Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front Condo in Downtown Malibu on Billionaire's Beach

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Conveniently Located Near the Pier in Malibu

Malibu is 27 miles long. This condo sits in the heart of downtown Malibu walking distance to all the amenities for dining, shopping and water sports. Next door is the Malibu Pier and famous Surfrider Beach. You can walk to the restaurants, rent kayaks, surfboards, jet skis, and paddle boards. You can also book whale watching trips, visit Malibu Lagoon or go on a tour of the Adamson’s House

Restaurants include the casual; McDonald, Jack in the Box, D’Amories Pizza, and the more upscale Nobu Within walking distance is entertainment at The Malibu Inn. Other restaurants close by are Tra Di Noi, Taveran Tonys and Chipotle at Cross Creek. Also at Cross Creek is Malibu Theature and a few other eatries and plenty of shopping.

The condo is ocean front facing out on Carbon Beach, often called “Billionaires Beach” due to the beautiful houses along the beach. High tide or low tide there is usually a dry beach to walk on. The condo has a large deck for sitting out and watching the dolphins riding the waves or the seals frolicking in the ocean.

Located in the complex called The Malibu, the condo is two bedrooms, 1 with a queen bed the second room with 2 double (full size) beds. There are 2 bathrooms with showers and 1 with tub. The kitchen is complete with all the utensils and appliances for cooking. The condo comes with TV, WiFi and DVD.

The Malibu complex includes a large heated pool and grilling area. There is reserved parking in the garage for 2 cars tandem style. PLEASE NOTE: There is a low entry to the garage which will accommodate vehicles up to 66 inches high. There is a private gate down to the beach. There is a pool in the complex that is heated around Memorial Day until the end of September.

Keywords: ocean front, ocean view, on the beach, beachfront, oceanfront, carbon beach, malibu beachfront, condo on beach, malibu pier, surfrider beach

More Details

Property Manager
Tonya McArthur
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

About Tonya McArthur

26 year resident of Malibu

Tonya McArthur purchased this condo in 2001


Eastern Malibu Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1),
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Front Condo in Downtown Malibu on Billionaire's Beach
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Very nice condo RIGHT on the water

  • 5 of 5

Our week long visit at this condo was wonderful. We arranged ahead of time to meet Tonya there as soon as we got in. She got us settled in, showing us the amenities inside and outside before leaving. If you're an ocean lover, this is your place. At high tide the water comes up under the balcony. The only bummer about this is you can't really walk the beach without a big chance of getting very wet (the waves are right there and are strong). At low tide you can get further if you don't mind climbing over some pretty big boulders. The condition of the condo was very good. It was clean, the kitchen is well equipped, the bathrooms have toiletries, and there are many items for beach and pool fun. The pool was warm and appeared to be well maintained. We were there in July and had it to ourselves 90% of the time! We rarely even saw other people in the hallways or on the beach. The beds were comfortable for our family of four. We thought four adults would be the maximum number to stay here as the living room furniture really wouldn't seat more comfortably. The balcony had two separate seating areas with room for more people. The views from inside and outside are AMAZING. The sound from the water was wonderful but (and I hesitate to even say this), we had to close the balcony doors to hear the TV without turning it up quite loud. We didn't spend a lot of time inside but it's worth noting. We enjoyed exploring the area a bit (the traffic is awful), spending many hours relaxing in the pool and boogie boarding right outside. There is a grocery store very close by so we didn't have to eat out all the time. There were quite a few restaurants within walking distance. As the listing states, you cannot park a large vehicle here. It was a little tight with our average size sedan. We had a wonderful time here and highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unbeatable location

  • 4 of 5

We spent 2 weeks with our kids at the age of 4 an 7 in the apartement and had a wonderful time with this unbeatable location. Unfortunately the interior was aged and the apartment was really bad cleaned, there was sand and hairs everywhere. The owner/ manager only helped us by phone getting and leaving the keys. This was quite complicated.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jorg: We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Sorry you had trouble connecting with us upon your arrival. We always do our best to greet our guests upon arrival to show them around and get them settled in, but we weren't made aware of your arrival time. Also, apologies that the service apparently didn't do a good job cleaning the unit. Next time, just give us a call, and we'll gladly send over a crew to re-clean the place. Thanks for visiting and for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved it. Very private and relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

One of the best weeks vacation ever. Pure relaxation yet close to everything

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Christmas at Malibu Beach

  • 5 of 5

The property is just beautiful. It is located directly on the beach. The condo unit is clean and extremely well supplied. The floor plan is good with the 2 bedrooms and baths being completely separate from each other. I like to cook while on vacay, and the kitchen was well organized, included many types of utensils and tools and small and large appliances were in good working order. Dishes and glasses were plentiful. The location is within walking distance of many popular Malibu eateries and outdoor experiences. The condo is pet friendly. The units are quiet if you like the background white noise of ocean crashing waves throughout the night. We were told of a neighboring music studio, but had no difficulty with music noise drifting toward us. The sofas, beds, and chairs were well appointed and comfortable. The linens were more than adequate. I would love to stay here for an extended period of time as it was that enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect Malibu Retreat

  • 5 of 5

I have lost count the number of times I've been to Malibu and I always stay on Carbon Beach. This is the first time I have stayed in this condo as I brought my 80 year old mom. Great location. Beautiful view from the balcony you will never want to leave. It is well stocked with the basics and conveniently located to anything you need - groceries, pharmacy, great restaurants and shopping. Onsite coin-op laundry is convenient for washing beach towels or longer stays. Clear instructions provided throughout the condo for anything you might need. Very responsive rental agent. Rent with confidence. You won't want to leave. Thanks for a great week with my mom!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!!

  • 3 of 5

Really love the home and how it's located right on the beach.

I love hearing the ocean every morning and night.

The place was very clean and spacious.

Terry was very responsive, however, the issues we had during our stay....she couldn't do much about to get it resolved:

* Waring, if you have a medium or large size car, be prepare to park on the street. Parking our van in the lot, was impossible because the garage entrance was only tall enough to fit a small cars, like a BMW z3 or fiat.

* the constant beeping noise coming from the carbon detector (we end up unplugging it, and rolling it, into a towel and left it outside the porch)

* the pool was freezing cold (so the kids couldn't use it at all)

Having to deal with all of the above issues, I still felt it was, over all, a good place to stay at for the time we were there.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
HOA Required Fee $25
Cleaning $200
Tax Rate 12.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties