Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lodge Alley - Downtown Historic District - Incredible Location

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

A wonderful townhouse 'Johnson's Pied-a'- terre' in the heart of the Historic French Quarter District. Tucked away in the courtyard of the historic ''Lodge Alley Inn '' with a fountain and gas lights to add to the quaintness of this very special place. This alley connects East bay to State Street.

Relax in your own walled and gated private courtyard, or sit on the balcony and just enjoy the sound of the fountain or flicker of the gas lights. Before walking steps to the finest restaurants Charleston has to offer. Only two blocks from the Old Straw Market and Water Front Park on the harbor. You are right where you need to be in this remarkable location to enjoy all downtown Charleston has to offer.

The townhouse has just been newly furnished and sports fabulous original wide plank heart of pine floors throughout. Two bedrooms upstairs with queen beds, private baths for both. A small balcony from the master bedroom with view of the fountain. New kitchen with top of the line appliances. There is a queen sleep sofa in the living room with use of half bath.

When you enquire please let me know how your group is made up singles, children, couples and the age range..Thank you..this allows me to except the booking request more quickly.

The townhouse works nicely for two couples. ....When you enquire please let me know how your group is made, children,couples ...and age range please...Helps me except your booking faster. Thanks

Keywords: Town House, location,

More Details


Historic Old City Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(232 traveler reviews)

97% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lodge Alley - Downtown Historic District - Incredible Location
average rating of 4.9784484 based on 232 reviews

Christmas in Charleston

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we opened the door we felt at home! The home is very well appointed and we wanted for nothing. The location is perfect. It’s just a quick walk to anywhere. Great restaurants, dessert bars, the market and museums. You can’t go wrong with this gem! The home is very clean - spotless really. They are clearly lucky to have Carolyn. The owners were timely with refund as well. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again. We just loved it.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are lucky to have Carolyn.. she is a sweet heart!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

would like to have same accomodations when visiting Charleston again

  • 5 of 5

enjoyed the accommodations . All that was needed was available.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming, convenient

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay over New Years weekend at Lodge Alley very much. The townhouse is lovely, very well appointed and comfortable. It was a chilly weekend so we especially loved the fireplace. The only disappointment was the parking, or lack of it. Parking in the municipal lot was a bit of a pain, especially when we needed the car during the day. We ended up paying $20 per day.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have just checked the price on the gov site for Charleston City parking...and the parking garage we recommend cumberland /concord is still $16 dollars a day...and only 2-3 min walk away from our home. Most of our guests park the car and don't need it again until they leave..because we have such an ideal location. The best restaurants under a block away , the city market one block away, the water park two blocks away. The Battery 2-3 blocks away, carriage rides 2 blocks away...King street for shopping 10 min walk away. We really are in the best location for most everything Charleston has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mont Belvieu


  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place to stay. It was in the perfect location and we were able to walk everywhere. East Bay restaurants literally steps away. The townhome was very accommodating; comfortable beds and we absolutely loved the fireplace. It was not very warm but loved the ambiance. We turned it on every evening after being out in the chilly weather. We’d definitely recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charleston Wedding

  • 5 of 5

Loved this condo. The location was GREAT! The accommodations were even better. The owners have thought of your every need. I definitely recommend this condo for your visit to Charleston.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The second time we have stayed at 76 Lodge Alley, as it the best place in all of the Historic District

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018


We live and work on Martha's Vineyard, MA

We both would love to spend more time in Charleston, but work gets in the way. We have to pay the mortgage!!! So we thought we would share our special home with you our guests.

We are so lucky to have Carolyn our housekeeper who takes care of the house for us , she keeps it sparkling in between our guests visits.

SHARON JOHNSON purchased this townhome in 2007

Why SHARON JOHNSON chose Historic Old City

Charleston is such a wonderful small city......Charming people, History, Great Restaurants and always something fun going on in the city year round.

What makes this townhome unique

Location,Location,Location.....We walk to everything! Our home is so close to some of the very best restaurants in the city..... we are in the Historic French quarter...which is just amazing to walk around...or take a carriage only a block away...walk the market also a block away. The Battery 3 min walk..where the largest homes along the water are. We meant it Location , Location, Location.


Nearest Restaurant
High Cotton
Car: not necessary

Location can't be the guest reviews to see! Our guests love that they are so close to everything, Restaurants,Waterfront, Shops. You really don't need a car....Parking garage's 2 min walk away. Seriously the best!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.5%

3 Nts min....unless we have 2 nights space between existing rentals...please enquire. Thanks

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties