Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cabin in the Woods, Close to Dodgeridge and Lake Pinecrest

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Leave behind crowds and commotion of your everyday life and enjoy all that Sierras have to offer from our spacious cabin in the woods.

Wake up to the chirping of birds, pecking of woodpeckers, or the sight of snowflakes floating gently past your bedroom window. Step outside and take a full breath of air smelling of pine and cedar. Listen to the sounds of the forest. Take a brisk walk up the driveway to a clearing from which unfolds a beautiful view of forest and mountains to the west (great spot to watch sunsets, too.)

What will it be today? A day trip to Yosemite? A drive up to the High Sierras? Swimming or kayaking on Lake Pinecrest? Skiing or snowboarding at Dodgeridge, or sledding at Little Sweden? Or maybe you will leave your car behind and hike or ride your bike on the nearby trails?

The possibilities are endless. Quaint Twain Harte with its stores, restaurants, golf course, miniature golf and a nice playground for kids is only 3 miles away. Sonora (malls, restaurants, movie theater, antique shops) is about 10 miles due west. Nearby Sonora is Columbia State Historic Park where you can step back in time to the Gold Rush era and ride a stage coach, pan for gold, or enjoy ice-cold sarsaparilla at the saloon. A bit further away are Big Trees State Park, Moaning Caverns, and Angel's Camp. And don't forget exploring the high country further up highway 108, beyond the town of Strawberry. There you will find the Dardanelles, Kennedy Meadows Resort and Pack Station, and the Sonora Pass. Whether you stay a weekend or a week, you will not run out of things to do.

What makes our cabin truly unique are the 13 acres of pine, fir, and cedar forest on which it is situated, surrounded by acres and acres of state and private forest, which is crisscrossed by logging roads which double as hiking/biking/horseback riding/cross-country skiing trails. There are trails running to commercial areas of Sugar Pine (check out Kelly's Kitchen) and Mi-Wuk (both about 15 minutes walk) as well as to Lyon's Dam, and, from what I hear, all the way to Strawberry. In the winter, a 1/5 mile driveway doubles as a private sled run, not too steep for little kids, yet long enough for grown-ups

Inside the cabin, you will find two bedroom wings, each with 2 bedrooms, making it easy for 2 or 3 families to enjoy staying there at one time. One wing has a master bedroom with a comfortable king-size bed and an adjoining bathroom. A small bedroom with 2 twin beds adjoins the master bedroom. This setup is great for a family with younger kids. The other wing has two bedrooms (each with two twin beds), a full bathroom with shower and tub, and a sitting area with 6-foot tall windows which allow you to enjoy the sight of outdoors while staying in.

The huge living/dining room sports high wood ceiling, a wood-burning fireplace (in front of which we spent many an evening after a day of skiing or sledding) and a TV with a VCR and a DVD player.

Next to the fully appointed kitchen, there is a laundry room with a washer and a dryer and a breakfast nook which will accommodate 6-8 people.

Downstairs, there is a large family room with a game table (air hockey, pool, and ping-pong) and a TV with a VCR as well as bunk beds and 2 futons. A gas fireplace tucked in the corner will keep you nice and cozy. Adjoining the family room is a full bathroom with shower.

It's a great cabin in a great location. Come and enjoy it, and bring a friend or two.

Keywords: Cabin, House, Mountain Home

More Details

Andre Kruglikov
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

About Andre Kruglikov

I am a software developer, and after days (and sometimes nights) spent in front of a computer, I always look forward to the space and the solitude I find at our cabin.

I love taking long hikes or bike rides through the forest, exploring different trails.

In the summer, Lake Pinecrest is great for swimming or kayaking and a 5-mile hike around the lake is reasonably strenuous with plenty of spots to stop, take a swim in the lake and enjoy the scenery.

In the winter, we head up to Dodgeridge for skiing or snowshoeing or to Little Sweden for sledding (there is no lift, and you get plenty of exercise hiking up the hill, but the ride down is well worth it.)

Andre Kruglikov purchased this cabin in 2002

Why Andre Kruglikov chose Mi-Wuk Village

My better half was almost born in Long Barn, and their family has been vacationing in that area almost every year. When we happened on this cabin, we loved the space, the solitude and the proximity to Lake Pinecrest and to Dodgeridge.

What makes this cabin unique

This is a great place to unwind and relax, with plenty of space, both indoors and outdoors for a large group of people.


Mi-Wuk Village Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Comes with a master bathroom.
    Bedroom next to Master Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Accessible via Master Bedroom. Great for kids.
    Bedroom off the enclosed hallway - 2 twin/ single , A bedroom in a separate wing from the Master Bedroom.
    Another bedroom off the enclosed hallway - 2 twin/ single , A bedroom in a separate wing from the Master Bedroom.
    Downstairs Rumpus Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , about 400 sq ft, TV, Air Hockey, gas fireplace, bathroom
  • Linens and blankets are available. If using our linens, please give yourself enough time on the departure day to wash. dry, and fold them. If you prefer, our cleaning crew can do it for you, but they will want to be paid for their time.
  • Air Hockey
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

67% Complete
22% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Cabin in the Woods, Close to Dodgeridge and Lake Pinecrest
average rating of 4.525 based on 40 reviews
Los Angeles

Great house supplies

  • 5 of 5

The house was very well equipped with blankets and towels in case you need. He gave us plenty of fire starters and charcoal for the bbq! The heating worked very well and the house in a most peaceful setting! Very convenient to drive to surrounding areas. Kitchen was huge and very well stocked. Perfect house for one or more families!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Secluded and quiet. Very relaxing.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice place. Good location

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect home for our vacation

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay. The home was spacious, clean and had a nice view from the deck. My kids did not want to leave the home in the mountains. It was easy to communicate with the home owner. He replied to my questions in a timely manner. Getting to the drive way is a little confusing but if you follow the instructions given by the owner then you should get there just fine. Overall we had a wonderful time on our week stay. Did many things within an hour's drive from the home. We also took a two hour drive to Yosemite. We definitely recommend this home for a vacation getaway. We are hoping to spend some winter time here, just to experience the season. Oh.. there is no a/c so it can get warm during the summer but if you are out most of the day, it really isn't inconvenient. We just opened the windows and doors and it cooled pretty fast.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I like and is big cabine but small beds

  • 3 of 5

We find dirty cabine when get in and some body goin to work maybe 4 or 5 hours whit us in there but its good place for family fun

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A day before this guest has arrived, someone has broken into the cabin and made a bit of a mess (graffiti, etc.) I did not want any repeat visits, so I contacted an alarm company to install equipment that would hopefully keep uninvited guests out. When I spoke to the guest earlier that day about my cabin caretaker coming by to take a look at damage (alarm installers were supposed to come the following Wednesday, but then were able to rejigger their schedule and come on Friday), he indicated that they would be spending the day at Lake Pinecrest, so I did not expect for there to be any problems. When I arrived at 1 pm, the whole family was there, and I apologized for inconvenience, and they seemed understanding. The installer has arrived at 2 and left a bit after 6. The guests asked if they could stay a few extra hours past scheduled check-out time on Sunday, and I said "sure", thinking that it would make up for the earlier inconvenience. I guess it did not. As for "small" beds, the listing accurately represents the number and size of beds, so I am not sure what more I could do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

good location; Risky driveway; Check additional charges before booking; Unhygienic cabin

  • 3 of 5

Getting to cabin – The road condition (When you take left from 108 to tramway) was really bad. Cabin rent is not cheap. This should have been fixed to avoid accident. Be VERY CAREFUL when you go in snow/rainy season. Its 0.5 miles but it was risky. At least some concrete work should have been done near cabin.

Something to note before booking- This was not mentioned prior to booking so that is not good. Copying following two points from rental agreement. Not adding anything from my side. This should have been mentioned before booking.

1. Cost of hauling will be deducted from your deposit.

2. If it should become necessary to plow the driveway while the guest is staying at the cabin, the guest is responsible for 50% of the cost with property owner picking up the rest. In the past, cost of plowing the driveway has not exceeded xxx, but it depends on the amount of snow that needs to be plowed

You have to clean everything no matter what you get when you arrive. Even after paying cleaning fee , we didn’t get clean cabin. I am not sure the use of cleaning fee when you don’t get cleaned cabin and you have to clean each and everything before you leave. This is all mentioned in rental agreement.

Location of cabin was good. Near to ski resort was plus. Owner was responsive. No issues with owner. I discussed above points with owner and he partially agreed on cleaning and driveway issues. we also didn’t do any damage and didn’t leave anything dirty behind although we didn’t get clean cabin.

*** will not consider booking this cabin again.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: $145 for a 4+ bedroom 3.5 bathroom cabin that can easily accommodate 13 guests and provides numerous recreation (hiking, sledding, biking) opportunities right outside the front door is not cheap? Compared to what? Please feel free to take a look at comparable cabins in the area and see for yourself. I did. Driveway was heavily affected by all the rains and snow this year. Once we had a few dry days, I engaged a road engineer to regrade the entire driveway (at a cost of $1,200, no chicken feed) and construct 4 water bars to redirect water flow off the driveway to reduce damage from future rains. Doing some "concrete work" near the cabin will cost over $10,000, the whole driveway (it's 1/5 of a mile, not 0.5 of a mile, by the way) would cost several times that. Rental Agreement is provided to guests before booking. If they find anything objectionable in it, they do not have to go through with booking. "Cost of hauling" refers to trash (reviewer chose to not include the whole paragraph), if a guest chooses to have us dispose of their trash. My caretaker charges $27.50, of which $14.50 goes to Cal Sierra transfer station and $13 to the caretaker. I don't think it is unreasonable. Lots of guests have us do it, and other than the reviewer, no one has complained. And besides, if they find this excessive, they can always dispose of their trash themselves. Normal cost of snow plow service is listed as $75 (and not xxx) in the Agreement. I had to pay full cost of snow plow several times this year to get guests in and only once a guest (NOT the one who wrote the review) had to pick up 50% of the cost because they needed to be plowed out. They ended up staying at the cabin and playing in the snow for a few hours after check-out time until the plow arrived. That guest has been coming to our cabin for years and, apparently, has not been deterred by all the issues that this reviewer mentioned. As for cleanliness of the cabin, in the reply to my question about cleanliness issues at the cabin, the guest said " linens in 2 small bedrooms- they were not clean .. utensils we had to wash before using it because didn't feel like it was thoroughly washed." This hardly ads up to "You have to clean everything no matter what you get when you arrive." We are not running (and the guests are not paying for) a hotel-like service. Guests are responsible for running laundry and washing dishes. Perhaps some did not do as good a job as they should have. Most of them do
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Amazing, beautiful views and plenty of snow

  • 5 of 5

I love the 2 story cabin. It was spacious for my group of 12. We got lucky and it had snowed prior to our arrival. It was clean, fully stocked kitchen with more than enough silverware, pots, plates and cups. There is only 1 queen bed in the cabin and the rest are twin beds throught the rooms. The cabin is very secluded so you feel like you have the forest to yourself. We created a sled on the side of the cabin and the kids had a good time. If you decide on this cabin and there is snow, I recommend 4×4 and/or chains. The driveway was plowed on the same day and it made a difference. I will definitely select this cabin again because it is very close to dodge Ridge and Pinecrest. The cabin does not have WIFI and everyone was so busy with playing in the snow, exploring and taking pictures, they did not even miss the WIFI. Great cabin and I highly recommend it. I also forgot to mention the owner was also very quick to respond to any of my questions prior to our arrival.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Columbia Airport (O22)
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Twain Harte Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2.6 Miles
Kelly's Mountain House
Nearest Ski
18.7 Miles
Dodge Ridge
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Lake Pinecrest


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $110 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties