Entire home

Skytop Retreat - Spectacular 50 mile Views! Pet friendly, hot tub, arcade

Photo gallery for Skytop Retreat - Spectacular 50 mile Views! Pet friendly, hot tub, arcade

A spacious living room with a stone fireplace, comfortable seating, and large windows offering a view.
A stone house with a sloped roof, a garage, and a driveway.
A bedroom with a large bed, wooden ceiling, a window with a view, and two bedside lamps.
A spacious living room with a stone fireplace, a dining area, and a bedroom with a large bed and window.
A kitchen with a large island, wooden cabinets, stainless steel appliances, and a view of the mountains.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • Garage parking available
    Enjoy the convenience of garage parking - a rare offering in the area.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Pisgah National Forest

Popular amenities

  • Hot tub on site
  • Patio
  • Barbecue grill
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air conditioning
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View in a map
Blowing Rock, NC
  • Place, Appalachian Ski Mountain
    ‪20 min drive‬
  • Place, The Blowing Rock
    ‪21 min drive‬
  • Place, Tweetsie Railroad
    ‪22 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

King bedroom

1 King Bed

Primary King Bedroom

1 King Bed

Queen bed in private loft

1 Queen Bed

Queen bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Queen bedroom

1 Queen Bed

5 bathrooms

Lower Level Bonus Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Lower Level King Ensuite

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Lower Level Queen Ensuite

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Main Level Bath

Toilet · Shower only

Primary Ensuite

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the neighborhood

Blowing Rock

Located in Blowing Rock, this vacation home is in a rural area and near theme parks. Sugar Mountain Resort and Hawksnest Tubing Park are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Grandfather Mountain and The Blowing Rock. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's happening at Blowing Rock Auditorium or Kidd Brewer Stadium. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or check out other outdoor activities such as ice skating and sledding.
Map
Blowing Rock, NC

What's nearby

  • Grandfather Mountain - 12 min drive - 14.1 km
  • Sugar Mountain Resort - 20 min drive - 26.3 km
  • Appalachian Ski Mountain - 20 min drive - 28.3 km
  • The Blowing Rock - 21 min drive - 26.1 km
  • Tweetsie Railroad - 22 min drive - 30.4 km

Getting around

  • Tri-Cities, TN (TRI-Tri-Cities Regional) - 90 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Mountain Dog Coffee - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬18 min drive
  • ‪Puerto Nuevo - ‬21 min drive
  • ‪Bella's Neighborhood Italian Restaurant - ‬20 min drive
  • ‪Tartan Restaurant - ‬13 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Skytop Retreat - Spectacular 50 mile Views! Pet friendly, hot tub, arcade pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Skytop Retreat - Spectacular 50 mile Views! Pet friendly, hot tub, arcade?

As of Oct 28, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Skytop Retreat - Spectacular 50 mile Views! Pet friendly, hot tub, arcade on Nov 8, 2026 start from $967, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking?

Onsite parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Skytop Retreat - Spectacular 50 mile Views! Pet friendly, hot tub, arcade?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Skytop Retreat - Spectacular 50 mile Views! Pet friendly, hot tub, arcade?

Check-out is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Skytop Retreat - Spectacular 50 mile Views! Pet friendly, hot tub, arcade located?

Situated in the mountains, this vacation home is 0.6 mi (1 km) from Pisgah National Forest and within 9 mi (15 km) of Julian Price Park and Price Lake. Moses H. Cone Memorial Park and Grandfather Mountain State Park are also within 9 mi (15 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 13 out of 19 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 5 out of 19 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 19 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 19 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 19 reviews

9.8/10

Cleanliness

9.0/10

Check-in

9.2/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

wonderful!

We had a great visit in this gorgeous house! the views are amazing
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Feb 2, 2022
Thank you so much! Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

BR vacay

The house was extremely well equipped, especially the kitchen. The views from the minute you walk in are spectacular... The house was lovely. My family and I had a wonderful time. Thank you very much for providing such an incredible piece of property...
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 18, 2025
Thank you! Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Skytop Retreat… amazing views

Fantastic property with unparalleled views. We had a very relaxing vacation. The property is close to Blowing Rock, but also at the gateway to Linville. We loved it.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 3, 2023
Thank you! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

SkyTop Retreat

Amazing home, incomparable views, don't risk not having a 4WD. We will miss this home!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 25, 2022
Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing house with amazing views!

Probably one of the most well appointed homes we’ve rented. Tough side road on the way to the house but 100% worth it. Rental company was efficient and great to work with. Highly recommend.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Mar 30, 2023
Thank you so much! Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Breathtaking Views

The property exceeded our expectations and the pictures do not do it justice. The views from every room were stunning. The house was exceptionally clean and stocked with anything you need. Four wheel drive is definitely a bonus since the road to the house is not paved. We will most certainly stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 21, 2022
Thank you so much! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Excellent stay in Blowing Rock

We had an excellent time at this property. It was gorgeous, spacious, super clean, cozy, and incredibly well appointed. Since we were traveling with a 2 year old, we’d hoped to do a fair amount of cooking in the home and we were beyond thrilled to see how well appointed the kitchen was - truly everything we needed was there! The views are breathtaking and the house is so comfortable and inviting. It is a little far out and kind of tough to get to (4wd is definitely a plus, the roads in the neighborhood are STEEP) but 20 min outside of BR and Linville made getting out and doing things fairly easy. We’d absolutely stay here again!
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Nov 30, 2021
Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway! We'd love to have you back again! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Travel Crew Winter Vacay

This property was absolutely beautiful!! The pictures do not do it justice. The views from every room were incredible. The place was super clean and the kitchen had every kind of pot or pan or gadget you needed to cook pretty much anything. We would highly recommend this place if you have a large family. We were 5 couples and each couple had their own bedroom space and their own bathroom. The fireplaces were great and the heat worked very well! The house is also stocked with plenty of games even an arcade game. We had a great time in this house and we will definitely be back! Remember to make sure you have 4 wheel drive if you visit in winter. It was snowing quite a bit while we were there and we were glad we had the 4 wheel drive.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Jan 18, 2021
Thank you! We are so pleased that you had a great time and found the home well stocked! We'd love to have you back again! - BRMR
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in
Clean, beautiful view. We found it in the dark but it wasn’t terribly easy. One of the final turns had an inaccurate road sign. I rented a 4 wheel drive jeep, although a plain ‘ol hybrid Honda SUV navigated the gravel road/driveway just fine albeit no rain or snow hindering our journey. Our plane was late so arriving past 10:30 wasted the check in day…adding insult to injury, the code BlueRidge gave us didn’t work…we stood outside well over half an hour on phone with Emergency Contact trying to access the house. Not fun late at night and frustrating given Blue Ridge’s strict rules & policies applied to guests…and yet they can screw up like that while collecting full fair. Luckily no bears were running around while 8 young and older women are all standing around in the dark waiting on a code that worked.
Sunrise
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 17, 2025
We hope you enjoyed your stay overall, and we are glad our after hours team could be of help! We are sharing your feedback with our team, and we'd love to have you visit anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, location
Disliked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
The information below is in reference to the issues and delays we experienced upon arrival. While we realize things can happen beyond the normal, our family members have travelled for many years, to many places, around the world. We have never, ever, experienced the complete lack of any sense of urgency or attention to our dilemma by the property management company. And their lack of responsiveness or follow-up wasn't expected, deserved or appreciated. We made these reservations with the intent to enjoy Valentine's Day and the President's Day Extended Weekend with reservations for dinner, ski rentals and lift tickets. We missed several activities because members of our family were making phone calls all day long rather than enjoying our vacation. We had NO running water, so we dressed up for our Valentine's Dinner reservations on Friday, yet we desperately needed showers and baths, especially after a full day of travel on Thursday, a night of unpacking and waiting for water to be delivered, followed by all of Friday and into the evening. Above all, no one communicated these issues before we checked in, yet Blue Ridge Rentals knew the house had no running water before 3:00pm because that was when they called the water company to come out. Regardless of what Rodina with Blue Ridge Rentals says, we have records of phone calls, text messages and emails stating that we had unlivable conditions from check-in time (4pm) on Thursday until 6:30pm on Friday night.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Mar 4, 2026
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely regret that your holiday weekend was affected by an unexpected water service interruption. This issue was the result of a utility-related disruption outside of our direct control. Once notified, our team immediately contacted the local provider, arranged temporary water, and remained in ongoing communication until service was restored. Holiday weekends in the High Country are among the busiest times for service providers, which can impact response times, but we consistently advocated for the quickest possible resolution. We respectfully disagree with the characterization of a lack of urgency or responsiveness. Our records reflect consistent communication and active efforts behind the scenes throughout the situation. Our team remained professional, solution-focused, and committed to supporting your stay at every step. While we understand how frustrating this experience was, we are confident that our staff handled the matter promptly and appropriately. We appreciate the opportunity to clarify the circumstances for future guests and wish you well in future travels elsewhere.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Transformational Stay

The Skytop lodge is truly a magical place. I stayed there with 5 other women as part of a retail trading women's retreat and cannot even begin to explain the transformation that occurred. When you walk into the home you are greeted with a view that will literally take your breath away. The pictures just simply do not serve it justice. The house is perfectly equipped to host a gathering or retreat or family reunion. And there was a bonus trail close to the property that leads you down to 2 small waterfalls. That was such a nice surprise. The drive down into the property is a bit bumpy - and I understand the need for all wheel drive. Getting down is no problem, but you certainly need that AWD to kick in on the way up. The best part of the stay was the magical sunrises in the morning. I am sure this is in the description of the property, and I must have overlooked it. But to experience the sunrise over the blue ridge mountains, with the trickle of the stream in the background, the occasional bird song while sipping your coffee is just one of wonder. There were minor hiccups - ice maker did not work and the downstairs fireplace was not working during our stay. But the management company let us know and had a bag of ice for us. And we spent most our time on the main floor anyway, and that fireplace was wonderful. And the place is perfectly appointed and very clean. Needless to say, I will be back.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Oct 18, 2022
Thank you so much! This made our day! We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay, and we are so glad that you had such a great experience! We'd love to have you back anytime! -BRMR
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy

VERY Nice, With Exceptions

Skytop Retreat is a beautiful home with amazing views. And I would perhaps return. However, some caveats that future renters should know: As the listing says, bring a 4-wheel drive vehicle, with substantial well maintained tires, no low profile fancy wheels. Our door code did not work, really no big deal if the property management company would actually answer the phone - this one kind of put everyone in a sour mood since we were a two party separated arrival. Of note, the house, while overall fairly clean, could use a thorough dusting - many surfaces had dust and many dust bunnies were seen - as well as previous renter’s hair. Bring your own blankets, not every bedroom had one. Contrary to the description, the internet service was provided through Starlink - which was great. The fireplace in the main floor bedroom did not function. And lastly, at some point an unknown person entered the locked garage and removed the garbage from the cans. While we did appreciate the fact that garbage was removed, we ABSOLUTELY DID NOT appreciate having an unknown person - without our knowledge - enter what we thought was a secure space with our vehicles and personal belongings. That’s how bad things happen folks - a knock at the door or a call should be mandatory before anyone ever enters a property. Aside from that, future renters, enjoy your time at Skytop Retreat. It is overall pleasant and very nice.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Oct 11, 2023
Thank you! We appreciate your feedback, and we are sharing this with our team so that we can look into it further. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This is an excellent property! Best views we have ever enjoyed! Loved the decks, game rooms, large dining table for the whole family! Very well equipped kitchen! Went horseback riding and hiking. Did a day trip to Boone! Will definitely be back!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 1, 2026
Thank you! We'd welcome you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely Place - Little Slice of Heaven

the house was beautiful and comfortable and the views can not be put in words.. just have to be there.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2022
Response from VrboOwner on May 24, 2022
Thank you so much! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Ski weekend

Good experience overall. Distances to ski slopes on listing are not accurate. Actually 50 minutes to Beech.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Jan 26, 2022
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we'll have our team take a look at the listing on VRBO. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great!

As advertised. Clean. Beautiful.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Dec 15, 2021
Thank you! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Million Dollar View

Trying not to repeat the other reviewers, the views out of every room in this house are spectacular. It really is four bedrooms BUT each with its own bath which is what makes it! The kitchen is well equipped, the house was immaculate and well cared for, relatively new build! The warning of having an AWD or 4WD vehicle is understandable but none of us had any problem with our front wheel drive vehicles. You are going DOWN to the house rather than up! There is a GREAT hiking trail right close by. We will be rebooking for next year. A great find and at a very reasonable price!
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 28, 2021
Thank you! We are so glad you had a great getaway! We are also glad that you didn't have any trouble with the driveway, but we do still strongly recommend that future guests have an AWD/4WD as it is accessed by a steep, gravel road. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Husband 60 Bday

Family met from different locations everything went so well the place was wonderfully equipped very clean and comfortable amazing views perfect for 10 people!! Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends!! Thanks for everything!! Lori
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Mar 8, 2021
Thank you so much! We are so glad it was a great birthday weekend with the family! Please come back and visit again! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Long weekend retreat

We had a lovely long weekend. Kitchen is well stocked. The kids loved the game room. Beautiful views.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Feb 26, 2021
Thank you! We are so glad you had a lovely visit! Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback