check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Feel Like You are Alone in Private Beach Front Cottage, Pet Friendly, Pool

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Wall Street sits closer to the Gulf than all of the homes nearby, giving it a very private and secluded feel. Many of our guests continue to rent Wall Street because of this great feature.

Inside you will find the main living area, kitchen, dining area, and living room all directly beach front. The views and sounds of the Gulf literally fill this entire space. The kitchen was remodeled in the winter of 2009 with new living room furniture was added in 2012.

The master bedroom is located on the second floor has a queen bed and full private bathroom. These are the only rooms on the second floor giving you ample privacy. The other two bedrooms are downstairs and both have queen beds. We also provide a queen size blow-up mattress to accomodate a guest to sleep in the living area.

Wall Street also has access to the beach front pool that serves the other three beach front homes we have next door.

You might ask how such a uniquely Southern beach cottage came to have the name of Wall Street. This home is next door to Wings of Eagles and for years Steve Harris had tried to convince the owner to sell him the property but he would not part with it. In 1989 the owner of Wall Street, the house was not yet named at this time, came to Steve after having had a particularly rough year in the stock market. The owner needed funds and sold the house to Steve. Fittingly Steve named the house Wall Street.

If you party is larger, please consider: Wings of Eagles, Summer Wind, or Summer of 42 for additional space. These homes are all next door, are beach front, and share the community pool.

4658 State Hwy 180

Gulf Shores, AL 36542

We love people of all ages, and we want everyone to enjoy our homes. However, we do require that an adult 25 years or older to reserve the home and be present at the home during your entire stay. We do not rent to anyone under the age of 25. We have no exception to this policy.

More Details

Property Manager
Harris Properties Management
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Harris Properties Management

This property is one of 20 vacation properties managed by Harris Properties Management, Inc. Harris Properties started by Steve and Becky Harris in 1983 with the purchase of 'SH 59' (now known as 'Catalina,' VRBO #318060).

Why Harris Properties Management chose Alabama

Gulf Shores and Fort Morgan are the most beautiful beaches in the south. We have powder white sand and beautiful blue waters in a family friendly area!

Guestbook comments from the manager

I had one of the best times at the beach this year at Wall Street. The views were breath taking, clean beach, great weather, fishing interesting. Location was unbelievable being so close to the water. The home was clean and great lay out . Your staff was very cooperative with the couple of issues that were taken care of. Will plan to come back again next year.
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

3.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Feel Like You are Alone in Private Beach Front Cottage, Pet Friendly, Pool
average rating of 3.5714285 based on 22 reviews
1

I never write reviews but feel like I need to warn people... this place is gross!

  • 1 of 5

While the house is wonderfully close to the water, it doesn't make up for the fact that it is in dire need of renovating. The refrigerator door is completely rusted, as is the inside of the microwave. The curtains are stained and torn. The paint is peeling badly in some places and I'm pretty sure there's mold in one of the bathrooms. The porch light that I read about in another review is still not working and probably can't be fixed because if it's age. The furniture is so uncomfortable I was looking forward to getting back in the truck and driving for nine hours. To top it all off on our way down we called for help with directions and were told that nobody else had any problems finding the place and that maybe our gps needed to be updated. I travel frequently and have stayed in all kinds of places but this place was terrible!

Advice to the owner.... SPEND SOME MONEY! This place is not in a bad location, it's deck and proximity to the water are great, and with a little effort and a couple thousand dollars(which is only a weeks peak season rental) it could be really cute.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Property not exactly as described, rough around the edges.

  • 3 of 5

Location, Location, Location

The location, right on the beach was great.

However the house could use some upgrades. Starting with replacing the rusted refrigerator and removing the chipped paint from the walls and repainting.

The mattress in the master bedroom should also be replaced.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Morning Bill, We are happy to hear that you found the location to be great. Thank you for providing the feedback about the property as it only helps us to make improvements where they are needed. Thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand. Lenetta Martin Director of Guest Relations
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Less than Desirable stay

  • 3 of 5

I couldn't agree more with the review before me. We loved the location until we unlocked the doors. We were less than thrilled to see the completely rusted exterior fridge, that would never cool, and we had hundreds of dollars of groceries that went bad. Then there is the stove that he biggest burner is broke and allows you to use 3 small, for a large group isn't always the easiest. Cracked tiles, nails in the carpet, floors very soft in spots. We had a guest with us that is Diabetic and had dietary needs, food went bad in fridge. They also didn't feel safe to walk in the house barefoot because of cracked tile and the carpet nails.

We were adjusted some for the food lost, however they just kept reiterating how it was basically our fault that we didn't read "The fridge may take a few hours to cool down" well 3 days isn't a few hours.

If you want a great beach location, you got it. Just lower your expectations for the interior of the home.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Morning Lynsee, I am happy to hear that you loved the location of Wall Street. I do apologize for the experience you had and that you lost so many groceries. It was not our intention to make you feel like it was your fault that the groceries went bad. I am glad that we were able to refund you half of what was lost. I want to thank you for bringing to our attention the other items so that we can make the necessary improvements where they are needed. Thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
2

Lower your expectations

  • 2 of 5

We just returned from a stay at Wall Street and want to share our experience.

The pros: The home is very close to the beach. You really do feel like you have a private area all to yourself because the home is set closer to the water then other properties. The shared pool is nice to cool off in when you want to change up the scenery with kids. Gulf Shores itself has many kid friendly activities however please note that this will be a 30 minute drive away at minimum.

The cons: The management company is very clear on this however please note that they do not provide enough “necessities” for your visit. Dish soap, laundry soap, etc are up to you to bring. Only 1 small roll of paper towels and 1 roll of toilet paper per bathroom were provided as well as only 1 incredibly thin trash bag that ripped when only half way filled. We were there for 3 nights with 3 adults and 3 kids and were given 8 towels and had to go out and buy laundry soap. I would think for this length of stay and at this price, they would provide more essentials.

In addition to this I'll be honest that the home fell short of my expectations. I would expect a little more when in actuality the home was a hazard with broken tiles and carpet nails protruding from the ground where carpet was apparently ripped off. We all inadvertently stepped on the nails and had to end up putting towels over the spots to prevent further injury (remember towels are in high demand as well!). I am understanding of general wear and tear (example the paint is cracking, the refrigerator rusted, the floor is warped) on a rental property however this property was in disrepair and in need of some attention before welcoming more quests to the establishment…….especially those with small children.

Signage in the property said that they would only come for repairs over the weekend in case of an emergency so we did not call the management company. Of course now they are saying they would have come to repair it if I had called…..

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

Private and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I, our two daughters, and our two dogs rented this place for a week. First impression was that it needed some maintenance. with that said, who cares what the inside of the house looks like when the view and the beach are what we were here for. We rented kayaks for the week from gogokayaks.com. the stove only has 2 burners that worked, (didn't discover that til day 3) and our master toilet had an issue which the management place responded quickly and efficiently. We loved this place! Dogs and all! It was so private and quiet. Everyone was respectful and loved the dogs. We were barely inside, because the sound of the ocean just draws you closers.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Conroe, Texas
1

Not acceptable

  • 1 of 5

We just arrived today. We were greeted with roaches, a dirty, run down house, blood on the "clean" pillowcases, a toilet in the master bathroom that isn't attached to the floor. We are very disappointed in the house. The views are beautiful but the house is not.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Morning, We at Harris Properties enjoy hearing from our guests about the memories they create and the feedback that they provide about the properties. I want to thank you for the feedback about the property, as it only helps us to make improvements where they are needed. I apologize that you were disappointed in the house as we want our guests to be comfortable during their stay with us. We do have pest control taking care of the property and are happy to report that they have found no bugs and are continuing to be proactive in spraying so that they do not return. We would have been happy to send our cleaning company back out to the property had we known you were unhappy in order to make your stay more comfortable. When issues occur we are here to help. Our goal is to insure that you have a wonderful stay. We thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand. Lenetta Martin | Guest Relations
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gulf Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Guest Bedroom #1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Suite - 1 queen , Privately located by itself on the second floor the master
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Located on the first floor
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Located on the first floor
  • King size bed (1), Queen size Beds (2), Queen size air mattress (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This beach cottage is about as ocean front as you can be!! Any closer and you would literally be in the water. Newly updated bathrooms and decor!!!

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers