Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

As Seen on HGTV-CASITA for 2 w/ Pool, 400 foot dock, on 1.5 acres-PEACEFUL

Bedrooms Studio
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Private Studio Apt with ocean views, pool, 400 ft dock, 3 min walk to water

Casita Cervantes is a beautiful, clean and comfy 'studio apartment' that sits on 1.5 acres of lush Roatan landscape in Sandy Bay.  It has a queen size bed, full kitchen, bathroom, full air conditioning, its own balcony with BBQ, cable TV, WiFi, games, music, and it shares  the washer, dryer, swimming pool and dock with the main house.  

It is completely furnished with everything you would need right down to beach towels and beach chairs. All you would need to bring are your clothes, toiletries, and scuba/snorkel equipment. If you are scuba divers, there is a fabulous dive resort that will pick you up right from our dock.  If you are not getting a rental car, it is very easy to catch a cab at the main road.  The location is very convenient; it is a 5-10 minute drive to most places that you would frequent.  The views are some that you will never forget! It comes with a BBQ, cable t.v., games, music, washer and dryer, and a very nice swimming pool.


 Although it is not right on the beach, it is just a short 3 minute walk to the beach and our 400 foot dock that you can swim, snorkel, scuba or fish off of.

More Details

Debbie Cervantes
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

Why Debbie Cervantes chose Sandy Bay

Roatan is a very safe, friendly, English speaking Island that is very easy to get to. It is the best kept secret in the Caribbean. Many people still have not even heard of Roatan. The weather, water, people, and ambiance is fabulous. It is like going back 50 years in time yet with all of the modern conveniences of today. There are no fast food restaurants on the Island.

What makes this studio unique

Parrots fly free, Iguanas are in abundance, fresh fish is fabulous.


5 minutes from Anthony's Key swim with the dolphins, 5-10 minutes from West End with plenty of shopping and restaurants. 10 minutes from the airport


Sandy Bay Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
Building Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom has toilet, shower, sink
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Studio apartment, no actual bedroom
  • 0-Studio Apartment with Queen size bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
As Seen on HGTV-CASITA for 2 w/ Pool, 400 foot dock, on 1.5 acres-PEACEFUL
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews

Casita Cervantes Perfect for two

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Cervantes Casita during March of 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location on Sunnyside Rd is an easy 15-20 minute ride from the airport and the property manager Kerry was there to pick me up and took me to Eldon's grocery store for supplies then helped me carry the groceries into the casita. Kerry explained the layout of the property to me and provided a local phone with his number if I needed anything. During our stay Kerry would keep the pool clean, drop off various fruit from his home garden, and make sure we had 5 gallon jugs of drinking water. He was only a phone call away and very responsive to any requests.

I stayed for the first two weeks by myself before my wife showed up for the last two weeks so I would just grab a taxi or the route #4 bus at the end of our driveway any time I wanted to go somewhere. $1 usd would get you to the west end and then I would take a $3 water taxi to west bay. The 3 minute walk from our casita to the beach was a comfortable distance and the trade winds were always blowing pleasantly though the rooms to keep us comfortable even when the outside temps hit 82-84 degrees. The casita was well laid out and worked perfectly for the two of us. The pool was on my wife's "must have" list and I have to agree that it was really nice to step out your door or walk up from the beach and dive in. Before my wife showed up most of my time was spent fishing off the end of the dock or snorkeling at Spooky Channel 80 yards from the end of the dock. This particular area is great for scuba and snorkeling and you will see a number of visitors tying off at the various buoys to see the spectacular underwater sights. The local home owners and temporary renters were all very friendly and eager to pass on their island knowledge to make our visit an enjoyable one.

Once my wife arrived we decided to rent a car for the remaining two weeks as our trips to west end and west bay increased in frequency. We did 16 scuba dives with Nuria Corraliza's team at Octopus Dive School in Sandy Bay and we were very pleased with their dive leaders and equipment. We also set up a fishing charter with Greg Baldwin at and I was able to finally hook and land my first 15lb permit (the highlight of my trip). The only two negatives for the trip was the very inadequate Wifi and the sulfur smell in the hot water.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a delight to have you both stay at our little slice of Paradise!! I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself to the fullest. There are so many things to see and do that a month is about how much time you need to really get it all in. Congratulations on your great catch!! My boys are HUGE fishermen too. I am sorry to hear about the WiFi and the sulfer smell. The WiFi company apparently was installing new cables throughout the Island and it was pretty scarce for a while there. I have been told by the current renters that it is now working just fine again. I will continue to monitor this to make sure the problem has been resolved. As far as the sulfer smell, we have two sources of water. One is the well water which is the culprit for the sulfer smell. The other is a cistern that collects the rain water. We try to use the cistern as much as possible so there is no smell. I wish you would have told me this while you were staying there because I could have remedied the problem before you left. When you told me about this I called my property manager and told him to switch the water back to the Cistern. He then told me the pump/switch was not working. We now have someone repairing this and it will be up and running in the next few days. Thank you for bringing this to my attention so that we could remedy these problems and again, I am sorry you were the "lucky" one to experience both of those problems. We would love to see you back again. Please tell your friends about us!! Thank you Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect Location!!! Lovely Home

  • 2 of 5

Location was perfect! Close to shops/restaurants and the home had a very well maintained pool and beach. We travelled with 4 adults, 1 child and 1 infant and the home was more than spacious, clean and perfect place to make new memories, enjoy the sunshine and beautiful beach. We highly recommend and will book again, and again!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Casita Cervantes wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We were a bit anxious booking as we had never tried VRBO before. Debbie was very patient in explaining everything to us (online) prior to booking and was very responsive to follow up questions. The Casita was exactly as pictured and described, and Debbie and Kerry, the property manager, delivered EVERYTHING they promised. It is on a jungle island, so there were a few bugs (NOT roaches) and lizards, and it is not super luxurious, but very nice. It was great to have the kitchen to make coffee and breakfast every morning. We ate out on the balcony twice, and had a little green lizard come sit on the table and share some of my scrambled eggs! Woke in the mornings to the beautiful sound of the blackbirds singing (our "Roatan Rooster"). Nice breeze the entire trip, and the casita was comfortable with the windows and doors open during the day, but we did run the AC at night. The pool was fantastic to have to unwind in the evening. Never had any concerns about theft, and left dive gear out on the patio, no problem. Neighbors are very friendly and watch out for guests. We did swim and snorkel from the dock, a relatively easy swim with fins on. We rented a car and explored the island, but the taxis are everywhere, and since there are no speed limits, street signs, shoulders or passing lanes, save yourself some stress and just get a taxi! Dove with Roatan Divers, friendly and safety conscious, but we wished they would venture a bit farther out on their dive trips. Snorkeling in West Bay was on of the highlights of the trip! Incredible! Gumbalimba park was great, very nice since it was off season and we were about the only ones in the park. Their zipline through the jungle was exhilarating; don't miss it. We were lucky in that the big Casa wasn't rented while we were there, and Debbie and Steve Cervantes came down to stay the last few days we were there. They were very friendly and concerned with our comfort, and really made us feel at home. Kerry, the property manager was so kind, when we called to find out where to get a flat tire repaired, he came and took the tire and got it repair for us so we didn't have to miss time out of our vacation. The wifi IS slow, so don't plan on working , relax and enjoy! Would definitely love to visit here again, and would trust the Cervantes and Kerry on anything they promised. WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our best to keep our properties in good condition and to follow through with everything that we promise. We try to treat people the way that we would want to be treated. It was so nice to meet both of you and to watch you enjoy Roatan to the fullest. There is so much to see and do that you really need to stay a whole month to get it all in. We would love to see you again on your next trip to Roatan!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Pedro Sula, Honduras

Perfect Easter Vacation in Roatan

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Condo Cervantes and the Condo was perfect, it has all the conditions and very specious to have a relaxed and pleasant stay. The location is perfect, the front beach is very private, there's a restaurant just 50 meters to the left with excellent food, water taxis just in front and the best beach in Roatan just 10 minutes of walking distance. For me, West bay is the place to stay in Roatan and Condo Cervantes definitely met all our requirements. Will definitely go back next year for Easter or earlier. The sight is incredible and the pool in front of the beach is just perfect. Kevin & John were always available when we requested anything else, like paper, soap, towels, etc. Debbie always responded very quick upon any request, the reservation with her was done pretty quick without any problems. Come visit Roatan, it's a paradise in our small Country.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New York City

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay at the Casita in Roatan. The furnishing are nice, the bed is comfortable, the space feels open and thoughtfully laid out and the balcony is fantastic. Kerry, the property manager was super helpful as was the rest of the staff, the gardener and the pool boy. I would highly recommend the Casita for a couple. No complaints.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Diver's Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Booked this lovely little place for a two week diving trip and we were very pleased with the accommodations. Nicely equipped, safe, quiet, and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but everything we needed to make our stay on the island feel like home away from home, which is just how we like it.

Kerry, the property manager, was very helpful and even provided us with a cell phone to use while we were on the island so we could get in touch with family if we needed anything. The only problem we had was with the wifi, which was not the best signal and wasn't working at all for the first few days. It was only a minor inconvenience since we were there to dive not surf the web.

Debbie, the property owner, was very patient in answering all of our questions, of which there were many, prior to the trip. She even recommended Octopus Dive School, where we did the majority of our diving on the island, because they would pick us up at the dock near the property if needed. We ended up renting a scooter and not needing this service, but were glad that we asked because we loved diving with them!!

A few days into our stay, the folks who had booked the big house arrived and we still felt that we had the space and privacy that we were enjoying before. I imagine that depends on the guests, but they were out a lot in the evenings so we still had the place to ourselves a lot. We also ended up diving at the same place we were so it worked out very well.

Special warm thanks to the conversations we had with Percival (gardener) who provided us a wealth of information about the island, it’s people and a peak into his long life!

All in all, we had an amazing trip and would definitely stay here again. We would love to bring some friends and rent the big house next time so we could stretch out a bit more, but the Casita was perfect for the two of us.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stephen, We are so thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at our "Piece of Paradise". We are about to make some great improvements on the property with the pool being freshly refinished and adding some sea creature tiles to the bottom of the pool. We will also be doing many "clean up" items such as cleaning out the cisterns, adding a tankless water heater which will help with the occasional sulphur smells and just some minor adjustments to make the Casa and the Casita a much nicer place to stay than it already is. The WiFi can at times be challenging. It seems to be effected by the weather over there. If it is cloudy or raining for some reason it seems to slow it down. I'm not sure if there is any truth to that, but it sure seems to be so. Most of the time it works just fine. If it doesn't work at first, just wait a short time and try again. We sure would love to see you again bringing your friends to stay at the Casa or even our other property on West Bay Beach ( #153283). Thank you so much for your great review!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $25
Refundable damage deposit $300

Fully refundable security deposit of $300 USD is collected and returned if nothing is missing or broken.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties