Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pool Table, Hot Tub, Ping Pong, Pet Friendly, Fantastic Location

Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Our Place Has Master Suites And Can Fit Up To 16 People.

We love coming up with our family and friends and think you will too. The floor plan is great for multiple families or groups with 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and several living spaces. The upstairs has three bedrooms and two bathrooms. One is a master suite. The downstairs is the same and one of the bedrooms is a bunk room with 4 beds. If you need an extra bed, you'll find a pull out couch in the downstairs. There is a hot tub on a large screened porch and a pool table and ping pong table downstairs. The house sits on 3 acres so there is lots of privacy and space for exploring. We have seating inside for 16 as well as dining for 8 more on the deck and porch. In the winter months, we would strongly recommend a 4-wheel drive vehicle for the secondary roads and for our driveway.

Hunter Buxton
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

About Hunter Buxton

We having been renting places in the Mountains of North Carolina for a decade and last year decided it was time to buy a place of our own. We have three kids and absolutely love the beauty and activity of this area. We can provide you with all sorts of recommendations of secret swimming holes, great near-by hikes and restaurants we love.

Hunter Buxton purchased this house in 2012

Why Hunter Buxton chose Blue Ridge Mountains

We chose this house because it was big enough to hold lots of friends and family and we could not ask for a better location. The pavement ends right by our drive and if you go to the left it is natural and beautiful for lovely walks with the dog and a very short and gorgeous drive to the parkway, fishing , hiking , etc. But if you go right out of the drive, you are 5-10 minutes from either Boone or Blowing Rock and all the amenities of those areas. We have a view from the screened porch and are surrounded by trees.

What makes this house unique

We have lots of games to play. There is a Wii downstairs with board games and a big-screen TV. There is also a DVD upstairs as well. We have a pool table and have converted the garage to a ping pong room.


Blowing Rock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 17
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 13 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • There are four bathrooms in the house - two upstairs and two downstairs.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 4 twin/ single , bunk beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
  • The main floor master we refer to as the Bird's Nest because you feel like you are sleeping in the trees. It has a king size bed and its' own bathroom. The second bedroom on the main floor is a queen bed with a bathroom right beside it. The third bedroom on the main floor is a high double bed with a single trundle underneath that rolls out. Downstairs you have a master suite with a king bed, a bedroom with a queen bed and a bunk room that sleeps four. We also have a pull-out couch in the rec room downstairs but it's uncomfortable so we have purchased an inflatable bed that sits on a platform.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Pool Table, Hot Tub, Ping Pong, Pet Friendly, Fantastic Location
average rating of 4.71875 based on 32 reviews

The home was awesome.

  • 5 of 5

There was more than enough room for our group. When we first got there the kids were all on their electronic devices. After a few hours I don't recall them being on them very much. There was so much to do. They kept occupied all weekend playing pool, ping pong, card games, etc. Kitchen was fully stocked and they had a brand new grill outside. Everyone also enjoyed the hot tub. We had a great time in both Boone and Blowing Rock which were about 10 minutes away. This home is in a perfect location and we would definitely do this again.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: When the kids get off their devices you know you are doing something right! Glad everyone had a good time. It was thoughtful of you to take the time to write a review. I appreciate it. You and your family were wonderful guests. Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Most Comfortable

  • 4 of 5

The house was great very comfortable! the ceiling fans in some of the bedrooms didn't work and the driveway took a bit of skill to maneuver in and out of on two wheels but all in all it was a great stay.


William Powell

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful stay with my family for an ASU Graduation

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home with great features and very well equipped. I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nice of you to take the time to review the house. Glad you had a good time. Go Mountaineers!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful family reunion in ideal location!!

  • 5 of 5

This lovely home was perfect for our family reunion with 14 adults and 3 children. It is literally minutes from both Boone and Blowing Rock! We loved that there were 2 dining tables which accommodated 16 for meals but also gave us two tables to play games/cards as well. The kitchen is small but had everything we needed and we had no problem with meal preparations. There was more than enough cups,plates and silverware . Keep in mind that most of the dinner plates are too large for the dishwasher to operate properly ( we discovered this after the washer was fully loaded lol) The living area is ample and we really enjoyed the screened in area off the living room which is just as pictured. Hot tub was clean and worked great. The two king bedrooms are large and have private baths. The 3 bedrooms with full beds are small but adequate. The bedroom with 4 bunk beds is tiny and really only appropriate for kids. Everyone said their mattress squeaked except the King upstairs but tolerable for a few nights. The downstairs game room was huge and everyone enjoyed the pool and ping pong tables. Overall the house was very clean, well-appointed and easily met all our needs. The owner was quick to respond to any questions. It was a great value for such a large house and I highly recommend. Would definitely book again!!!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write - that was very thoughtful of you. I'm glad everyone had a good time. I thought the review you wrote was very thoughtful and I know other travelers will appreciate it. I will look into the dishwasher issue when we go check on the place next week. We have washed those plates in the dishwasher many, many times so I suspect someone has moved the adjustable rack for wine glasses down on the top rack. I'm glad you mentioned this so we can see about it and it doesn't trip up other folks staying at the house. I will have to check out those squeaky beds too! I am wondering if the squeak is from the mattress or perhaps the bed frame is a bit loose. At any rate, we will see about it. Thanks again-
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

perfect get- away!

  • 4 of 5

Hunter was very accommodating and quick to respond to all of our needs and inquiries. The house was a perfect get- away! Very convenient to both Blowing Rock and Boone!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi- Thanks for taking the time to write -- that was thoughtful of you. Glad everyone had a good time! Appreciate it- Hunter
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC

Awesome house and great location!

  • 5 of 5

Loved it, would rent again!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary

We are located under 10 minutes from downtown Blowing Rock and downtown Boone. You can take a 5 minute walk from the house and arrive at the top of the Appalachian Ski Mountain. We are close to zip lining, fishing, hiking, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and more. I have a book I can send you with all the local attractions and how to get there from the house! We would love to share our favorite hikes, swimming holes, fishing spots, and restaurant picks with you. At the house, you can have fun playing pool, ping pong, lounging in the hot tub or relaxing on the deck or screened in porch. There is lots of space to spread out.


Rates & Availability

Blowing Rock House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Peak Summer/Fall
May 1 - Oct 30
2 night minimum stay
Christmas and New Years
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties