About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 - 7 nights
Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)
Welcome to Beach Retreat West. This 2nd row duplex has it all. Enjoy great ocean and sound views without the oceanfront rental prices. This home is in excellent condition, with over 2000 sq. feet of living space. View the ocean or sound from every single room in the house. Walk out onto the decks, and the ocean views will take your breath away. I promise, once you have been here for a week, or two, you will never want to leave.
You will wake up in the mornings, walk out onto the decks, and gaze out over the beautiful Crystal Coast. Take a deep breath and you will smell Emerald Isle's salty air. This home has four bedroom, with queen beds (all with deck/balcony access), a kids' loft/entertainment area (four twin beds), with TV/VCR/DVD. There is also a large collection of books, movies, games, puzzles, and a stereo system all there for your enjoyment.
Cook all your favorite foods in the fully stocked kitchen, while you look out the window at the ocean. Dine in and entertain in the large, open living/ dining room. Watch t.v on the flat screen TV, while relaxing on the couch.
Step out on the deck the take in the gorgeous views of the beach from both directions. If you watch carefully, you may even catch a glimpse of dolphin swimming by. If the sun gets too hot for you on top, stroll downstairs, where you can enjoy a covered deck that provides lots of shade.
One of my favorite amenities with this home is the beach access. There is a wooden walkway directly across the street that leads you straight to the beach. This is extremely important if you are like me, with five kids and it seems like you bring everything but the kitchen sink with you. We always have so much to carry back and forth, that having the convenience of the beach access is priceless.
Finally, after a fun-filled day on the beach, put the kids to bed and walk back out onto the deck. Sit back and look at the moon as it shines over the ocean. This view will just put an exclamation point on your day. Get a good night sleep and get ready to do it all over again tomorrow.
I hope after reading this, you are excited about vacationing with us. We look forward to making our 'Little Piece of Paradise', paradise for you and your family too. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, comments or concerns that you might have.
If you are vacationing with multiple families, please see dates and availabilities for Beach Retreat East, listing #353518. Rent both sides and vacation together.
Thank you for visiting our page. Hope to see you at the beach soon, with a drink in your hand and your toes in the sand!
Check - in time: 4:00 pm
Check - out time: 10:00 am
Keywords: ocean, ocean view, 2nd row, sound view, Emerald Isle, NC, deck, direct beach access, enclosed outside shower, clean, discount
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 4, 2018
About Robin Johnson
I have been vacationing at Emerald Isle for over 30 years. My family always looked forward to our summer vacations. We knew that every year would be memorable. Now that I am grown up, married and have a family of my own, the tradition of vacationing in Emerald Isle continues. My children love to come to the beach. They have a great time. We all do! When we are not at the beach, we reside in the foothills of North Carolina. We have five beautiful children, who keep us very busy with school and sports. It has always been a dream of ours to have our own place at the beach. This past spring (2011), our dream came true. We are very excited about sharing our home away from home with you!
Robin Johnson purchased this Cottage in 2011
Why Robin Johnson chose Emerald Isle
Emerald Isle has the most beautiful beaches anywhere. You can enjoy yourself on the beach without all the crowds. Take a short drive to nearby areas, where you can shop, dine, and take in the local scenery. Don't forget to visit the NC Aquarium. This is a fantastic place to bring the family and to learn all about the different regions in NC and the animals that inhabit them.
What makes this Cottage unique
We love to hang out on the deck, drink our morning coffee, and watch the waves crash onto the beach. We spend our days on the beach, enjoying the sand, sun, and water. My kids love to take turns burying each other in the sand and surf fishing with Dad! We love to take long walks down the beach, watching the seagulls flying overhead, while the water washes up over our feet. At night, the kids go back down to the beach where they like to go 'crab hunting'. I always told my husband that this was my paradise and I wouldn't want to be anywhere else. I hope you feel the same once you experienced Emerald Isle.
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Property was clean and well maintained.
This property fit the needs of my family vacation. There were some puzzles and games available that we could sit down and enjoy together as family. This was nice because we all forgot to bring our own. This property has a beautiful view of the beach and is a short walk to enjoy the sun and sand. I recommend this property to any family looking to have an enjoyable vacation.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our home. We home you will choose to come back and stay with us again.
Not like it used to be!
Stayed here 3 summers ago and thoroughly enjoyed it so I thought I would rent again. Disappointing to say the least. It appears routine maintenance is not being accomplished. For example, the note on Master Bath toilet saying " hold handle down for 6 seconds for proper flush" ....really?
But.... the MOST aggravating and potentially DANGEROUS oversight is the upstairs door. This door is the only fire exit in the top of the unit and it has another note taped to it explaining how and where to press your body weight in order to lock/unlock the door because the door is warped. Even after carefully following instructions it still is very cumbersome and time consuming to accomplish. I can only imagine trying to do this at 2 am with a fire in the house. We just left the door unlocked accepting the risk of intrusion over the risk of not being able to exit quickly....needless to say we won't be back.
Sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We try very hard to keep the house warm and inviting to all that come and stay.
As with all vacation rentals, you have to remember that that is what they are, a rental. Unfortunately, not everyone takes are of your property the way you would. It's hard to get to all the problems that arise during the season when renters are coming and going. That's what the off season is for, to fix and replace problems that have come up during the season.
As far message on the toilet, we put them on most of the toilets because we were having problems with people stopping them up. Thought is they flushed a little slower, it would help with that, especially with the smaller kids. Sorry that offended you!
The upstairs door we are aware of and are in process of replacing it. Once again, it is hard to do in the middle of summer when we have renters in constantly. My parents, who live on the island, have worked very hard this year to keep the door working properly to get us through the summer.
Thank you for your review. It allows me to address the issues with you and assure you that they are being handled.
This home has everything you need to get away to paradise. Steps to the beach.
We came to Emerald Isle for a large family get together. We rented this home and the duplex next door. Everyone had their own space and there was plenty of time to be together on the whack or one of the porches for fun and games. We will be back!
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in our home. We always love having our repeat families come back to visit every year. Thank you for being a loyal family. I look forward to booking your vacation next summer!
Quiet, clean, and just what a person needs to relax.
We had a total of two families. 4 adults and 8 children. Ages: 1,2,3,6,10,13,14,17,36,39,39,42. This place was perfect for us. There are 4 levels total. Working Washer/dryer with table and chairs, iron, iron board, a bike with no pedal, charcoal fluid, and light bulbs on first floor. Three bedrooms on second level. Two facing the ocean with balcony and chairs and private bathroom with his/her sinks and one room facing the sound with balcony and chairs and shared bathroom. There is a full sized mirror in the hall and a vacuum sweeper. The kitchen is the next level. It's not large enough for more than 3 people or when the fridge is open, but it has loads of supplies. We left four crab crackers and personalized cups from our beach wedding for future vacationers. No soap, napkins, or paper towles. There are coffee supplies in small side cubboard. There is a room on the sound side with a smaller balcony and shared bathroom. Another vacuum is in the closet. Fyi, No sweeper bags in home. The loft has four twin beds, the teens said they weren't the most comfortable. Smaller children could get away sleeping up there. The TV in loft only has one channel but does have dvd/vcr. The loft has a beautiful view of both the sound and ocean. The balconies are the best!!! We felt safe at the house the whole time. Short walk to beach. We had a huge crab boil with a total 24 people, it was enjoyable and plenty of eating utensils. We inspected the house for bugs. None except occasional pee ants. We truly enjoyed staying there. We never heard the neighbors. The outside shower is nice to clean up after the beach. Plenty of parking space. Clothe lines with pins are available. We left two boogie boards and sand buckets for the kids. The fridge is good to keep food and beer cold. The showers had decent water pressure and the water is hot. The taste wasn't great. If you buy too much food there is a food pantry that will take your left over both opened and sealed. We hope to be back again in the future. Our wedding was beautiful. We used the 3rd Level bedroom as our beauty room. It worked perfectly. Some additional items the house has are matches, scissors, and batteries, Thank you Robin, for being welcoming and allowing us to enjoy your vacation home.
Congratulations again Melissa to you and your husband. I'm so glad your day was as wonderful as you anticipated it would be. We are honored that you chose our home to start your life together in. We wish you and your family all the best and would love to have you come back and stay with us again.
FYI..... We have restocked the vacuum cleaner bags. :)
Convenient to the beach with great views from the kitchen and living room
We had a great week in this house which was clean and well kept. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything we needed for preparing meals. The layout is true to the descriptions in other reviews; we had nine people and there was plenty of room. The kids stayed in the loft and we did need to keep our voices down at bedtime in the kitchen/ living room area.
It was conveniently located and the boardwalk to the beach was only steps away from the driveway. The outside shower was really nice to have when returning from the beach.
We took advantage of parasailing at AB watersports and also visited Fort Macon at the end of the island where they have a canon firing demonstration on Wednesdays at 4:00 pm during the summer months.
We would definitely stay here again!
It was great stay
2 showers were not working, otherwise it was great with great facilities and ocean views
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our home. Sorry to hear that you had trouble with the showers. Can you please tell me which ones you had trouble with? My family was down about a month ago and everything was working properly. No one in between or since your visit has mentioned this to me. This is an issue that definitely needs to be addressed before my summer rentals start.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
WEEKLY rentals include housekeeping/linens. Nightly rentals require a $125.00 housekeeping fee and optional linens for an additional fee. Must be 25 years old to enter into rental agreement.