Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

20% SMOKE SALE IN OCTOBER!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This two+bedroom, plus sleeping den, two bath rental house allows you to experience the changing seasons of the Pacific Northwest, and the restful ocean air, in a home overlooking a private beach and cove right on the Pacific Ocean! Wake up to the master fireplace and seals barking on the rocks! Several steps down the stairs near the deck and grassy areas and you can explore the private beach, swim, collect shells, dig for clams, or watch whales. Includes sandy beaches for walking and tide pools for exploring!

This lovely, OCEAN FRONT Non-Smoking home is close to the California Redwoods (think 'Star Wars' filming) and surrounded by evergreen hills and mountains, just minutes from deep sea or Chetco River fishing. Enjoy the whales playing or the moon set from this cozy retreat that has a view from every window looking over the expansive Pacific Ocean! Catching this view as you enter the living areas will take your breath away!

Lounge in the hot tub during rain storms or sunshine, then make memories by the SECOND fireplace in the living room! Cook special meals, or dine in nearby restaurants. Jog or bike the easy roads through flower farms or into town, enjoy the the Coast Guard harbor and boardwalk, and the quiet, friendly neighborhood.

The glorious, California Redwoods and Pacific Ocean await you for a lifetime memory!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Mike and Cathy
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Mike and Cathy

Mike is from Oregon and so we came to Medford 30 years ago to raise our sons. One of our favorite family outings as the boys grew up was to go to Brookings, camp at the beach and get up (very) early and go fishing. Our guys would get so seasick, but they would keep on fishing for those big salmon and red snapper! Sometimes we would camp in the Redwoods, drift down the Smith River in an inner tube, or get up early for more fishing! Some days we would take a picnic to Harris Beach and our hearty guys would surf, climb the rocks, talk to the seals and explore tide pools. In 2003 we were blessed with an opportunity to buy our awesome ocean front home which seemed too good to be true! Now our family, friends and visitors enjoy a MUCH more comfortable way to make wonderful memories!

Mike and Cathy purchased this house in 2003

Why Mike and Cathy chose Southern Coast

Our home is not only right on the ocean, it enjoys balmy summer weather with warmer temperatures unlike ANY other on the Oregon coast (called 'the Chetco effect')! It is a wonderful escape from 'valley fog' in Medford, even when it is raining in Brookings! We have a beach that is accessed only by ourselves and our neighbors because it has two large rock outcroppings where folks cannot easily access. People are friendly and there is lots to do, which unfortunately keeps us out of the lawn chair! It is a safe, low crime community with clean air and lilly fields, and there is all that wonderful FISH and crab!

What makes this house unique

Laying on the deck watching the ocean is probably our favorite, but there is rock climbing, tide pools, beach bonfires, boating, biking, wading, golf ~ and did I mention fishing and crabbing??

Guestbook comments from the owner

From email: "We just wanted to tell you what a wonderful weekend we had earlier this month at your lovely home on the coast. It was a perfect set up for our family, and the views of the ocean were splendid! As you know, it was a last minute decision to escape our valley fog -- from the beginning, the timing of it all felt meant to be, and finding your house just reaffirmed that. What a blessing the weekend was for all of us."
Jan 2009
  • 1 of 14

Amenities

Brookings House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 full bathrooms, one in master bedroom, one between sleeping den and second bedroom. Master bath has full tub/shower; second bath has stand or sit down hand-held shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Guest bedroom with second bath, private or share!
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Day bed consisting of two connected twins in sleeping den.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , Convertible sofa in living room.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Fireplace, private master bathroom and walk in closet!
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Double twin daybed sleeps two adults., Baby Cribs (1) Portable crib stored in the master bedroom closet., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Hot tub for 4 adults ONLY or fewer, Ocean views from every window, private beach, Four poster and newer mattresses with down featherbeds, two gas fireplaces, Linens and towels provided, living room sofa bed plus a third den/bedroom with double twin day bed and VCR/movie play screen

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
20% SMOKE SALE IN OCTOBER!
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 50 reviews
5

Simply Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 stayed on the Oregon coast for a week last year and we didn't think we could top that vacation...but we did! The Ocean View Cove beach house was the perfect place for our family to create wonderful memories. It has an open split bedroom floor plan, lots of windows with beautiful views, a relaxing hot tub, super comfortable beds and the best beach ever! My kids (9 and 5 years old) went wild over the tide pools and the creatures that live in them. Charter fishing, the Rogue River Mailboats in Gold Beach and Ocean World in Crescent City were fun too!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0
Talent, Oregon
4

Very charming and inviting home.

  • 4 of 5

Great home. Very clean and cozy. Stunning views of the ocean. Would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Consider other options in the area

  • 3 of 5

We were so excited for our family Christmas vacation at the coast, and brought several holiday meals to enjoy inside during the stormy weather. Unfortunately, neither the oven nor the fireplace worked (see also Jim C's review). I sent the owners an email, and researched the oven error codes online. With no luck resetting the oven, and no reply email by the next day, I called and left a message. Mike finally called the following day (now Day 3 of the rental) stating they were in CA out of cell range, and that a repair man would be calling to arrange a time to come. There was no repair man by Day 5, at which time Mike called to say they decided to purchase a new oven. They delivered it, however, the old oven turned on, so they decided not to replace it, and they left. The oven did not work, and I sent another picture of the error code. Not only did they argue about it, Cathy accused us of removing screws from the dilapidated hot tub siding. Why in the world would I remove screws?? Mike said they would reimburse 1-night's stay for the trouble, which seemed fair. I followed up 2 weeks after the rental, only to get a scathing, accusatory email from Cathy stating they would take the full 30 days to refund the deposit "per the contract". 30 days came and went, so I called Mike again. He said the refunds would go out soon. I followed via text a week later, and he replied advising the check was in the mail. 6+ weeks after the rental, the deposit refund finally arrived, but no refund of 1-night's stay as promised. I texted Mike again, with no reply. It is unfortunate they were so disingenuous, as otherwise the rental, which we took extremely good care of, has lots of potential as outlined in other reviews. The neighbors were very nice, and the beach access was a big plus! It is just a short drive to the Harbor area, which is also a plus (as unfortunately we incurred unplanned expense of eating out). Appliance problems happen, but to be treated so rudely is concerning. If this rental meets your needs, go for it, with caution. The 3rd bed is in the entryway, which was interesting. Regarding the fireplace, a repair man from the propane company did come mid-rental and fixed it. It provides nice ambiance in the evening, and we were careful not to use it for heat as requested by the owners. In the recommendations below, I didn't check the 'Age 55+' box only because the steps to the beach are a bit steep, nor the 'Romantic getaway' due to neighbors windows looking in

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry this guest who enjoyed our home for over a week had trouble with the oven. Since this is a home and not a hotel room, we have in our rental agreement clearly that there is no onsite 24/7 management. Although all of our appliances are new or newer, because it is a home, sometimes systems fail. Because we believed our guest regarding the oven and wanted to accommodate them we made a six hour trip with a new range only to discover that the range in our home worked fine when left on for over an hour. Our cleaning person has tested it at least twice, finding it working for over an hour while now running up an extensive electric bill. Because we initially believed our guest about the oven which turned out to not be true we have rescinded our original offer of a free night. We have generously refunded the full deposit without management or electricity charges.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A dandy spot

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Nice view, we entertained guests and they were quite impressed. House well outfitted; although a couple appliances were on the fritz - Mike, I'll give you a call.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jim and Dee for choosing our home on the ocean and for caring for it for us! Our neighbors appreciated your visit as well, so make sure you come back and take advantage of one free night next time! Safe travels, Mike and Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Medford, Oregon
5

Charming House with Great Ocean Views

  • 5 of 5

We spent 2 nights at this charming house that looks over the ocean. If you are fortunate enough to find nice weather at the coast, as we were, the deck is a great place to kick back and relax. The ocean view never gets old.

This house also features bedrooms and bathrooms on opposite sides of the house, which provides nice privacy, especially if you're sharing with another couple.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

A SUPERB winter stay

  • 5 of 5

This home is so cozy one hardly wants to leave during the coarse of a stay during the winter. Even though there were only 3 days with no rain I could not have had a more comfortable place to be and when the weather did break for a few minutes the short walk to the most lovely beach just below the house was enjoyed. The amenities at the home left nothing to be desired and was sparkling clean be upon arrival. If I did have a question Mike and Kathy were quick to answer and very, very helpful. Working in that kitchen and seeing that view of the ocean was HEAVEN!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Kristina! Winter stays in our home at a fair price is one of our best secrets on the Oregon coast, topped by sitting in the hot tub watching the storm go by or wales playing by the rocks! We look forward to you coming again, and remind us that we give a free night for our return guests! Safe travels, Mike and Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Oceanfront dining, lounge, fish/chowder houses
Nearest Point of Interest
Flora Pacifica
Nearest Point of Interest
Brookings Coast Guard Harbor
Nearest Point of Interest
Azalea State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Loeb State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Harris Beach State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Samuel Boardman State Park and more!
Nearest Point of Interest
Jedediah Smith State Park and the Redwood Forrest
Car: necessary

Hot tub, Azalea Park and Redwoods nearby, Salmon Run Golf Course, Oregon Coast Trail, Azalea Park Botanical Gardens, salmon and charter fishing, crabbing and whale watching, Chetco and Smith River, Del Norte golf course, and 30 minutes south of the famous Rogue River and the historic mail jet boats in Gold Beach!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $10 per person per night
Pet Fee $50
Damage Insurance $79

EMAIL OWNER FOR ALL PET PRE-APPROVAL! HOLIDAY RATES BY DAY OR WEEK $245/$1410. NOTE to our Military: "Thank you" discount of 10% with proof of military ID/Retired.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties