check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Ocracoke Retreat in the Heart of the Village. Efficiency for Rent

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
bungalow
Sleeps
3
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

1 Bedroom with roll out bed, kitchen, and porch, 1 Full bath

Cozy retreat for a couple or small family. This apartment is attached to our family vacation home in Ocracoke it is designed as a mother-in-law space for the previous owner. We have fixed it up with new floors and new furniture and updated kitchen. It has a queen size bed and a roll out single although an air mattress for the kids is good too. Cable TV 32 inch flat screen and Wireless internet in the master suite with a smaller TV on the porch. Matching dresser and chest of drawers. Kitchen has a apartment size 4 Burner stove with oven. Microwave, Coffee maker, Small Fridge. Small eating table on the enclosed porch. Perfect for a small family or couple. We do not have a formal cleaning service, so we ask renters to leave it as they found it. Cleaning supplies are provided.


Owner
Ellen or Russell Grant
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

About Ellen or Russell Grant

Been off and on Ocracoke since I was a child. Growing up there in the summers. Have many friends there and spend as much time as I can on the island. I live in a small farming community and am also a farmer. Would like to retire to Ocracoke someday...

Ellen or Russell Grant purchased this bungalow in 2014

What makes this bungalow unique

We tried to make it similar to a nice hotel room to be familiar to everyone.This place is close to everything. If you like visiting Ocracoke you know about the local restaurants and Bars. Golf carts are popular and for rent everywhere. Bike or clam just off the boat ramp by the ferry landing or fish off the beach.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Ocracoke Retreat in the Heart of the Village. Efficiency for Rent
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 22 reviews
5

Clean, Great Price, Straightforward

  • 5 of 5

In their email replies, the owners were prompt and friendly. The price was excellent, especially for a pet-friendly rental. There's a basic supply of good-quality pots, pans, dishes. I like that the pots and pans are stainless steel, no Teflon. Would stay there again!

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne Beach, FL
5

Cozy and Charming

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay. The cottage is roomy and very accommodating to our needs.

Unfortunately, we were unable to return to Ocracoke by Ferry due Hurricane Hermine. Our hosts Ellen

and Russell were so understanding and refunded 2 nights. We will plan to return in the spring to view

the lighthouses we missed on this trip and will plan to stay at this cottage.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for me and my dog and I'd recommend it for any small family or couple. Walking distance to main road with shops, restaurants and ice cream. Also, I'd recommend the homemade Greek yogurt next door. Already recommended it to several friends.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlottesville, Virginia
3

Unsatisfactory

  • 3 of 5

The owners wrote us, after we had booked: "We do not have a formal cleaning service, so that we ask that you leave it the way your found it. . . . [And] you will need to bring sheets and towels." This is unusual for a holiday rental of this type in my opinion and not satisfactory. We left the place in good order, but formal cleaning between stays is surely to be expected!

Wi-fi was part of the deal, but the access code was not supplied, and during our three-day stay we were unable to obtain it, so we had no Internet access from the house. We were told when we e-mailed the owners about this that the code was in a folder on the dresser, but there was no such folder there and a careful search failed to discover it. The code could simply have been sent to me by e-mail, but this was not done. Highly unsatisfactory!

The property is set back off the road and the street number is not readily apparent, so we had difficulty finding it. It would be almost impossible to locate the place after dark. Clearer directions should be provided as to how to do so.

The fact that there was no dish-draining rack in the kitchenette was a problem for us. One should be supplied for the use of future renters.

All that said, the location is excellent and we had a great time in Ocracoke! We'll be back one day.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you feel you had unsatisfactory service from us. It is stated on the property description that we do not have a formal cleaning service, had you read it, you would have known that before you had considered booking. I send that message back as a reminder to people that they are responsible for cleaning up after themselves and at that time, you could have cancelled the rental. I do not have the codes to the internet with me, all that information is in Ocracoke, so I could not send them to you. The information folder has that, and I am sorry that you could not locate it, but it is in the room and on the dresser. I have seen it since you rented. I am glad that you enjoyed Ocracoke and apologize that you feel that you did not get good service from us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincoln, NE
4

Perfect location

  • 4 of 5

It was a last minute decision to vacation on Ocracoke and we found that Ellen and Russell were very accommodating. They greeted us when we arrived and as it worked out, were able to even leave their bikes for us to borrow while we stayed the week. It felt like we always had them "one call away" if we had any needs. The location was close to many shops, restaurants and activities. Charter Room is a nice bedroom with an adjoining mini kitchen and a full bathroom. We ate our meals and snacks at the table on the entry porch which was very conducive to reading as well. There were times when we sat on the main house porch and rocked as we watched passers by The pony pen is right behind the house and there were several chickens and roosters darting around. We did hear an "early" morning rooster alarm each day, but we got used to it. Charter Room is not very big, it's true, but it fits well for those who like to eat out and spend time exploring rather than vegging out in the room. We enjoyed the rural feel with the animals around and couldn't have asked for nicer hosts.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect for what we needed

  • 5 of 5

Great little place in the heart of Ocracoke. Required a little cleaning when we got there but nothing major. For a quick 3-day trip with a toddler and a dog, this is exactly what we were looking for.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Ocracoke Airport W95
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
1/2 block Zillies 1 block Smacknally's
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Swan Quarter or Cedar Island
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Smacknalies or DAJIO 2 blocks
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
NPS South point rd or lifeguard beach off Hwy 12
Car: not necessary

No need to drive anywhere. Walk or bike wherever you need to go. Bar hop, gift shop, ice cream, go to the beach, horse rides.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocracoke Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$95
$600
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$85
$550
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $5

We do not have a cleaning service. Each renter is encouraged to do a reasonable job of cleaning before they leave. Supplies are provided. A good wipe down and sweeping/vacuuming will help us and also give you a good reputation for the next time. If you do not want to clean we can add a $75 cleaning fee to your rental and have someone do it for you. Thanks

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ocracoke Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Standard Bathroom with toilet, sink, and shower tub. You will need to bring your own toiletries and towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , New 2014
  • Set up Like a hotel bedroom, Queen size Bed with Dresser and Chest of Drawers, 32 inch TV with wireless internet. You will need to bring your own sheets, linens are not provided.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This room is a nice place to stay for a cozy retreat on Ocracoke. It is located next to Morning Star stables Beach Horse rides available. Horses will be moving by the house in the morning and afternoon. If allergic or uncomfortable around horses this accommodation is not recommended.

Partner Offers