check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Quiet Home with Mountain View minutes to Gore Mtn & North Creek

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Welcome to the Gore Mountain Chalet!

Our secluded home sits on 10 acres of private land overlooking a mountain side pond with 180 degree view of mountain landscape. Includes comforts of home such as full kitchen, gas heat, large living/dining area & fireplace.

This outfitted chalet features:

- 1 bedroom with large queen bed, nightstands, dresser

- 1 bedroom with full bed, nightstand, luggage bench and hooks for hanging clothes

- Large room that splits into 2 bedrooms featuring full futon and twin bunk beds

- Loft sleeping with a queen bed and double bed

- Large living room with queen sleeper sofa, AM/FM/CD Stereo Surround Sound System

- FREE Wireless Internet

- Dining Room with seating for 8 guests

- Well stocked kitchen with prep table including 2 additional seats

- 1.5 bathrooms

- Includes cooking utensils and all linens

- Off Street Parking for 3-4 Cars

Check out our website for additional pictures and to see Gore Mountain Chalet on a map!

More Details

Christopher Ogden
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner


I just wanted to send you a quick message this morning to tell you how much fun we had at the cabin this weekend. It was exactly what we had hoped the place would be and we had a great time. Thanks again for working with me to get this setup as quickly and painlessly as possible. We're already looking forward to next year's #Geekend Getaway!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 2


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Quiet Home with Mountain View minutes to Gore Mtn & North Creek
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 26 reviews

Great location w some reservations about the owner

  • 3 of 5

Superb location. Big problems with screens in house - we were absolutely inundated with mosquitos due to holes in screens.

BBQ's were not cleaned as per my request and owners confirmation - they were in poor shape and filthy.

House was clean but didn't feel very clean - owner stores boxes of stuff in visible areas of house making house seem cluttered.

I slept in one room only - didn't use other rooms or beds and owner still kept 20% of my security deposit based on some flimsy reasoning. Worse - owner didn't refund my diminished deposit until I contacted him about 10 days later - leads me to believe he may have kept full deposit if I didn't contact him.

House is in a beautiful spot close by the town of north creek.

Look out for the mosquitos and other bugs due to issue w screens and make sure you consider issues w this owner before moving forward.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are always working to improve our home for others to enjoy. Typically security deposits are returned within a week of departure. However, once in awhile more time is needed to assess and determine if part of the deposit needs to be withheld because of damage done or extra cleaning costs incurred.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hoboken, New Jersey

Great weekend with friends

  • 5 of 5

We rented the cabin with friends and we had a great time! We were 9 adults and 1 child. The place was big enough for us to be very comfortable. Most of the beds are on the lower level and therefore more private, and the common area on the top floor makes for a good place to socialize. The place is not new, but everything you need is there, even games(!), and it`s comfortable. We cooked several meals for our group of 10 and never ran out of dishes, silverware or cooking pots and pans. It`s also very close to Gore mountain and a big grocery store, and it has wi-fi. We did some hiking nearby at Peaked Mountain, only a 15-minute drive away. We identified other bigger trails within a half hour distance from the cabin also. And the owner was very responsive. So I definitely recommend it!

The only points I would mention in case someone is looking for this specifically are:

- there is no designated fireplace outside. We were told we could make a fire in the parking lot by forming a circle with rocks, but it is not the same as having a designated fireplace in the woods with chairs around it

- if you have toddlers who walk or crawl, you will have to watch them on the top floor, especially around the staircase or near the fireplace

- there were no chairs on the awesome deck outside when we were there, but the owner told me afterwards that he is expecting to have a bench there soon

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

North Creek /Gore Mountain Chalet

  • 5 of 5

We had a great weekend - house was perfect for our needs. Close to Gore mountain and village area for groceries/reataurants. Kitchen was well stocked and house was a great layout. Open upstairs and great for relaxing and cooking meals. Bedrooms were decent sized and linens etc provided so it was nice and easy. Owner was very easy to contact and went out of his way to make sure we were all set. Highly recommend!!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Views

  • 4 of 5

We went to North Creek NY to ski at Gore. This had a beautiful view of the top of Gore from the large living room windows, and was only 5 minutes from the mountain. It is also across the street from Austin Pond. The pictures are pretty accurate. The house has a cozy feel to it. While the home is a bit older, the kitchen was well-equipped, and there were some newer improvements like the gorgeous living room wood floor, and outside deck. There were towels and linens, and plenty of space for 5 adults and 4 kids. We enjoyed a fire in the massive stone fireplace with the wood that was provided, and truly enjoyed the large open living space. There were no tvs- but we did not miss them. It was a nice change, and we found ourselves playing lots of nostalgic board games instead (provided). We had spotty cell phone service with Verizon, as expected from other reviews, but the internet connection was fine. North Creek NY is a pretty quiet area. However, there was a market a few miles away, and a restaurant, and the Diamond Head area of Lake George is just over a 1/2 hour away. We would definitely stay here again, and perhaps try a different season as well.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Annual ski weekend

  • 5 of 5

Great weekend stay and ski at Gore Mountain. Great house with beautiful view. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good ski vacation chalet

  • 4 of 5

I rented this with my 16 year old son and 2 of his friends for a short ski vacation at Gore Mountain in between school semesters. It was a very nice chalet that was clean and had a very nice kitchen. The boys liked sleeping in the loft. There was plenty of room and we could have easily had more people with us.

The boys were disappointed there was no bumper pool table as represented it the pictures, they were looking forward to that. There was also no TV, my son brought his PS3 so in a way I was thankful LOL. But we always love watching a couple of movies after a long day on the slopes. We were glad we had a laptop and there is Wi-Fi so we watched movies with Netflix, but it would have been nice with a normal screen.

The driveway took me by surprise as it was a bit steep with a bend 2/3 of the way up. When I first arrived it was dark and my vehicle could not make it all the way. I had to back up and park part way down at the bend. But when we arrived after our 1st day at the slopes it had been freshly plowed and sanded. I made it up to the top no problem.

The owner Chris was extremely helpful in setting up the vacation. We booked relatively late and there were a couple logistical issues that he had to work through. He went out of his way to get discounted lift tickets to us. He was very quick to respond to my inquiries. He called me right away to answer my initial booking request. It was nice to be able to talk to a real person rather than play e-mail tag.

The chalet is very attractive with a nice view out the windows, having a fire in the fireplace made for a terrific atmosphere. The chalet is not luxurious, but it is very good value. I'm hoping to take the kids skiing again next year. I would not hesitate to book this chalet once again.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Basil & Wicks
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Rt 28 and Rt 8
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Gore Mountain
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Johnsburg Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
2016 Winter
Jan 17 2017 - Feb 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
2017 Presidents Holiday
Feb 18 2017 - Feb 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
2017 Winter
Feb 27 2017 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $75

Note that the quotable rates don't allow the flexibility we use to quote. If you have questions about the cost, it would be best to contact us directly.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Johnsburg Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Ducted Heating
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Gas Heating
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Loft - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , Splits into 2 rooms
  • There is an additional queen sleeper sofa in the main living area
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Stereo System Includes AUX/AUDIO/iPod Input.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties