Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Newer Lake Home located near Turtle Lake/ Cumberland area

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bdrm 1 & 1/2 Bth Log Home with 200 ft. private Lakeshore

We are delighted to offer our newer lake home nestled in the trees for your enjoyment. Home has 1 king size bdrm, 1 queen, and triple bunk room, and can sleep a total of 8 comfortably. There is a full kitchen with lots of space and cabinetry. Nice large fridge, stove, microwave, and new dishwasher. Home has 1 1/2 bathrooms with a beautiful tiled shower, and granite vanities. A Three season porch allows plenty of breeze, and a wrap around deck. There are huge windows overlooking the lake and master vaults, with a gorgeous stone wood burning fireplace. Home has 200 feet of nice lake shore with a sandy rock swimming area. It is a more private quite option, with all the lake activities. Lake is 67 acres, with a mean depth of 17 ft and max of 44 ft. There are plenty of bass, crappie, sunfish, perch, and northern. Amenities include a 25 ft. dock to park your boat, 4 seat paddle boat, 2 premium kayaks, swimming dock, & floatation devices included in your base rent. A pontoon for $75.00 per day if desired (see notes on boat rental). Boat access is located near by. Home is located a short 10 minute drive to Cumberland and Turtle Lake. Plenty of restaurants, and championship golf nearby, not to mention the Comstock cheese factory. Many large recreation lakes nearby to try out as well. Call 612.210.2660 with questions.


Property Manager
Tom
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 12, 2017

About Tom

Home built by owner in 2011 by lots of friends and acquaintances pitching in to perfection. Our family loves the view and location and use it all the time when it is not enjoyed by you.

Tom purchased this house in 2011

Why Tom chose Wisconsin

We chose this property because it is private, wooded, scenic, great fishing, and the more quite type of experience.

What makes this house unique

You will love the large wrap around deck and nice stair case to the lake. Home has a 23 ft. stone wood burning fireplace and large vaulted loft area with beautiful views to the lake.

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Cumberland
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
County Line
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Cumberland
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
County Line
Car: necessary

Convenient 90 minute drive from the Mpls/StPaul area. Located on Long Lake 15 minutes equally between Cumberland and Turtle Lake WI. Plenty of Night life at the Turtle Lake Casino, restaurants and Bars to choose from in Cumberland or Turtle Lake. Several local golf courses to choose from. Movie theater located in Cumberland. ATV and hiking trails nearby. ATVs are allowed an dirt roads, but check with local statues. Boat launch within walking distance. contact Tom 612.210.2660

Amenities

Comstock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 27
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , large tiled shower with bench. no tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , toilet and 5' vanity sink
  • large tiled shower on the main level.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , bunk is triple
    3 season porch - 1 sleep sofa /futon , futon is double
  • Bunk is triple.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
recommend that you bring your own shampoos, water, and ice. but we have complimentary portions. We have a new water cooler and provide 5 gallons. Water is treated with double tank conditioner. Very healthy and new water coditioner put in but may bring drinking water.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
25% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Newer Lake Home located near Turtle Lake/ Cumberland area
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 24 reviews
5

beautiful

  • 5 of 5

everything you could want and more! Our family loved it, such a large beautiful cabin! and then had the pontoon,paddle boat and kayak's for fun for the weekend.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

A perfect, quiet, relaxing getaway! Perfect size for two small families. Loved the kayaks and pontoon to explore the lake. Wonderful place!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Girls weekend adventure

  • 3 of 5

Property was nice. We we disappointed with the pontoon that wouldn't start, lack of bathroom hand and bath towels, and juice and milk glasses. The house was decorated nicely and the yard, firepit, beach, and kayaks were a lot of fun.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Future guests will be glad to know the electric starter is fixed. It was unfortunate the pontoon electric start was not working for you as things do sometimes breakdown out of owner control. The starter went out for a couple of guests and had to be ordered from out of state. The motor can pull start just as well but can be a little tricky. But I'm glad you were able to have it start though albeit with some effort and enjoy a couple gallons of fuel for some of the visit, as well as a full refund. Future guests can be assured a new starter has been installed. Please see new notes on boat rental for full disclosure. In regards to linens, we have been supplying I bath towel and wash cloth per person, and approximately 3 hand towels. Several dish cloths are provided for each rental group, not to mention plenty of paper products. This has worked well for 3 years as we don't want to have to charge for extra laundering services, but we will continue to monitor our supply. This information is clearly mentioned in the agreement and it meets the rental code. For future renters please note that a special request can be made in this area and we will cheerfully accommodate. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice, clean, bright and spacious cabin on beautiful lake

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was clean, offers many bright windows and lots of space. This is our second year staying on the lake it is a really, clean and quite lake (week day stay). Location is nice, make sure to check out the Comstock Creamery. This cabin is located next to the public landing.

If you rent the Pontoon boat, please note it does not have a canopy for shade so it can get a little too hot and we did have to get off the lake to get out of the sun. It worked fine, but its pretty old and doesn't have cup holders or storage, so don't bring anything valuable.

We could not use the raft during our stay, because the stairs were broken and we couldn't get on it. The best place to swim is the middle of the lake off--jumping off the boat. Kayak's are really nice and there are some inflatable toys to play in the water with.

If you like to cook, the kitchen is pretty well stocked, but could use a few updated items: "glass" glassware, frying pan, knives need to be sharpened/new ones, cutting board, etc.

Also, I agree with others and the owner that you should bring your own water. We brought gallons to make our coffee with and bottles to drink. Unless you are going to boil the water I would not consume it due to taste. The 5-gallons provided is not filtered-purchased water. It is tap water from another source.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review comments. We discovered the new water conditioner was not working properly during your stay. The double tank was not switching over. Guests be assured that that is now operating just fine. Water is normal to drink and has no odor or stain. The water cooler is basically for our family, but guests are welcome to use it as a curtesy back up. We have more clarified this on the website now. We will not be providing store bought filtered water because it is not necessary with the quality of water source and not aware of any other properties buying guests bottled water or other beverages; even though we may in the future as a beneficial option. The Floating raft is one of the many extras provided. Things do break and a replacement stair is now operational as it took a little time to find the right one. We are actually putting on a new canopy for the pontoon, but really only provides some protection on an extremely hot day. Glad to hear the weather was fairly nice though. The pontoon is already disclosed as old; reflective of the price. However, as part of our brand new replacement seating, we have added an additional arm rest with two additional can holders, but it did have two already for you an a total of four now, as we were still in process of rehab. Pontoon full discloser has been more clarified under "other items". Future guests that want to rent it must know the fee is nearly half of a new model including plenty of fuel. We seem to have a lot of cookware, but have added a new pan and should add a pot as well. I hope your party of three made out ok. We did have a huge cutting board there, but did add two new plastic ones. We will actually be following the recommendation of county permit providers by not supplying much glassware. Instead we will stock quality designer plastic ware for safety and longevity. Too much broken glasses found on the floor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, perfect lake!!!

  • 5 of 5

I took my wife and kids to the Fox Den in July. We had an awesome stay. First, the property is absolutely perfect! Everything about it in my opinion is perfect! Very comfortable rooms, shower, kitchen....game room, perfect.

The lake is outstanding. My son and I loved kayaking and I did rent the pontoon but didn't use it as much as the kayaks. This was the first time I went kayak fishing and what an awesome rush that is.

At dusk, I caught a huge large mouth right off of the dock in the weeds using a senko.

Quiet lake, very friendly people and the most perfect cabin. We will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Dan. Sounds like you made the most of your stay much like I would. Can't wait to have you again. Send in your largemouth picture if you can!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a fabulous time!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Tom's Lake Home was everything we expected from a cabin in the Northwoods. The cabin was clean and nicely decorated. We were not right next to another cabin, so it felt very private. We made use of the grill and had a campfire. We especially appreciated the lake toys....the pontoon, paddle boat, raft, and kayaks. We were busy all day. Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Additional Guest Fee $35 per person per night
Damage Deposit $250

Notes on pontoon rental: Pontoon is available for $75.00 per night. What we do is there is a minimum of one day rental for 2 day stay, 2 day rental for 3 nights stay, 3 day rental for 4 nights stay, $375 for one week's stay, etc. This includes 6 gallons of fuel. These rate range between $50-$60 per day with fuel. The boat is an older model but runs well. It has brand new replacement seats, 18hp engine, 21ft, seats up to eight, and has electric start. It is priced nearly 1/2 of other rental boats, so if you expect a brand new pontoon for this price please do not rent, as this is just an option. You can rent from local businesses for much more. We also have an old fishing boat for $25 per day as another option with a 9.5hp pull start. Guest is responsible for excess fuel. Pets may stay in your own enclosed kennel in finished garage/rec. room for no additional charge. Bring firewood purchase in Turtle Lake, or Cumberland. Clean fish outside. $125.00 cleaning fee assessed. $35 per person per night over 4 people. 4th of July is $260.00 per night base. Tax rate of 5.5% not included in rates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties