Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

- Across From Marsh Ridge -Otsego Lake ---Summer-Winter Paradise

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Four Season Destination

A beautiful family home now available for rent to a single family or for a group vacation.

3,400 sq ft – located on the 45th parallel in the center of northern Michigan on 150 feet of the sandy shoreline of the county’s largest “all-sports” lake.

This lakefront, air conditioned home has four suites, each containing 2 double beds and a full bath, plus 2 connected adjacent bedrooms for extra guests or children. There is Wi-Fi and cable tv.

A cathedral ceiling great room with a double sided stone fireplace, an enclosed sun porch room and a large open deck overlook a spacious lawn leading to a wonderful, childsafe walk out swimming beach with a dock, paddle boat, row boat, canoe, fire pit and a spectacular sunset.

A public boat launch is 400 yards away…

There is also a very large open back lot for extra parking for snowmobiles, lawn games, a basketball short court and more…

This is truly a four seasons destination with activities for everyone…!

1. Watersports – 5 mile long Otsego Lake is perfect for all water activities – boating, skiing & swimming….

2. Fishing - headwaters of 5 renowned trout streams – Black, Pigeon, Sturgeon, Manistee and the Au Sable…Otsego Lake is stocked by the DNR…

3. “Golf Mecca” – we are located across the street from Marsh Ridge and Michywe courses and 17 championship courses to challenge you at modest rates are located a short drive away.

4. Snowmobiling – 90 miles of groomed trails in all directions from our cabin for long distance or daily local loops…

5. Skiing – cross country or downhill on 150 average annual inches of snowfall – Boyne Mountain, Otsego Club and Treetops near by.

6. Hunting – Thousands of acres of state land nearby hold abundant small game, birds, turkey and Deer…

7. Sightseeing – Less than 1 hour drive to Traverse City, Mackinac Island, Petoskey, Charlevoix and Harbor Springs. Spectacular fall color tours begin here.

My mobile is (248)202-6938.

For more info on things to see and do - follow this link www.gaylordmichigan.net/top-10-get-out-and-see-gaylords-greatest-232/

More Details

Owner
JERRY
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you !! This home is perfect for our family reunion. The individual suites and extra sleeping rooms made all of our gang comfortable. The huge family room with dining for 14 and the well stocked kitchen and near by outdoor grill made for many happy meal experiences. We can't wait for next year.
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 3

Map

Sugar Bowl
"Long time dining destination in Downtown Gaylord. Good food and beverage and local color."
Diana's Delights
"Everybody's favorite destination for casual dining. Kim runs a great establishment"
Gaylord to Mackinaw City Rail-Trail
Bearded Dogg Lounge
"A relatively "NEW" spot in town. Good food-nice crowd."
Little Caesars
"Feed the whole "GANG" with "HOT AND READY" for very few $$$."
Wal-Mart Supercenter
"Everybody knows Wal-Mart."
Meijer
"One of our favorite suppliers for many household needs."
Gaylord's City Elk Park
Otsego Memorial Hospital
"HIGH QUALITY HELP IF NEEDED"

Follow this link for things to go see and do in the Gaylord area...

http://www.gaylordmichigan.net/top-10-get-out-and-see-gaylords-greatest-232/

Amenities

Gaylord House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double
    Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
- Across From Marsh Ridge -Otsego Lake ---Summer-Winter Paradise
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
Windsor, Ontario
5

Beautiful Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at this property with a group of eight adults and eight children aged one to ten. The cottage was very clean and even bigger than we pictured. The beach is small but sandy. We all had a great time with the kayaks, rowboat, paddle boat and stand-up paddle board. Almost every night ended with a campfire at the beach side fire pit. The middle of the week was too cool for swimming, but there was still plenty of space for all of us inside. The wi-fi was very fast and appreciated on chilly days. The cottage is a few minutes from Gaylord but still felt like it was away from it all. The deck gave the kids a great place to perform their annual talent show. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone with a large group.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Michigan
5

Great Family Gathering spot

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Jerry's place from July 22 to July 29 with our whole family, a total of nine adults and 4 kids. We had a great stay. In fact we had expected to take several day trips, but enjoyed the house and lake so much that we only went to Mackinac Island for a day. The location of the lake house is very near I 75 and allowed our out of state kids to fly into Detroit and still be at the lake in four or so hours. The outlot parking was great and necessary since we had five vehicles and a boat trailer to park. Otsego lake is quite shallow and hence warms up and stays warm. Even on rainy days the water was inviting and fun between and during rain showers. The Peddle boat and paddle board were fun for the kids and served as platforms for water fights. We also used the kayaks and rowboat so explore the lake. Shopping at Meijers and Walmart is convenient and we made numerous trips there. Grayling is close by for fly fishing the Au Sable river. Remember to take beach towels, they are not provided, and extra life jackets if your party is large. The house does show some signs of age, especially the kitchen sink and some of the west facing windows. All in all we would be very happy to stay again and recommend it highly for family gatherings. This was one of the few places we have rented for our whole family that we considered returning to the next year, unfortunately, it was already booked.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for writing such a through and positive review.I'm so glad you and your group made such good use of the facilities. No one has ever remarked about the sink before however, I'm sure large groups have given it a work out. I'll look at it after the season and replace it if necessary. Windows in Northern Mich. take quite a beating.and every year or two we replace any of the large number of our West facing windows that show "seal" failure. Very expensive ! We are glad you would like to stay with us again and we would gladly welcome you back anytime. Jerry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

family Reunion at Castle Pines

  • 5 of 5

This is the 7th year that our extended family has rented Castle Pines. The property suits our needs. The kitchen is well equipped and the children enjoy the kayaks, paddleboard, and paddleboat. We look forward to returning next year😊

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winter garden, florida
5

Great lakeside home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a family gathering the place was fantastic to bad the weather wasn't. All the amenities you could ask for and the owner Jerry was a pleasure to deal with, we would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to hear that you had a good time.Even if the weather doesn't cooperate,there are still lots of things to do in the OTSEGO/GAYLORD area. It is a perfect place for extended families to vacation and for the different generations to spend quality time together. Our family enjoyed this home for years and now it is our pleasure to share it with others.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

best experience ever

  • 5 of 5

very nice , clean cottage with nice people (Jerry -owner and Paul administrator)

THANK YOU

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful. Felt like home.

  • 5 of 5

My wife's father died suddenly in Gaylord on a Sunday. As such, we needed accommodations almost immediately for 8 adults and 2 children as family was flying in from all over the US. On a whim, I decided to try HomeAway and found Jerry's house. I called Jerry on Monday and he couldn't have been more accommodating. He set everything up and it was all incredibly easy. And to boot, it was cheaper than a hotel!

On to the house. The home is close to downtown Gaylord but sits overlooking a beautiful lake. To have the whole family in one house in such a beautiful setting made us feel at home. For my wife and her siblings, Jerry's hospitality and home made all the difference. Went from potentially staying in separate rooms at a nondescript Hampton Inn to everyone sharing laughs and tears in a gorgeous house.

So if you're looking for an amazing place to stay in Gaylord, look no further. Hopefully you'll have the same kind of experience we did.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

HOUSE CLEANING & LAUNDRY $200
Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties