains the family vacation home of his descendants to this day. the beach are in a flood plane so we had to raise it 14 feet, build a "cradle" under it and install pilings. North Myrtle Beach building codes are very strict so we were required to make it a single family dwelling. We did so by connecting the Upper and Lower floors with an indoor stairway. However, we also installed new doorways on each level with dead bolt locks to ensure privacy for groups that desire some privacy. The house has all new windows, siding, electric wiring, pluming and two additional bathrooms. There are very few empty lots in Cherry Grove so new construction and major renovations like the one we undertook usually require tearing down older and usually smaller houses. This was a major project but preserves some of the "old style" beach houses. We have also renovated VRBO Listing #580386 which is a classic example of houses built in the 1950s..

Al Danielsen purchased this house in 2013

Why Al Danielsen chose North Myrtle Beach

Classic Cherry Grove Beach cottage has 'heart of pine' walls, ceiling and flooring. Central heat and air conditioning as well as energy efficient windows and added insulation make this historic house better than new. The pine walls have been restored using hand-rubbed Teak Oil. The Cottage is located within 100 yards of the Beach in 'Downtown' Cherry Grove. A full-service grocery and hardware store are located within 25 yards.

What makes this house unique

The outstanding feature of this property is its location and proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops. In addition, special care has been taken to restore and upgrade the property.

If you believe in 'PRESERVATION' you will love what we have done.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

average rating of 4.5333333 based on 15 reviews

Cozy cabin, half block to beach

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in the upstairs unit for a month. There was a great 3 season porch with huge farm table and plenty of seating, 2 bedrooms, each with 2 beds, and a nice living room (plus kitchen and bath). The floors were painted wood floors, making it easy to keep clean. Walls were wood panel to give that cozy cabin feel. Great neighborhood feel. Right across the street from groceries. Beach is half a block away and is wide and great for a stroll. Definitely down home feel (not high luxury), but it's what the dogs and I were looking for. And, great deal for the money! I'm keeping this on my list and will return.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mary: Very happy you liked our place. We continue to make improvements but strive to maintain the traditional beach atmosphere that many of our guest like. Love your dogs. Best wishes, Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Asheville, NC

Perfect for me and my friends!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the house! It was perfect for a large group of young adults. We were within walking distance of everything and didn't have to drive anywhere. Loved how close the beach and grocery store are! The house came with everything we needed (maybe get an extra pan or two for the kitchens). We loved how cozy the upstairs rooms were. We really enjoyed having two seperate levels so we could have a private chill space upstairs for anyone who wanted to rest. My dog loved the house as well, and we really appreciated not having to pay a pet deposit. Al was a great host and gave us our privacy, which we appreciated as well. Overall we had an amazing time and the house felt like home. We were very sad to leave but we will definitely be returning next year! :)

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a nice review. My co-owner son and have installed a kitchen cabinet and shelves upstairs. It has a 24 x 36 inch oak counter with three shelves above. When you return you will have new easy clean ceramic skillets and pans. We plan to make an oak fold out leaf table downstairs under the TV with folding chairs so guests can have a sit down place to eat. Hope to have it ready for the couple staying in January and February. Also doing some landscaping. We try to do make a few improvements each year. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Worst Vacation Ever!

  • 1 of 5

It really doesn't deserve a star at all but had to give it one in order to post. My family and I use HomeAway or VRBO a few times a year and have always been pleased. This time...not so much! The house was in horrible condition. It was nasty! I spent two days of my vacation cleaning in order for my family to have a place to stay. I sent them off to the beach in the morning so I could clean. The smell was horrible!!! The cushions in the chairs were disgusting and were removed to the porch and we bought new cushions just so we could sit. I also covered the other furniture with extra sheets because it was so disgusting. This house is totally misrepresented on your website. The pictures had to have been taken years ago. The cockroaches were the size of small mice, no joke! After setting out the roach traps and spraying, we would wake up to 20-30 dead roaches every morning on our floors. The leak under the downstairs kitchen sink was contained with a garbage bag and a pitcher that had not been emptied all season and the water had become stagnant! It smelled to high heaven and made me nauseous just cleaning it up. I purchased two oval buckets with handles to replace the pitcher and garbage bag so that it could be easily emptied. When I told the owner about the leak he said he was going to have that kitchen remodeled at the end of the season and was trying to hold off on repairs. The refrigerator upstairs dumped water onto the floor every time the door was opened and had to be mopped up. The floors were filthy and had not been swept or mopped in weeks. It took a whole box of Swiffer pads and the floors were still not up to standards. The bathroom walls were growing some kind of pinkish mold on them and I was never able to rid the bathroom from some funky smell! The oven was so nasty I would not even consider cooking a meal there until I cleaned it. The tv would not work and the owner gave me his cable bill info and asked me to call and get it fixed, which I did. I really liked Al and Fran, the owners and hate to ruin their rental property with a bad review but it really needs to be fixed. It is really disgusting. Oh, I forgot to mention the five feral cats that were living there when we arrived! I could go on and on but this is almost as exhausting as this vacation was!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry for your bad experience. We have had mostly 5 Star ratings. I'll take part of the blame but lay some at your feet. I live directly behind where you stayed and met you when you arrived. True, the TV had to be rebooted which I tried to do and offered to complete later in the day. I gave you the phone number of Time Warner and you agreed to call them. You also mentioned the water problem. It was not a leak but rather caulking around the drain which dripped a little when water was in the basin. I offered to clean that up but you said Oh, no you would take care of it. You did not communicate with me at all after that. If you had, I would have had my cleaning people re-do the cleaning which would have taken 2 hours at most. I cannot correct problems or address complaints unless you tell me about them. Why would you take two days out of your short stay here to do what we could have done in a few hours. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay but you need to learn to COMMUNICATE. You are much too nice but may let people take advantage of you even when they do not intend to do so. Our cleaning people usually do a very good job but of course some of our guests have higher standards than others. Sorry for your bad experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Senior Beach Week

  • 5 of 5

My group of 12 girls rented this house and our 10 guys rented Al's other house. We had a couple of problems on the day we arrived and Al was nothing but helpful! He went way out of his way to make sure that our senior beach week was great. We had an amazing time and that was all thanks to Al. I highly recommend both of his houses as I am sure the experience will be great.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Appreciate your kind words. Hope you will return often. Al
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great place

  • 5 of 5

I rented with 14 other people for my college's senior beach week. Al was very transparent and helpful with any issue/problem with the house. The house was a lot larger than the photos indicate and a stone's throw away from the beach. There were a few things missing from the house (utensils, a couple linens here and there), but the quality of the house was high and the people even higher. I'd recommend this house to anyone trying to stay in N Myrtle Beach.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Andrew: We are upgrading some of the things so your future they will be even better. In particular, we have built a 8 foot long and 40 inch wide TAble with flooring we took from the lower level one we renovated it. We will be posting a picture of it on the porch when we get it installed. We are pretty proud of it and hope you will like it too. Al
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Greensboro, NC

Christmas to New Years 2016

  • 5 of 5

Great place! So nice that we were able to bring our fur babies with us and enjoy the beach! Thanks Al. Would definitely recommend to a family who wants to bring their pet with them.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to be with you to enjoy the new year. Hope you will return soon and often. Best wishes Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Myrtle Beach Internationa
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Duffy's, Flounders, Harolds
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Tidewater 1 mile Glen Dornoch & Heather Glen
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 17 & Sea Mountain Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Boulineau's, Flounders and Duffy's + Dairy Hut
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Cherry Grove Beach
Car: recommended

All these Local Services and Businesses are within 1-3 miles. Walking distance from groceries and restaurants/bars. 1 block or less.


Rates & Availability

Cherry Grove Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Dec 30 2016 - Mar 1 2017
10 night minimum stay
Mar 2 2017 - Apr 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
Apr 2 2017 - May 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 7 2017 - Aug 12 2017
6 night minimum stay
Aug 13 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
Oct 1 2017 - Mar 1 2018
10 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $200

Everything beachy is a short walk from this property. Located 100 yards from the beach and one block from Sea Mountain Highway It is next to Boulineaus grocery and hardware stores, Basil's Pizza (order early as there is a 2-3 hour wait in the summer), Duffy's rustic restaurant and bar, more upscale Flounder's restaurant and bar. All these are within 50 yards. Parasailing dock is 100 yards away.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Cherry Grove Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , UPPER LEVEL
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , LOWER LEVEL - Bathroom off Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , LOWER LEVEL - Bathroom off Den
    2 Enclosed Hot Water Outdoor Showers - outdoor shower , 2 Sturdy Enclosed Shower Stalls
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , UPPER LEVEL Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , UPPER LEVEL 2nd Bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , LOWER LEVEL - Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , LOWER LEVEL - Small Bedroom off Master
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , LOWER LEVEL - Small Bedroom off Den
  • UPPER LEVEL Extra Deep Mattresses with Pads, 1200 pt. cotton linen provided, Night stands, 42' TVs, Closets.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Owner lives next door to this property and is normally available for personalized services and advice - places to eat and drink, sightseeing etc.

Partner Offers