check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Relaxing Cabin Escape on Peaceful Schoolhouse Lake

Bedrooms 1
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more



About the property

House, 1 Bedroom/ Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Classic northwoods cabin located just 10 miles south of downtown Hayward, on peaceful Schoolhouse Lake. Enjoy relaxing on the dock, fishing, getting out on the pontoon, paddleboat or canoe. Marvel at the stunning lake view from the spaciaous deck with a firepit, gas grill, picnic and patio table and sun embrella. The cabin is surrounded by tall pines and gardens. You may see an occasional deer stroll passed the deck or eagles cruising above the trees. Enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine as you listen to the birds and loon's call while enjoying the scenic view. The Summer months are beautiful. Fall brings the blazing color of the Northwoods of Wisconsin, to your doorstep. Enjoy a cozy winter getaway or stay during the American Birkebeiner, cozied up to the fireplace.

Fully stocked kitchen and all linens provided.

Get away from the hustle and stress of everyday life and unwind in the laid back and inviting atmosphere of Wisconsin Northwoods.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Nancy McCutcheon
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 26, 2016

About Nancy McCutcheon

I grew up in Northcentral Wisconsin and have always enjoyed woodland and lake life. I bought this property for to enjoy with my two children, who are now away at school, which is why I have opened my home up to others who enjoy a great North woods adventure and escape.

Nancy McCutcheon purchased this house in 2004

Why Nancy McCutcheon chose Northwest

Hayward is a great place to relax but also offers great restaurants, golf, mini-golf, go carting, old fashioned candy shop, nature center, petting zoo and other great activities for the whole family.

What makes this house unique

The cabin is on a wooded property just steps from the water. If you enjoy going on long walks you can go for miles, exploring all that Northern WI has to offer. Angler's Haven is a fun bar/restaurant one mile from the cabin. It is on beautiful Lac Courte Oreilles and has a great menu and activities for kids of all ages.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Relaxing Cabin Escape on Peaceful Schoolhouse Lake
average rating of 4.888889 based on 27 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We had a very nice time. The owner was very helpful and accommodating. Perfect for a quiet couple getaway.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
southwest Wisconsin

great return stay at Schoolhouse Lake

  • 5 of 5

We rented the Schoolhouse Lake house for a second time in two years. It's so peaceful, clean, and relaxing. We enjoy watching the herons, eagles, turtles, fish, deer, and other wildlife. We appreciate having so many different items to use on the water. We don't rent the pontoon but use everything else. Fires on the deck were great. The house was very clean--even inside the cupboards--and the queen bed is comfortable. It's great to have so many games, books, magazines, and videos to use at the house. If you don't want them, they are tucked away. Nancy is very helpful and easy to work with. The water level in the lake was higher than the last time we were there, almost to the bottom of the pier. The heron was fishing from the pier. We got some good photos. One thing that the house photos do not show is that the main level floor is pebbles in cement. Nancy has carpets strategically placed, so you don't have to have something on your feet. It's just nice to be aware of it for tender feet. The environment is as pictured. We'll definitely rent from Nancy again.

The house is away from town but offers such a great environment that if you are looking for a serene place to relax and renew, this is it. It's easy to drive ten minutes to Hayward or five minutes to Stone Lake. We weren't able to eat at Angler's Haven, but the food looked and smelled great. We had the Friday night fish fry at Trailways Inn, which was very good. We can't recommend Angler's Bar in Hayward. The food was mediocre at best, and we've tried it a couple of times over the years. The folks at the Hayward Visitors Center are extremely helpful every time we are in the area. The new Birkie museum is interesting. We like the area because it is close enough to do day trips to Ashland, Bayfield, Superior, and the north shore area. The numerous state parks are fun to explore as well. You can't beat the beauty of Wisconsin.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

cabin on schoolhouse lake

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved everything about this cabin, its location and all the extras! I can't wait to come back. Our plan was to kayak, canoe, off rode bike, fish and relax. We accomplished all of those things. Best of all, after playing outside all day, were could come back to the cottage, toss something on the grill and pop open a beer to relax and/or fish off the dock. The only thing I'd change would be to spend two weeks instead of just one.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Peggy, for the thoughtful review! I am delighted that you had such a good time. There's so much to do up north. It sounds like you had both an active and relaxing escape. We look forward to having you back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful cabin and setting!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed... the cabin, deck, water toys (esp the paddleboards), pontooning around the very quiet lake, (many times we were the only ones out there), swimming was very nice (the shoreline was mucky, but we got into the water at the end of the dock), fires in the fire pit on the deck, fishing (we didn't catch much, but a few crappies and a couple sunfish). We loved our stay!! It was very private and serene. The large windows facing the lake made for wonderful scenery!! Thanks again Nancy!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Cherie. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and made good use of all the cottage has to offer. We hope to see you again in the future! Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin -- beautiful, peaceful, relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

Spent a long weekend in northern Wisconsin at this beautiful cabin on Schoolhouse Lake, just south of Hayward. What a great place to go chill for a few days. Or if you have the time, spend a whole week here. The cabin was very clean and included all of the essentials to make our stay hassle free, including plenty of games, puzzles and movies. The deck was awesome and we especially enjoyed the fire-pit at night. The owner was timely, very pleasant and attentive to our needs. Overall, a great place to stay and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a cabin in the area!

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A nice cabin and nice location. Needs a good scrubbing!

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I stayed 4 nights. The Owner was prompt and friendly with communications and was always easy to get a hold of if needed.

The cabin is a little on the compact size but perfect for a couple. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the loons haunting call every morning.

The kitchen was for the most part satisfactory for this. It would have been nice to have a dishwasher for convenience especially since it appeared as if previous visitors did not wash the dishes as well as a dishwasher would have. Also the water from the tap is a light tan color and not fun to wash the dishes in. I think this also caused dingy looking kitchen linens.

This cabin would have greatly benefitted from an overall deep cleaning. I moved some glasses to an upper shelf to make room for groceries and just intended to wipe the shelf lightly. Instead, I found the rag to be quite dirty and then found all the inside cupboards to be just as dirty. This was the same for the top of the refrigerator, which was dirty and greasy. The bathroom was also in need of a good scrubbing. The bathroom counter had hair and toothpaste spittle on it. The (6) drawers in the bathroom were all full of bathroom items and there was no room for our things in the drawers at all. I removed the items to a bag and placed in the closet for our visit so we could use the drawers. Needless to say, I had to wipe out the drawers that looked as if no one ever cleaned them. The small bathroom counter had a lamp, a clock, a box of Kleenex, a large pump bottle of lotion, and a soap dish and the sink, of course. The shower also had large bottles on minimal shelf space. This could be a nice cabin if someone would de-clutter personal and worthless items, and give it an overall deep clean.

Everywhere in the cabin had too many magazines and clocks, and books, and toys, and knickknacks! The outside chairs and tables were all also dirty and we did not want to have to spend our time looking for rags and cleaning supplies to use them. Quite a shame, because it was a fairly nice area with lots of chairs and pretty potted flowers on a nice patio.

We were charged a cleaning fee without the benefit of receiving a clean clutter free cabin. The “cleaning” women came 15 minutes before checkout. She wanted to get in and start cleaning while we were packing up. I asked her to let us finish before she came in and they waited in the driveway so we felt very rushed as we were finishing up our packing.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sophia, Thank you for your comments. I am surprised and disappointed that you had that experience and intend to make it right by you. I wish you had contacted me during your so that I could have sent my team back in. Please contact me and I will refund your cleaning fee. I have a long standing cleaning service that is very thorough and well respected in the area. This is the first complaint such as this that I have received. I will reach out to my cleaning team and have them do a super deep cleaning, in addition to the weekly cleaning, more often. Many renters enjoy kicking back, reading magazines, playing games, which is why I make those available for their enjoyment. Again, thank you for your candor.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Angler's Haven
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Big Fish Golf, Hayward Golf & Tennis
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Hwy 27. Hwy 63
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Angler's Haven and Waterfront Restaurant
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
American Birkebeiner; Cable, WI Mt. Telemark
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Lac Courte Oreilles

Lumberjack competition every summer in Hayward. Rodeo every summer in Spooner.


Rates & Availability

Hayward House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Standard pricing

Changeover Day: Saturday
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $75
Property Damage Protection $59

Daily rate is $250/night
Pontoon rental is available for $450/week.
You may pay by credit card or check.
Checks should be made out and mailed to:
Nancy McCutcheon
2848 Sunset Blvd
Minneapolis, MN 55416

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Hayward House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Outdoor fire pit, indoor wood burning stove, deck mobile fireplace

Partner Offers