Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Breeze Hideaway: Gorgeous 2-Bedroom Oceanfront Condo Steps from beach

Bedrooms 2
Space 885 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Queen sofa sleeper in living room,, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Soak up the spectacular ocean, mountain and sunset views at our gorgeous, two bedroom two bath oceanfront condo on the sunny Kihei coast. Wake up to the sound of the ocean as the morning sun lights up the West Maui Mountains. Enjoy stunning views from your living room, bedroom and private lanai. Take in the magical Kahalawai Mountains, and watch wind and kite surfers as well as stand up paddle boarders, Maui's dramatic sunsets, and, at night, the lights of Maalaea Harbor. In winter months, Humpback whales frolicking in the ocean can be seen from your lanai. We are just steps from the beach, and visitors can swim safely in the protected ancient King's pond that fronts the condo.

Our non-smoking ground floor condo is perfect for couples or families, as well as the elderly or infirm. . There is a queen size bed in the master bedroom, twin beds (which can be made into a king) in the second bedroom and a queen size sofa sleeper in the living room. The kitchen is completely remodeled and fully equipped, and also has filtered water. There is cable TV and DVD player in the living room, with fast and free wi-fi. All linens are provided, including beach towels. For your time at the beach, there are beach toys, cooler, umbrella and beach chairs.

Menehune Shores has immaculately maintained grounds, with a solar heated pool, shuffleboard court and outdoor barbecue grills. More barbecues, picnic tables and spectacular 360 degree ocean and mountain views are accessible on the rooftop garden.


Hawaii Tax ID#: W40920964-01

Keywords: condo, condominium, vacation rental, apartment, oceanfront, oceanview, ground floor,family rental, Maui, Hawaii

More Details

Sande Greene
Member since: 1996
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018

About Sande Greene

Aloha and welcome to Maui! We are your hosts, Sande and Bob. We are celebrating seventeen years at Ocean Breeze Hideaway! We thank all of our guests from around the world for contributing so much to our lives.

We have lived in Hawaii for twenty six years and take special pleasure in creating an environment that will enhance your well-being and relaxation. We are available to answer questions and direct you to the finest restaurants, secret spots, a relaxing massage, or whatever your heart desires.We are happy to share our love of this island with you.

Sande Greene purchased this condo in 1999

Why Sande Greene chose Kihei

The exquisite and peaceful ground floor oceanfront location, just steps from the beach as well as the perfect place to watch the spectacular Maui sunsets, and, additionally, the ancient Hawaiian fishpond, sold us on this condo's location. We began coming to Maui in the 70s, always staying in this same area, out of the bustle of Kihei, yet centrally located. We love this area so much that our Maui home for the past seventeen years is 5 minutes from the condo. Unlike most condo owners who live on the mainland, we live on this beautiful island. We are nearby, available to answer your questions.

What makes this condo unique

Beautiful oceanfront sunset view; ground floor access to beach, oceanfront pool (heated) and gas barbecues oceanside, as well as on the roof with 360 degree view, located on an ancient Hawaiian fishpond; 2 shuffleboards, just a short walk to Maui's longest beach for an early morning or sunset walk, easy access to many beautiful beaches, great restaurants and shops. This is a non-smoking condo. Ceiling fans in the living room and bedrooms keep our guests comfortable. There are no roads or buildings, just the spectacular ocean view from our unit. Our condo's location is perfect for families, two couples, and is suitable for the elderly or infirm. Twin beds in the second bedroom can be made into a king bed. Wireless internet is fast and free. Enjoy watching the turtles, and the rainbows. Humpback whales can be seen from the condo December to April. Located 20 minutes from the airport, close to the Maui Ocean Center, Ma'alaea Harbor, Wailea, Lahaina and 'Iao Valley.


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 885 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Second Bath - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Second Bedroom - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 2 twins that can be made into a king
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size sofa sleeper
  • One queen-size bed in the master bedroom. Two twin beds in second bedroom can be made into a king-size bed. One queen sofa sleeper in the living room.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Beach towels, cooler, umbrella, beach chairs, non-smoking, ceiling fans


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(52 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Breeze Hideaway: Gorgeous 2-Bedroom Oceanfront Condo Steps from beach
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 52 reviews


  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place to stay! Thank you, Sande and Bob, for sharing this great condo with us. The location was ideal - just steps from a sandy beach and ancient fish pond. Also easy access to central Kihei and the Wailea beaches while remaining out of the bustling crowds. The condo itself was quite roomy. Kitchen was incredibly well-stocked (the rice cooker nailed it for me). All the beach gear one could need was also provided. You really thought of everything! Thanks again! We will be back 😀�

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo, Tamara, for your kind review of our oceanfront condo. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect for families, great location, clean, well stocked!

  • 5 of 5

This place is amazing! The condo is in a great location, a beautifully maintained resort with beautiful views. There is a lot to see and do in the town of Kihei. We especially loved the protected beach area (with man made break water of rocks)... our two small kids could wade out as far as they wanted. The condo itself was immaculately kept and extremely well stocked. We loved being able to walk right out the back door on to the grassy area and shuffleboard court. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santee, California

Great view! Looks like a postcard!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a week in this lovely condo! It was clean and nicely appointed to meet our every need. Bed - comfy! We ate all our meals here, except one. We so enjoyed the beautiful views off the patio and master bedroom. It was actually breezier and cooler than we anticipated the first couple of days, but warmed up to perfect the rest of our stay. We enjoyed the proximity to the beach (steps away). The grounds are very well kept up and we enjoyed a few rounds of shuffleboard as well as strolls up and down the beach both ways. Having beach chairs and towels there that we could use was really nice. There is a Humpback Whale Sanctuary and Visitor center just down the beach a ways that we really enjoyed. Wished we would have brought our binoculars to more closely view the whales that frequent this shoreline in the winter months. The free presentation on Tuesday morning was fascinating! We learned so much! Next time we'll go out and see them up close.

The owner, Sande was delightful to communicate with. She promptly answered my questions before our visit and gave us a welcome call upon arrival. We wouldn't hesitate to return to this lovely spot.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for this great review! Thanks so much for taking such good care of the condo. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the amenities that we've put into making this a clean and comfortable home away from home for our guests. Next time we'd be more than happy to arrange a whale watch during your stay! Mahalo again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing condo! Will definitely be back!

  • 5 of 5

I don't think there is a bad area to stay in on Maui, but I can't say enough good things about this condo. The location is far enough from the busier part of Kihei that you do get a more tranquil setting, yet it's close enough that everything you need is within a few minute's drive. Loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves at night, and even though this is very much a family complex, it was always quiet and no issues at night with noise. Fantastic beaches are right outside, and having the ground floor unit really made it easy to come and go. The grounds are immaculate and there are a lot of amenities to cater to all tastes. The Hawaiian fish pond right out back of the building was fabulous for snorkelling, with lots of turtles and tropical fish around the rocks. One BIG note of caution - there are a lot of sea urchins in the rocks in the pond, and the rocks are pretty rough, so water shoes or fins would be recommended if straying from the sandy areas. Those urchins would absolutely ruin your vacation if you stepped on one. The inside of the condo itself was very comfortable, with plenty of seating and large bedrooms and bathrooms. I was worried about there not being air conditioning in the unit, but with the front and rear doors/windows open and the ceiling fans on, the temperature was perfect. The kitchen and bathrooms are fully stocked with everything you need and more. Tip : do a full inventory of the bathroom and kitchen cupboards, medicine cabinet, and fridge. We found loads of toiletries, condiments, and other supplies that we bought that were already there from previous guests. Overall, a fantastic experience and I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. I'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your great review and description of our oceanfront condo offers the promise of an enjoyable, peaceful vacation. We love that the condo is steps from the beach, and that listening to the waves at night makes for a wonderful way to fall asleep! We recently upgraded all the furniture, and air conditioning, for those who prefer it, will be installed in May.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Turn Key and Exceptional

  • 5 of 5

This is not a corporate investment property whereby once they have your money they have little or no interest in your enjoyment of the unit. The owners are longstanding owners of a licensed B&B a few blocks away, and have purposefully created this oasis with love and attention to detail. The kitchen is completely set up with staples and all cooking equipment. There are beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and snorkel equipment for your use (no, you don't have to rent it) - even beach bags. The linen closet contains beach towels, extra pillows (there are already plenty!) sheets and bath towels. The washer dryer are new and worked great. All the furniture is comfy (nothing is shoddy) so we were able to completely relax and we slept like babies with the ocean breeze. We so enjoyed the view from the condo and the patio and the nightly sunset show right from the patio. The unit is clean, so comfortable and quiet. The complex itself is well managed and cared for. The pool was beautiful as were the grounds. The beach adjacent to the property to the south is perfect for a am/pm stroll and the water all up and down was clear blue and gorgeous - full of turtles. Many a.m. snorklers and paddleboards. Is located .5 mi or so to grocery, pharmacy and gas and many restaurants - take your pick of the best seafood at reasonable prices. Centrally located on island - easy to get anywhere. Our only complaint: we had to leave! Truly felt like a home away from home. Sande and Bob are available to help with anything you need. Look no further.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui loa for this wonderful, carefully thought out and detailed review! Reviews such as this are so rewarding, for our heart's desire is to share our love for Maui and our oceanfront condo with our guests. Prior to moving to the islands, 25 years ago, we vacationed on Maui many times. While we always enjoyed our stay, we thought about items that we wished were included in the vacation rental. When we were fortunate enough to find this condo, we thoroughly enjoyed (and continue to enjoy), furnishing the unit with all the little touches that truly make it feel like a home away from home. Thank you again for your kind review, and we hope you will return.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great Location in Kihei !

  • 4 of 5

Right on the beach, beautiful well kept property, easy check in owners keep you well informed of checkin/out procedures. Wish we were told before booking that the pool was closed. A little far from restaurants and activities to walk but if you have a car it's okay. House is not very clean, could use a good cleaning and updating but everything is there you need and working well. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again just would hope it would be cleaner next time.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return. We do call our new guests to welcome them and see if they have any questions. After leaving a voicemail for this guest we would have appreciated a call back if there was an issue with the cleanliness of the condo, and it would have been taken care of immediately. It is very surprising to receive a complaint about our condo's cleanliness, as our housekeeper keeps the unit in impeccable shape. Our condo was updated last year with new flooring thoroughout, new living room furniture, dishwasher, bed in master bedroom and new bedding.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Kahului (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Expeditions, in Lahaina
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Elleair Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 31
Nearest Restaurant
Monsoon India on the premises
Nearest Beach
Kalepolepo Beach Park, steps from your condo
Car: necessary

Whale watching, outrigger canoeing, waterfalls, hiking, paddleboarding, kiteboarding, Hawaiian music, art galleries, concerts, Hula dancing, luaus




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $145 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

$75.00 cancellation charge on all confirmed bookings. No refund if cancelled less than 60 days prior to arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties