Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Family-Friendly, Fenced Yard, Affordable Private Home, Short Walk to Beach

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,120 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Private Family Home That Sleeps 12 At VB Oceanfront

Want the convenience of the ocean, boardwalk, shopping and restuarants but the privacy of your own home--all at a reasonable price? Family-friendly, pet-friendly home only 3 blocks from the boardwalk. The house has four bedrooms and sleeps up to 12 people. Fenced yard for children or pets. House is only a few blocks from Neptune Park and stage, 24th street stage and the street entertainers.

The house has a play room with lots of children's toys, children's movies, sand toys, boogie boards and bikes. Other items include a beach cart, beach umbrella, a surf board, beach chairs, and coolers.

Double stroller, pack-and-play, car seats and high chair also available.

Other amenities include washer/Dryer, Gas/Charcoal grill combo, central AC, full-size refrigerator, free wireless internet (fios) and oven.

Home is near all that Hampton Roads has to offer. A short 3 block walk to oceanfront. Few minute walk to restaurants, miniature golf and entertainment. Few minute drive to First Landing State Park, Ocean Breeze Water Park and Virginia Aquarium. 30 minute drive to Norfolk. 50 minute drive to Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown and Busch Gardens.

More Details

Josh and Jen McMullen
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

About Josh and Jen McMullen

Hello. We are a family of five who live full-time in Virginia Beach. We love living near the oceanfront and enjoy opening our home up for others to enjoy the beach lifestyle when we are away visiting family. We have made many memories in this home and we hope you will make some as well.

Josh and Jen McMullen purchased this house in 2012

Why Josh and Jen McMullen chose Virginia Beach

This property is perfect for families. It allows you access to all that Virginia Beach has to offer but also allows you to get away from the hustle and bustle when you need to.


Virginia Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2120 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Resort ...
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Full size bed on bottom and twin on top
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed , Full size bunkbed
    Living Room Bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull out sofa in living room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Full Size Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Family-Friendly, Fenced Yard, Affordable Private Home, Short Walk to Beach
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews

Nice owner with property needing serious attention

  • 1 of 5

Reserved 1 yr ago for granddaughter's dance competition. Upon arrival, house was very unclean, beyond acceptability (ie: used, hairy soap in showers, thick soap scum in showers, HUGE dust bunnies and garbage under beds, dirty kitchen sink with debris in drain strainer, grainy substance on counters, and beds looked like bedding had just been pulled up; not freshly changed. Called owner who responded IMMEDIATELY, sending cleaners back while we were at grocery stor buying food for week. Some of the issues were taken care of - others I cleaned with the huge can of Clorox disinfectant wipes we bought. Later that evening was when we discovered the infestation of cockroaches in the kitchen. Texted owner who responded quickly again, sending an exterminator next day however, all unrefrigerated food we'd bought had to be trashed because of 1) the cockroaches and 2) the insecticide. Numerous insects ran out of cabinets and died however many more remained. Exterminator returned and retreated. Insects in rest of house. Had to leave kitchen light on or massive scatter when turned on. No complaints about owner who was friendly and responded quickly to complaints however were all AFTER the fact, and didn't adequately solve the issues. Biggest concerns as we prepare to leave are that we will take a stowaway home with us. I cannot recommend this house, despite the excellent location and friendly owner. Too many deficits and unsanitary condition to offset. Quite possibly the worst vacation we've taken, despite family group and granddaughter's world champion win at competition. There is much more I could add but won't. Honestly feel that recompensation is in order. On the positive side, it is 2 blocks from beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry this family did not have a good stay. We tried everything we could to meet their needs. Before arriving, they raised concerns about the parking regulations in Virginia Beach. There is nothing we can do to change the city’s parking regulations but we tried our best to accommodate the guests in other ways. Ten minutes after arriving in the home, they called to ask the house be recleaned. We have the fullest confidence in our cleaning crew and we have never had a complaint, but the crew graciously came back to the house on a Sunday night to reclean for the family. The next day, they told us they saw bugs in the house. Our house is under routine bug treatment but we called the exterminator in to spray for them. After the spray, they contacted us to let us know they did not want to use the small appliances (toaster, coffee maker, etc.). We purchased all new appliances for them. The next day, they contacted us to let us know the pack-n-play was broken. We provided instructions on how to set it up, and it worked fine. We try our very hardest to accommodate guests as best we can. When guests called us indicating the air conditioning was not working as well as they wanted, we worked on bringing in a Heating and Air Conditioning specialist (this order was later cancelled when the family decided the AC was working fine). By this point, we felt that these guests were simply trying to get money back from us. Our family has made so many wonderful memories in this home; we love the idea of other families also making great memories. We try our best to help guests do this; unfortunately, it did not seem anything we did was able to satisfy these guests. Nevertheless, we wish them all the best for future trips.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place!!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here and was very pleased with everything. My granddaughter had a blast with all the toys and not having to bring all the beach stuff made the trip that much easier. The beach was within walking distance as well as the main entertainment areas. At night the neighbor was quiet. If available we will definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Unionville, Virginia

Wonderful location and wonderful people to rent from.

  • 5 of 5

My family had a great time. The location is perfect, especially with a grocery store a few minutes away. The homeowners were very helpful with any questions I had. We will be trying to get this house next year. Enough said. Lived it.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

I was very pleased with this home. It was very spacious for our group of 11 and the amenities included with the house made the stay that much more enjoyable! Not to mention the price is right!! I highly recommend staying here!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
plymouth, Michigan

Perfect Family Beach Vacation Home! Great Location

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for a week over 4th of July and were very happy. We had 3 families (10 people) and there was plenty of sleeping room for everyone. The bedrooms and kitchen are small, but sufficient and the house has a large dining room and living room. The huge playroom/sunroom full of toys and bikes was amazing for the 3 little ones and kept them entertained for hours. The house is 2 blocks/5 minute walk from the 27th Street beach access which is right in the middle of all the boardwalk activities. The house is also within walking distance from restaurants, tourist shops, 7-11, grocery stores, Starbucks, ice cream, beach playgrounds and more. The playroom also had tons of beach supplies including umbrellas, chairs, sand toys, beach towels and coolers that made our trips to the beach very easy. Parking is very limited in the area and there is only 1 alley parking spot available at the home, but we also received 2 street parking permits for our stay. The house also has limited electrical outlets in some rooms, but the owners have plenty of power strips. The kitchen was well stocked, but there is no dishwasher, so we used paper plates mostly. I would definitely recommend this house, mostly for its great location and the owners were very friendly, helpful and available for questions.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Warrenton, VA

House had everything we needed

  • 4 of 5

The house we rented was older but close to the beach and had everything the owner said and it was everything we needed. We LOVED having the five adult bikes which made it super easy to get around. My only issue was the beds were covered with plastic (being someone's home I get it) which was a little noisy and bright street lights made it difficult to sleep. Otherwise, we loved it!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning Fee $100

The tax is required of all short term rentals by the City of Virginia Beach.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties