Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Venetian Honeymoon Suite Right on the Grand Canal

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Description of bedroom suite: Bedroom with bathroom on the ground (Canal) floor, with two double windows directly onto the Grand Canal; the wavelets lap six feet beneath the windows! Outside the very private, locked bedroom suite there is a foyer area where guests may sit and even leave luggage--next to which a Canal door opens onto a dock on the Grand Canal. At the back, a garden/courtyard and a large entrance hallway are at the disposal of guests. Please note that when owners or their friends are staying in the separate upstairs apartment (they are not always there), they will use the foyer for access to the dock and boat, and the back garden/courtyard as well. Television, wireless internet, refrigerator, microwave, electric kettle are available. There is no kitchen however or real kitchen facilities.

Description of site: the apartment is located in a Palazzo in the most exclusive area of Venice in San Marco, and faces onto the Grand Canal. A very popular family cafe-restaurant is one minute from the front gate of the Palazzo where an excellent breakfast as well as the other meals are available. While it is very practical for all communications, located two minutes between two Vaporetto stops (Sant'Angelo and San Samuele) and one minute from a traghetto stop (to cross the Canal), within three minutes to the elegant San Stefano square and ten minutes walk to the Rialto, it is well out of the tourist flow and very quiet and peaceful.

NB All correspondence regarding rental must take place through listed email address for your own security!

Keywords: apartment - suite

More Details

Owner
Marie-Helene
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian, greek
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2017

About Marie-Helene

I am a novelist, half a dozen books, travelling between Paris, Venice and Panama. I also show my graphic work throughout Europe.

Marie-Helene purchased this apartment in 2001

Why Marie-Helene chose Venice

I spend not just 'vacations' here but throughout the year. Venice is one of the few cities which can really be called 'unique'; beauty walks with you throughout the city. Peace, beauty, delight.

What makes this apartment unique

From our windows I watch Venice sail down the Grand Canal; I can hop over to almost any part of the town by boat when I so wish, as well as get out to the delightful little islands which pepper the laguna. Peaceful in the midst of a much-visited place, because our house is out of the tourist paths but in the center of everything at the same time!

Amenities

San Polo Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • bath/ shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • swimming
Notes:
for arrivals after 10pm an extra charge of 10 Euros and after midnight an extra charge of 20 Euros to be paid direct to caretaker.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(67 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
14% Complete
1% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Venetian Honeymoon Suite Right on the Grand Canal
average rating of 4.7313433 based on 67 reviews
5

Wonderfully unforgettable!!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite during our first ever visit to Venice and first stop in Italy, and to say it was just wonderful would be an understatement. The location of the apartment was incredible, and really gave us a taste of Venetian living! Our favourite part was sitting out on the dock and watching the boats and gondolas go by with the ancient backdrop made up of the beautiful Venetian architecture. You could even see the Rialto bridge from the dock. We also loved the location for it's proximity to Venice's famous sites and also to the less touristy areas where the locals live. Plenty of great restaurants, cafes and shops close by including a wine shop, pharmacy and grocer with cheese and meats. Marie-Helene was so amazingly helpful with getting us set up prior to our arrival and made us feel very welcome during our stay. We found that the common area is shared with the tenants above and only had the bedroom completely to ourselves, however that wouldn't stop us from staying here again, as we still felt like we had privacy. Thank you for this unforgettable experience!!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. You were wonderful guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in Venice. The location on the canal provided a great view and a relaxing time. Property was clean and well furnished. We were met after we got off the water bus which was very helpful in finding the property.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

Excellent place to stay. The reason for only 4 stars is that the host did not provide good directions from the dock to the Apartment. The host should greet guests at the dock, then walk them to the apartment. After a long flight, the last thing you want and can do is navigate the streets and canal bridges. This is an easy fix, but one that needs to be done.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am really surprised by this comment! we ask guests to call the caretaker from the vapretto or taxi so he can meet them at the dock or at the vaporetto stop. We also give detailed direction just in case there is any problem. Venice is complicated but the alilaguna stop is only 5 minutes away and we do say it is straight ahead from the boat and then three right turns after that so it hard to go wrong.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Location !!!

  • 5 of 5

The location was excellent !! You could not ask for a better spot. The street is quiet and located in a beautiful building. There is a phenomenal restaurant practically outside the front door. A few markets with meet, cheese, fresh fruit and sweets also close. The street that leads to the apartment is lined with galleries and charming shops. Venice has 30 million tourists a year, the entire city is crowded. But this small apartment was a sanctuary. The room is small but in Europe it even a hotel room will be small. St Marks was a 10 min walk. We took a taxi from the airport and arrive right at the apartment. Marie-Helene was always quick to reply and accommodating. I highly recommend this rental !!!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review, it was such a pleasure to have you as our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Exactly as described

  • 4 of 5

The downstate honeymoon suite as the owners call it is exactly as described. It is a compact private room with a nice size bathroom. The water pressure isn't great but there's plenty of hot water. It's reasonably clean but its carpeted and the walls have a fabric covering so probably hard to do a good sanitizing. It's pretty humid in Venice and as such a bit damp. There's a portable air conditioner that works to dehumidify though its pretty noisy. The unit has access to an outdoor garden area and a sitting area with couches that is shared walk through space for the other unit.

Unfortunately the owners were not home during our visit. They seem to be very nice people based on other reviews and the communications we had via emails.The refrigerator did not work during our stay which was an inconvenience but I'm told that has been rectified. If you are arriving by train with lots of luggage, the number 2 vaporetto san Samuel stop is the best as there's no bridges between the vaporetto station and the apartment. The number 1 vaporetto stop s angelo is a bit closer but there are stairs to deal with at two bridges. We used the alilaguna to get to the airport. It onlt cost 30 euro vs about 120 euro by water taxi. This unit is good value for the money and location.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was sorry for this inconvenience in their stay. The air conditioner was reinstalled before their arrival and unfortunately the refrigerator plug was put in the socket that only works when the lights are on. Our caretaker tried to rearrange the plugs but didn't really understand the system and only told me about the problem the next day. Luckily it's all back working perfectly. My apologies go out to these quests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful step out to the Grand Canal

  • 5 of 5

This cute little place is right on the Grand Canal. It is very charming and in a great location with walking distance to many sites. We were able to sit on the deck and watch the boats and gondolas go by. The wifi was very weak and didn't really work but the place itself is great. Thankfully they also had an umbrella there for us to use!

  • Submitted: May 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A delightful couple i was sorry not to see them more. So glad they enjoyed their stay and so sorry the weather was rather cool. I forgot to tell them to turn the computer off and on to get a good connection but maybe that wasn't the problem. It is true the Wifi is rather weak in the bedroom but there is no problem in the foyer, or on the front deck and and garden area. Perhaps they were using the Venice connect which is a system that covers the whole of Venice for free and can be used in cafes. We have our own internet for the suite as the Venice one does get overloaded.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
san marco
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
lido
Nearest Point of Interest
Honeymoon Suite

The bedroom suite--it consists of a bedroom + bathroom-- view from 2 large windows and through two large glass doors, is the dock in the front of the suite which is on the Grand Canal; this is a highly valued feature on the Grand Canal, perfect for having an evening cocktail or water taxi pick-up! The dock is of course exclusive to our property!

Photos

Rates & Availability

San Polo Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$247
$1,409
$3,523
 

Additional information about rental rates

To stay one night the charge is slightly higher --230 euros as a posed to 210 Payment by Paypal and accepted credit cards only

paypal

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties