Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

08/07-13 just opened Also 8/20-Labor Day Fall Specials. Sun-Fri am spc

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 525 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

beach access,across street,wifi,pets ok, pool, tiki bar,dining ,private balcony

I do not use the online booking system, primarily, because I like to work directly with my guests. Not only in the booking process,but also, if they need something, while they are on vacation, in my home. I know it is a great tool, for absentee owners, but I live within 10 minutes of my properties. Once I am contacted, if there is an issue, I can usually have it resolved, or have someone on the way, to take care of it, much quicker, than through an online booking system. Now that being said, I will not bother you on vacation , I promise. lol. Chances, you won't even see me while you are at the beach. I have one 5x repeat, guest, that I just met for the first time this summer. lol Bless her heart, she said I just feel like you are a friend, and want to put a face to the emails and calls. lol On the other hand, if you were here and there was a problem, (rarely happens), you can reach me direct.. You do not have to worry about a 1-800 number ,being put on hold,or talking to a computer. I know a lot of folks have a concern, about guarantees etc. I understand that. Please take a look at my reviews, I think, my guests, say it best, how I do business. Thanks. Now I have August weeks. odd dates,weekends, and weeks left open. Labor Day weekend is also still open. it won't be for long though. Fall is coming, Couples and retirees, please think about September and October for

your beach vacation. That is my favorite beach time. Water is still in the 80s, through mid-October to November. Carolina Beach keeps lifeguards on duty, until Oct 1. Beaches are uncrowded, because the kids are back in school. The fishing Wow ! Spots start running in Oct. Nov fish are still being pulled in. They are big, because they are fattening up for the winter months. Summer is great, but if you have a flexible schedule, the fall is so awesome for a beach vacation. Oh and if you are a pet owner? Dogs are allowed on the beach now, after 5 pm. Dogs are allowed on all beaches here 24 hours a day after October 1. Make those plans now ! I am having trouble updating my VRBO calendar. I do it, but it doesn't block the dates. So please double check with me for available dates. I do not update the vrbo calendar Also if you can do a weekday beach trip I have a lot of odd dates open,and can give you awesome deals on these odd weekdays. These deals are going fast. I am going to update my odd dates open below right now and will do so weekly

With some of these weekday specials above, i can also do long weekends, since there are a few weekends left open in August. Please check for August dates. July is full, and August is starting to get activity now as well. Email for pricing. It really depends on how many dates you need and when. Thank you all so much. God bless you. See more notes about condo below

Small condo complex, centrally located, only a few

minutes from boardwalk etc. Tiki Bar restaurant,

right across the street. Beach access with wood

steps right out on to beach also right across the

street from condo. Pool right out back. Great

place for a couple retreat, or small family

Previous owners, and

our family used condo as our vacation retreat.

Flooring, cabinets, furnishings, even bathroom

fixtures, all replaced new, within past 2 years.

Also brand new a/c unit put in this spring. First

time used as a vacation rental. Queen bed,and

queen sleeper sofa in den. Quiet pets welcome

More Details

Owner
Gail Longnecker
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 11, 2017

About Gail Longnecker

Local owner. My husband and I had lived in the area our whole lives. Both born and raised here. Sadly I lost my

David after 30 short happy years of marraige, to stage 4 cancer. This happened in late 2015, and it was a very unexpected diagnosis and loss. We were both in the prime of our life. I only had him a short year after his diagnosis. During his illness, so many of our repeat guests prayed for our family. Even to the point, some gave our teenage son rides back and forth from UNC hospital, when they would come from the triangle area for a beach visit in our condos. We stayed with my husband at UNC Those wonderful guests though, gave our son a weekend break, without me having to leave my David alone. They were just angels, at a time I needed them the most. After David passed, I was advised financially to sell the home we shared together, and our rentals, if I was going to be able to survive. There was some insurance, but all of this was so sudden and David had been working full time. I know this is more information than you probably need about me. Taking care of our rentals, was

something we did in the summer on weekends together.

I prayed about it,after I lost David. Last summer, I decided before, I sold them and especially the home

we shared together. An unbearable thought to me. I

decided I would try renting these places on my own for

one summer, and see if I could make it. With God's grace and so many repeat and new guests, I was able to keep

our home and our rental properties. I did make a few changes. We also own a 4 bedroom beach house. After last summer, I turned it into a longterm rental. It was just too much for me to handle, with so many people checking in and checking out at once. Even as I have grieved my David, I am so thankful for my guests. They email me often to see how things are going, and how I am doing. When they come for a visit, it is like old friends returning, not just folks renting from me. Thank you and God bless you

Gail Longnecker purchased this condo in 2013

Why Gail Longnecker chose Carolina Beach

We fell in love with condo, and location the minute we walked in it in early 2013. I have several repeat guests, that come every summer. Being in a smaller condo complex, is also nice. Beach access is right across the

street. The crosswalk, has a flashing sign. Push the button, the sign

flashes, and traffic stops, for beach guests, to cross the street to

the board walked beach access. The pool is right behind the complex

also.

What makes this condo unique

cute, cute, cute ! Tiki Bar right across the street, with restaurant. You can eat inside, or go out on the remains of the restaurant/ tiki bar pier, and eat, right above the waves. If you have a little too much ,as far as beverages, no worries, about driving. Your condos, is right across the street. Wide sandy beach with boardwalk access,is also right across the street. No walking on hot sand, or going through overgrowth etc, to get to the beach. It even has a ramp, for those who want to avoid

stairs. The swimming pool is right out back. You come off the beach, hot and sticky, no worries, take a cool dip in the pool,before you go upstairs, to the condo. When you get in the condo, kick off your shoes, get a cool drink and relax !! You are at the beach now :)

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just booked our third stay in this condo It is a perfect size for a couples getaway or a small family. I love being able to walk right across the street to the beach. With the free wifi my husband, can get a little work done also. Last time he sat on the balcony, with his laptop and a cup of coffee, worked and watched the ocean at the same time. It was a relaxing stay for both of us
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nearest Barpub
Fun Tiki Bar across the street
Nearest Restaurant
across street yummy
Nearest Beach
across steet
Car: necessary

Several rental places for bikes, surfboards etc. Also Carolina Beach Recreation center sells inexpensive daily and weekly passes, to their workout facility, racquetball courts, and basketball gym. Several parks,with playgrounds, also nearby. A nice lake,with paddle boating,and a walking path. Also a farmer's market lakeside on Saturdays, only a mile from condo. Amusement park, free or low cost family activities at boardwalk and lake, all week long. Fireworks show every Thursday night, Movie night, at lake, on Sunday nights. Always something happening, at little or not cost.

Amenities

Carolina Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 525 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , New vanity and bathroom fixtures within past 2 years
  • new bathroom fixtures, shower only
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • queen bed , also a queen sleeper sofa in the den. I also put a futon mattress that can be laid on top of the sofa bed mattress to make it more comfortable for my guests.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
2nd floor unit, not too many stairs, great view

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
08/07-13 just opened Also 8/20-Labor Day Fall Specials. Sun-Fri am spc
average rating of 4.25 based on 10 reviews
4

Holiday weekend

  • 4 of 5

This is a great condition for the price and location! It is quiet and conveniently located. The beach is right across the street and we had a wonderful ocean view where I even got to watch dolphins on our last morning! The owner is extremely accommodating and allowed us a flexible check in/out in the off season. The fact that we were able to vacation with our dog and not have to pay an exorbitant pet fee definitely helped. Thanks, Gail, for a great vacation spot!!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This was my best vacation ever! The condo was wonderful and The owner, Gail, was awesome. She is extremely helpful and has a wonderful attitude. Being right on the beach was the best. The swimming pool was wonderful and refreshing and super clean. I want to live on this beach. And can't wait to go back. Thanks for everything Gail.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Weekend getaway

  • 3 of 5

When we arrived we knew we picked a very convenient location. Gail left us a key under the mat. We thought the place was very simple however, it suited our needs for the short weekend. Very quiet and close to the beach and restaurants.

A couple things that I disliked was the toaster oven was so burnt inside we couldn't toast toast without risking a fire. There was no other way since there was no oven. Which bummed us out because we had to eat out rather than cook. Whatever, not too big of a deal. What really got us was the cleanliness of the bathroom. Some black hairs in bathroom sink and in the shower. The shower drain was clogged with so much hair. Now I am a neat freak, however, this would of repulsed anyone. My final complaint is Gails contract states cleaning (how ironic) fee will be returned in 1-3 days if all is left well. It is 12 days later and we still have no return deposit.

All in all it was cheap quiet and close to the beach. Will I spend a few more dollars next time for a place I know is being cleaned, absolutely.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you had issues with my condo. I did not have your return mailing address to return your rental deposit to you , was part of the issue. Also the fact that we had the holiday Memorial weekend, which delayed the m ail somewhat as well. The cleaning deposit is only $25,. I certainly am more than glad to return, such a small amount, to have my home left in good condition. I do keep back up small appliances on hand, and the toaster oven will be replaced immediately. Not that this is an excuse, but I lost my husband to stage 4 cancer, this past December. This is the first season, that I am trying to take care of our properties on my own. David normally took care of things like clogged drains etc. I honestly did not know there was a problem with that shower drain. I have had folks staying in this condo all spring, and this is the first complaint about that drain or an issue with hair. I will also get a plumber and take care of that as soon as possible. Again I apologize that my condo was not up to your standards.
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0
Asheville, North Carolina
4

Perfect little getaway in Carolina Beach

  • 4 of 5

First, I agree with all other reviewers, Gail is wonderful. Very responsive and helpful. This location is exceptional. In just seconds or minutes you can be on the beach (which is lovely) or at the Tiki Bar for drinks overlooking the ocean, Granny's for breakfast, or my favorite the Veggie Wagon for organic coffee and all sorts of local and fresh fruits, vegetables, and other delicious treats. The condo is not brand new but is comfortable overall. I loved the porch overlooking the street and the ocean. The pool was an added bonus each day and we had all the cooking utensils and pots, plans, etc we needed to avoid going out to often. The air conditioning unit was right next to the bed, but if you turn it down you will not get too cold at night. There are plenty of blankets so cuddling up and staying warm was easy. I would definitely come back to this sweet little place again in the future. I really loved the whole trip. Carolina Beach is full of very friendly people and delightful places to wander. If you can catch the market around the lake on the weekend and make the 15 minute drive down into Wilmington. It is totally worth it. Thanks so much Gail!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Perfect from start ti finish

  • 5 of 5

First of all, they just don't come nicer than Gail, who owns the property. It was a very yucky weekend weatherwise and she was willing to do whatever I wanted as far as not forcing a commitment or risk forfeiting money. We ended up going anyway and we had the best time. This little condo is a gem. Very clean and well decorated with personal touches throughout. The bed slept VERY good, nice and soft but not too. The shower is awesome as well. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking. I will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

I had a wonderful time and loved staying in the little condo. It was in a great location. The condo was very clean and was stocked with all the necessities. Gail was wonderful to work with and I will defiantly be staying with her again.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

Please email owner for rates and photos. Rented nightly, weekends in off season. Weekly during summer months.
Also will consider longer term winter tenant, after Labor Day Have great pics of condo. could not get them on site

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties