check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Enjoy A Lakefront Vacation On A Quiet Cove At Claytor Lake Near Radford, VA.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

Enjoy A Large Body Of Water With Cool Breezes And Warm Water!

Claytor Lake is an uncrowded, peaceful place to while away a week and spend time with family and the great outdoors.

-----------------------------

4 Bedrooms (K, Q, Q, 2T)

3 Full Baths

All Linens Provided

Air Conditioning

Washer/Dryer

Iron/Ironing Board

Fully Equipped Kitchen

Refrigerator

Dish Washer

Oven/Electric Range

Microwave

Blender

Coffee Maker

Toaster

Satellite Television

Wireless internet (capacity limitations, see Agreement for details)

DVD Players

Game Room

Ping Pong Table

Pool Table

Stand-up Arcade with all the classics

Gas Fireplace

Gas Grill

Outdoor Furniture

3 levels of Decks

Water Front

Boat Dock

Swim Dock

Canoe with paddles

Fishing (2 rods and a little bit of tackle provided)

Life vests

-----------------------------

Nearby are:

+ Claytor Lake State Park, where you can rent boats or jet skis, or put in your own boat (7 miles by car, 2.5 miles by boat)

+ New River Trail State Park , with 57 miles of trail for hiking, biking and horseback

+ Canoeing/kayaking/fishing the New River

+ Hiking the Appalachian Trail

+ Exploring Jefferson National Forest

+ Biking on U.S. Bicycle Route 76

15 minutes away is Radford, VA and Blacksburg/Virginia Tech is just a 30 minute drive. This house is a perfect lodging launch spot for football game at Virginia Tech. Stay for any Radford University or Virginia Tech event!

This house is perfect for swimming, fishing, boating and all kinds of lake activity! Or relax and lake gaze while sitting out on the huge dock or one of 3 deck levels. Take a break inside with a 9' pool table, ping pong, a full stand-up arcade and dozens of games for the family.

More Details

Property Manager
Bruce McKinley
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2017

What makes this house unique

This house sits on a quiet cove and is perfect for the kids to swim or fish from the swimming dock. The Claytor Lake State Park marina, where you can rent boats and jet skis, is 10 mins by car and 5 mins by boat.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We spent a weekend here in the fall of 2013 for a VT football weekend. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. The setting is absolutely beautiful, right on the lake. It was an easy drive to Blacksburg for the game and you get to avoid a lot of traffic because you don't need to get on I-81. The best part - barely any cell service so you truly can get away!



The owner is really responsive and flexible.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Enjoy A Lakefront Vacation On A Quiet Cove At Claytor Lake Near Radford, VA.
average rating of 4.35 based on 23 reviews
5

Week at the lake

  • 5 of 5

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your lovely home. The water access was perfect and the accommodations fit us perfectly.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

A Bushel of Lemons

  • 1 of 5

We are frequent flyers with VRBO who have spent thousands to provide comfortable surroundings for family get together occasions.

Clean would have been nice; this was the worst with dead bugs/dirt in the window sills (interior) visible dirt on the floors and carpets, food items under the beds, metal parts/metal screws and junk under couch cushions and even medication (Benadryl tablets) on one bedroom floor. An ANT FARM living in one bedroom; a large can of Raid was left to use for this nasty condition. The stove was filthy with crusted spillage in the burner trays; we had to disable the smoke alarm to just use the cook-top.

Working amenities should be standard as well. The fireplace did not work and a call placed to Ashley resulted in no response from the owner. The stand-up video game worked sporadically. The very nice pool table was not leveled properly. The game room TV needed to be operated manually because the remote failed to work and the living room TV required three remotes and a very complicated set of instructions just to turn it on; with a mess of exposed wires connecting several devices.

The exterior was poorly maintained; the decks, steps and wood railings have been severely neglected with loose steps and no weatherproofing coverage except for the one deck overlooking the water, which was the only visible part of the property from the neighboring properties. Trees were so overgrown as to hide the structure from neighbors. There was no working locking mechanism to secure one of the sliding glass doors; a plastic pipe was used to keep it closed. The other sliding glass door frame was so out of square that the screen door was nearly impossible to use.

This home was so outdated with 1970’s style fixtures, a “saloon-style” door for the master bathroom that offered no privacy and a low-hanging ceiling requiring one to “duck” when going up/down stairs.

All-in-all, we would never return or recommend this property to anyone other than college students looking for a party house. But, watch out for the non-working hot tub with a collapsed cover that collected water/leaves making it a cesspool for insects to gather.

Having said all that, this was not our regular visit/vacation circumstance. In fact it was a somber visit planned to allow family/friends a centralized location to visit with the family matriarch recently diagnosed with lung cancer. So, for that specific reason it served its purpose and we made lemonade from this Bushel of Lemons!!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, we are so sorry about your stay. But leaving such a nasty set of comments without ever contacting us says seems to say more about your expectations than our home. Our home is not a Ritz Carlton, but it is certainly no run-down party house either. For liability reasons we have disconnected the hot tub and we do not advertise it, so you should not expect to use it. But *all* of the fixtures in the home work perfectly well, including the fire place, entertainment system, pool table and arcade. Since you were willing to say things that are untrue about these things, we wonder what else in your review was untrue? We stayed there two weeks after you vacated and can confirm that we found ants in the house and immediately ordered an exterminator. If you had simply mentioned it to us we could have had them take care of it while you were even there. The home is generally very well kept, and was perfectly clean when we arrived the following week. So we cannot speak to your issues with cleaning. We'll close by saying that most families love their stay at our home. They find everything to their liking and just as expected. Obviously your expectations were far different. It's hard to know who to blame for that, but we're very sorry you could not find anything but criticism to write in your review. In fact, the review left just previous to yours from a family that stayed three weeks earlier was a 5-star review, and seems to contradict everything you've stated. Hmmm.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham
5

Nice setting, plenty of room, comfortable, reasonably priced.

  • 5 of 5

Six of us fit comfortably in this nice setting on Claytor Lake. We were here for Radford Homecoming, and the location was handy. It's not fancy, but it was very clean and well-maintained. Also, the owner had posted useful notes in how to turn things off and on etc. Great view of sunset from the deck; would choose this house again if we come back.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Paradise Found!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful lake setting

  • 4 of 5

This house sets in a beautiful cove, perfect for relaxing/sunning on the deck, fishing from the dock and swimming. The kids enjoyed jumping from the dock. The house is roomy and adequate for a fun vacation. Game room was a hit with everyone. The canoe was also throughly enjoyed by all.

Phone and Internet service is not great but intermittently possible.

We stayed from Sunday to Saturday and the trash bins were not emptied causing a tempting treat for the raccoons.

Overall enjoyed our stay in this lake home.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Lovely rental on the lake.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this rental. The rental property and amenities were exactly as described in the listing. The property was very clean from top to bottom which was very nice. Very good kitchen supplies and entertainment. We particularly enjoyed the dock, canoe, and fishing equipment. I really cannot think of any complaints about this place. Everyone in our group was very happy with decision to stay here and would definitely do so again in the future.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. We're so happy to hear that your family had a great time and would welcome you back whenever you get a chance!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Matthews, NC
5

Fun Family Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This location was perfect for our family's needs. We had our own space but also had the ability to interact in a fun way with the arcade, ping pong, fishing, and canoeing. My 14 year old daughter was thrilled that she caught eight fish! And we enjoyed seeing our Hokie for the day--a short 30 minute trip for him from the campus.

We brought food for the trip, which cut down on our overall costs for the weekend, but found that the River City Grill provided us with a nice brunch on the way out of town (just 10 minutes away in Radford and practically on our way back home to NC).

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're so glad our house enabled your family to visit your son and spend quality time together!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
51 Miles
Roanoke-Blacksburg Regional Airport (ROA)
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
The River Course (Pete Dye)
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Interstate I-81
Car: necessary

This house is an easy drive from these metropolitan areas:

Charlotte, NC - 2 hr. 20 min.

Raleigh, NC - 3 hr. 15 min.

Richmond, VA - 3 hr. 30 min.

Columbia, SC – 3 hr. 45 min.

Washington, DC - 4 hr. 20 min.

Baltimore, MD - 4 hr. 50 min.

Columbus, OH – 5 hr. 15 min.

Atlanta, GA – 5 hr. 45 min.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dublin House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$199
Fri,Sat
$1,049
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
VT&Rad Grad 2017
May 4 2017 - May 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$399
$1,685
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,695
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$189
From
$249
Fri,Sat
$1,299
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning $130
Tax Rate 5.0%

Check in is 4:00pm day of arrival. Check out is 10:00 am day of departure.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dublin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Main Floor bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs bath - toilet , shower
    Master bath (Downstairs) - toilet , tub , shower
  • 3 full baths
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Main Floor Queen BR - 1 queen
    King Master BR (Downstairs) - 1 king
    Queen BR (Downstairs) - 1 queen
    2 Twins BR (Downstairs) - 2 twin/ single
  • 4 BRs: 1 K, 2 Q, 2 T
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers