Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront property with Lagoon, 2 Heated Pools, and Marina

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,350 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Condo in Relaxed Gated Community


Our condo is located in Kawama Tower, part of Kawama Yacht Club, a secure, gated community with 24-hour access. Kawama Yacht Club boasts a large saltwater lagoon, which is great for swimming, strolls, or snorkeling. We have access to two heated pools. Two elevators serve the Tower and the property also has tennis courts. Guests can rent slips at the on-site marina and for those without a boat, fishing (with a FL license) is possible from the jetty. A favorite pastime at Kawama is gathering at the jetty each evening with drinks and watching the sun go down—what better way is there to relax?

We are able to rent on a “vacation basis”, meaning that there is no chance that your reservation could be canceled at the last minute, in the event that the Monroe County Code Enforcement office discovers that the owner from whom you have rented your unit does not hold either a special vacation permit, or an exemption, to rent for less than 28 days. We also have a hurricane policy that gives you a full refund of days missed, in the event of an evacuation. So in other words, RELAX, you’re on vacation now!

Our condo has 2 bedrooms (one king, one queen + daybed) and two 2 full bathrooms. We also have a queen sleeper sofa. We have a small private balcony that is great for reading or enjoying your morning coffee. Our kitchen is fully equipped with everything from blenders to popcorn makers, as well as a variety of spices that you are free to use during your stay. We also have a George Foreman electric grill for grilling your fresh-caught fish. We have a wash machine and dryer as well as 3 flat screen TVs, cable, and wi-fi. There are plenty of towels and linens, as well as books, DVDs, and games for you to use during your stay.

One of the many reasons why we love Key Largo is that while it’s easy to spend the day lounging by the pool or lagoon, there are plenty of more adventurous options as well. There are several chartered fishing boat options available within walking distance of Kawama. Pennekamp Coral Reef Park is only a five-minute drive away, and we love to kayak through the mangrove trails or snorkel off the beach there. There are a number of tour boats and rental outlets operating near Kawama, including diving and snorkeling tours, as well as the famed ‘African Queen.’ In terms of wildlife adventures, we are within walking distance of Dolphins Plus, one of several swim-with-the- dolphins centers nearby, only a ten-minute drive from the Florida Keys Wild Bird Center, and less than an hour drive from both the Everglades and the Monkey Jungle.

We are also spoiled when it comes to places to eat and drink. Within walking distance are the Pilot House Restaurant and the Key Largo Fisheries, both of which serve good food and drink. The Fisheries also sells a variety of fresh seafood to cook at home. We also particularly enjoy Sharkey’s and Skippers' (three-minute drive) and Ballyhoo’s (five-minute drive). For your everyday needs, Walgreens and CVS are both within walking distance.

We hope you come to love Key Largo as much as we do!

**Worry-free hurricane season policy: In the case of a mandatory hurricane evacuation, you will be refunded for the amount of vacation time missed due to the evacuation.

More Details

Ken Smith-Christmas
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 8, 2018

About Ken Smith-Christmas

We are a retired couple from Virginia who fell in love with Key Largo. We love nature, art, world travel (our daughter lives in Ireland), and having great restaurants nearby.

Ken Smith-Christmas purchased this condo in 2011

Why Ken Smith-Christmas chose Key Largo

We chose this property because we really like the laid-back atmosphere of Key Largo. We love being far enough from the highway to feel a world away from everything, but close enough to good places to eat and drink.

What makes this condo unique

Out of all the places we've stayed in the Keys, this one is our favorite to enjoy wildlife. Our beautiful lagoon means that on any given day, you can see egrets, ibises, parrotfish, iguanas, and many more. We also like the friendly community spirit of Kawama.


Key Largo Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Queen sleep sofa in the living room.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Regretfully, while the condo by-laws prevent us from renting the condo to guests with pets, we do have two dogs who spend the winters there with us. The condo is cleaned regularly, but if you have such a severe allergy to dogs that it would prevent you from enjoying your stay, you may want to consider renting another condo.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
32% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront property with Lagoon, 2 Heated Pools, and Marina
average rating of 4.548387 based on 31 reviews

Beautiful, spacious condo with nice art!

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoyed my stay at Ken's condo. There were plenty of amenities and most important towels! it was spacious and clean. Ken was extremely responsive when I contacted him, which I did many times, sometimes with stupid questions.

The people in the complex were friendly and helpful and added to to the enjoyable atmosphere. Donna the housekeeper was a real sweetheart.

The food at the recommended restaurants was fantastic.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only regret is I didn't have a chance to open the wine so graciously left for us. I recommend this condo to anyone looking for a nice relaxing vacation

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are absolutely delighted that you had such a good time at our home! We, too, deeply appreciate all that Donna does for us, and for our guests. Ken & Linda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Outdated and Dusty

  • 4 of 5

We liked the location of the property but there were a lot of little things wrong with the unit. The unit could use an update. Some of the kitchen cupboards were missing knobs or broken. The remote for the living room was missing and while searching for it we discovered all kinds of treasures and dust bunnies under couches and behind dressers because it obviously had not been thoroughly in a long time. We never did find the remote.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear your complaints about our home. We do have plans to upgrade the kitchen, and rental rates will reflect that in the future. However, we do not have any plans to change the decor in the rest of the unit. It is our home during the winter months. Our family feels very comfortable there, and happy with the furnishings, as it is now. In the past, some renters have misplaced one or more of the remotes to the three television sets. We have alerted our housekeeper about your observations, and I am certain that she will find the missing remote.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

we had a nice time

  • 4 of 5

kawama is always a fun place to stay. unfortunately the tower pool was still not fixed which is a bummer. the unit is a bit dated but if you are just using it as a place to sleep because you are in the keys and there is too much other fun stuff to be doing than it is just fine. had an issue with the sink which the owner addressed and had fixed the next day.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our home. Although we now have let a contract to rebuild, improve, and expand the pool, and work should be commencing shortly, it has been difficult to recover completely from Hurricane Irma. While we were able to effect all of the other repairs (replacing elevators, electrical systems, gardens and grounds, etc.) the pool reconstruction required agreement from an overwhelming majority of the owners, if we were to use this opportunity to improve it. Meanwhile, we still have full use of both the North and South pools, and the South pool is only a few yards farther to walk, but in a different direction, than the Tower's Oasis pool. Ken & Linda Smith-Christmas
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved this condo. It is very clean and cheery. Lots of open living space and comfy furniture.

  • 5 of 5

We had a very nice stay at this condo. The location is great in that it is very close to great restaurants, dive shops and shopping. Also it is very close to Penne amp State Park which is a must to visit. We were 4 adults and we were very comfortable. The two bedrooms had en suite bathrooms and the beds were comfortable. We like to cook and all the necessary cooking and serving accessories were there. I loved the outdoor electric grill. Thanks Ken. Great place

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so delighted to hear that you had such a good time at our home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay, owner is excellent!

  • 5 of 5

First time making reservations through this site, had some difficulties setting everything up but Ken was patient and we got it booked. The unit was spacious and exactly as described. Still some storm damage at the Kawama Club so one of the pools was closed as were the tennis courts, but I can't blame Ken for that. Would happily book this property again. In fact we tried, but it was already booked during our next vacation window (we've booked another condo at Kamama, different owner).

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our home! The tennis courts are reopening now, and we are doing our best to expedite the restoration of the Oasis pool, while also enlarging and upgrading it. Ken & Linda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Green Bay, Wisconsin

Such a wonderful condo

  • 5 of 5

Still recovering from the hurricane, so the beach was not accessible and we never found the lagoon, but our stay was awesome. The location of the condo, just down the street from the Pilot House and on the west end of Key Largo, made it very well located. Great place to explore all of the Keys from. Dined at Lorelei Restaurant on Islamorada - totally recommend a sunset dinner. Went jet-skiing in Key West. Enjoyed the pool on-site and the balcony was used daily. My husband and I shared the spaced with my son and his fiancee and the setup was so nice. Separate bedrooms with their own bathrooms allowed for all the privacy 2 couples could enjoy. All the kitchen resources and a wagon for transporting items to the beach, plenty of beach towels and linens, a dishwasher, blender, and washer & dryer provided all the conveniences we needed. Will definitely consider staying here again.

Thanks so much for the use of your home. Owner was easy to work with and everything was as Ken explained after the hurricane.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our home! The beach is now being reopened, and renovation of the Tower pool is underway. Meanwhile, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed using the pool, but you should have walked a few yards further down the sidewalk to discover the lagoon-- it is also nice for a long, and fascinating swim. Ken & Linda Smith-Christmas
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Miami Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Pilot House
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
Key Largo Fisheries
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $100

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

12.5% Florida State and Local Sales and Occupancy Taxes are not included.

Cleaning fee of $100 applies, as does $49 Property Damage Protection Insurance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.