Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Close-in Beautiful, Large, Lodge-Like Private Lakefront Setting

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 4,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, sleeps 8 (up to 13 with additional costs), 3.5 baths; 4,000+ sq ft.

Experience instant relaxation as you enter this gorgeous 4,200 sq ft 4-bedroom lakefront guest home near Seattle/Bellevue/Tacoma. Share stories around the fire-pit at night, BBQ on gas grill and enjoy breathtaking views of meadow and lake. Take a lake tour in sailboat, canoe or rowboat. Bring boots and hike through natural (wet) meadow and second-growth forest. Enjoy a floating waterslide while you swim in the clean waters of Shadow Lake. Inside enjoy a large HD plasma Smart TV with xfinity, ping pong, foosball, gas fireplace and a library of books. Refrigerator/freezer for your food and plenty of pantry space . Put your feet up and stay awhile! (Note the small apartment on left is not part of the rental and is not included in the description herein).

Our rates include up to 8 people. Any additional people are an extra charge-- this

includes children. Infants can be excluded from the count

**We allow OUTDOOR EVENTS ONLY of less than 100 people. Regardless of weather, the entire event must take place outside and must use the provided portable toilets, as there is a septic system not suitable for events. Additional event fees and regulations are also required, and all events are required to be approved ahead of time. We reserve the right to limit the amount of events held on our property.

Please inquire for a customized quote. We will adjust/remove the event fees once we receive communication that an event will not be held.

More Details

Property Manager
Melissa
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About Melissa

Community-minded owner is too busy to enjoy this private residence 365 days a year and is excited to share the experience with responsible others on a limited basis. This home provides instant relief from the stresses of the world as you reconnect with the magic of nature. I hope you enjoy the property as much as I do!

Melissa purchased this house in 2013

Why Melissa chose Puget Sound North

This is one of the most beautiful settings in the State, with 800 feet of private waterfront and only 35 minutes from Seattle, 25 minutes from Bellevue and Tacoma. The view is unobstructed meadow and lakefront framed by the protected forest. New lodge-like construction residence with room for large family gatherings and special celebrations with friends.

What makes this house unique

The lake water is very clean for swimming, the wide view is all natural as the west side of the lake has been protected from development. Watch deer graze in the quiet setting. Large yard for picnics, tents, volleyball or music. Sit and watch the eagles hunt and roost in large trees. West facing property with warm days and beautiful sunsets! Enjoy fire pit or indoor gas fireplace with friends and family. Big Jacuzzi with view of lake in master bathroom. Upstairs outdoor balcony provides a unique view without wildlife noticing you!

Amenities

Renton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Two sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs, two sinks
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Downstairs
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , Upstairs game/exercise room
  • 3 full and one half bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Downstairs master with view and doors to waterfront.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Upstairs view of water.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Upstairs view of water.
  • We have 5 comfy cots available for guests in addition to the 8 included. These are $20/per person/per night. The fee is required for any guests exceeding 8 people, with the exception of infants not needing beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
Notes:
Grocery store, gas station, drug store about 8 minutes away in Maple Valley. Roundtable pizza and Shakeys pizza 10 minutes away toward Renton at Fairwood. Walmart, Fred Meyer, Home Depot, restaurants and more about 10 minutes away in Covington. An event is considered ANY gathering of 25 or more people. Events are allowed with prior consent only. No more than 100 guests allowed. Renters are required to ensure usage of provided portable toilets for the duration of events due to septic system.. Event insurance also required. Adjacent smaller apartment is a permanent rental and is not the property manager. Please do not block their cars or parking spaces. 6 to 8 folding tables and about 40 folding chairs at site. Large canopy available for rent with advance notice. Dance Floor also available for rent with prior notice.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Close-in Beautiful, Large, Lodge-Like Private Lakefront Setting
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 21 reviews
5

My favorite place for a meditation retreat!

  • 5 of 5

This was my group's second stay at this property, and (due to the incredible weather we had this time) it was even better than the last! We love to use this space for a ladies' weekend of meditation, growth, and sisterhood, and it is the perfect location to bring a large group together. We love the lakeside location, and two girls even went on the waterslide :) The host is the most professional host you can find on VRBO, being very prompt and helpful with every step of the process.

Beds are comfortable, wi-fi works well, the kitchen is really big, and there is more than enough room to get a lot of people in here comfortably. We'll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Landlord need to be more attentive to promises made online

  • 2 of 5

We booked the house for a business retreat. Landlord knew this in advance. When we arrived we found out that the Internet is NOT working. We stayed for a week. Internet worked probably not more than ten hours in total spread throughout the week. Productivity was near zero without access to company cloud resources. Landlord continuously tried to fix the IT equipment instead of ensuring internet via other means e.g.: Wireless Broadband through Verizon, etc. We were also told that the issue was related to Cox network. It was believable for a day but lost its validity later.

Audio system needs a professional look. It's horrible to collect all speakers behind the TV set. They are supposed to be separated across the room.

Otherwise beautiful place and wide variety of amenities.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest: As you are aware Comcast had outages and we made multiple visits to be sure that it was not our equipment that was not working and daily calls to Comcast. It was a Comcast issue and it was working both before you checked in and after you checked out. We did notice that you had 2 portable networks working when we visited so you were able to complete your business without incidence. Since we quickly notified you and returned the car keys you left at the house we would have expected more than 2 stars for a Comcast issue that didn't affect your business. We rate you "stingy with stars" :) - Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

PERFECT place to enjoy a quiet vacay!

  • 5 of 5

Pulling up to the house we KNEW it would be a magnificent stay! The house was gorgeous, the setting was peaceful & the view was ideal!

There were tons of activities to partake in (inside & out!) & easly could have held 12 people comfortably! We only had 6 - we hardly even saw each other there was so much room ;) We had several days of rain but watching the rain fall on the lake was just as peaceful as being out by the lake!

The house was spotless (coming from someone who doesn't take her shoes off in ANY hotel!) & really felt like home. Everything we needed was there!

I'd recommend it to everyone (any age!) and anyone! Thanks for the great stay!!! We will be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nicole: Your review made me want to share the house more because it made you happy! Thank you so much for your kind words and good karma for the house and its surroundings! Hope you can find time to come back as you are always welcome here. - Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, Spacious Accomodations on the Lake

  • 5 of 5

Our party (6 adults) stayed for the weekend at the Shadow Lake house. There was more than enough room for everyone. The house was very clean and in great working order. Melissa (the owner of the property) went out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable. I would recommend this location, both for its value and the relaxed atmosphere it offers.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jason! Happy to hear Melissa is doing a good job and that the house worked out for you. Happy to have you back again if your schedule permits. - Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I love this place!!!

  • 5 of 5

If I could give 10 stars, I would! I could not have asked for more from a vacation rental. It was absolutely perfect. This home and property are magnificent. I was impressed by the photos, but the place was even more beautiful when I saw it in person. The lake is calm, the nature is gorgeous, the home is very clean, cozy and luxurious, and we all got the best sleep of our lives because of the quiet surroundings. We loved how it felt like we were in the middle of nowhere (but that we could also drive to a Starbucks and Shakey's Pizza just a few minutes away). It was an added bonus that the host was helpful, prompt, professional, and kind during the booking and planning stages of the trip. We received the best possible customer service, and it was comforting to know that they really cared about our experience. Our group had an unforgettable weekend, and this rental provided the perfect setting. We will treasure our time spent here, and plan to come back again!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jacki! It makes the owner happy when guests feel the place has changed them in some positive way. Connecting with nature and wild animals reminds us to be protective of habitat and wild lands in whatever way we can contribute. We would love to have you back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing home and property!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this beautiful home for family to stay during our son's wedding weekend. It's a large house that accommodated 9 of us, (ages 25-85), comfortably with gorgeous views of the lake from every room. The first floor master BR with walk in shower was perfect for my 85 year old parents. The rooms are all spacious, nicely decorated, and super clean! There is something for everyone to do here. The large game room has a ping pong table and exercise equipment. The kitchen is just amazing! Outside are small boats to use on the lake and a nice fire pit. My parents enjoyed watching deer and birds. It's about 30 minutes from downtown Seattle for some sightseeing. We hosted, (catered), a rehearsal dinner for 40 here and it could not have been more perfect including a beautiful sunset over the lake. The house even comes with folding tables and chairs for 40 people plus pop up tents, lawn games, fire wood, and just about anything else you could possibly need. The owner showed up with a brand new gas grill on our first day. Speaking of the owner, she was so wonderful to work with. I planned this a year out from the east coast and she was so patient and accommodating with my many emails and questions. We made some great memories here and hope to return again.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very happy that this property worked out for you and thank you so much for giving a detailed review for others. You are a kind and generous person and we love the positive spirit your group brought to the property! Very happy to invite you back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Sea-Tac Airport
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
Downtown Maple Valley
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Downtown Seattle or Fauntleroy
Nearest Golf
3.5 Miles
Lake Wilderness Golf Course, Maple Valley
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
WA-169
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
Downtown Maple Valley
Nearest Ski
55 Miles
Crystal Mountain
Nearest Beach
Waterfront Property
Car: necessary

Custom Visitor Guide available of the area around the Shadow Lake Guest House, including recommended restaurants cafes, bars and leisure and outdoor activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Renton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 23 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$395
From
$595
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$295
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $225 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.6%

Please inquire to receive a customized quote. We prefer to have a conversation with our guests before accepting booking to make sure that this is the right fit for your stay.

Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Cancellations must be received at least 30 days prior to check in for a refund of the 50% deposit. Owner can cancel with at least 15 days advance notice and refund deposit. Fraudulent reservations are subject to full forfeiture of deposit. Pet charge is $50 per approved pet. Event fees are added to ALL events. An event is defined as guests to the property that exceed 25 people in number. There is a fee of $495 added to events of up to 49 people and a fee of $1000 added to events of 50-100 people. Events not approved in advance will pay the event fee plus a $1500.00 penalty. See rental contract for additional terms. Portable restrooms are provided for Events and must be used. Damage deposit is $1,500 for reservations with an Event and $1,000 for normal reservations.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties