As seen on HGTV's Log Cabin Living. Beautiful custom log home that is only 8 years old. Offering 6,200 square feet of living space. 6 bedroom, 4 1/2 bathrooms in this spacious home. Mother-in-law suite with 9' ceilings. Theater room, game room, 2 kitchens, walk-out basement to enjoy the water. 4 stall attached garage. Waterside deck, fire pit and patio with custom multi terraced landscaping. Large walk in pantry and laundry off kitchen.
- Calendar last updated:
- Dec 6, 2018
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Plenty of room and a great value for the rental cost. Can't wait until next year to enjoy this spacious home that has everything you need.
Great weekend get-away with old college buddies and wives
Just wrapped up a 4 day weekend with 7 college roommates and their spouses (13 total). We are all in our 50’s and everyone was extremely happy with the rental. The common spaces were big enough for all of us to comfortably gather whether in the kitchen, around the fireplace, pool-room, outside at the firepit, and even one night we all watched a movie together in the theater room. At the same time, there was plenty of space for everyone to have their own quiet space at various times during the long weekend.
We brought four kayaks for paddling on Castle Rock Lake and one afternoon rented a pontoon boat for an afternoon on the water. We had easy on-off access for the kayaks and pontoon using the pier. We rented the house, September 20-23 and the pier was still in; however, it was obvious that many piers around the lake had already been taken out. The pier made lake access very easy. (If you are doing a fall or spring rental and boating/kayaking are a big part of your plan, you may want to inquire about the pier.) The wooded 100’ buffer between the house and the water is a good thing from a conservation standpoint. But everyone should understand that there is a short wooded path from the house lawn to the lake.
Each of the couples took turns cooking the breakfast and dinner in the kitchen. The kitchen was well supplied with glasses, silverware, and plates for our large party of 13. The design of the kitchen allowed for a lot of gathering and conversation while the meals were being prepared. The refrigerator in the basement kitchenette served as an excellent cold beer and drinks storage. While we had originally planned on going out one of the nights, we actually decided to just get take out pizza and stay-in because the house was so comfortable. Kozy's Pizza just down the road is great!
The outside patio and firepit area worked well for gathering outside. If you have a group as large as ours, I would definitely recommend bringing some extra folding camp chairs for sitting around the fire and outside. The cornhole game at the house was a hit.
On the one warmer day, the cooling worked great. And on the other cooler evenings, the open screened windows gave the place a great northwoods cabin-feel. The large 4+car garage at the basement level was also great for unloading and loading the cars.
Nissa and Kevin (the owners) were extremely quick to respond to our texts and questions leading up to and during the weekend.
It was a wonderful home with so much room and many things to do especially on a rainy Sunday. We had great camp fires making s'mores and cooking hot dogs. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us.
Amazing house, yard and lake access.
Overall, everyone had a lot of fun. Definitely a well maintained yard and property. There were some drawbacks and amenities that were not what we were expecting. For example, the grill was in very poor shape (not clean, unsuitable cleaning tool, and no propane even if we wanted to grill on that grill). Had I known the status of the grill, I would have brought my own. Luckily there was a grill pan in the kitchen so we were still able to replicate it to a certain extent.
There was, what looked like, poison ivy on the path to the lake. The rest of the yard was very well kept up however, and it was a semi wooded area, so we were fine with side stepping some potential poison ivy. What can you do? It's nature. Just letting future renters know in case there are small children or you want to bring hydrocortisone as a precaution.
Beware that there's no screens on the windows. Some of the windows are above a rather large drop off of 10+ feet. Again this is mostly a precautionary statement if you were to bring young children. However it was also a bit disappointing because weather was quite nice, so we wanted to open the windows but didn't do it because of bugs, etc.
Overall, however, this was a great property with extremely responsive and accomodating owners and we would definitely rent it again. Great ammenities, no beach but a very shallow (2ft. deep) lake with a sandy bottom that continues at or around that depth for about 200 yards (yes, we walked out that far). Fantastic patio and fire pit area with plenty of chairs. Everyone agreed this was the best property we've ever rented.
Hi, Giotto. Thank you for your feedback! I will have to check on the cleanliness of the grill as that will need to be addressed. The gas is directly connected to the house (there is a tank buried underground that handles all of the propane for the home). The igniter on the grill does not work so a lighter is required (which there are several in the kitchen drawers). All of that information is outlined in the instructions shared prior to your visit and also in the binder in the kitchen.
The last 100’ between our house and the lake is owned by the Wisconsin Power Company so we are unable to do anything about weeds or anything within that area. I will definitely report this to them and see if they’re able to do anything about the potential poison ivy that you saw.
We do have screens for the windows, just typically keep them off so as not to obstruct the view in any way.
Glad you enjoyed the house and property and we hope you’ll come again!
Beautiful vacation home. Everything was first class!
We had a family reunion to celebrate our 50th anniversary and couldn't have asked for a more beautiful home, inside and outside. Everything was done to perfection!
Beautiful home but no dock
Overall the home is beautiful and well-appointed. The linens are a bit mismatched/hodge podge but this is a lake house so that’s understandable.
After I booked this home I spoke with the owner via phone and she was very helpful. I specifically asked about whether or not there was access to a dock because my family wanted to rent a boat for the week. I was told that yes there was in fact a dock and it no problem to park overnight there. I booked a non-refundable four day boat rental based on that information. The night we arrived I texted the homeowner to make sure that I had the correct dock as we didn’t want to park somewhere we weren’t supposed to. She texted that there was no longer access to the dock. She said that she had learned three weeks prior to our stay that the dock was not usable. We had my elderly parents with us and a newborn baby and several toddlers. To say that this was an inconvenience is an understatement. The owner basically explained that we would have to rent a nightly boat slip at a marina. She was apologetic but basically had a “sorry but too bad“ attitude. She did say that she had updated the VRBO website with the information but considering I had booked it months ago I’m not logging back on to check the home’s amenities on the VRBO site. I would have appreciated a phone call prior to our arrival considering she knew specifically my plan was to rent a boat during our stay. There was a small beach close to the house however it was covered in green algae. It was disgusting and non-usable for the duration of our stay. And the reason we chose this lake was because I had been there before and knew that it was relatively shallow so I thought it would be safer for the young children. The algae was so bad/dense you couldn’t see the bottom even in very shallow water.
We had an issue with the home entertainment system not working and I will say that the homeowner came that same day to fix it. That was very much appreciated.
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay.
I completely understand the dock situation. I was unaware that in our neighborhood, it is a DNR regulation that boats cannot be docked in the water. Since we do not own a boat and a boat lift is specific to the type of boat being used, we do not have one, hence the need for keeping the boat elsewhere. Unfortunately, I don't recall you sharing that your boat rental was for the entire week so I apologize for not proactively reaching out to you after my understanding of the rules regarding use of the dock changed.
We always strive for a five-star review so I'm saddened to see that the dock had such a dramatic impact on your overall stay.