Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocracoke Retreat in the Heart of the Village. Efficiency for Rent

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 250 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom with roll out bed, kitchen, and porch, 1 Full bath

Cozy retreat for a couple or small family. This apartment is attached to our family vacation home in Ocracoke it is designed as a mother-in-law space for the previous owner. We have fixed it up with new floors and new furniture and updated kitchen. It has a queen size bed and a roll out single although an air mattress for the kids is good too. Cable TV 32 inch flat screen and wireless internet in the master suite. Matching dresser and chest of drawers. Kitchen has a apartment size 4 Burner stove with oven. Microwave, coffee maker, small (dorm size) fridge. Small eating table on the enclosed porch. Perfect for a small family or couple. We do not have a formal cleaning service, so we ask renters to leave it as they found it. Cleaning supplies are provided.


Owner
Ellen or Russell Grant
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2017

About Ellen or Russell Grant

Been off and on Ocracoke since I was a child. Growing up there in the summers. Have many friends there and spend as much time as I can on the island. I live in a small farming community and am also a farmer. Would like to retire to Ocracoke someday...

Ellen or Russell Grant purchased this bungalow in 2014

What makes this bungalow unique

We tried to make it similar to a nice hotel room to be familiar to everyone.This place is close to everything. If you like visiting Ocracoke you know about the local restaurants and bars. Golf carts are popular and for rent everywhere. Bike or clam just off the boat ramp by the ferry landing or fish off the beach.

Amenities

Ocracoke Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Standard Bathroom with toilet, sink, and shower tub. You will need to bring your own toiletries and towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , New 2014
  • Set up Like a hotel bedroom, Queen size bed with dresser and chest of drawers, 32 inch TV with wireless internet. You will need to bring your own sheets and towels, linens are NOT provided.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This room is a nice place to stay for a cozy retreat on Ocracoke.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Ocracoke Retreat in the Heart of the Village. Efficiency for Rent
average rating of 4.714286 based on 28 reviews
5

Perfect chill get away

  • 5 of 5

This property is perfect for the individual or couple that just wants to get away and leave it all behind. The accommodations are basic and comfortable. The location is perfect and convenient. I will definitely be coming back! The owners were quick to respond to any inquiries I had. The setting was perfect and I enjoyed all the next door animals!

Thank u

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a small family!

  • 5 of 5

The owners responded to my messages quickly. They were accommodating and inviting. The attached cottage was perfect for our small family. Great location and we hope to return soon!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Overall a great stay! If you're looking for a small place, this is great for you. Would love to visit again.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and relaxing beach town vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The Charter Room was the perfect spot to relax and enjoy life on Ocracoke Island. It's quiet and dark at night, which makes for great sleeping and the roosters make sure you're up early enough to enjoy the entire day.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Small but sufficient

  • 4 of 5

Consider the location closer to a studio or hotel set up, as it has minimal "living" space. The furniture consists of a queen size bed and a few chairs. Nice but could use some updates. As noted by the owners - bring your own towels and sheets. I strongly suggest pillows as well. The owners are very accommodating and readily available if there are any issues. Great rental for a couple or small family (we had a pack and play fit nicely)! Thanks to the Grants for assisting in a great weekend.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good for couples

  • 4 of 5

This place is nestled in the heart of Ocracoke as walking distance from the marina and the main strip. The owners are pretty responsive even through the late hours and last minute inquiries.

A little about this property, it is between two shops and is attached to an existing house. From the looks of it, it was part of the house which was later converted to a rental space and this is immediately visible. Advertised for 3, but I say that is pushing it, a couple might enjoy and have ample room, but anything more than that is a crowd. Upon walking in, you'd noticed that once a front porch was converted to a living room or something similar (this seem to be an afterthought), divided by an accordion door to the bedroom with a comfortable bed. Keep walking and you'd reach the small kitchen (3ft from the bedroom) to the left that's suitable for 1 person and has microwave and stove, then followed by a locked door which could be the entrance to the main house and across from it is the bathroom.

I can't express enough that this is a small rental. Watch out for the TV with an unsecured stand as it may get tip over and you'd be responsible. Watch out for the bed frame as you walked pass as you'd likely hit the wooden corner piece and you'd be in pain for a while. Key left in the house didn't work so I had to call the owner to get the code to the door, should have been given the first time around. The phone number of one of the owners published on this site is incorrect (to the owner, please verify this).

My overall thought, this is decent for a quick getaway for a couple that don't mind the limited interior space. Kudos to the owners for being flexible on my request and the response times.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. You have done an excellent job of describing the room. In our listing we state it is good for couples or a small family. We do not have it listed for 3 people, that is our maximum that can stay. I thought in my communications with you I explained that it was not good for 4 adults. I am sorry that you hit your leg on the bed. I have changed from a comforter to a bedspread and I guess you no longer see the wood frame. I will tuck the bottom part of the bedspread so that no one else hits it. Also, thanks for the warning on the tv, we have never had anyone say that it was in an unsecured stand since we have it in the bookshelf, but we will be sure to secure it the next time we are there. I have looked all over the listing site and our phone numbers are correct, I am not sure what happened there. I regards to the key, sometimes folks do not see the small key slot that is on the code part of the door. I gave you the code when I accepted your reservation, so a key is really not necessary.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Ocracoke Airport W95
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
1/2 block Zillies 1 block SmacNally's
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Swan Quarter or Cedar Island
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
SmacNally's or Dajio's 2 blocks
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
NPS South point rd or lifeguard beach off Hwy 12
Car: not necessary

No need to drive anywhere. Walk or bike wherever you need to go. Bar hop, gift shop, ice cream, or go to the beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocracoke Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$95
$600
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$85
$550
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $5

We do not have a cleaning service. Each renter is encouraged to do a reasonable job of cleaning before they leave. Supplies are provided. A good wipe down and sweeping/vacuuming will help us and also give you a good reputation for the next time. If you do not want to clean we can add a $75 cleaning fee to your rental and have someone do it for you. Thanks

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties