Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocracoke Retreat in the Heart of the Village. Efficiency for Rent

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 250 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom with roll out bed, kitchen, and porch, 1 Full bath

Cozy retreat for a couple or small family. This apartment is attached to our family vacation home in Ocracoke it is designed as a mother-in-law space for the previous owner. We have fixed it up with new floors and new furniture and updated kitchen. It has a queen size bed and a roll out single although an air mattress for the kids is good too. Cable TV 32 inch flat screen and wireless internet in the master suite. Matching dresser and chest of drawers. Kitchen has a apartment size 4 Burner stove with oven. Microwave, coffee maker, small (dorm size) fridge. Small eating table on the enclosed porch. Perfect for a small family or couple. We do not have a formal cleaning service, so we ask renters to leave it as they found it. Cleaning supplies are provided.


Owner
Ellen or Russell Grant
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About Ellen or Russell Grant

Been off and on Ocracoke since I was a child. Growing up there in the summers. Have many friends there and spend as much time as I can on the island. I live in a small farming community and am also a farmer. Would like to retire to Ocracoke someday...

Ellen or Russell Grant purchased this bungalow in 2014

What makes this bungalow unique

We tried to make it similar to a nice hotel room to be familiar to everyone.This place is close to everything. If you like visiting Ocracoke you know about the local restaurants and bars. Golf carts are popular and for rent everywhere. Bike or clam just off the boat ramp by the ferry landing or fish off the beach.

Amenities

Ocracoke Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Standard Bathroom with toilet, sink, and shower tub. You will need to bring your own toiletries and towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , New 2014
  • Set up Like a hotel bedroom, Queen size bed with dresser and chest of drawers, 32 inch TV with wireless internet. You will need to bring your own sheets and towels, linens are NOT provided.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This room is a nice place to stay for a cozy retreat on Ocracoke.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Ocracoke Retreat in the Heart of the Village. Efficiency for Rent
average rating of 4.645161 based on 31 reviews
3

Economical, Nothing Fancy, Great Deck

  • 3 of 5

This rental unit is an add on to an existing home. It consists of a good size bedroom, a kitchenette, bathroom, a small enclosed porch area and a deck. The bed is very comfortable and the deck is a nice place to enjoy the evening. The listing has many inconsistencies. You must provide all linens and towels and you must do the cleaning, supplies are minimal. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom, which is most needed. There is a side door to the outside (in the bathroom) but it is locked and can't be opened so there is no second exit. There is no fire extinguisher. We needed the rollaway which is a folding cot that is very low, the type used in camping tents. Renters are expected to clean before leaving. There is no trash pickup so the trashbags were piling up on the deck. There is no driveway and the property is between two businesses and a third is behind the house which is a stables. So there are horses cars and people coming and going at all times. When we arrived there was a wheelbarrow heaped with manure next to the steps to the house. There was a good amount of sand inside the house when we arrived so we pretty much cleaned when we got there and then again when we left. There is sand and manure in the yard and no way to wipe your feet so this is not surprising. I would call this a low budget rental. Materials used are very cheap, the house and yard appear to be in very poor repair. There is no landscaping to speak of mostly weeds. It appears that the owners don't care about their property. They are not present on the island and have no one to look after the property. We were very happy to be visiting Ocracoke but we would never stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you were greeted with a wheelbarrow full of horse manure. As for the inconsistencies in the listing, it is clearly stated that linens are not provided, and I send a message to each rental letting you know that you need to bring sheets and towels. I will be adding rugs to the rental, thank you for that suggestion. You are correct in that the rental is beside some businesses, and people are coming and going all the time. We do have someone that comes in and checks on the rental and replenishes supplies, but if you come before check in time, then she does not have a chance to go over the rental. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with our accommodations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Norfolk, VA
5

Perfect for small family getaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and our 2 month old boy booked this house for a short beach trip. It was perfect for us and can't beat the price.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a good stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Adorable and clean rental! A great option for a small family not wanting to spend a fortune on room

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at the charter room. It was clean and as described. The only complaints we had are the front room wasn't really usable space because it was so hot out there and the air unit wasn't able to keep that room and the main room cool. This made things a little difficult having a small child that needed to nap several times a day and not having another space to go to. Some room darkening curtains in the main space would be an added improvement along with a few rugs to help with the sand but overall it was a great place to stay and we enjoyed our visit to the island and didn't have to spend a ton of money on our room. It has everything you need to be comfortable for a long weekend, even with small children. The chickens and roosters do make sleeping a little difficult so if you are a late riser this might not be the place for you. Our sons loved seeing all the animals around though. The horses being so close was fun for them also. Thanks for the great memories!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your suggestions. We have put a portable AC in the front room to help with the heat. I am not a morning person, so I am not a fan of the roosters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect chill get away

  • 5 of 5

This property is perfect for the individual or couple that just wants to get away and leave it all behind. The accommodations are basic and comfortable. The location is perfect and convenient. I will definitely be coming back! The owners were quick to respond to any inquiries I had. The setting was perfect and I enjoyed all the next door animals!

Thank u

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Ocracoke is a wonderful place that you can leave all your worries behind and relax.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a small family!

  • 5 of 5

The owners responded to my messages quickly. They were accommodating and inviting. The attached cottage was perfect for our small family. Great location and we hope to return soon!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Overall a great stay! If you're looking for a small place, this is great for you. Would love to visit again.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Ocracoke is a great getaway.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Ocracoke Airport W95
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
1/2 block Zillies 1 block SmacNally's
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Swan Quarter or Cedar Island
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
SmacNally's or Dajio's 2 blocks
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
NPS South point rd or lifeguard beach off Hwy 12
Car: not necessary

No need to drive anywhere. Walk or bike wherever you need to go. Bar hop, gift shop, ice cream, or go to the beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocracoke Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$95
$600
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$85
$550
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $5

We do not have a cleaning service. Each renter is encouraged to do a reasonable job of cleaning before they leave. Supplies are provided. A good wipe down and sweeping/vacuuming will help us and also give you a good reputation for the next time. If you do not want to clean we can add a $75 cleaning fee to your rental and have someone do it for you. Thanks

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable