Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

4BR/2.5BA Classic Ranch House, Private Pool, Near Downtown Austin, Sleeps 12

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 12

MARCH 2017 UPDATE: The house is newly painted in fresh colors and with a gorgeous “Howdy Y’all!” mural on the fence that will be awesome for fun-time photos! Great repairs and updates have been made throughout. Come enjoy!

This 4BR/2.5BA, ranch home is a comfortable, fun rental in southeast Austin, where friends and family can spend quality time together relaxing around the private pool and hot tub, then hop a quick cab or Uber to downtown nightlife, nature, and the city’s main attractions.

The property has a mother-­in-­law layout with a guesthouse connected to the main house by the garage. The living area of the main house has an open layout, with a combined living room and dining room. The living room is furnished with a queen sleeper sofa, a loveseat, a 55” flat screen TV with a DVD player, and access to the backyard and pool.

The dining room has seating for four, a colorful classic stained glass chandelier, and views of the pool. The full kitchen has a bar with seating for two and overlooks the dining room for easy entertaining. The master bedroom has a queen bed, a desk with an office chair, a large 46” mounted flat screen TV, an en­suite full bathroom with a shower/tub combo, and view of the pool. Directly off of the kitchen is one bedroom, which has a queen­sized sleigh bed and an attached half bathroom. The second bedroom has a queen bed, a mounted 32” flat screen TV, and a magazine table with a chair.

The guesthouse has a spacious living room with a full futon, an armchair, a recliner, a mounted 50” flat screen TV. The guesthouse kitchen is also fully equipped and overlooks the dining room, where there is seating for four. There is one bedroom with a queen bed, a mounted 36” flat screen TV, and a full bathroom off the hallway with a bath/shower combo. The backyard offers a private pool, a hot tub, a small grill for guest use. The pool can be heated for a pre­paid extra fee. Please contact Turnkey to arrange that amenity.

This rental is conveniently located between East Riverside­/Oltorf –a neighborhood mere minutes to the eclectic vibe of SoCo and the vibrant life of downtown Austin. Don’t miss a chance to see some fantastic live music at Emo’s, a famed local music venue and a long time staple to the city’s booming music scene, just a short walk north from your rental. Enjoy some authentic Indian cuisine, your choice of more than 70 unique beers on tap and live music at Austin’s favorite Dhaba Pub, Whip In, just a quick walk or drive west.

PLEASE NOTE: This home is best for adults who are looking for easy access to the airport, downtown, Lady Bird Lake, and the South Shore boardwalk. It is an older home. It is fun and functional but not fancy. It makes a good place for bands coming through town or other groups who want something more affordable, convenient, and private than several hotel rooms.

The City of Austin limits occupancy to six unrelated adults.

OL # 2014-100415 OL

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos and amenities have been verified by TurnKey staff. Our calendar and rates are 100% accurate. We strive to make it as easy as possible to stay at our property - you just drive right up and enter via our secure electronic lock. No more keys and no more security concerns with a unique code that works for your reservation only. We will notify you proactively when early check-in / late check-outs are possible and you'll receive the comforts of a luxury home when you arrive like a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens. In addition, when you book we will send you our mobile app with property directions, details, unlock code and instructions. And if you need us, we are available 24 hours each day with live help. TurnKey Vacation Rentals uses the industry's most trusted brand of software to securely store all guest data - HomeAway Software for Professionals. All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee and a Property Damage Protection Program.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2017

Amenities

East Riverside - Oltorf House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • 4 Queen beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Other bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

4BR/2.5BA Classic Ranch House, Private Pool, Near Downtown Austin, Sleeps 12
average rating of 4.133333 based on 30 reviews
1

Not suitable to be rented

  • 1 of 5

Not trying to be a snob about this place but it really was a poor excuse of a vacation rental house. As I am seeing on other recent reviews we shared similar problems that other people had. The entire property needs a facelift and the house itself needs structural work to be considered up to code. I wont even list out the problems except for what I consider major: 1) Only sleeps 10 people. The other 2 were supposed to go on a pull out bed but unfortunately the bed was broken (frame) and the mattress wasn't even worth putting directly on the floor. Air mattresses deflated mid-night. 2) The sliding door also had no door handles. Huge pain for adults but the kids literally couldn't make the door budge. That alone is a fire hazard. 3. General construction of the house is subpar. If it were inspected the house would be deemed unfit for living due to uneven flooring, cracked patio with 2-3" gaps around pool, and tripping/slipping hazards. 4. The hot tub never heated up! I can understand mid summer but once fall hits, there should be hot water in that thing.

Unfortunately, no one should expect improvements here. The owner happened to stop by while we were here and I gave her the run down on issues. Solution... buy us beer? No thanks. Major work needs to be done to this house or a major price reduction so the cost fits what you get.

I will say that TurnKey "tried" to make us feel better and were responsive when contacted but when it is incorrectly advertised you have already lost my faith. Plenty of better options out there for staying in ATX.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brett, we are so sorry to hear that you feel this way and although we do realize our property needs some cosmetic upgrades, it is TurnKey Rental Certified and all photos and listing information are 100% accurate. With regards to the issues you called our guest hotline to let us know about during your stay, such as the debris floating in the pool and broken sofa-bed, we show that our ground team delivered a new air mattress and the pool was re-cleaned. While we can understand your frustration that the issues even came up, we are confused that you mention not having "faith" in the way we quickly responded to and addressed them, as it appears we did our best to fix what could be, gave you a substantial refund, and allowed a much later check-out time than normal, after you refused to leave the property. With regards to the other issues you mentioned, please be assured we are working on those needed updates. As you can see from our most recent 5-star review, most have already been handled. Thanks again for your feedback, and please let us know if you need anything else. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Port Aransas, TX
5

Awesome spot for having fun in Austin

  • 5 of 5

Everything was relaxing and super smooth. The yard has a beautiful mix of shade and sun around the pool, and all the rooms are clean and comfortable. There were pumpkins and treats waiting for us. Austin is so much fun and the house is close to everything. We walk to Starbucks, a cool bar called Buzzmill, and the lake. Can't wait to come back again!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
1

Not at all what it seems

  • 1 of 5

I'm not really sure where to start here, but this house is deceiving based on the pictures and description. A group of us were there for 4 nights and there was just a long list of issues with the house. We had to call the management co. twice while there to start off. It looks like no yard work has been done to the house in years, there were wires and cords just hanging from the trees, old deflated pool floats and old ping pong balls in the corner and just dirt and leaves EVERYWHERE. It's almost like they didn't even come to the house to make sure it was okay before we got there. The pool was filthy, there was a solo cup at the bottom when we got there, leaves and dirt in the pool, the pool lights didn't work, the hot tub didn't work, half of the lights outside didn't work, the tiles inside the house were cracked, the pantry door was completely broken, the sliding door handle was broken, the grill was a piece of crap, the lights in the garage didn't work and going through the garage is the only way to the guest house. We had to move a lamp from inside the house into the garage for light so we could see. The fridge in the main house didn't cool properly and there were cockroaches in the house. This property is overall not maintained AT ALL, I'm not even sure how it's able to be rented in the condition it's in. When we had someone from the management company come out to fix some issues and she was even in shock at the state of the house which obviously goes to show that it was not in good condition. I guess the only good things were that the rooms were decent and the location of the house is super close to everything. The management co. was really responsive, great in handling all of the issues and they were very apologetic and offered compensation for all of the issues so that was a plus, but it's just unfortunate that we had to deal with so many issues at what seemed to be a great house. We made the best out of a crappy situation so we still had fun, but I would never recommend this place or stay here again unless a major revamp is done to the place.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mala, thank you for providing us this feedback. We apologize that your experience staying with us was not as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, it is our ultimate goal to make sure each guest has an amazing stay in our properties, but we did fell short of that in this case. Please know that is not at all the norm for our rentals, and we are currently working hard to get this home in perfect condition. Hopefully the compensation we offered for the inconveniences helped, and it is good to hear that you were able to have fun, after all. Thanks again for your patience, and please let us know if there is anything else we can do. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Dirty, Bugs, House falling Apart. Pictures are false advertising

  • 1 of 5

Just left the house after a bachelorette weekend. The pictures are completely deceitful of this property. The pool is halfway decent, however it was filthy, as well as the concrete around it was filthy. Covered it leaves and grime. Yard was not well cared for. Hot tub didn't heat. The house itself is literally falling apart. They had a rug trying to conceal a major foundation issue. The house is sloped in the kitchen. Major cracks in the walls. We found numerous cock roaches and lizards in the house. I didn't want to walk around this house without flip flops on my feet because of dirt. Doors were literally coming off the hinges. The house was hardly cleaned when we arrived, there were solo cups in the bottom of the pool. The main refrigerator didn't work properly. The water filter was old in the refrigerator. I could literally go on and on for 5 more paragraphs with the issues on the house, but you get my drift. Way over priced. It is close to the city, the part of town it is in is just ok. Extremely overpriced for what you're getting.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not as it should have been! It does look like you gave us a call on our guest hotline letting us know that the pool was dirty when you arrived, and we sent one of our ground team members out shortly thereafter to clean it for you. Usually the pool would have been in much better condition for your arrival, and we are now looking into having a new company take care of the scheduled maintenance. With regards to the other issues you mentioned, our team member also discussed those with you as well when she was there and agreed that the home was in need of some updates. At that time, you were given a substantial refund for the problems and an option to move to another property, but it was your choice to stay. Here at TurnKey, we try to do everything possible to make sure our guests have the best experience staying with us, and we truly are sorry for dropping the ball with this one but feel we did our best to make things better. Thank you for bringing these issues to light and please be assured we are working diligently to make this good rental a great one. If there is anything else at all we can do for you, please reach out and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect pool

  • 5 of 5

I haven't lived in Austin for awhile so I was nervous about the location, but it is GREAT! area is up and coming but completely safe, Walgreens and Starbucks down the street, easy to get to tourist spots. The house slept all of us comfortably. We had more than enough room throughout the house with all our stuff. The pool was the main reason for booking the house and everyone loved it. Good combo of shaded area and sun. The hot tub was on when we arrived (which made it uncomfortably warm) but I was soon emailed instructions on how to turn it off. That would be my only suggestion, no hot tub during summer months ;) I would love to go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the compliments, and we love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We could not agree more about the pool, it truly is the epitome of relaxing. Also, we appreciate you calling us when there was a hiccup with the hot tub, so our 24/7 support team could assist. You were wonderful guests to host. Please keep us in mind when you visit Austin again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect house for a guys weekend.

  • 5 of 5

We recently booked this house for a guys getaway weekend in Austin. The house had plenty of room for 11 of us, and was pleasantly surprised with how large the guest house was. The backyard was huge and the pool and hot tub was great - we ended up spending a lot of the daytime hanging out here. When we arrived at the house, everything was very clean and organized; also worth noting is that they have recently placed brand new flat screens in all of the bedrooms. We had a few cars, but we were close enough to everything we wanted to do, so we were able to take a couple Uber cars anytime we went out (~10 minutes from 6th St.). The rental company was also very easy to work with and was responsive when I had tried contact via both phone and email. Would definitely rent this house again next time we've got a large group heading to Austin.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties