Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Breeze Hideaway: Gorgeous 2-Bedroom Oceanfront Condo Steps from beach

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 880 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Queen sofa sleeper in living room,, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Soak up the spectacular ocean, mountain and sunset views at our gorgeous, two bedroom two bath oceanfront condo on the sunny Kihei coast. Wake up to the sound of the ocean as the morning sun lights up the West Maui Mountains. Enjoy stunning views from your living room, bedroom and private lanai. Take in the magical Kahalawai Mountains, and watch wind and kite surfers as well as stand up paddle boarders, Maui's dramatic sunsets, and, at night, the lights of Maalaea Harbor. In winter months, Humpback whales frolicking in the ocean can be seen from your lanai. We are just steps from the beach, and visitors can swim safely in the protected ancient King's pond that fronts the condo.

Our non-smoking ground floor condo is perfect for couples or families, as well as the elderly or infirm. . There is a queen size bed in the master bedroom, twin beds (which can be made into a king) in the second bedroom and a queen size sofa sleeper in the living room. The kitchen is completely remodeled and fully equipped, and also has filtered water. There is cable TV and DVD player in the living room, with fast and free wi-fi. All linens are provided, including beach towels. For your time at the beach, there are beach toys, cooler, umbrella and beach chairs.

Menehune Shores has immaculately maintained grounds, with a solar heated pool, shuffleboard court and outdoor barbecue grills. More barbecues, picnic tables and spectacular 360 degree ocean and mountain views are accessible on the rooftop garden.

This is a NON-SMOKING UNIT.

Hawaii Tax ID#: W40920964-01

Keywords: condo, condominium, vacation rental, apartment, oceanfront, oceanview, ground floor,family rental, Maui, Hawaii

More Details

Owner
Sande Greene
Member since: 1996
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2017

About Sande Greene

Aloha and welcome to Maui! We are your hosts, Sande and Bob. We are celebrating seventeen years at Ocean Breeze Hideaway! We thank all of our guests from around the world for contributing so much to our lives.

We have lived in Hawaii for twenty six years and take special pleasure in creating an environment that will enhance your well-being and relaxation. We are available to answer questions and direct you to the finest restaurants, secret spots, a relaxing massage, or whatever your heart desires.We are happy to share our love of this island with you.

Sande Greene purchased this condo in 1999

Why Sande Greene chose Kihei

The exquisite and peaceful ground floor oceanfront location, just steps from the beach as well as the perfect place to watch the spectacular Maui sunsets, and, additionally, the ancient Hawaiian fishpond, sold us on this condo's location. We began coming to Maui in the 70s, always staying in this same area, out of the bustle of Kihei, yet centrally located. We love this area so much that our Maui home for the past seventeen years is 5 minutes from the condo. Unlike most condo owners who live on the mainland, we live on this beautiful island. We are nearby, available to answer your questions.

What makes this condo unique

Beautiful oceanfront sunset view; ground floor access to beach, oceanfront pool (heated) and gas barbecues oceanside, as well as on the roof with 360 degree view, located on an ancient Hawaiian fishpond; 2 shuffleboards, just a short walk to Maui's longest beach for an early morning or sunset walk, easy access to many beautiful beaches, great restaurants and shops. This is a non-smoking condo. Ceiling fans in the living room and bedrooms keep our guests comfortable. There are no roads or buildings, just the spectacular ocean view from our unit. Our condo's location is perfect for families, two couples, and is suitable for the elderly or infirm. Twin beds in the second bedroom can be made into a king bed. Wireless internet is fast and free. Enjoy watching the turtles, and the rainbows. Humpback whales can be seen from the condo December to April. Located 20 minutes from the airport, close to the Maui Ocean Center, Ma'alaea Harbor, Wailea, Lahaina and 'Iao Valley.

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 880 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Second Bath - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Second Bedroom - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 2 twins that can be made into a king
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size sofa sleeper
  • One queen-size bed in the master bedroom. Two twin beds in second bedroom can be made into a king-size bed. One queen sofa sleeper in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach towels, cooler, umbrella, beach chairs, non-smoking, ceiling fans

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Breeze Hideaway: Gorgeous 2-Bedroom Oceanfront Condo Steps from beach
average rating of 4.836735 based on 49 reviews
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place to stay! Thank you, Sande and Bob, for sharing this great condo with us. The location was ideal - just steps from a sandy beach and ancient fish pond. Also easy access to central Kihei and the Wailea beaches while remaining out of the bustling crowds. The condo itself was quite roomy. Kitchen was incredibly well-stocked (the rice cooker nailed it for me). All the beach gear one could need was also provided. You really thought of everything! Thanks again! We will be back 😀�

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo, Tamara, for your kind review of our oceanfront condo. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Turn Key and Exceptional

  • 5 of 5

This is not a corporate investment property whereby once they have your money they have little or no interest in your enjoyment of the unit. The owners are longstanding owners of a licensed B&B a few blocks away, and have purposefully created this oasis with love and attention to detail. The kitchen is completely set up with staples and all cooking equipment. There are beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and snorkel equipment for your use (no, you don't have to rent it) - even beach bags. The linen closet contains beach towels, extra pillows (there are already plenty!) sheets and bath towels. The washer dryer are new and worked great. All the furniture is comfy (nothing is shoddy) so we were able to completely relax and we slept like babies with the ocean breeze. We so enjoyed the view from the condo and the patio and the nightly sunset show right from the patio. The unit is clean, so comfortable and quiet. The complex itself is well managed and cared for. The pool was beautiful as were the grounds. The beach adjacent to the property to the south is perfect for a am/pm stroll and the water all up and down was clear blue and gorgeous - full of turtles. Many a.m. snorklers and paddleboards. Is located .5 mi or so to grocery, pharmacy and gas and many restaurants - take your pick of the best seafood at reasonable prices. Centrally located on island - easy to get anywhere. Our only complaint: we had to leave! Truly felt like a home away from home. Sande and Bob are available to help with anything you need. Look no further.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui loa for this wonderful, carefully thought out and detailed review! Reviews such as this are so rewarding, for our heart's desire is to share our love for Maui and our oceanfront condo with our guests. Prior to moving to the islands, 25 years ago, we vacationed on Maui many times. While we always enjoyed our stay, we thought about items that we wished were included in the vacation rental. When we were fortunate enough to find this condo, we thoroughly enjoyed (and continue to enjoy), furnishing the unit with all the little touches that truly make it feel like a home away from home. Thank you again for your kind review, and we hope you will return.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Location in Kihei !

  • 4 of 5

Right on the beach, beautiful well kept property, easy check in owners keep you well informed of checkin/out procedures. Wish we were told before booking that the pool was closed. A little far from restaurants and activities to walk but if you have a car it's okay. House is not very clean, could use a good cleaning and updating but everything is there you need and working well. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again just would hope it would be cleaner next time.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return. We do call our new guests to welcome them and see if they have any questions. After leaving a voicemail for this guest we would have appreciated a call back if there was an issue with the cleanliness of the condo, and it would have been taken care of immediately. It is very surprising to receive a complaint about our condo's cleanliness, as our housekeeper keeps the unit in impeccable shape. Our condo was updated last year with new flooring thoroughout, new living room furniture, dishwasher, bed in master bedroom and new bedding.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Best possible location in Kihei, wonderful condo, wonderful owners!

  • 5 of 5

First I have to say that Sande and Bob are the greatest! The condo is super comfortable and is well stocked with stuff for the beach (masks, snorkels, boogie boards, towels, sand toys, even a bag to carry all your stuff and coolers for your picnics) as well as with a fully appointed kitchen. They provide you with starter supply of paper towels, dish and laundry soap and toilet paper so you can jump right in to enjoying your vacation! (and when I hurt my foot on the beach, Bob came right over with a brand new first aid kit!)

The condo complex is right on the ocean and the picture on the listing is exactly what the view looks like. The beach in front is an ancient fish pond, built 500 years ago by the Hawaiians and updated by hand in 1997. Not only is it historically and culturally cool, it provides a great shore break so the beach has shallow, mostly wave free swimming. I was up at dawn every morning and went in by myself to go look at the family of sea turtles that come into the pond to rest in shallows and sun themselves on the rocks of the shore break.

The beds are really comfortable and the condo is quite possibly the cleanest place we've ever stayed!

My family is definitely planning on coming back and staying here again and again!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great review! It's very gratifying to have such wonderful guests who love the location and the oceanfront view, and who appreciate the details we put into the condo, making it super clean and comfortable. We love to provide convenient extras such as snorkels, boogie boards, ice chests, beach chairs and beach towels. Many of our guests love to return to our condo for the oceanfront view and being steps away from the beach. We feel extremely grateful to be sharing this amazing vacation spot.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

It truly is as wonderful as it appears!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 10 great days in this condo. It was perfect for two grandparents, 2 kids and my husband and myself. As we entered and I immediately walked to see our view it was just as the pictures -AMAZING!!

The unit came fully equipped with beach toys (snorkel equipment, towels, coolers, chairs, umbrellas, floaties, boogie boards) this saved a lot of hassle of renting and allowed us to really do what we wanted- visit a different beach everyday.

I chose this unti because it was on the ground floor and that really paid off. The kids (well we all) played a ton of shuffle board, had quick access to the pool, BBQ, and unloading of our adventures from the car.

The condo is located in a great location of Kihei that seemed in the center of everything. Nothing was too far.

The afternoons really did kick up with winds which occurs everywhere- however this allowed for even better naps.

We even had a chair break during our stay- I emailed the owners and they had a new one to us the next day.

This place is truly a gem and I contemplated the type of review to leave so our family could enjoy it again in the future without others knowing the amazingness that it offers! What a perfect condo for our families first trip to Maui!!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your great review! The condo's location does make for an awesome view. We're so happy you found our unit so inviting, comfortable and fully equipped. We've put a lot of effort into creating this home away from home, exactly as we would want a vacation home, for our guests. It is so gratifying to read this review. Thank you again, and we look forward to your family's return.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Place In Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Myself, husband and 2 girls (15 and 17) had stayed at this condo from June 17 to 27 and I can't wait to go back again! We have stayed at a few VRBO homes in the US and Canada and this one is our favourite! This is myself and husband's second time to the island and first for our girls. I found the location was great! Central to where you wish to explore Maui! Right on the sea and the girls had a great time snorkelling in the ancient fish pond and seeing turtles there! There was lots of snorkel and beach gear available to use! Loved the layout of the condo! The girls felt like they had there own space from us!! Teens!! Beds were super comfortable! Loved how Sande and Bob had starter supplies of the essentials so you didn't have to hit a grocery store after getting off the plane! Grounds were kept tidy and manicured! Lovely little spots on the grounds for family photos! Sandy and Bob were so wonderful and professional hosts! Thanks again for the Father's Day and birthday greetings! Any questions were answered straight away! I will be recommending this condo to anyone I know visiting Maui! Thank you again Sande and Bob!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Mahalo for your kind, detailed and well thought out review! We're so happy you and your family enjoyed staying at our little piece of paradise! We look forward to your return, and thank you so much for referring others to our oceanfront condo! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Kahului (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
On-site
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Expeditions, in Lahaina
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Elleair Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 31
Nearest Restaurant
Monsoon India on the premises
Nearest Beach
Kalepolepo Beach Park, steps from your condo
Car: necessary

Whale watching, outrigger canoeing, waterfalls, hiking, paddleboarding, kiteboarding, Hawaiian music, art galleries, concerts, Hula dancing, luaus

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $145 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

$75.00 cancellation charge on all confirmed bookings. No refund if cancelled less than 60 days prior to arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund