Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Beach's Edge, One Of A Kind Beachfront Experience

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath, With 1 Extra Bed and Bath Downstairs (Sleeps 8)

This beautiful home is right on the Florida sugar sand beach, which is often uninhabited except by wading birds, ghost crabs, osprey and snook. This property features direct beach access so you can walk right onto the beach and into the Gulf of Mexico. North Captiva Island features some of the most secluded beaches in the continental United States. Many times of the year, your family may be the only ones on the beach.

North Captiva Island is only accessible by water taxi and there are no cars on the island. Transportation on the island is by golf cart which is provided with your rental, walking or bicycle. There are no paved roads, only sandy paths winding through tropical vegetation. It is truly a unique setting. Palm trees, gumbo limbo trees and beautiful flowers are everywhere.

Our favorite activities are fishing, shelling, swimming and exploring the beach and state land. There are a large number of wading birds, gopher tortoises, raccoons, brown pelicans, osprey, egrets, cormorants, bald eagles, ibis and sanderlings. There are two very nice swimming pools maintained by our island club a short walk or golf cart drive from our house. Kayaks and bicycles are also available at no charge through the island club. Tarpon, sea trout, red fish, snook, and snapper may be caught from the shore. Shelling is a daily activity on the island. North Captiva is often described as the shelling capital of North America.

Our house, Beach's Edge, is beautifully appointed and newly updated. The kitchen includes new stainless steel appliances and gulf views. The living room includes new leather couches and flat screen TV. There are 2 bedrooms on the main floor: a master bedroom with a gulf view and a guest bedroom with two bunk-beds. There is one full bath on the main floor with a new vanity and mirror.

Because the house is on the west shore of North Captiva we are often witness to stunning sunsets which can be observed from your bedroom or the back deck. Don't forget your camera to help capture some memories. If you are lucky you may see Dolphin playing in the surf, Tarpon showing past the first breakers and the legendary stoop of the brown pelican fishing. This has got to be one of the prettiest and most unusual places you will ever see.

More Details

Property Manager
Alicia Kahler
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

About Alicia Kahler

Our family includes Mark and Becky and our 7 children, and 3 dogs (an Airedale and 2 Shihtzus). We have 4 children married, 1 grown and working in Philadelphia, 2 in college. Mark is a Family Practice physician in Kansas City and Becky is a homemaker who loves children, animals, jail ministry, and working with kids in the inner city.

Alicia Kahler purchased this house in 2003

Why Alicia Kahler chose Florida

We love the island, the trees, flowers and the uncrowded beaches. We have had our best vacations here walking the beach, playing games, praying, reading and enjoying the wildlife.

What makes this house unique

We have one of the few homes on the island that is on the beach and has direct beach access. Driving around the island in the golf cart observing island flora and fauna is unique to this place. We are members of the North Captiva Island Club and you will have access to all the amenities of the Club including 2 large swimming pools and a hot tub when you stay in our home. The beaches are the least crowded we have ever been on. The nighttime stars are spectacular and we have watched sea turtles digging a nest on the side of our house.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We've stayed on this island on five occasions... The last three stays were spent on Beaches Edge. Best view on North Captiva! It's nice to step off the beach to grab that forgotten household item or to wash off the sand in the outside shower (rather than needing to take a golf cart) . Evenings on the porch are very relaxing.
May 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Captiva House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Outdoor Shower - shower , On ground level with hot water.
    Bathroom Main Floor - toilet , combination tub/shower , Includes new vanity and mirror.
    Separate Ground Level Bathroom - toilet , shower , Located in the room that only has access from the lower deck
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Guest Bedroom - 2 bunk bed
  • Besides the queen in the Master and two bunkbeds, there is also a queen bed available in a room downstairs, which only has access from the outside on the lower deck.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
One golf cart rental is included in the price of your stay.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Beach's Edge, One Of A Kind Beachfront Experience
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 19 reviews
Denver, CO
4

Great. Served its purpose!

  • 4 of 5

Bring on the beach was the best part! Amazing views. Bugs sucked!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

relaxing, quiet and perfect for our stay

  • 5 of 5

Alicia,

This is a beautiful home and we loved it..we will definitely be back within the next year (hopefully). We loved the deck, the short walk to the beach and that we were on the "edge" and not in the tree's.

There are only two little minor things that are more like requests rather than complaints:

It would be great if you had a canoe or 2 in the storage room so we can play out front of our place.. We did go down to town and "rent" for a few hours but we didn't have time to go around the island and back..

The other request is that you have some food containers such as gladware to put leftovers in..We had a tough time figuring out how to keep everything fresh in the fridge..

Thank you for the lovely space, Mary

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, thank you so much for your stay and your review of our beach home. I'm so happy to hear you had such a great time. Thank you also for your kind requests. We will certainly consider them and do everything we can to make these changes. We would love to have you stay at our home again for your next beach vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A Memorable Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We spent a lot of time looking for just the right place for our "girls getaway weekend" and we found it here. What a fantastic spot! The home is right on the beach, we enjoyed our morning coffee overlooking the water. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed, as were the bathrooms and bedrooms. Definitely use the recommended transportation from the airport to the island, they made it so easy! One quick stop to pick up our pre-ordered groceries (I HIGHLY recommend doing this), and we were there! They even transported our groceries and luggage from the ferry to the home. The golf cart was great - what a great way to explore the island. We had trouble with our golf cart and we were given a replacement right away - no problem! We were able to use beach chairs provided by the island club at no additional cost, they also have bikes and kayaks available for use (no charge for these, either!) The home itself was so nice - plenty of sleeping space and a nice little room downstairs. The Wi-Fi worked great, as did the TV's (not that we had them on too often, just had to catch the weather here and there). If you are looking for a vacation with a night life (we were not), this may not be the place to go, it was so quiet and dark at night. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants, however we did get burgers and onion rings from Mango's the first night - they were AWESOME!! The beaches were great - more shells than I ever imagined existed! Beautiful! I would stay here again any time.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy, thank you for your stay and review of our beach home. You really took full advantage of all the island has to offer! We're so happy to hear what a wonderful time you had. We'd love to have you stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

our stay

  • 5 of 5

Dear Alicia, my sister and I loved the house and the location of the property. We would love to come back.

Sincerely, Lisa Platt

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa, thank you for your stay and your review! I'm so glad you and your sister had such a great time on the island at our beach home. Please do come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cape Coral, FL
5

Best location on the island!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay!! We have 3 little girls and this house layout and location were perfect for all day family beach fun!! The house was clean and had all the supplies we needed. I love the back deck (no splinters or stairs to worry about). My daughters were sad to leave. We will definitely return!

Thank you for sharing your house with us.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your stay and your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and happy you enjoyed the new deck! We hope to have you back for your next beach vacation on North Captiva.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Pulaski, TN
5

Best view, location on the Island

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay on the Island and first time at Beaches Edge. We loved it so much we have booked it for next year. The house itself was very clean and had everything we needed. The views and the beach were the best. A very peaceful and relaxing getaway. The owners were very responsive with information. We can't wait for our next trip in July to Beaches Edge. The only negative comment about Beaches Edge is we had to leave.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay at our beach home and for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our home on North Captiva. We are excited to have you stay again next July! Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Regional Southwest Airport (Fort Myers)
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
North Captiva Island Club
Nearest Beach
North Captiva Beach
Car: not necessary

2/3rds of the island is a state nature preserve. Excellent sunset views on the Gulf of Mexico.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Captiva House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 25 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,525
 
 
Low
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 17 2017
5 night minimum stay
$2,150
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,525
 
 
Low Season
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$2,150
 
 
Peak
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 5 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,973
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 11.0%

Rates advertised are estimated for 7 nights (4 guests) and include the 11% tax.
Please contact me via E-mail or phone for the best and most accurate rate for your dates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable