Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Top Rated! Waterfront Island Retreat in Paradise

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Great value for a house with 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Dog & Kid friendly

Amazing views! Charming, waterfront home located on magical Marrowstone Island; 100 feet of medium bank waterfront beach, easy 5 minute walk to beach access. Eastern exposure with sweeping 180 degree views of shipping lanes and Whidbey Island, as well as views of the Cascade Mountains, Mt. Baker and Mt. Rainier. Watch and hear eagles from the front window in the eagle tree (profile pic), and sea lions on the rocks off shore. Spectacular and peaceful. Miles of private beach walking or sunbathing! We even have a horseshoe pit!

Our home is a spacious 1,700 square. ft. 3bd/2 bath, with a gas fireplace, modern kitchen and cozy double patio. Sleeps. Feather pillows and comfortable mattresses. All rooms have water views. The great room features large view windows with abundant natural light. The property is 1.2 acres with old growth evergreen trees. Very private and quiet.

Quiet neighborhood. Outstanding beach experience for walking, eagle watching, swimming, water sports and dog walking for miles!! Boat launch, canoe rentals, half mile away. Gateway to the scenic Olympic Mountains. Venture off to quaint nearby Port Townsend or Fort Flagler State Park for hiking and sightseeing.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Jenny Davis
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 27, 2017

About Jenny Davis

Photo taken at the Nordland Store on Marrowstone Island. Nordland is the community gathering hub of Marrowstone, where islanders visit with some espresso, watch the football game or enjoy a weekend music concert.

Jenny Davis purchased this house in 1996

Why Jenny Davis chose Nordland

We have lived on Marrowstone Island for 12 years. As world travelers, we feel Marrowstone is one of the most pristine places on earth! The natural beauty and peace of the island captured our hearts. While we need to live off the island for now, we hope to move back someday soon. In the meantime, we wish to share this lovely retreat with others.

What makes this house unique

The Nordland store on Marrowstone island provides visitors a real taste and flavor of island hospitality! Local wine and beer offered. Rent DVDs, boats, espresso or chat with locals. You can also purchase a dozen fresh oysters off the beach to take and BBQ! Delicious!

Map

Ajax Cafe -- CLOSED
Port Townsend
Hanazono Asian Noodle
Elevated Ice Cream Co.
Chetzemoka Park
Wheel in Drive in -- CLOSED
Pizza Factory
Khu Larb Thai
Fort Flagler State Park
Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Jefferson County International airport
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Port Ludlow resort
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Ajax Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
East Beach Park, Marrowstone Island

Boat rentals, Boat Launch, State parks

Amenities

Nordland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00 AM
  • /
  • Check-out: 4:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • (1) Queen size Beds , (2) Double Beds, (1) Sleep Sofa or Futons
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Guests will need to bring their own soaps and shampoo. We do provide a starter for paper products, garbage bags, etc., to last a few days, but guests staying longer will need to purchase their own supplies. Our home is subjected to nature's elements of ocean front and forest conditions, we do have helpers come to help maintain the property for your enjoyment, by keeping the lawn mowed and gardens maintained. We apologize if their brief presence is an inconvenience. Due to an effort to provide a clean, healthy environment, we have elected to remove our BBQ. There is a BBQ shelter located at the nearby park (3 minute walk).

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(78 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Top Rated! Waterfront Island Retreat in Paradise
average rating of 4.8717947 based on 78 reviews
Wenatchee, WA
5

Wonderful place nestled on the bluff!

  • 5 of 5

This property is heaven on earth! It is nicely appointed inside and out. The view is marvelous and very interesting. Many ships in and out at all times of the day/night. A pair of eagles roost very close and can be heard chattering to each other in the mornings. Tranquil and quiet. I haven't slept that well in a very long time.We made most of our meals. The kitchen is more than adequate. We ( my adult children) went to Port Townsend for a meal and to hang out at the brewery. We also stopped in at my favorite shop: April Fool and a Penny Too. It was easy to find and I intend to book this place again!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Loved it.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the house. Wish we had more time to stay. Beautiful views!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
5

Absolutely perfect.

  • 5 of 5

A second visit to Jennifer's home for our AmeriCan Family Thanksgiving was again enjoyed by all. Rain or shine this property is ideal for such an event. The fully equipped kitchen made putting together our turkey feast so easy. The warm glow from the living room fireplace kept us cozy while XBox games (brought from home) were played and laughter prevailed. This property is absolutely perfect.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The perfect space for our group of six! Everything we needed and just a short stroll to the beach. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
seattle,washington usa
4

Marrowstone

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful house and property. The view is dynamite! Easy drive from Seattle. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful Views

  • 3 of 5

I would like to say that this rental was very comfortable for the 7 of us. All of the beds were comfy and we loved the musical instruments provided, including the piano. The water views were also spectacular. However, the stairs leading up into the rental are not flat and they have a oddly raised edge on the top of each one. Unfortunately, my mother tripped and fell down the steps and her arm was bleeding badly. Fortunately she did not break any bones. Currently there is no hand railing, and I feel that if there were a hand rail on either side of the stairs, this may have helped to prevent her from falling. Also, the dishwasher was not working properly. When I went to unload it right after it had finished, the dishes were stone cold and still wet. Overall, I feel that if these 2 things were addressed I would rent here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your reservation and feedback. I'm so sorry to hear your mother had a fall. I hope she is alright! I wish you had called or informed us prior to this review. We've had the home on VRBO for 6 years and never had a problem with the long terraced stairs. Each stair is 4" tall and several feet wide and spaced apart with the no rise landscaping. The dishwasher is computerized with instructions on the top panel. So sorry you had difficulty with the settings. I wish you had phoned us on both these issues. We put much effort into providing a safe, comfortable vacation experience for our guests. We hope your next vacation us more enjoyable. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning $125 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Maximum occupancy 6 without charge. Additional guest charge $35 per person/ per night to 8 personal maximum. Additional guests are owner's discretion.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties