Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Prime Location, Walking Distance to Beach & Town

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights


About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

Last week available for 2017: August 27 - Sept 3!!

Block Island has for the vacationer what doesn't seem possible anymore - utter, complete, kicked-back relaxation. Those who cross the twelve miles from what islanders call 'America,' shed more than their neckties and high heels; they shed schedules and agendas. They find a place where they can drift through the days without pressure, without pretense - a place where getting dressed -up means getting out of a swimsuit and into shorts, where going to the post office is a big event. Bring your family, your bikes and your adventure and sample this way of life for a week this summer!

Our clean, cute 2 bedroom apartment is walking distance to town and the beaches. The apartment is attached to the main house but has its own access with a front and back door. We have installed hardwoods throughout and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness. Each week we turn over the unit personally and make sure it's just the way WE would want to rent it. Every year items are replaced and maintained and updated as needed.

Each bedroom has a bureau and a closet. Ceiling fans are in each room (bedrooms and living room). There are also window fans for your use as well. The couch in the living room pulls out to a double. There is also a roll away twin bed in the bedroom closet. We do limit the number of occupants to 5. Water and electricity usage is costly to say the least!

The kitchen is outfitted with pots, pans, bowls, etc. There is a coffee maker, toaster and microwave. There are also extra items like wine openers, measuring cups etc.

There is a great front porch w/rockers and a large back yard with a play structure. Our property fronts Harbor Pond where you can launch kayaks or canoes. Gas grill and outdoor shower are available as well. There is plenty of room for bikes and other toys.

We are located steps from the grocery store (we call it our pantry!), the Bagel Shop, the bank and several restaurants. A car is not necessary with our location but should you choose to bring one, there is off street parking.

We realize you are on vacation. There may be some things you do not want to hassle with so we have offered to provide a few extra services. The apartment does not come with linens (sheets, bath towels or beach towels) but for an additional fee of $100 we will have that in the apartment for your arrival. Also, Block Island does not offer garbage pick up. Each tenant is responsible for taking their garbage to the transfer station at the end of their stay. However, for an additional $25 we will do that for you.

Our apartment has been available for rental for the past 17 years. Each year we have multiple return renters. Some have even been coming for the entire 17 years! Our season usually is completely booked by March 1 so if you are considering a stay with us don't wait!

Keywords: apartment, summer rental

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

About The Owner

Our home has been in our family for 4 generations. Needless to say, Block Island is a special place for us. We maintain our property ourselves and live in the main house all summer. We travel extensively ourselves and know what people expect on vacation.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1956

Why The Owner chose Block Island

This property has been in our family for 4 generations. Block Island is in our blood!

What makes this apartment unique

Our property is very centrally located. We are steps away from the movies, ice cream, shopping or a day at the beach.


Block Island Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen Bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There is a pullout queen bed in the living room.
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Prime Location, Walking Distance to Beach & Town
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews

Can't beat this location & rental!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I (husband and 2 year old daughter) stayed at the rental in August 2017 for a week. We had to bring a car because of the amount of stuff we had but you don't need one here. Walking distance to Old Harbor, shops, restaurants, beach, grocery store - you name it. We didn't spend much time inside except to sleep but everything was clean, as pictured/listed and decorated nicely. We loved the backyard, the swing for our child, sitting on the front porch and people watching, sitting by the fire at night and roasting smores, playing cornhole, the view of the pond and easily walking into town. My favorite was the outdoor shower - I miss it already. The only "negative" is that sometimes you can hear the bars at night but the fan drowned out the noise and didn't really bother us. That just means you're that close to the action! As mentioned in the listing, the owners are adjacent to the rental. We found them to be very friendly, helpful, respectful of our privacy and welcoming. Pro tip - if you're bringing a vehicle - get your reservation ASAP. We love Block Island and cannot wait to come back to this property next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

First, the picture is deceiving. This is a live in apartment and there is no privacy. You share the backyard with the owners. Upon checkout the owner made us do a "walk through" and said she was upset that the sheets were dirty and that she had to clean them. She yelled at us like two year olds.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: William I'm sorry you were "unimpressed" with your stay...I guess the feeling is mutual. We clearly state in our description, we have a family home with an attached apartment. Yes, the back yard is shared, (also clearly stated). We attract families with children or couples looking for a nice, clean place close to town and the beaches. You were NEITHER of those groups. First you mislead us by signing the contract with only two people listed, when, in fact, you had up to 6 staying over at night. I could have made an issue of that but didn't. Then, you drank and partied until 2am most of the week. Again, I could have made an issue of that but didn't. You had more alcohol and profanity coming out of that apartment than I could believe. Again, I could have made an issue of that but didn't. And lastly, your friends were throwing your garbage in the brush next to our house. THAT I had to make an issue of. You need to think twice when you chose to rent someone's home. At 20-something, you clearly don't have the consideration and respect for the space around you. I clean that apartment myself. (I stuck to the floor and yes, the new, white bed linens were filthy.) Your group (many who were, again, not on the lease) treated the apartment as a fraternity house. This was not acceptable and YES, we did want a personal walk through before you left (the first we've ever requested). We have rented our apartment for 15 years now. You are the first group I have EVER had a problem with. You are also the first group who has EVER complained.
Did you find this review helpful?
21 2
Mattituck, N.Y.

2 couples from long island

  • 5 of 5

From the first day I email the owner of this property, to our last day of vacation there, the owner was very helpful and by being helpful she made our stay there GREAT. She email me about the PeaPod food delivery to the island, left a book with activities to do on the island. And most of all made her home feel welcome to us. The photos of the inside of the cottage was accurate and very clean, as well as the outside. Yard was well maintained. We BBQ outside in the yard, stayed out at night and watch the stars. Everything you would want outside was at your finger tips right there. We even had dinner on the front porch. Location of this property was more than what you would ask for. You could walk anywhere with in 5 to 15 mins to get to a beach, restaurant or store. I would recommend this place to everyone I know that would like to stay on Block Island. We are looking forward to going back to the same location next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

A+ Vacation

  • 5 of 5

It was our first time to Block Island and we will definitely return! The property was close to everything and perfect for our family vacation. We especially enjoyed the swing set and grill - we hung out and cooked in most nights at the house since it was so inviting.

The island is amazing. We enjoyed visiting different beaches and nature trails each day. They were each uniquely different. We were very active throughout the week and there is still so much more for us to see. We can't wait to return.

The owners were extremely responsive and accommodating. The house was very well maintained and everything was perfect!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: June 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Westchester County, NY

Excellent location!

  • 5 of 5

We love Block Island and vacation every summer there typically at an inn in Old Harbor, but when we found this great rental so close to Old Harbor and all it has to offer, we had to stay there! We are so glad we did! The apartment was perfect for our family of 4 (two adults and two toddlers), loved the backyard area and the front porch was great for relaxing after a day at the beach. The house is walking distance to terrific restaurants, beautiful beaches, the fun pubs, grocery store, and all of the shops! We do bring our car over (for packing purposes, we need it), but only drove it 3 or 4 times all week - mostly to head over to New Harbor to eat at The Oar and out to see the sights for a drive. The house is very clean and the owners are more than accommodating - lovely family, we are happy to have met them! We are already counting down the days until our return to this rental next summer - can't beat it! We had a wonderful family vacation there!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you and the kids next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
Plantsville Ct

Great Week Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This will be our 6th year returning to this apartment. There are many reasons we keep coming back.

The 1st is the cleanliness of the apartment. We feel so comfortable and enjoy it inside and out.

The outdoor shower is absolutely lovely with the sun shining down on you it is perfect.The shops and restaurants are so close you can walk and don't need to hassle with a car in the crowded streets. Walking to the beach is great! The grocery store has pre-made food or you can buy and cook your own. Can't wait till July to return to a week on "paradise Island".

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: January 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $500

Please mail security deposit check ($250) separately.

Linens (sheet, bath & beach towels) can be rented for $100/week
Trash can be left at the end of your vacation for $25/week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties