Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SHABBY CHIC BEACHFRONT LUXURY 1st flr - Extra Large Deck Steps Directly to Sand!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

RIGHT ON SAND - 4 LARGE Bedrooms, 3 Marble Baths, Cabana, 1st Floor Duplex

BEACHFRONT!! Gorgeous, Luxurious Beachfront 4 large bedrooms. LARGEST double wide and long DECK which steps right out onto the sand. Direct access from deck to the sand and beach access right at our home. Two of the bedrooms are master suites each with a private marble bathroom. The other 2 bedrooms share a bathroom (plus we have an outdoor cabana shower). Wheelchair accessible with a ramp up to the deck and house is all on one floor. Maple and granite kitchen. Tile floors throughout. Slip covered cool furniture with a shabby chic nautical decor. Working fireplace. Easy 2 block walk to park, playground, stores and restaurants that are on 34th street. Very comfortable and easy to enjoy beach house. We create and decorate it for our own use too, and our children have grown up in it. It's one of the very few houses in all of Ocean City that has a deck with just 1 step to the sand (parents can lounge on deck while children build sand castles). Almost all other properties require guests to go back inside, down stairs and back out in order to get from the deck to the sand. Our house is extra wide so the entire living room and dining room open up to the beach. The sounds of the waves can be heard from the bedrooms. We also have a garage with plenty of parking. Other amenities include Cable TV. Wireless High-speed Internet. Outside Shower Cabana. Just a few blocks to walk to children's park, tennis, shops. Private Washer and Dryer. Rental often will sometimes include, boogie boards, 4 beach tags and beach chairs. Our home is on Wesley Ave between 36th & 37th Streets (boardwalk begins around 18th street). This home is the 1st floor of a duplex. The owners upstairs do not usually rent their home.

Keywords: condo, twin, lower level, beachfront, beach front, oceanfront, ocean, family, chic, access, deck, large deck

More Details

Property Manager
Michele Dougherty
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 9, 2017

About Michele Dougherty

We bought this beach house 20 years ago, when we lived in NJ. We used to go every weekend from Turnersville and our children have spent every summer of their young lives there. Now we live in California and can't be there like we used to be. We rent it to people who care for it like we did.. and most of our tenants come back year after year. We try still to go as often as we can because there's no place in the world like it.

Michele Dougherty purchased this house in 1994

Why Michele Dougherty chose Southern Shore Region

This house is so special because our deck is grandfathered in to be so big and step right out to the sand. We used to rent before we bought in OC and it was frustrating (especially with kids or a dog), to be on the beautiful deck and have to go inside and down stairs to get to the beach. So our house... steps right to sand AND we have a direct access to the water right from the bottom of our steps. kids can be on the sand while we sat on the deck!

What makes this house unique

Clearly the extra wide deck and ability to step right to the sand make this house invaluable for so many! the ease and comfort with which to enjoy the beach are priceless!

Amenities

Ocean City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Cabana - shower , We have a Cabana and Shower with it's own outdoor entrance
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Jack and Jill Bathroom conects bedrooms 3 & 4
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Private bathroom for one of Master Bedrooms
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Private bathroom for 1 of the Master Suites
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 king , With it's own private bathroom
    Master Bedroom 2 - 1 king , with it's own private bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , king bed can be converted to 2 twins & shares bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 2 twin beds and a shared bathroom
  • We have 2 Master Bedrooms and the 2 other bedrooms connect with a Jack -n - Jill bathroom. All bedrooms are VERY large with closets, comfy beds, and plenty of storage space for clothes.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

SHABBY CHIC BEACHFRONT LUXURY 1st flr - Extra Large Deck Steps Directly to Sand!
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
4

Great family friendly beach vaca!

  • 4 of 5

The owners are friendly and very responsive. Great to be able to bring our dog along on our weekend. Kids loved being able to run out to the beach on a whim. Maybe I couldn't find it, but a cutting board would be nice for the kitchen. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing, thanks!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thanksgiving at the Beach - First time to Ocean City, NJ - Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5

My family has spent several Thanksgivings at the beach, but this was our fist time in Ocean City, NJ. Shabby Chic is well-maintained, has very spacious bedrooms, updated bathrooms and kitchen, large dining and family room with a working fireplace, and a huge dune-level deck; ample parking, and pet-friendly! The owners, Jack and Michele, are friendly and very responsive. We had one question about the thermostat, and they answered quickly. They also accommodated our request to rent Sunday to Sunday, since it was the off-season.

The property is well-located, especially if you want some privacy, and prefer to be away from the hub-bub of the boardwalk. Thanksgiving week wasn't busy until Wednesday, and then things picked up. Of course, you are close enough (a few minutes drive) to the central boardwalk area, so you can enjoy the Mack & Manco (Manco & Manco) pizza, and Johnson's popcorn.

I think this property is perfect for multi-generational families (with or without pets) - it certainly worked for us.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Amazing location + fabulous deck = Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5

My family rents a home in OC every year and this time we wanted a pet friendly home ON the beach. Four years ago we stayed here and thought it was time to come back. Our son was young and we wanted the convenience of having the beach steps away. The house did not disappoint! The deck is huge and the owners have several chaise lounge chairs, pillows, tables and chairs to accommodate everyone. The private beach access is awesome and it was great to be able relax on the deck, hear the ocean, and smell the shore air while our son and his cousins had a ball playing in the sand - right in front of the deck. The house itself is nicely decorated and I have to say, the bedrooms are the largest (with tons of closet space) of any OC home we've rented. We had a great time on our last visit so we returned this year at the end of August, but this time for the benefit of our senior dog. All of the wonderful amenities were still available to us and a new huge flat screen TV in the living room was a nice surprise. This trip was a little different as our dog (who is blind and deaf now) needed lots of attention and someone to be with him often. Again, we knew the deck, location and layout of the house (ramp on the deck, one floor, etc.) would be the perfect fit for us. The weather was excellent, which added to the awesomeness of our week, and we had a blast. Waking up every morning to coffee while watching the waves crash on the shore, heading to the beach late morning and having the convenience of walking back for lunch or to look in on our dog (priceless), taking family walks up to the playground and ice cream shop each evening or hopping in our car for a 10 minute drive to the boardwalk and rides - this house offers it all. The owners were super friendly and helpful during the initial process, we never had an issue so no need to contact them during our stay, and upon departure they were quick to check in and thank us for the stay. This home is great if you are looking for space, convenience, comfort and relaxation - and it's pet friendly - pretty much the best of everything. Thanks for sharing your home with our family!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Awesome location in OC!

  • 5 of 5

Just back from wk here---we came down despite threats of hurricane and were so glad we did! Four adults, toddler and one dog were very comfortable and happy ! Owners very responsive and accessible, even though we didn't have any major issues. Fridge was leaking greater but very cold and made ice fine. Let owners know and leak slowed down so no issues for us. Can't beat this location! Very comfortable for all of us. Already booked for next summer!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
1

Stay away!

  • 1 of 5

There are many vacation rentals in Ocean City...find another one. When we checked in, with a family ranging in age from 22 months to 96 years, we discovered that the refrigerator was not working. With $300 in groceries, we gave it a night, but awoke on Sunday morning and it was still warm. We called the owners' two cell phones and neither answered, so we called the repairman whose magnet was on the fridge. He came promptly, asked for $400+ to repair the fridge, which he said clearly had not been working for weeks (judging by the frost buildup). Once again I called both phones and no one answered, so I paid the repairman and got the refrigerator fixed. Later that day, in a text conversation, the landlord said he would reimburse me. Now he says he did not authorize the repair in advance so he has decided not to reimburse me.

Furthermore, there was construction upstairs our entire week. Banging. Whirring. Work that could have/should have been done before "high season." It is not clear to me the relationship between our owners and the upstairs owners, but I believe they are siblings. I asked for a rebate of one night's rent to compensate for the incessant noise but was, of course, turned down.

These are people who are squeezing every last penny out of this rental. They do not have a local property manager to handle emergencies such as the broken fridge, but then they are not available to handle those problems in a timely manner. When I texted their cell phones, the usual response was, "Who's this?" The batteries in the thermostat controlling the A/C were dead, a promised fold-out couch was missing ... everything from little aggravations to big problems.

We are planning to take the owners to small claims court for the refrigerator reimbursement and food spoilage, and to report them to Ocean City's Chamber of Commerce and Better Business Bureau. If you want to avoid an experience like ours, don't rent this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Pam, We were so sad to see our very first negative review after 20 years of renting our beach house to families. My husband and I put so much time and love into our home so that each of the families who come vacation here year after year (some for over 15 years) are happy. We were surprised to receive your message Sunday morning, since you had checked in on Saturday. And we were REALLY surprised to learn that the refrigerator had stopped working, as it was repaired shortly before your arrival. If you would have given us any time at all to handle this for you, we would've had a new refrigerator delivered that same day. It was unfortunate that you choose to call the repair man for an emergency Sunday call & paid him $400 without speaking to us or waiting even a few hours. We responded to you immediately (the sun wasn't even up yet). I don't know of another landlord who responds quicker than we do. We were willing to still reimburse you for the Sunday morning repair (even though it was in direct violation of our lease), but we really wanted you and your family to be able to relax and have a happy week. It was only after you threatened us with this bad review and started demanding additional money for random reasons (over one thousand dollars?), that we knew we would not be able to satisfy your demands - no matter how hard we tried. Pam, we are just human beings, like you, and we do our very best to create a comfortable, affordable beachfront vacation home that has a huge comfortable deck and direct access to the sand (so it's more accommodating for our older tenants and for young children to play in the sand). We are not related to the upstairs owners and don't believe there has been any renovations during our rentals. We do wish you well and hope you find the property that you're seeking. Ultimately, we are truly sorry, that despite all of our efforts, we weren't able to meet your requests and give you everything you needed for your vacation. Sincerely, Michele & Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great Beach Access

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year renting a beachfront house, and we chose Shabby Chic as they were pet-friendly, and we were very pleased. We paid just about the same as we did last year, but with the deck open to the beach and the access to the beach right there, it was great.

The unit itself is the bottom level of the duplex (allowing for the deck) and while the duplex itself is a little older, the unit is in great shape. We rent a lot of vacation homes and my wife said that this was the cleanest unit that we had ever rented, which made for a great start to the week. The kitchen is nicely updated, the bathrooms and floors are in good shape, the furniture is comfortable, and the deck is worth the price alone. Our dog lived on the deck, just watching the sand and the birds.

Honestly, the only update I would make (if the unit were mine) would be to upgrade the TVs. The main TV is a bukly older model and the most of the TVs is the rooms are small or tube-TVs. I know you are at the shore and right on the beach with a lot of things around you, but on a rainy day or night it would have been nice to have a better TV. But this is just me trying to find the negative - in all it was a great stay.

Finally, the owners were great to work with, very responsive through the entire process. Honestly the experience I have had renting through VRBO or HomeAway.com.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Grant, I'm so grateful you and Michelle took the time to write a review for us. It's so thoughtful. We LOVE our deck too! It's invaluable to us. We're actually conflicted about the TVs... If we put newer, nicer ones in, families may spend more time watching (and less time on the beach or with each other) - BUT we'll at least get 1 or 2 new ones for 2016 though just for you! Warmly, Michele and Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Atlantic City
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Garden State Parkway
Nearest Beach
Ocean City
Car: not necessary

Close to the incredible Ocean City boardwalk but far enough away to enjoy your beach backyard without disruption of the crowds. There are rides, shops, restaurants, and entertainment on the boardwalk and in town. Ocean City was just named one of the worlds best family destinations!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocean City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,400
 
 
September 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$699
$4,200
 
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 16 2017 - Sep 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
$599
$4,200
 
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 18 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$599
$4,200
 
 
Nightly Rate
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
$599
$3,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Nov 28 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,500
 
 
Christmas New Years 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$599
$3,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 3 2018 - Jan 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,000
$8,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,000
$8,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Mar 1 2018 - Mar 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Mar 29 2018 - Apr 4 2018
4 night minimum stay
$599
$3,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Apr 5 2018 - Apr 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
May 1 2018 - May 23 2018
3 night minimum stay
$599
$3,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
May 24 2018 - May 28 2018
4 night minimum stay
$599
$3,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
May 29 2018 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$599
$4,200
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 1 2018 - Jun 8 2018
4 night minimum stay
$599
$4,200
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 9 2018 - Jun 15 2018
4 night minimum stay
$650
$4,200
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 16 2018 - Jun 22 2018
5 night minimum stay
$699
$4,200
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 23 2018 - Jun 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
$772
 
 
Summer Prime 2018
Jul 1 2018 - Sep 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
$5,400
 
 
Late Summer 2018
Sep 8 2018 - Sep 30 2018
5 night minimum stay
$699
$4,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Oct 1 2018 - Oct 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
$599
$4,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Oct 7 2018 - Oct 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Nov 1 2018 - Nov 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
$3,900
 
 
Nightly Rate
Nov 21 2018 - Nov 26 2018
4 night minimum stay
$599
$3,900
 
 
Nightly Rate
Nov 27 2018 - Nov 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
$2,800
 
 
Winter 2018
Dec 1 2018 - Dec 19 2018
4 night minimum stay
$499
$2,800
 
 
Christmas New Years 2018
Dec 20 2018 - Jan 5 2019
4 night minimum stay
$599
$3,900
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$499
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $500
General Security Deposit $1,000

We will consider renting to Young Adults ages 18 to 24. This special lease will also require parents (responsible parties) to all sign and also be responsible for any damages. In addition to the General Security Deposit of $1000, a $1500 deposit is required. All security deposits are fully refundable within 30 days of departure if there are no problems. The $500 "Pet fee" is a refundable security deposit (if not needed for extra cleaning).

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties