Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Newly Remodeled! Ocean View in Yachats! Free Night!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

The Abalone Beach Cottage in Yachats!

Sweet Homes Rentals brings you this this quaint beach cottage!Built in 1936 and thoughtfully remodeled over time to retain the original historic charm, this quaint, 2 story beach cottage welcomes you with whimsical art glass and fun touches. Abalone Beach Cottage offers a comfortable floor plan that sleeps up to 8 guests, with 4 bedrooms and 1.5 baths providing the ultimate in peace and relaxation. You will love the dramatic beach and ocean views. Open the windows, hear the waves and sleep to the rhythmic sound of the surf. Whether watching whales or waves, sunrises or our famous Oregon coast storms, this home is perfect for a family vacation or a romantic getaway.

Provided for your enjoyment are Flat screen TV's, DVD players, a stereo system with ipod dock, games, puzzles, DVDs, a gas grill and more.

Sleeps up to 8 - 4 Bedrooms, 3 Queens, 1 Full, 1 Queen Futon, 1.5 baths.

Standard: 2 night minimum; Summer & Holidays: 3-4 night minimum.

**Oct. 1st - May 31st The third night is FREE - excluding holidays - please send inquiry for exact pricing. (lowest listed rate is free) **

Cancellations & Refunds: The total cost of the reservation, less a 10% service charge, is refundable up to 45 days prior to check in. After the 45th day to check in has passed, there is no refund.

Check-in any time after 4:00pm on your date of arrival.

Age Requirement: The primary registered guest must be at least 26 years of age. The majority of guests must be over 25, or children under adult supervision.

More Details

Property Manager
Sweet Homes Rentals
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

About Sweet Homes Rentals

Sweet Homes Rentals Property Manager on call 24/7.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you for the use of your Beach house- Abalone Beach Cottage. The family had a wonderful time. We loved the big back yard for the kids to play in. I found I was the big bad troll under the bridge(stairway) and the kids the billy goats. great fun playing it over and over as children like to do. The House was comfortable and well supplied and big enough for all over us to enjoy. People loved it when I told them that it was my 2 year old grand daughter who was the contact to learn about the house. Loved walking on the beach. It was foggy and over cast most of the time but a great change from the heat of the Valley.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Yachats House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Downstairs - toilet , tub , shower
    Downstairs - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Upstairs - 1 queen
    Upstairs - 1 queen
    Downstairs - 1 queen
    Downstairs - 1 double
  • Futon in Living Room
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Newly Remodeled! Ocean View in Yachats! Free Night!
average rating of 4.7413793 based on 68 reviews
5

Peaceful and inviting

  • 5 of 5

When we arrived the home was ready, lights were turned on and it had a welcoming feel to it. It was peaceful and clean. The proximity to the beach was spectacular and so fun for my children even though it was super cold. There were plenty of dishes for our meals. Beds were comfortable and we loved the theme of the home. We had a spectacular time over our holiday and the home really met and exceeded our expectations. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello James, Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! It really helps future travelers in their decision making process. We appreciate the kind words about the home, and location, we think it's terrific as well. We strive to make sure our homes are clean and well maintained and that our guests feel at home and welcome. We are so happy knowing you enjoyed your stay at Abalone Beach Cottage. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the coast in the future! All the best, The Sweet Homes Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful beach house for family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in this ocean view property for our annual family vacation with 5 adults and 3 children. The home had amazing views, was only steps from beach access (and relatively easy access, not down cliffs like some other beaches along the coast), and were then able to walk for miles and miles. The house was nicely furnished and had everything that we needed for a restful vacation. Also centrally located for easy day trips to up to Depoe Bay one day and down to Coos Bay the next, but we really could have stayed put at the house all week and been perfectly happy. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and have found a favorite new spot for making family memories! We aim to provide an exceptional experience and are thrilled that you had a wonderful time here on the central Oregon coast. We look forward to welcoming your family back to stay with us in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great little beach house

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed being so close to the beach and with 2 families in 1 house we all had our own personal space and enough room to move around! Thanks for the great time!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review! We are elated that you had an amazing time at the home and exploring the area. We hope to see you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy beach house with amazing view of ocean!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house and enjoyed our stay. Beautiful town with many great restaurants close by. The new hot tub was definitely a plus!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your 5 Star Review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the coast in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Charming home near the beach makes for a lovely vacation.

  • 4 of 5

This darling beach cottage provided our family of eight with a delightful opportunity to enjoy the Oregon coast for a five night stay. We loved being so close to the beach that we could come and go as often as we wanted, and the proximity to so many interesting things to visit made this a perfect location.

Our party had three married couples, a single, and a toddler. We each had our own bedroom, but be aware that two of the bedrooms have a curtain instead of a door and there is a very steep stairwell to the two upstairs bedrooms.

Our big group was a bit kitchen challenged. We brought all our own food and there was no space in the cupboards to store it, so we wound up keeping much of it on the floor of the entry hall. The dining table expanded so we could all sit down together to eat, but once expanded, the space was not overly generous so we wound up pushing the table up against the was when we were not using it. The kitchen well stocked with dishes, glasses, pots, pans, and even plastic plates and bowls for little ones. The dishes, decorations, and furnishings in the cottage coordinate beautifully which makes for a very pleasant atmosphere.

The living area has two adjoining sitting areas with plenty of couches and chairs for a large group. The flat screen TV worked great and the internet had plenty of speed for all our devices. We enjoyed beautiful views of the waves through large picture windows. The house is not right on the beach, but is one row back. The living area also had doors we could close to keep our toddler contained in the kitchen/living room, so that was very helpful.

The hot tub was a great way to start and end the day, and the BBQ and deck made for some very pleasant meals outside.

The beach was fantastic. Lots of room to walk and play, fly kites, and dig in the sand. Older people or anyone who's mobility is impaired could have difficulty getting down to the beach, however. With two access points near the house, one was a steep climb and the other extremely rocky and uneven.

The property managers are helpful and available, but we found it very strange that all information is communicated by phone. A binder with information on towel service, garbage/recycling, the phone number, and other practical information all gathered into one place would be very helpful.

Thanks for a very nice beach stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sally for your 4-Star review! Thank you for the kind words. We are so delighted that you love the XXXXX as much as we do and we would be honored to become a part of your family traditions and welcome you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Some improvements still needed - gorgeous beach

  • 3 of 5

Surprise construction, unusable picnic tables, shower caddies are badly placed and cramp the shower, the hooks on the door tops make the doors very loud, the bed posts in one of the bedrooms are very loose and bang against the wall, there was a broken waffle iron in the kitchen - otherwise, nice hot tub, excellent grill selection, the house is one row removed from the beach and the beach is incredibly stunning

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Your issues have been noted and our Sweet Homes Team is working hard to resolve them. Thank you once again, this helps us make future guest experiences better.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties