check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Ultimate South End Home! Sleeps 18. 5BR. Dipping pool/Hot tub. Excellent Reviews

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
18
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
4
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 14-18)

Casa Oceano Rio is the ultimate Tybee vacation rental. Located at the convergence of the Atlantic Ocean and Tybee's Back River it is less than a block to 5 miles of one of the best beaches on the east coast. It is also less than a block walk to the secluded and protected Back River beach which offers a quieter and more tranquil environment.

Recently renovated the 1st floor and restored original 'bath house' from 1929. 1st floor has 2 large BR, 2 baths, including laundry facilities. 2nd floor has kitchen, living room, dining room, 2 BR, and 1 1/2 baths. 3rd floor is the master bedroom loft suite with large recently renovated bathroom with large walk in slate shower. Spiral staircase provides access to the roof top deck for a panoramic view of the island and the most amazing sunsets.

This custom built private residence features a 12 person hot tub/dipping pool that is ideal for relaxing after a day at the beach or on the water. This home offers all the toys for an unforgettable beach vacation including 6 kayaks with pull carts, paddles and life jackets, beach chairs, umbrellas, bocce balls, beach cart, boogie boards, beach toys and a large cooler on wheels. No need to pack up all this stuff and bring it with you.

This home is in Tybee's popular south beach area. It is off the main thoroughfares but within walking distance of Tybee's main shopping, restaurant and nightlife district.

Great place to vacation with multiple families and friends. Especially kid friendly as the kids like the privacy of staying downstairs with their own bedrooms and baths, with a TV for movies and a gaming system, while the adults like the quiet of being upstairs. This is a family type home in a quiet neighborhood and the rental party must be 25 years old.

Please check our calendar before inquiring on availability as it is kept up to date. Also, the Rates section reflects our current rates and all additional charges for taxes and cleaning fee are clearly defined.

VISIT OUR WEBSITE to see additional photos by clicking on the Link to More Information below.

Keywords: 5 Bedroom,Amenities,Roof top deck,Ocean view,Hot Tub, Dipping Pool, Tybee, Savannah, beach, river, kayaks, extras

More Details

Owner
Shelly Fields
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

About Shelly Fields

We used this home as our family residence for 17 years. We have raised our 2 sons here and we are now empty nesters and don't need all this space. We love Tybee and may move back some day but for now we're going to share our little slice of heaven with others.

Shelly Fields purchased this house in 1986

Why Shelly Fields chose Coastal

Willie bought this property and the public shower houses back in the 80s and built his dream home around it. He maintained the integrity of the shower houses and the original tile is still in the first floor bathrooms today. He loves everything about the water (sailing, fishing, boating, etc.) and it was his dream to live at the beach. He then built our home around the shower houses and the rest is history.

What makes this house unique

Just an ideal location. Close to back river and ocean, but also within walking distance to the Pier and the strand.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Very clean, spacious and it had everything we needed. The dipping pool was awesome and we enjoyed our time in it as well as up in the crows nest enjoying the view! Loved being close to the beach, shops and restaurants. We did not meet Shelly and Willie but they responded very quickly to messages! I would highly recommend this home!
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

Ultimate South End Home! Sleeps 18. 5BR. Dipping pool/Hot tub. Excellent Reviews
average rating of 4.827586 based on 60 reviews
5

Beautiful home! Worked perfectly for our large group.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay every much, and the home was beautiful! There were more than enough beds and bathrooms for our large group. It is also only a short walk to the beach and nearby restaurants on Tybee. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home in a beautiful area!

  • 5 of 5

The home is beautiful! It fit 13 of us comfortably, and is located within walking distance of the beach, River, and restaurants. Everything was clean and easy to use.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Good memories, good friends, good times.

  • 5 of 5

This is the 6th annual fall boy's trip. We are now at 11 people. Eleven very difficult to please people. We had a great time! Very relaxing. Very close to everything. The pool offered a great end of day relaxation point for drinks and laughs. The house was very clean with little left to wish for. The kitchen is a little small for so many people who want to be involved in the cooking, but that is really minor compared to all the other great things this house has to offer. Thanks to the owners who provide such a beautiful place to relax and unwind!!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Was just as advertised plenty of room for all of us

  • 5 of 5

Loved that we all had plenty of room but also great gathering places like the porch and dipping pool. House was very clean and well stocked. It fit our needs perfectly.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location with lots of beds

  • 4 of 5

We had overlapping guests, with 10, 14, or 16 close relatives on any one night. We had plenty of beds, but the kitchen, dining, living space would be tight if everyone would have been in the house. Fortunately, with the beach, lighthouse, fort, mini golf, etc, we were only all together for one meal at the house and one at a restaurant. Everyone loved this place. There appears to be some wiring issues as some lights in the kitchen were not working, and there was a power surge that took out the big tv, but an electrician had the tv up in short order. Couldn't have gotten such a quick response in my home town. My youngest grandchild especially loved the pool and for the first time could swim a pool length!l

Some houses we rent leave hotel sized toiletries, but this one doesn't, although we did appreciate the spices, coffee filters, storage bags, etc in the kitchen. Just remember to pack or buy soap, shampoo, toilet paper, etc.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jean. So glad you enjoyed the home and your stay. As a follow up for future guests, Georgia Power came out and cleared up a wiring issue outside the home and no issues since. And as Jean mentioned, we do not supply bath toiletries (shampoo, soap, toilet paper). Most guests usually stay a week and there would be no way to ensure we had enough of these sort of supplies for 18 people every week. Not uncommon in large rental homes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NORTH RIDGEVILLE
4

great vacation

  • 4 of 5

Loved Tybee Island and the location of our house was wonderful, close to the river and the ocean. The house easily accommodated 4 individual families. totaling 15 people!!! Wonderful place for us and all our children and grandchildren to "re-connect".

The pool was a great "extra". The kayaks were great fun. Loved the crow's nest, especially for the sunsets. Owner was easy to work with and the house was very clean and well maintained.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Judy. So glad you enjoyed your stay in our home and sounds like you took full advantage of all the "extras". Wonderful just to get away and create new family memories and happy our home was a part of it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

There is no better way to see the saltwater marsh and natural surroundings of Tybee Island and Little Tybee than kayaking. It is exhilarating, relaxing and truly one of Tybee Island's best activities. Kayaks are around $40 a day to rent and we are providing 4 with your rental.

Tybee also has bike routes designated to safely bike around the island. Be sure and make stops along the way at the Lighthouse, Fort Screven, or stop at Seaweeds for an ice cream cone or Huc-a-Poos for a great slice of pizza. Tim's Bike Gear has daily or weekly rentals and will deliver/pick-up bikes to/from the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tybee Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2017 Off-Season A
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
2017 Mid-Season A
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
St Paddy's/Easter/Spring Break
Mar 16 2017 - Apr 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$600
From
$650
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,200
 
 
2017 Mid-Season B
Apr 24 2017 - May 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$600
From
$650
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
2017 Peak Season A
May 25 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$650
From
$700
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Peak Summer 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$5,800
 
 
July 4th
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$8,000
Flat fee
 
 
2017 Peak Season B
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$600
From
$650
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
2017 Labor Day
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
2017 Mid-Season B
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$600
From
$650
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
2017 Rock n Roll Marathon
Nov 2 2017 - Nov 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.0%

June and July require 7 nights stay. Saturday to Saturday ONLY!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tybee Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 17 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • King size beds (1) King Bed in Master Suite, Queen size Beds (5) Queen Beds in both 2nd floor bedrooms, and Queen Beds in both 1st floor bedrooms, Twin or Single Beds (2) 2 twin beds in one of the 1st floor bedrooms, 2 twin beds in one of the 2nd floor bedrooms, Futon - (1) futon in 1st floor bedroom converts to a bed. Would recommend for 1 or 2 small children - not adults.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Roof Top Ocean & Back River View, 12 person hot tub/swim spa, 6 kayaks (including pull carts, paddles and life jackets) beach gear, and walking distance to Tybee shops and restaurants.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers