Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocracoke Retreat in the Heart of the Village. Efficiency for Rent

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 250 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom with roll out bed, kitchen, and porch, 1 Full bath

Cozy retreat for a couple or small family. This apartment is attached to our family vacation home in Ocracoke it is designed as a mother-in-law space for the previous owner. We have fixed it up with new floors and new furniture and updated kitchen. It has a queen size bed and a roll out single although an air mattress for the kids is good too. Cable TV 32 inch flat screen and wireless internet in the master suite. Matching dresser and chest of drawers. Kitchen has a apartment size 4 Burner stove with oven. Microwave, coffee maker, small (dorm size) fridge. Small eating table on the enclosed porch. Perfect for a small family or couple. We do not have a formal cleaning service, so we ask renters to leave it as they found it. Cleaning supplies are provided.


Owner
Ellen or Russell Grant
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Ellen or Russell Grant

Been off and on Ocracoke since I was a child. Growing up there in the summers. Have many friends there and spend as much time as I can on the island. I live in a small farming community and am also a farmer. Would like to retire to Ocracoke someday...

Ellen or Russell Grant purchased this bungalow in 2014

What makes this bungalow unique

We tried to make it similar to a nice hotel room to be familiar to everyone.This place is close to everything. If you like visiting Ocracoke you know about the local restaurants and bars. Golf carts are popular and for rent everywhere. Bike or clam just off the boat ramp by the ferry landing or fish off the beach.

Amenities

Ocracoke Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:30
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Standard Bathroom with toilet, sink, and shower tub. You will need to bring your own toiletries and towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , New 2014
  • Set up Like a hotel bedroom, Queen size bed with dresser and chest of drawers, 32 inch TV with wireless internet. You will need to bring your own sheets and towels, linens are NOT provided.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This room is a nice place to stay for a cozy retreat on Ocracoke.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
17% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Ocracoke Retreat in the Heart of the Village. Efficiency for Rent
average rating of 4.617647 based on 34 reviews
5

Great Place!!

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for my husband and I and our daughter. It's a great location. The property owners are very friendly and quick to respond. This was our first time staying in Ocracoke and we will definitely be back. We Loved It!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Sweet little spot for our small family

  • 4 of 5

This was the perfect little affordable getaway spot for our family with one teenage daughter. We brought our bikes and stored them on the very nice front deck and walked or biked pretty much everywhere except to the beach when we drove our all-wheel-drive vehicle. We didn't use the Rollaway bed but brought a really nice blowup twin air mattress instead. ( A double bed size would not work in that space ) We also brought a tower fan for the front room which helped keep the air moving out there. The air conditioning for the rest of the space was just fine. The kitchen was nicely equipped and a small refrigerator didn't bother us too much except for the lack of ice. Having a countertop icemaker would be ideal! The queen size bed was super comfortable and not only did we bring all of our linens but our pillows as well which made it feel more like home. When we wanted to rest and watch tv we all just laid in bed together. There are a couple of chairs with cushions but no living room. We always had lots of hot water even when we wanted to take three showers back to back. We did hear the roosters every morning but it was kind of quaint and we usually just fell right back to sleep. A couple other recommendations would be some hooks hanging in the hallway for damp clothes or towels and sturdier doors between the porch and the main bedroom. Two sliding barn doors would be perfect! Cleaning the place before we left was no big deal and we didn't mind doing it in order to save some money. Thanks Russell and Ellen for a super nice stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great for those on a budget

  • 4 of 5

As an affordable place to stay on the island, the inside served just fine. Spacious and accommodating. It was clean when I arrived (and when I left). My only complaint is the abundance of roosters on the property. Twice they woke me up at 5:15am, directly outside the window. Other mornings they still sounded the alarm but were far enough away not to be a big problem.

The porch is nice but lacking any chairs

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have added chairs to the porch, a little too late for you to enjoy, so I apologize. I am glad the room served you well and was clean. I agree about the roosters, I think one of them comes to my window every time I am there. I now understand why some towns allow chickens, just no roosters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Economical, Nothing Fancy, Great Deck

  • 3 of 5

This rental unit is an add on to an existing home. It consists of a good size bedroom, a kitchenette, bathroom, a small enclosed porch area and a deck. The bed is very comfortable and the deck is a nice place to enjoy the evening. The listing has many inconsistencies. You must provide all linens and towels and you must do the cleaning, supplies are minimal. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom, which is most needed. There is a side door to the outside (in the bathroom) but it is locked and can't be opened so there is no second exit. There is no fire extinguisher. We needed the rollaway which is a folding cot that is very low, the type used in camping tents. Renters are expected to clean before leaving. There is no trash pickup so the trashbags were piling up on the deck. There is no driveway and the property is between two businesses and a third is behind the house which is a stables. So there are horses cars and people coming and going at all times. When we arrived there was a wheelbarrow heaped with manure next to the steps to the house. There was a good amount of sand inside the house when we arrived so we pretty much cleaned when we got there and then again when we left. There is sand and manure in the yard and no way to wipe your feet so this is not surprising. I would call this a low budget rental. Materials used are very cheap, the house and yard appear to be in very poor repair. There is no landscaping to speak of mostly weeds. It appears that the owners don't care about their property. They are not present on the island and have no one to look after the property. We were very happy to be visiting Ocracoke but we would never stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you were greeted with a wheelbarrow full of horse manure. As for the inconsistencies in the listing, it is clearly stated that linens are not provided, and I send a message to each rental letting you know that you need to bring sheets and towels. I will be adding rugs to the rental, thank you for that suggestion. You are correct in that the rental is beside some businesses, and people are coming and going all the time. We do have someone that comes in and checks on the rental and replenishes supplies, but if you come before check in time, then she does not have a chance to go over the rental. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with our accommodations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Norfolk, VA
5

Perfect for small family getaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and our 2 month old boy booked this house for a short beach trip. It was perfect for us and can't beat the price.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a good stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Adorable and clean rental! A great option for a small family not wanting to spend a fortune on room

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at the charter room. It was clean and as described. The only complaints we had are the front room wasn't really usable space because it was so hot out there and the air unit wasn't able to keep that room and the main room cool. This made things a little difficult having a small child that needed to nap several times a day and not having another space to go to. Some room darkening curtains in the main space would be an added improvement along with a few rugs to help with the sand but overall it was a great place to stay and we enjoyed our visit to the island and didn't have to spend a ton of money on our room. It has everything you need to be comfortable for a long weekend, even with small children. The chickens and roosters do make sleeping a little difficult so if you are a late riser this might not be the place for you. Our sons loved seeing all the animals around though. The horses being so close was fun for them also. Thanks for the great memories!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your suggestions. We have put a portable AC in the front room to help with the heat. I am not a morning person, so I am not a fan of the roosters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Ocracoke Airport W95
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
1/2 block Zillies 1 block SmacNally's
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Swan Quarter or Cedar Island
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
SmacNally's or Dajio's 2 blocks
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
NPS South point rd or lifeguard beach off Hwy 12
Car: not necessary

No need to drive anywhere. Walk or bike wherever you need to go. Bar hop, gift shop, ice cream, or go to the beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocracoke Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$95
$600
$2,100
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$95
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$85
$550
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $5

We do not have a cleaning service. Each renter is encouraged to do a reasonable job of cleaning before they leave. Supplies are provided. A good wipe down and sweeping/vacuuming will help us and also give you a good reputation for the next time. If you do not want to clean we can add a $75 cleaning fee to your rental and have someone do it for you. Thanks

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties