Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Spectacular Lakefront Crested Butte, Colorado Cabin

Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Six miles west and 2000 feet above the historic resort town of Crested Butte, is spectacular Lake Irwin. This crystal clear, trout filled, high mountain gem is completely surrounded by national forest, but for a few private cabins. Here you can find total seclusion in one of the most beautiful locations in America.

Our cabin, one of two on the lake, sleeps six, comes with everything from fly rods to mountain bikes, and can virtually restore any spirit in days. Relax in front of a roaring fire while gazing up at snowcapped 14,000-foot peaks. Take a canoe and cut a silent wake across the blue mirror that is Irwin. Hike a flower-strewn path along the waters edge to meadows and waterfalls that would make a postcard jealous. Climb mountain peaks and enjoy a picnic lunch or or just relax on your own front porch and breathe deep of the purest air on the planet. (Irwin Lodge presently under construction.)

We provide all cookware, bedding, over-size bath, solar electricity, stereo, barbecue, small library, and snowmobiles for an extra fee.

The cabin is available at a nightly rate. Pets are allowed and children encouraged. But remember, there is no TV and no phone, so whoever you bring be prepared to sit back and communicate.

We ask for a three night minimum, 50% deposit, and 60-day cancellation policy. We expect the balance two months prior to your arrival. No one in ten years has requested their money back by the way.

We look forward to meeting you and can assure your vacation will be a relaxing experience in the most stunning setting in this country.

The cabin is now available for winter fun. Ski or snowmobile to this well-stocked, cozy retreat nestled in the heart of Colorado's winter wonderland. The finest backcountry skiing by day and relax in an over-sized tub by a crackling fire by night. A true adventure! $100 for a snowmobile per day.

Crested Butte Home rentals listed with VRBO 290014, 233574 and 169125.

Keywords: Lakefront Crested Butte, Colorado Fishing Cabin/Backcountry Skiing.

More Details

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2010

About The Owner

The owners are world travelers.

Guestbook comments from the owner

It's the middle of our visit and just took time to look through your book (guest). I can't believe we have been coming here for so long. It's been a very special part of our lives. Brooks will always have memories of the cabin and you guys will always be a part of those memories! After yesterday's impromptu party I was thinking about how much fun we have had out here. Getting to know all of you has been as special as our time at the cabin. Except for the hair, I'm glad I finally brought the dogs. They are having a blast! They are going to hate going home. One more week and I'm already dreading leaving. I can't tell you how glad I found this place on the internet!
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 17


Crested Butte Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Library, Canoes, Boats, Bikes, Fishing Equipment


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Spectacular Lakefront Crested Butte, Colorado Cabin
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 20 reviews

One of the Best I've found in CO!

  • 5 of 5

This place is magic. We only had two nights, but fully expect to lock up a week or more next summer.

A couple of recommendations:

Bring your own coffee (we forgot!).

I wouldn't recommend a small, low car.

Make sure to drive down Ohio Pass, over Kebler Pass, and up to Gothic. Incredible views!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

What a wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed in this wonderful cabin two different times and loved it both times. It is rustic, quiet and in a beautiful setting. It is not a luxury hotel, but it was clean and comfortable. The lake is phenomenal and the hiking is unlimited. We had my 90lb yellow lab along and she thought she was in heaven....from the lake, to the waterfall, to the mountain climbing, and the chipmunk chasing...she loved it all.

I think the listing represents the property very well...and there could always be more pictures. Crested Butte was just a short drive away for eating out, shopping, and some night life.

We are ready to come back! Hopefully soon.....

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2011
  • Stayed: July 2008
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Monument, Colorado

Location Nice, Cabin Misrepresented and Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at this cabin recently. The location on the lake is very nice, but the cabin was disappointing and misrepresented in the owner's VRBO ad. There was an unbearable sewer gas smell in the cabin the entire 4 days, areas of the cabin appeared to have not been cleaned in a long time, including the toilet, kitchen sink, piano (which was so out of tune it couldn't be played), there were mouse droppings throughout, etc. The ad listed the a Lodge near the cabin that offered food and activities, but the lodge had been closed for years. For the price, it seemed reasonable to expect at least what was represented in the ad and a clean place to stay, but we experienced neither. When we left, we requested a refund of just the cleaning fee (more than a fair request, given our experience). The owner refused and recommended we should stay at a hotel next time. Moral to this story...avoid this place. There are far better places to stay in the area within this price range!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2010
  • Stayed: September 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We own 4 rentals in Crested Butte, & a hotel in Costa Rica, elcastillodelsur, & for 20 years have rented to dozens of people per day without one complaint. Check trip advisor. Before this party even arrived I knew he was going to be trouble. He was very concerned about the lack of technology, no wi-fi, no phone, no TV, the thread count in the sheets, etc. We never miss-represent any of our rentals, just for this reason. I suggested if he needed High tech, with silk sheets,& a flat screen, this was not what he should rent, he should go to a hotel. He insisted on coming anyway, then complained because the piano was out of tune? This is a cabin on a high mountain lake, one of two cabins on the lake. There is nothing else like it in Colorado. If he would have stepped outside & taken a canoe out on the lake he might have understood what it was all about. We never try to talk people into into this cabin as it fills up every year with repeat customers. From the front porch you cannot see another man made is spectacular. If your afraid you might see a bear, or a mouse, or if your worried the piano is out of tune, or the lodge is not serving lunch then this might not be for you. If you want solitude, a crackling fire, surrounded buy 14,000 peaks this is it. One other thing. We take a personal pride in our homes, he never even called us with a complaint the entire week, or we would have been there in 20 minutes. Instead he says nothing, then two weeks after his return home wants his money back. Like I said, I expected nothing less of him even before he got here. I should followed my instinct & refused to rent to him in the first place. Steve Church PS. He was so concerned about communication, we even went to the trouble of installing a phone just for this renter, then took it back out.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0




This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.


  • $250/nt - $300/nt
  • US Dollars
  • $300 per night in high season.
  • 50% Deposit to Hold a Reservation, Balance Due two Months Prior to Arrival
  • $250 per night off-season
  • $100 a day per snowmobile for winter rentals.
  • $15 per night per dog.
  • $100 cleaning fee may apply for stays less than one week.

You might like these similar properties