Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pool Table, Hot Tub, Ping Pong, Pet Friendly, Fantastic Location

Sleeps17
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Our Place Has Master Suites And Can Fit Up To 16 People.

We love coming up with our family and friends and think you will too. The floor plan is great for multiple families or groups with 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and several living spaces. The upstairs has three bedrooms and two bathrooms. One is a master suite. The downstairs is the same and one of the bedrooms is a bunk room with 4 beds. If you need an extra bed, you'll find a pull out couch in the downstairs. There is a hot tub on a large screened porch and a pool table and ping pong table downstairs. The house sits on 3 acres so there is lots of privacy and space for exploring. We have seating inside for 16 as well as dining for 8 more on the deck and porch. In the winter months, we would strongly recommend a 4-wheel drive vehicle for the secondary roads and for our driveway.


Owner
Hunter Buxton
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About Hunter Buxton

We having been renting places in the Mountains of North Carolina for a decade and last year decided it was time to buy a place of our own. We have three kids and absolutely love the beauty and activity of this area. We can provide you with all sorts of recommendations of secret swimming holes, great near-by hikes and restaurants we love.

Hunter Buxton purchased this house in 2012

Why Hunter Buxton chose Blowing Rock

We chose this house because it was big enough to hold lots of friends and family and we could not ask for a better location. The pavement ends right by our drive and if you go to the left it is natural and beautiful for lovely walks with the dog and a very short and gorgeous drive to the parkway, fishing , hiking , etc. But if you go right out of the drive, you are 5-10 minutes from either Boone or Blowing Rock and all the amenities of those areas. We have a view from the screened porch and are surrounded by trees.

What makes this house unique

We have lots of games to play. There is a Wii downstairs with board games and a big-screen TV. There is also a DVD upstairs as well. We have a pool table and have converted the garage to a ping pong room.

Amenities

Blowing Rock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 17
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 13 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • There are four bathrooms in the house - two upstairs and two downstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 4 twin/ single , bunk beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
  • The main floor master we refer to as the Bird's Nest because you feel like you are sleeping in the trees. It has a king size bed and its' own bathroom. The second bedroom on the main floor is a queen bed with a bathroom right beside it. The third bedroom on the main floor is a high double bed with a single trundle underneath that rolls out. Downstairs you have a master suite with a king bed, a bedroom with a queen bed and a bunk room that sleeps four. We also have a pull-out couch in the rec room downstairs but it's uncomfortable so we have purchased an inflatable bed that sits on a platform.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
16% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Pool Table, Hot Tub, Ping Pong, Pet Friendly, Fantastic Location
average rating of 4.642857 based on 42 reviews
5

Absolutely wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

Accommodations were exquisite!!!! Our entire large family had a great time with plenty of living,eating and sleeping arrangements. We had ages 1yr to 70 yrs and had a blast. I would highly recommend this spacious mountain home on 3 beautiful acres with fire pit and areas to hike, to anyone!!! You have tv's, hot tub,fireplace,ping pong,pool,games at your fingertips. Beautifully furnished and comfortable. Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
concord nc
5

Roomy and comfortable cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful trip to blowing Rock. The weekend we went, the weather was very cold rainy and snowy so we spent most of our time in the cabin. It was very spacious and comfortable. I was very pleased and would stay here again. The driveway up to the front door is pretty steep and some of the families smaller SUVs couldn't make it but the house does have a lower driveway where they could park and also get into the house. It worked out perfectly. Hunter was very easy to work with and always answered or quickly called back with any questions we had.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious home in a secluded area

  • 5 of 5

Our group loved the home. Not only was there ample beds and baths, there was also a ton of living space. A living room on each level of the home ensured everyone had room to spread out. The master on each level was huge with an almost 360 view of the surrounding mountain terrain. The screened porch provided stellar views for morning coffee drinking. Cannot think of any complaints as this home was perfect for our group! In a secluded area yet close to Boone and Moses Cone Park off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Would highly recommend for a group of couples or a large group of friends!

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi- Thank you for that thoughtful review. Of course you are the kind of person to take the time to write, after all you are from Concord and a Tarheel:-) I'm glad you had a good time and hopefully a GREAT birthday.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jonesville nc
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5

This home is great. We were there for a girls weekend and had perfect weather and had such a great time! Hunter is great to work with! There were 7 of us andthe house was beautiful and perfect for us! Well stocked! It was so warm couldnt enjoy the fireplace! Hunter is definitely right you need 4 wheel drive to get up that hill to the house! We would love to go up next year! Thanks Hunter! Betty Cummings

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Betty you are such a lovely person. Thank you for your thoughtfulness in writing this review. My guess is your group always has fun because you are a part of it. Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Had a great trip!

  • 4 of 5

Our family had a very nice time. There was plenty of room for us all to spread out if we wanted or to enjoy being all together. The kids loved Tweetsie (all under the age of 10). The house had everything we needed. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi- Thanks for the nice review. That was thoughtful of you to take the time to write. I love hearing the trains from Tweetsie blowing in the distance when I am on the porch. Glad everyone had a good time. Thanks again-
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5

The property was great for a large group! Everyone had own bedroom. The kitchen was well stocked with plates, bowls, utensils. The view from the porch was great. We also loved the fire pit and hot tub!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write. It's thoughtful of you to do that. I'm glad everyone had a good time and the house worked out! Come back anytime-
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

We are located under 10 minutes from downtown Blowing Rock and downtown Boone. You can take a 5 minute walk from the house and arrive at the top of the Appalachian Ski Mountain. We are close to zip lining, fishing, hiking, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and more. I have a book I can send you with all the local attractions and how to get there from the house! We would love to share our favorite hikes, swimming holes, fishing spots, and restaurant picks with you. At the house, you can have fun playing pool, ping pong, lounging in the hot tub or relaxing on the deck or screened in porch. There is lots of space to spread out.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.